Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront home next to white sand beach in Kona

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, (two master kings and one twin/queen) sleeps 6

TAKE A VISUAL TOUR BY CLICKING THE VIDEO ICON ON THE DISPLAY PICTURE.

Walk three minutes to Magic Sands beach from this gated ocean front three bedroom, three full bath private home. Six people can comfortably enjoy two thousand square feet of luxury indoor outdoor living.

Large sliding windows open to a walk out lanai and a stunning view of a turquoise sea and waves rolling into shore.

Families can comfortably gather around the flat screen TV in an airy living room with ceilings vaulted two stories high or play games at a large dining room table.

The modern kitchen offers koa wood cabinets filled with spices, condiments and everything needed to prepare meals. Eat out on the lanai, you will enjoy privacy and your ocean view.

Two bedrooms on the second level have king beds and attached full bathrooms. The third bedroom, on the main floor, has a bed that converts to a queen or two twins depending on need. The bathroom on the main level has a walk in shower.

The house is one mile from Kahalu’u State Park, one of the best snorkeling lagoons on the islands. Golf, a grocery store , shopping and dozens of restaurants are within a five mile radius.

The lush tropical grounds surrounding the house have an oceanfront swimming pool and spa with sunset vistas all year round (the pool is shared with twelve other homes) . There is private parking for two cars.

Kona Onenalo is four miles south of the main tourist strip in Kailua Kona on the coast road called Alii Drive.

Kona Country Club, an eighteen hole public golf course is two miles away.

Kailua Kona has all of the usual shopping amenities including many restaurants, local stores, Costco, Wal-Mart, Safeway, etc. The Keahou shopping center is two miles south and has restaurants, a cinema, Longs Drugs, and KTA, a local supermarket. There are many beaches, historic sites and tourist attractions in and around this area.

Come to the Big Island and you will see what it is truly, the best island.

Keywords: walk to the beach from this ocean front large two-story private home

Hawaii Tax ID No. W16150293-01

More Details

Owner
jennifer moore
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

About jennifer moore

Ken and Jennifer Moore are Canadians who love Hawaii and spend six months of the year on the Big Island. They have been married for 30 years and have two children in their twenties. After purchasing their dream home, also a vacation rental vrbo #322776, they realized the demand for quality ocean view rental property and purchased Kona Onenalo. With their connections from living on the island both properties are well managed and exceptional vacation rentals that offer all the comforts of home.

jennifer moore purchased this house in 2012

Why jennifer moore chose Kailua-Kona

The old adage: location, location, location is never more appropriate than here at Kona Onenalo. Each house has a direct ocean view and the breaking waves are only feet away. An ocean gate opens directly onto La'Aloa Bay, one of the premier snorkeling and scuba diving venues on the Kona coast. White Sands beach is 300 yards from our front door. The ocean front pool and spa offer panoramic vistas and sunsets. The property itself is meticulously maintained with lush tropical landscaping. And all of this is set in the middle of the greater Kailua-Kona area, a community filled with restaurants, shopping and many other resort amenities.

What makes this house unique

Kona Onenalo is a walled and gated community. All of the owners are mainland based and it is rare for more than 3 or 4 homes to be occupied at any given time. One of the things that we treasure about our place is that it is always peaceful, quiet and private. Alii Drive itself has a unique character. As it winds along the shoreline from the town of Kailua-Kona to the Keahou Resort 6 miles to the south, it passes several wonderful little sandy beaches as well as four favorite local surfing locations. Residents walk, jog and bike this 6 mile stretch of road at all times of the day. Kona Onenalo is the perfect combination of a private retreat set amid the hustle and bustle of a larger community.

Map

Kahaluu Beach Park
"five star snorkeling just down the road from Kona Onenalo. Great sheltered bay to learn how ..."
Laaloa Beach Park
"Also know as White Sands Beach. This beach park is a under a five minute walk from Kona Onen..."
Kona Farmers' Market
"Fresh produce, flowers and gift just a fifteen minute drive away."
Da Poke Shack
"It their fish was any fresher it would be swimming. A ten minute drive north. Enjoy an authe..."
Sam Choy's Kai Lanai
"A quick drive South takes you to Sam Choy's. Enjoy a panoramic ocean view around a fire pit."
Huggo's Restaurant
"Right at the waters edge in Kailua Kona, about a fifteen to twenty minute drive. For a more ..."
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
"A local favorite. Good quality food, good pricing and a view. "
Big Island Grill
Island Lava Java
"One of our favorites. We go at sunset and enjoy the view."
Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Palani Road and Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy.
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Sam Choy's
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
White Sands Beach
Car: necessary

Kona Onenalo is exactly 4 miles south of the town of Kailua Kona on the coast road called Alii Drive. It is immediately south of and adjacent to White Sands Beach on La Aloa Bay, one of the premier body surfing and snorkeling sites on the Island. Kahalu'u State Beach Park is one mile south. Its huge natural saltwater lagoon may be the best ''beginner'' snorkeling in the Hawaiin Islands. Kona Country Club, a 36 hole public golf course is 2 miles away. Kailua Kona has all of the usual shopping amenities including many restaurants, local stores, Wallmart, Safeway,Costco, etc. The Keahou shopping center is two miles south and has restaurants, a Cinema, Longs Drugs, and KTA, a local supermarket. There are many beaches, historic sites and tourist attractions in and around this area and the Volcanos National Park is a scenic 100 mile drive away.

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • bathroom 1 and 2 are attached ensuites. bathroom 3 is just down the hall
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , bed can be separated into two twins as well
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • every bedroom has access to it's own full bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
There are ceiling fans in all rooms of the house and there are also two large exhaust fans in the gable that are set on thermostats to draw air through the house when the temperatures exceed 80 degrees.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
6% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront home next to white sand beach in Kona
average rating of 4.8474574 based on 59 reviews
2

Noisy, dirty and overpriced

  • 2 of 5

A few major problems with this property.

First, it is right on the main street and very noisy. You have to open the windows because there is no AC. You will hear cars, trucks and motorcycles all night.

Second, the house was not cleaned properly. Dirty dishes, dirty bedsheets. There was a lot of critters in the house. Cockroaches, ants and lizards.

Third, the property needs more care. You can just push the "security" gate open without the code for example.

Fourth, the location. Nice view on the sea, but the beach at 200 feet is small and Very crowded.

Overall, not the house I expected for my Hawaii vacations.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My deepest apology Martin for disappointing you. Unfortunately, for some strange the renters before you left dirty dishes in the closet. Our cleaners did not find them. In a tropical climate, where there is food there are bugs. This was unexceptabe and the reason we fully refunded your cleaning fee. Gekcos, I think you called them lizards, are unavoidable with indoor outdoor Hawaii living. They are harmless. We haven't had many complaints about road noise during the many years we have rented the house. Traffic on Alii Drive, Kona's coastal street, general dies down between 9:30 pm to 7:30 am, but those sensitive to any traffic noise might be bothered. Strategically closing windows in the master bedroom and leaving ocean breeze windows open reduces sounds from passing cars. Waves rolling in muffling Ali's hum. I appreciate your comments. We are working with our cleaning staff to endure the house is well cleaned. A vacation is very special time. We hate to disappoint. Once again we apologize for not meeting your standards. We will work harder to ensure we continue to receive the, over fifty, positive reviews collected by Kona Onenalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home in lovely waterfront setting

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 adults greatly enjoyed our stay at Kona Onenalo. We felt very welcome when we arrived, with a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts on the dining table! The owners provided excellent information regarding the unit and local places of interest. It was wonderful waking up each morning to a beautiful view of the beach and coastline. The home was very well-maintained, with many upgrades. It included everything we needed for cooking, and also for enjoying the beach (beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkel equipment, and a boogie board). There was easy access for snorkeling by way of the beach just a short walk away. We snorkeled in a few places on the island, and this was the best by far. We are looking forward to staying here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house. Great location. Traffic noise

  • 3 of 5

House was very nice. Spacious, well equipped. Owners very responsive. Pool was beautiful. Location was great. However, traffic noise was very unsettling. People in the front bedrooms had difficulty sleeping. Traffic noise persisted throughout the day. Otherwise, a very, very nice property.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Bit Of Heaven in Kona

  • 5 of 5

Walking into this unit and seeing/hearing White Sands Beach almost in your backyard is enough that you never want to leave the condo. The unit was incredibly spacious for 6 people , giving each couple the privacy they wanted. The location is perfect. Close enough to the town, yet far enough for some tranquility ....and if you enjoy running/power walking, Alii Drive has a great shoulder to start off your morning with some exercise. No need to find a beach for sunsets, you can enjoy them right from the pool. But I cannot say enough about how stocked this unit is. I have stayed in many VRBO units and none can compare with the amount of kitchen supplies, linens and beach supplies the Moore's provided us with. We actually had several dinners at the unit enjoying the crash of waves right out our patio.

Thank you again for an wonderful stay in Kona.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
5

Clean, spacious well equipped house within gated waterfront community

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable home. Snorkeling direct from in front of the property (be careful of sea urchins when entering the water), swimming beach within 200 meters.

Inviting front deck with view to snorkeling bay and swimming beach beyond. Some road noise which might disturb light sleepers.

Considerate and attentive owner and manager.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely property

  • 5 of 5

We spent 9 days mid August in the property and would definitely recommend it. The home was clean, comfortable and spacious for our 3 couple family and was well stocked with everything needed (including a good supply of coffee mugs & glasses). The listing description was accurate and the property was exactly what we were expecting - maybe more. We enjoyed the large lanai looking out over the ocean - a perfect spot for morning coffee and breakfast. The pool is great for an afternoon cool down after the very warm Kona days. Location is convenient to restaurants and shopping. I especially appreciated the easy rental process and quick response to all questions as well as the timely receipt of arrival information which included helpful area info.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250
Tax on Cleaning 4.166% $10.42
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.42%

Hawaii Tax ID Number W16150293-01
Rates may change but are secure once deposit is received. Cancellations (60) days or more prior to Arrival Date 100% of Reservation Deposit will be refunded. NO refunds possible on bookings made less than (60) days prior to Arrival Date. Cancellations, including changes that result in a shortened stay made (60) days or less prior to Arrival are Non-Refundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties