Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creekside Corral - An incredible mountain experience, Lake, Natl Forest Access

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Creekside Corral will provide you with a fabulous vacation mountain experience like never before for your family and your pet. Enjoy the summer activities or join us for the Holidays! Our tastefully decorated home has all the touches you will desire both inside and out....Spring and Summer at Creekside is full of everything you desire in mountain living. Enjoy a long weekend in the mountains and discover the beauty and serenity of Red Feather Lakes....a well-kept secret for you to discover! All seasons offer something special at Creekside Corral. Spring and Summer will give you the warm mountain days and cool mountain nights. A great escape from the city. Hike directly to National Forest out the back door and through the valleys and hills. Moose and deer will most likely be a part of your experience.

This one of a kind property on 5 acres, offers something for everyone who loves the mountains and those of you on your first experience. If you have horses, we have 3 separate pastures and 2 loafing sheds for the horse enthusiast, all bordering National Forest makes this truly a mountain paradise. This is a horse lovers, fishermens, hikers and mountain bikers, snowshoeers and XX skiing dream vacation home. Recently remodeled and beautifully maintained, the home has a wrap around deck from which you can listen to the water rippling along the 330 feet of Lone Pine Creek that runs through the property; Crystal Lakes has many fishing lakes (fishing passes required and can be purchased at Crystal Lakes office see the description below) or take your horses down for a drink of the cold, clear mountain water. Relax on the deck and enjoy the magnificent view during the day or the night sky shimmering above you after a day of riding, hiking or biking in the National Forest. You can access National Forest directly from the property and go for hundreds of miles. Please know there is no hunting or shooting from our property.

Inside the house you can relax in front of a roaring fire in the magnificent Fireplace Extraordinaire as you sip your favorite beverage while lounging on the soft leather furniture. The great room that houses the fireplace has a ceiling fan that keeps the warm air flowing and a Direct TV Network satellite TV. Incredible views of the beautiful outdoors accompany you throughout every room.

The dining area is adjacent to the great room and next to the newly remodeled kitchen that has granite counter tops, all new cabinetry, an electric range and refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher, microwave and great utensils if you like to cook.

When you, too, are ready for a restful night, make your way to the master bedroom on the main floor or to the 2nd bedroom on the upper level. This level has a loft overlooking the great room and allowing the warmth and aroma of the fire to follow you. The 3rd bedroom has a large day bed that turns into a king size bed or two single beds. A double futon is in the playroom on the main level. We can accommodate up to 8 people (additional charge over 6 people).The house has baseboard heat for chilly nights that don't warrant a fire in the fireplace. But the fireplace can heat the entire home if you like.

Open April through December, Creekside Corral is truly a house for all seasons. Come see for yourself and enjoy a piece of paradise!

Dogs and Horses are an additional day charge.

Description of Crystal Lakes Area

Crystal Lake, Lower Lone Pine Lake, Little Lone Pine Lake, the North Fork Cache la Poudre River, Panhandle Creek, Lone Pine Creek, Beartrap Creek and several small ponds offer a variety of fishing experiences for expert and novice alike. Quality fishing is maintained through extensive stocking and stream management programs administered by volunteers and funded by the Crystal Lakes Road and Recreation Association. Other activities enjoyed by Crystal Lakes property owners include hiking, horseback riding, canoeing and boating on Crystal Lake (gasoline motors are prohibited), cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, ice skating and sledding. The area’s extensive network of more than 80 miles of private roads provides an ideal setting for mountain biking enthusiasts. Those in search of adventure will appreciate the many miles of trails and wide range of hunting opportunities available in the surrounding national forest.

Keywords: Mountain House

More Details

Property Manager
Mary Cook
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About Mary Cook

Bill and Mary Cook welcome you to Creekside Corral. We know you will enjoy your stay and we are delighted to be able to share our home with you. We know the amenities we offer will be appreciated, that you will feel totally at home and we do promise you a fabulous vacation! Mountain living at its best!

Mary Cook purchased this house in 2002

Why Mary Cook chose Crystal Lake

We fell in love with this property as soon as we drove in the driveway in July, 2002 and made an offer that same day. The view of the lake directly from the property and the access to national forest to the east and south made it feel liked we owned the valley. Fabulous fishing in the private lakes, hiking in our valley and the national forest that is adjacent to our property, mountain biking, cross crountry skiing and snowshoeing are just a few of the reasons that Creekside Corral is so special.

What makes this house unique

Bring your dog or your horses -- an amenity that is special to our home. T Summer is perfect for all your personal outside enjoyment. Come for the Holidays as our home is very festively decorated.

Beaver Meadows Resort is five minutes away as is Base Camp at Crystal Lakes, both provide restaurants and other amenities for the vacationer. The Town of Red Feather has grocery stores, a hardware store, library and restaurants as well as some fun shops. WiFi is available at most restaurants. The treasures of the mountains are endless.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Tried to fish but too much snow blowing and wind. Enjoyed a much needed relaxing weekend. Can't think of anything this weekend or house didn't provide that I was wanting or needing. Thank you.
Apr 2011
  • 1 of 18


Crystal Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 22
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • 1additional person may be added. $25 per night additional.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Day bed that converts to a king or 2 singles
    Playroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Our playroom has a double futon.
  • Queen size Beds (2) Both the Elk Room (lower level) and the Polo Room (upper level have queen sized beds)., The 3rd uppper bedroom has day bed that converts to a king size bed or two single beds. Our playroom on the main level has a Futon that converts to a double bed.
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
Property has three fenced pastures for horses and has direct access to national forest and hundreds of miles of riding trails or hike for miles in national forest to view the beautiful streams, wildflowers and wildlife. Pet friendly for our dogs. Mountain bike and hike in the summer, snowshoe in the Winter. Enjoy Beaver Meadows Resort which is 5 minutes away for Tubing and Snowboarding and Crosscountry skiing in the Winter and horsebackriding in the summer. Or, snowshoe and crosscountry ski right from the backyard of Creekside Corral. If you choose to spend the Holidays with us you will find the house decorated beautifully for Christmas.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Creekside Corral - An incredible mountain experience, Lake, Natl Forest Access
average rating of 4.6578946 based on 56 reviews

Wonderful family stay in a lovely, relaxing setting

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 loved our stay! Mary was an excellent hostess. She was very responsive, accommodating and flexible. The property is in a quiet, secluded setting and was well prepared for our stay. We enjoyed the convenience of having a full kitchen and gas grill available for our use. Really enjoyed the deck in the evenings and the fireplace in the mornings. Also, enjoyed the wildlife - we saw a moose and an osprey catching fish out of the adjacent lake. If staying for more than a couple of nights, I recommend stocking up on supplies and groceries prior to your arrival to Red Feather Lakes area as options are limited. We had a great time! Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a great review and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at Creekside. We think we have a wonderful property and know it provides a very special mountain experience. I will certainly add your suggestion about groceries prior to heading up to Red Feather in my emails to folks. Red Feather is a hidden secret and we love introducing new people to this beautiful area of Colorado! We sure hope to see you again. Warmly, Mary and Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Jet tub doesn't work, hot tub is off limits, over priced.

  • 3 of 5

Over priced

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you feel our property is overpriced. Our rates have not changed for a few years and in fact have gone down after vrbo added their service fee to renters. We do not include a cleaning charge as most rentals do and include that in the price of your stay. Our hot tub has not been available and is not listed on our site as an amenity. Unfortunately, the debris we had to pull from the tub and the fact that we are on a well and changing the water after each stay to keep it safe for guests is absolutely not possible (500 gallons of water). For many years we did try to maintain the hot tub but with frequency of use and damage has caused us to take it off the list. This is the case with many owners in our area. Keeping our renters safe is a priority for us. I just spoke with our plumber who checked the jetted tub and he indicated it is working fine., so I apologize if you had issue with that. Thank you again for staying and I do hope the early check in and late check out we provided was helpful to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family accommodations!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five thoroughly enjoyed our stay!! It was perfect for a quiet Labor day weekend retreat. Mary was very helpful and our rental met all of our family's needs!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our party of 5 had a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

This was the last 3 days/2 nights of a 5 night vacation in the central & northern parts of CO. We really enjoyed this area, and the cabin was a wonderful choice! There was ample room for everyone to have some space to themselves, but also allowed for us to easily be together in a comfortable and relaxing environment. Various members of our group enjoyed good fishing is the nearby lake and we all enjoyed the beautiful scenery and surroundings with a few different sightings of moose! This is not your typical 'renter decor' type of cabin - this is very family oriented, comfortably and tastefully decorated, offering a glimpse into the lives of the family that owns and frequents this cabin. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin with wonderful views.

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay. Everything you could need is there. Only advice would be to do a really good cleaning in kitchen drawers.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for you review and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll certainly check on the kitchen drawers. After back to back renters, we do find an abundance of kitchen utensils and a few other goodies that don’t belong. I’m always amazed at what can accumulate including crumbs etc so thanks for the heads up. We certainly will look into this. Again, thanks for choosing Creekside for your Colorado getaway and we hope to host you again! Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

beautiful and private

  • 4 of 5

very peaceful spacious away from everything. great fishing but kind of expensive. because they are private lakes. stayed in this cabin in 2009 and really enjoyed the hot tub. they no longer have.and read on the new remodel and all the updates it had now in 2018 but it is still the very same furniture that was there in 2009 was really looking forward to see new updates. not that it looks bad. but could use some new sheets and towels. and blankets. but over all a lot of room for everyone. would have been nice if washer and dryer could have been used to wash all the sheets on the beds and pillow cases. they did not smell clean. sorry to leave this review but i think the owner needs to know that cleaning person is not doing her job. and would be nice if you had humming bird feeder to enjoy watching them . but overall had a great time because of location. thank you Mary for opening your home to us

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying and reviewing Creekside Louise. Unfortunately, the fishing fees for private lakes in Crystal are not in our control and all of our guests are advised of this and also the public lakes in the area. I'm sorry you felt the sheets did not have a fresh smell. We do use a laundry detergent without fragrance and safe for septic systems. I can assure you they were clean. Our cleaning crew does a fantastic job with the house and the quick turnover that is expected. I'll check on the towels and certainly replace those. A few of the rooms have changed since you were there in 2009 but for the most part our furniture is of very high quality and we feel looks great. We do not allow our guests to use the washer and dryer but instructions to the Crystal Lakes laundromat are in the book. Again, being on a septic system, we need to monitor water usage as do all who live in the Red Feather Lakes area. We know this can be an inconvenience for some. We tried for many years to maintain the hot tub for guests but keeping a safe quality of water became impossible due to the number of folks, the debris that we continued to find in the tub and the impossibility of changing the water continually due to our being on a well. We know that the hot tub would be a big plus, but it just isn't possible and the safety of our guests comes first. On a side note Louise, if you remember, you were charged an additional cleaning fee on your last visit for the condition you left the house. You booked under a different name this visit so did not realize when I accepted your request or I would have had this discussion with you prior to booking. You did leave the house in great shape and I did rate you a 5 on vrbo as I know how important this is for future bookings. Again, thanks for spending time at Creekside again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Fox Acres Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Beaver Meadows
Car: necessary

Direct access to National Forest from the property with hundreds of miles of trails to take your horses on, hike, mountain bike and just enjoy! Creekside resides adjacent to recently expanded Lower Lone Pine Lake..a lovely view from the wraparound deck.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15

Two night minimum $315 per night. Holiday rates : 3 night stay required.
Weekly rate: $1890, 7th night free Repeat customers save 10% on your next stay.
Maximum capacity 6 people.
Pet fee is $15/ per petper day.Maximum 3 pets. Horses $20/day.

Always watch for Spring and Fall Specials.......

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties