Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Exquisite Private Mountain Retreat

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Exquisite private primary residence mountain top log home, 2,800 square feet, 4 bedrooms, 2 baths, Spectacular mountain and valley views, wrap around decks with hot tub, charcoal BBQ, above ground pool, 2 small ponds with stream and waterfall, fruit orchard, great stargazing, wildlife including Deer, Eagles, Owls, Hummingbirds and more. Numerous outdoor seating areas with shade umbrellas and canopy enclosure, shaded patio with swing. Paved walkways, ample parking, 10 acres with, 800' driveway.

Four bedrooms, 2 art filled living rooms, fully equipped gourmet kitchen 4 burner gas stove, 2 convection ovens, pantry. Dining room seats 14+. Master Bedroom with king size bed, wood burning kiva fireplace. Upstairs bedroom with queen sized loft bed and double futon. Two full sized bedrooms downstairs with ample storage closets. Full baths with double sinks up and down. wireless internet inside and out.

Upstairs loft open to cathedral ceiling open to living room, Steinway grand, electric baseboard heat with eco-friendly pellet stove. Large family room with wood burning fireplace, HD TV Blu-Ray DVD, French Double Manual Harpsichord, library.

Twenty minutes drive to downtown Durango, restaurants, shopping, galleries, theaters, concerts, music festivals, Fort Lewis College, Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway. Outdoor activities include lift serviced skiing at Durango Mountain Resort (60 minutes from house), Silverton Mountain, Wolf Creek, Taos, Telluride, back country skiing, cross country skiing and snowshoeing, hiking, biking, fishing, extensive Jeep trails in the spectacular San Juan Mountains, Weminuche Wilderness, fishing, sailing, waterskiing at nearby Vallecito Lake. One hour drive to Mesa Verde National Park, Hovenweep NM, Sand Canyon, Chaco Canyon, easy access to Moab, Arches National Park, Monument Valley, Canyon De Chelley, Grand Canyon, Lake Powell. Airport: Durango DRO: Distance 15 Minutes.

Keywords: Exquisite, Private, Home,

More Details

Daniel Morgenstern
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, Hebrew
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Daniel Morgenstern

Both musicians, and retired CEO (Daniel) and Lawyer (Polly) have a great love of the outdoors and adventure. They have chosen Durango as the place they most wanted to live in, and continue their adventures in the great mountain west and around the globe.

Daniel Morgenstern purchased this house in 2000

Why Daniel Morgenstern chose Durango

Having been privileged to travel extensively throughout the United States and much of the world, we found Durango to be the BEST place we could choose to live in. Because we keep traveling in our motor home etc, our lovely home is available for guests to rent while we are out adventuring further.

What makes this house unique

In this day and age, natural beauty and the privacy to enjoy it without intrusion is a rare benefit amply provided by our beautiful mountain home.

Guestbook comments from the owner

ALL 12 families that rented our house in 2009 including multigenerational groups from toddlers to seniors LOVED their time in our home and had a fabulous time enjoying all the wonderful attractions Durango has to offer from here! We had many weekly guests including guests from Great Britain and one family that stayed for a month and had their families visit them here too! EVERYBODY FOUND OUR HOUSE TO BE THE PERFECT DURANGO VACATION RETREAT!

Daniel & Polly Morgenstern
May 2009
  • 1 of 1


Durango House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs full bath with double sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Upstairs bath with double sinks
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen loft bed (must climb ladder to access).
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with Kiva Fireplace
  • SLEEPS 10 WHEN ALL DOUBLE BEDS ARE DOUBLE OCCUPIED. King size beds (1) In Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Queen Loft Upstairs (same room as Futon), Double Beds (3) 2 Full Sized beds downstairs (2 rooms) 1 Full Sized Futon upstairs (in room with Queen Sized Loft bed), Child Beds (1) Porta Crib Available, Baby Cribs (1) Porta Crib Available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full Sized Futon Upstairs in room with Queen sized Loft Bed
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
pond with waterfall, shade patio, Fruit Trees, 10 wooded acres with complete privacy surrounded by wilderness.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
Exquisite Private Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.2 based on 11 reviews

Home in Need of TLC at This Price

  • 1 of 5

We rented this home for 30 days. Upon arrival, we bought some food for the first night to find a very dirty oven and barbecue. The owners left food and booze in the freezer which was not clean. We moved their food to the garage refrigerator to find two exploded coke cans and a sticky mess. Not a great way to start the week.

While the kitchen has nice appliances and a nice granite counter top, the cabinets are in need of refinishing. The varnish has worn off over the years and they appear very dirty. Additionally the cabinet interiors were not clean (my wife had to wash the silverware holder). This is somewhat typical of most of the house as it seems to need some decent TLC.

The owners have a lot of stuff everywhere. It is organized, but it makes it difficult to find places for your belongings. They provided a few drawers in the bedrooms, but the furniture is old, banged up and dingy. For the most part, we lived out of our suitcases. The couch in the family room was covered in cat fur and the living room chairs were worn and dirty.

A week in my wife was stung by a hornet. There were a dozen or so hornets nests in the eaves. A trip to Walmart for some spray.

The owners require you to put the trash out. No big deal. Well, that entails using the owner's jeep and tying the trash can to the trailer hitch and literally dragging it on its side down a 1000 foot gravel driveway to the highway.

One night midway through our stay, our friends were sleeping in the guestroom and the bed crashed to the floor. It was an old wood bed and the joints were no longer holding together.

Then the next day the water went out. After suggesting that we could go to Home Depot to buy a new filter and go under the house to replace it, the owner sent out the well guys. We spent the better part of the next day as they troubleshot the problem. The entry under the house is in a small pantry where there were mouse droppings. We bought some traps and caught the mouse.

Because of all these issues we decided to leave early. The owners were unwilling to work with us as we rented it for 30 days and that was that. No compensation for no water, etc. We did get a reduced rate for a 30 day rental as is fairly customary for long term rentals. Still we spent a lot for the 30 days. The owners continued to say that the house is exquisite and immaculately clean despite all this.

For the price we paid there were simply too many issues.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nine years of happy guests and we finally had one who probably would complain about the Ritz. They must not have read the materials we sent them before they booked which explained most of the systems they complained about. They received a steep discount for their long stay and still complained about the price! Nothing we tried or offered made them happy! PLEASE SEE THE MAJORITY OF OUR POSITIVE REVIEWS INCLUDING THOSE FROM REPEAT VISITORS!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had a fabulous time. We hope to visit again soon.

  • 4 of 5

We had a fabulous time staying in your beautiful home. We were able to kick back and relax. Early morning and evenings were nice relaxing on the outside deck watching the birds and the deer come up so close. I did stress out some with all the amazing things you have in your home when my smaller grandchildren would play, but all in all we had an amazing time.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is kid friendly and the harpsichords kid tested, so we don't worry about the kids and our things!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pleasant Mountain Home

  • 5 of 5

This was the second summer we rented this home. We had five adults and two children with plenty of space and activities for everyone. The location is quiet and secluded, yet within easy driving distance of Durango. The owners provided excellent recommendations on local activities and amenities. We felt very welcome in this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The increasing number of return visitors confirms that our home is a great choice for your vacation! We believe it outshines all the barebones condos and the majority of private homes available. Return visitors prove it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

We spend 4 nights in this home in June 2015, but wish we had stayed longer. We had a great time. The delightful homeowners were easy to get in touch with and promptly answered any questions we had. The home sits just a short drive from Durango, but is on large enough property that you really get a sense of privacy. We hope to return next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wish all our guests would stay longer for their enjoyment of our GREAT destination, (and NOT for our benefit)!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Antonio, Texas

Great home, wonderful location!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying in this beautiful, spacious home for a fun filled sibling reunion. Loved the outdoor decks where we enjoyed having breakfast and dinners, looking out over the mountains and meadows. I loved the hummingbirds which flocked to the feeders on the deck.

All rooms are very nicely decorated and furnished. Kitchen has high end appliances. We were there in July, and had perfect weather....never needed the air conditioning, just opened windows to enjoy the cool, fresh air. Great location. We went to Mesa Verde one day. Rode the Narrow Gauge railway another day. The owners were great to work with. They even provided a detailed list of places to visit and nearby restaurants. Their list included hikes and even their favorite picnic spot, which we went to for a picnic and were in awe of the gorgeous site. Overall, it was a perfect vacation and we would all highly recommend this home. We hope to return someday soon!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Thornton, colorado

Mixed review

  • 2 of 5

The owner was pleasant to deal with. The house and location were as advertised. The hot tub and pool were nice to have. The closets, drawers and refrigerator were full of the owners clothes, belongings and food. The result is that six of us lived out of our suitcases. NOT why I rented a house.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guests failed to notice empty drawers and closet space provided in every room. As a matter of policy, we leave food in the fridge for guests to use or toss. We are sorry the guests didn't contact us with their concerns during their visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Durango (La Plata County) DRO
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
The Office Spiritorium at the Strater Hotel
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Hillcrest Golf Course
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US Hwy 160
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Diggs at Three Springs
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Durango Mountain Resort (Lift serviced)
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Vallecito Lake
Car: necessary




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.8%

Guest agree to accept the terms of our maintenance instructions by renting our home and will be held responsible for any damages or losses. Guests acknowledge that we are NOT liable for any injuries or losses that result from the rental and use of our home. We prefer a 5 night rental but are open to 4.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties