Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Special 11/17-18 $70/nt!! The Enchanted Palm! Ocean View Beach Home!!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

Welcome to 'The Enchanted Palm!!'

Come enjoy the sun, sand and sea in this wonderful home in Terramar Beach! Simply walk across the street and you’re standing on the beach. From the deck you have views of the ocean in the front, the bay in the back and protected wetlands on the side. You can listen to the sound of the waves while you sunbathe or grill steaks on the deck!

We now have a ramp to enter the home if you don't like using all those stairs!

We are located only minutes from Moody Gardens, Schlitterbahn Water Park, Galveston State Park, the movie theater, the miniature golf course, the Airplane Museum and even NASA and the Kemah Boardwalk are close enough if you’d like to spend a day there!

This beach home has access to a neighborhood pool, boat launch and fishing pier. The pool is open from Memorial Day through Labor Day. We are on the west side of the island and only about 15 minutes from the Strand and Stewart Beach.

This home comfortably sleeps 12. Arrangements include one bedroom down with a queen bed and bathroom. This area is like a garage apartment (but on the bottom floor) with a separate entrance. There is also one bedroom up with a queen bed and another bedroom up with a full size bunk bed (2 double beds that sleep 4). The living room also includes a sleeper sofa that opens up into a full size bed and a futon that folds down into a full size bed. There is a bathroom upstairs and also an outside shower downstairs.

The kitchen is fully equipped with pots and pans and cooking utensils. It has a double oven, a cooktop, dishwasher, microwave and all the comforts of home! Central A/C and ceiling fans throughout. The living room has a large screen TV and smart DVD player.

Linens provided but please bring your own beach towels.

Wifi service can be unreliable in Galveston. We are sorry that we will be unable to guarantee that these amenities will be working during your stay and are unable to offer refunds for disruption of these services.

Our repeat guests receive a 10% discount on future non-holiday stays at any of our properties.

Rates posted are for up to 12 people. Additional fees may apply for larger groups. Rates may not be loaded for future years at any given time. Please contact owner for a quote.

Be sure to check out our East Texas Lake House for rent on VRBO #294503!!

We also have an ocean front beach house in Galveston (Jamaica Beach) for rent on VRBO #558739!!

And another ocean front beach house in Galveston (Bermuda Beach) for rent on VRBO #508219!!

Plus a Canal front home in Galveston (Sea Isle) on VRBO #472258!

And our latest ocean front beach house in Galveston (Terramar Beach) for rent on VRBO #503387!!

Plus a home in a retirement community in the Rio Grande Valley (Weslaco) on VRBO #750559!!

The 'Enchanted Palm' reserves the right to refuse service to anyone. Rates are subject to change without notice.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details

Owner
John and Deidre Stephenson
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Amenities

Terramar Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Prom Groups Not Allowed
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Upstairs bath has toilet/sink/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Downstairs bath has toilet/sink/shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Separate apartment with private bath downstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Full over full bunkbed that sleeps 4
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , queen bed has pillowtop mattress + memory foam topper
    Living Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Full size sleeper sofa plus futon in living room
  • The master bedroom has a queen size pillowtop mattress with a memory foam topper. The downstairs apartment has a queen size bed with a memory foam topper. The living room has a full size sleeper sofa with a memory foam topper and a full size futon with a 6 inch thick mattress. The guest bedroom upstairs has a set of bunk beds. This is a double over double bunk bed that sleeps 4 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Large Screen TV; Outdoor Swing; Outdoor Shower; Board Games!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(71 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
35% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Special 11/17-18 $70/nt!! The Enchanted Palm! Ocean View Beach Home!!
average rating of 4.4366198 based on 71 reviews
3

Close to the beach

  • 3 of 5

This was a good rental for the price! The ramp was new and very nice to have since the stairs were kind of shaky. It was very nice to have a shower outside to wash off all of the sand from the beach which is directly across the neighborhood entrance which is a plus! The downstairs bedroom is only accessible by the outside. It has two window a/c units which make it okay to take showers and to have an extra bathroom but during texas heat in august it did not keep it cold enough for us to sleep down there. There was also alot of spiders that came through open gaps by pipes through the wall and where the window units were. It was tricky opening the door upstairs, the handle needs to be turned up not down after code is entered. Upstairs was nice. There was some sugar ants by the front door when we arrived which is probably due to the gap at the bottom of the door. They also had some sugar ants by the kitchen sink. It was helpful that they had some ant spray under the sink. The beds were okay to sleep on. They did have plenty of towels which was awesome!! The cleaning at first look was good when we arrived but could have been better. There was a beer can or two left on the front porch from a previous tenant. Also when we moved the couches to sweep due to sugar ants, it was very dirty underneath. One bedroom was missing tv remote an when we went to look for it under the bed we found a previous tenants hat which means cleaning was not very thorough. The dvd remote was missing from the other room. We never found either remote. I feel that that house should have been completely clean on the surface and under the furniture if tenants are being charged a very expensive cleaning fee. It made me wonder if the sheets and blankets were cleaned before we arrived. Overall it was a decent house for a decent price in the area. Booking site does charge $250 deductible as well with payment of house, still waiting on the refund for that which owners said the booking site refunds that money 2 weeks after checkout which is kind of pain but not something the owners can control.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for making us aware of some things that needed to be taken care of. We checked the stairs and they are not shaky. The handrail however was a bit loose, so we tightened it. I'm sorry to hear our window units downstairs were not cooling. They were both set on 80 degrees. We adjusted the thermostat and they are working great. We have a routine extermination service and have called them back for an in-between treatment. We have replaced the upstairs door handle. We have made our cleaning service aware of the cleaning issues you reported. We certainly thought they were cleaning under the furniture too. Since the bedroom tvs and dvd players are only a few feet from the beds, we did not think it was necessary to purchase electronics that had remotes with them. I'm sorry you wasted time looking for them! Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice stay we enjoyed it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this rental would definitely rent it again. Property managers answer questions quickly.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable place to stay! Would visit again if opportunity is available.

  • 4 of 5

On different days of our 3 night stay, 8 of our 11 grandkids were able to have fun in the sun staying with us in this beach house. They enjoyed trips to the beach and to the pool which is actually a very nice pool area. (If you travel on a Tuesday, however, please be advised that the pool is closed :(. We were surprised and somewhat disappointed to discover this fact. ) It was nice to be able to shower off downstairs back at the beach house and to wash and dry the swimsuits and beach towels in the laundry room.

There is nothing "fancy" about the place but it is well furnished, sufficient and comfortable. The owners were VERY accessible by phone or text, and were nice and very quick to respond. We enjoyed the fire pit and the stockpile of wood which happened to be available at the time of our visit. The grill was on the smaller size, however, the hamburgers off the grill fed 11 of us in a short amount of time and seemed extra tasty!

The memory foam mattress tops in the master bedroom and on the sofa pull-out were very, very comfortable and caused the only squabble in our stay as all the kids wanted to sleep on them! However, the bunkbeds and futon were also easy to sleep on. The kitchen was stocked with every pot or pan that we needed on our trip and I can't think of anything that was lacking.

Since we had several episodes of rain during our visit it was nice to have a big screen TV in the living area, and Netflix had something for everyone. Just so you know, the selection of DVD's is very limited so if you need to watch something in bed at night bring your own "favorites" as there is no access to regular TV in the bedrooms. The temperature inside the home was very comfortable throughout our stay and for those who like to sleep with fans you will be happy to know that there are ceilings fans in all the rooms upstairs (except the kitchen.) The window units in the downstairs bedroom will satisfy your need for background "noise".

I really enjoyed the ramp access as did my daughter with her wheelchair :) (Just to clarify, the home is NOT handicap accessible - nor does it claim to be - but our daughter was able to manage getting through the bathroom door walking sideways with her walker. However, handicap bars near the toilet would be a great addition :) as the upstairs toilet is low and the space is rather cramped.)

One last note - I read that the rental rate was for 12 people but there was an additional charge per person for some.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

We had a great mini vacation at this location. The beach is not super close but is within walking distance if you're in pretty good shape altho we chose to drive. There was plenty of space in this Beachhouse and was well stocked. It was clean and as described. The pool was an added bonus. It was clean and well-maintained and there is a fishing pier on the bayside by the pool several blocks from the cabin where the sunsets are unbelievable. It was a 20 minute drive to a grocery store into Galveston but the cost of the rental made it a wise choice for us, although there are convenient stores and a well-stocked Dollar General closer.

There is a trolley you can take in Galveston to save driving and cost of parking. It was free this summer. There is a boardwalk called

Pleasure Pier with a carnival, food and shopping etc. but cost $10 per person just to walk on. Fishing piers are also costly. In the state park you can fish for free without a license but there is an admission to get in to the park. There is free parking in Galveston near the seawall but you must search for it.

The door locks at the cabin were a little confusing at first but the owners were readily available to help and cleared up any confusion we had.

Also I'd like to mention that our deposit was fully refunded within a couple of weeks. It's good to know that this family has more vacation rentals. I will be looking into those for the future.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the ramp.

  • 5 of 5

Nice place to stay for a family. Family friendly beach nearby. The ramp is perfect for people that have trouble with stairs.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mansfield, Texas
5

Family Birthday Bash at the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Plenty of space for all our family and friends. I love the full sized bunk beds for the kids upstairs and that it has a separate room downstairs with a separate bathroom and a queen size bed. Also loved the kitchen which was stocked with everything we needed and more. House is cozy and just a short ride to the Terramar beach access point. Also enjoyed our late night fishing at the private Terramar community pier. Overall we had a great time celebrating my daugher's birthday here and look forward to our next stay! Great time for a great price! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Neighborhood Pool, Fishing Pier, Boat Launch; Close Enough to Walk to the Beach for a Moonlight Stroll!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 15.0%

Holidays extra.
Minimum stay will be waived if stated number of consecutive nights are not available.
High season reservations must be booked back to back.
Prices are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
At any point in time, rates may not be loaded for future years. Please contact the owner for a quote.
Prom groups are not allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties