Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Prime Location - Pristine Environment

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Location, Location, Location. This large and spacious all brick four bedroom detached property sits in one of the safest and quietest communities in Washington DC. This spacious property will allow you to sleep up to ten people comfortably. The property is set up with four bedrooms (one king size bed, three queen size beds and one double bed) as well as three full baths and a fully stocked, newly renovated kitchen with all premium appliances and granite countertops. The property is centrally air-conditioned and central heated with forced heat air making it a comfortable environment throughout all seasons.

Walk out the front door to park like settings and be within five minutes ride to two different Metrorail stations and one block from a Metrobus stop to take you to the National Malls, the Smithsonian Museums, D.C. Convention Center, Capitol and Congressional offices or other Washington area destinations. For those who choose to drive or have rental cars, this home has very convenient of street parking and a rear parking lot that can accommodate up to four cars.

The property is highly recommended for business travelers as well as families and groups of friends.

Keywords: Pristine, Comfortable, Large Property

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thanks a lot for the nice stay. Your house is just perfect for a short vacation in town, especially since we were staying with a friend at the Whitefriars Hall. Thanks a lot and God bless you.
May 2017
  • 1 of 82

Amenities

North Michigan Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , En Suite Bathroom to Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Services Fourth Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Services Second and Third Bedrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with En Suite Bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 twin/ single , Convertible Love Seat
  • Master Bedroom features one king bed, cable TV and en suite bathroom; Second Bedroom features one queen bed and cable TV; Third Bedroom features one double bed and cable TV; and fourth bedroom features two queen size beds, cable TV and full bath. The living room features a loveseat convertible into a single bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
Excellent Neighborhood. One of the most quiet neighborhoods in D.C.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

Prime Location - Pristine Environment
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 126 reviews
4

Great location, lots of room, family friendly.

  • 4 of 5

Pros: Close to DC, lots of room for a large group, several bed options, nice patio in the back, great parking areas!

Cons: Water pressure is really not good, three bathrooms but only one can be used a time because of lack of water pressure. Some ants in the kitchen, easily taken care of with some spray but they were present.

Overall we had a great stay! The pros outweighed the cons. We would come again!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, we were not previously aware of any ants in the kitchen. However, with this knowledge, we will address the issue immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lowell-MA
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

The location of the house was great. Everything was clean and organized. I strongly recommend this place for families or large groups.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

We enjoyed our stay.

  • 4 of 5

We loved the character of the home and the quiet neighborhood. The water pressure was still an ongoing problem. We had plenty of space for our family. We found easy access to the Metro and groceries to be very handy. We did run out of space to put our recycle items. Parking in front of the home was very convenient. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch in the warm weather.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fulton, Missouri
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

My family had a great vacation in DC. The property was in a great location, easy access to the Metro. House was very nice, we would come again!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

moldy, noisy and dishwasher does not work

  • 3 of 5

Positives: Nice location, safe and quiet of city traffic. Negatives: Mold in the Master Bath ceiling shower, nice quantity of hot water but terrible water pressure for more than one shower at a time, very noisy wood floors. Dishwasher did not work We were not informed dishwasher did not work until the day we were checking in to the house. We were informed by the owner that there was no repair service available to work on the dishwasher, as our check in date was the Sunday before Thanksgiving. I am not sure how service personnel work in WA, in our state, they would be available for a repair call on any day. Interestingly, the previous renter documented in the journal on the kitchen table the dishwasher was also non functioning on their visit. Makes us question how long the appliance had been non functioning. The owner was very rude and no attempt at a solution on her part. Refused to provide paper products telling us to go buy our own. Her problem became our inconvenience. Thankfully no additional issues since she handled one simple issue so poorly.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate and are attentive to all comments of our guests. We were unaware of any mold issues in the master shower until reading this review. We immediately advised our cleaning service to take care of the matter. The dishwasher replacement was scheduled to occur earlier in the day before the guest arrived. However, when the installation company arrived it did not have the part required to install the dishwasher under a granite counterpart. We instructed the company to return the dishwasher to its warehouse until the missing part could be ordered instead of leaving the appliance in the middle of the floor. The guest was not advised of the non-operating dishwasher before her arrival because we anticipated that the issue would be corrected prior to her arrival. Regarding the paper products issue, the guest informed us that there were not enough paper products. Our cleaning service generally provides appropriate products when it cleans the property between guests. I advised the guest that if she had an urgent need for the paper products she might consider picking up some paper products until I was able to contact our property manager and he was able to come to the property to provide additional products. Subsequently, our property manager did arrive and provide additional paper products for our guests. To our knowledge, the guest did not purchase any paper products.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sterling Heights
3

Concerning

  • 3 of 5

I will begin by saying the home has a beautiful and newly updated kitchen and BASEMENT bathroom. The three second floor bedrooms have comfortable beds. The neighborhood is quiet, located away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, yet conveniently about a 20-minute drive. The tall bushes in front of the home look unkempt making the home look intimidating. The motion censored porch light is the size of a pinhead; we had to use our phone lights to see to open the lockbox and unlock the doors to the home. Upon entering the home, we learned that three of the bedrooms are on the second floor with a bathroom in the master bedroom and another for the other two bedrooms to share. The showers in each bathroom are old and need painting with a shower curtain liner that should have been changed a year ago. We all used the basement bathroom for showers because it was newly renovated and the shower was clean. We also learned that the fourth bedroom is actually in the basement, which is an issue for me because we had children with us. I am not comfortable with children having to sleep in a basement while the adults sleep two floors up. The rug in the living room on the main floor in the living room was just plain nasty. Many pieces of the furniture in the second floor bedrooms are old and look like they are ready to fall apart. Upon arrival, I called the owner and explained why I was uncomfortable with the way the home looked and told her I was thinking about staying somewhere else. I asked her if I could expect a refund and she said that would not be happening. I then explained that the home looked like it was in the ghetto, and she became agitated and said that the home had been in her family 50 years, and from that point on, I don’t feel she heard any of my concerns. She continued to say that the area was not the ghetto (which is not what I said) and I was not getting my money back and obviously I didn’t know anything about the Washington area because this was one of the safest and quietest neighborhoods. What disturbed me the most was she never asked once what she might be able to do alleviate my concerns. We stayed and I have provided you a description of the home. What I suggest is that she cut the bushes back from the porch; get a new porch light that provides ample lighting; replace that horrible rug in the living room; update the upstairs bathrooms; and note on the propety description that the fourth bedroom is in the basement

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Let's start with the fact that this guest requested to cancel her stay before her arrival. In any event, we appreciate, take seriously and make every effort to address the comments of all of our guests... both objective and subjective. The property is located in the Michigan Park Section of DC which has been a stable, middle class neighborhood for over fifty years and is generally considered a suburb in the city. See Washington Post article https://www.washingtonpost.com/realestate/neighborhood-profile-michigan-park-and-north-michigan-park/2012/10/04/46f50a8c-0814-11e2-858a-5311df86ab04_story.html?utm_term=.13e004d3e357. Although we try to please all of our guests, we realize that our goal will not always be accomplished. Notwithstanding, we are extremely happy with our 98 percent success rate.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Washington Regan International Airport
Nearest Train
0.9 Miles
Brookland Catholic University Metro
Nearest Point of Interest
Brookland Metro Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Fort Totten Metro
Nearest Point of Interest
Home Location
Car: not necessary

This home is located in the charming area of Michigan Park in Washington, D.C. The neighborhood is one of the safest and family friendly areas in the city. Located one block away from the Metro bus stop and less than one mile from two Metro Stations serving the redline, the home is convenient to downtown and all major tourist sights, including the U.S.Capitol, the U.S. Congress, the Supreme Court, all monuments and many museums.

Photos

Rates & Availability

North Michigan Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,610
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 14.5%

Cleaning Fee $135

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties