Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large, Historic, Half Moon Bay Vacation Home by the Beach

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedroom, 3 Bath house (+ detached cottage that can be rented separately)

Half Moon Bay Vacation Home for rent, only 20 miles from San Francisco, 6 miles from Half Moon Bay, and a scenic 50 mile drive from Santa Cruz California.

This recently remodeled 6 bedroom, 3 bath coastal home was once part of a prohibition-era train station. Located in tranquil Moss Beach, the house is only a block from the internationally recognized tide pools and beach at the James Fitzgerald protected Marine Reserve. It is a wonderful place to enjoy, walk, take the kids to learn about the tide pools, etc. It is in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood, with plenty of nearby restaurants and shopping. And don't forget to catch the yearly Half Moon Bay 'Art and Pumpkin Festival'. Also nearby is Mavericks, a world-famous surfing location that holds regular big-wave contests in Pillar Point Harbor, just north of Half Moon Bay at the village of Princeton-By-The-Sea.

The bedrooms are as follows:

One private queen bedroom and bath suite on the first floor. Upstairs you'll find the spacious master bedroom (and private bath) which contains a gorgeous 160-year-old hand carved bed, with an adjacent enclosed room containing an additional double, size antique, brass bed, which can be used as a private sixth bedroom. This room gets great sunlight. Also upstairs are three more spacious bedrooms, all with queen size beds. Altogether, you have 6 bedrooms.

Two full baths upstairs, one with claw foot tub and separate marble and travertine shower and a third vintage inspired bath with shower only. Rooms are spacious, and beds are comfortable. Ample room for dining, with separate common rooms for relaxing and socializing. You will love it.

We also have a separate cottage on the property that sleeps three and consists of one queen bed and one twin bed. The cottage rents for an additional $175 per night and requires a separate cleaning fee of $100. Please note in your inquiry if you wish to book the cottage and I can update the amount of your quote.

If you enjoy hiking, nearby Montara Mountain is a popular outdoor recreation spot, and home to the old Highway 1.

The coastside hosts several state parks and beaches, including: Half Moon Bay State Beach, Venice State Beach, Poplar State Beach, San Gregorio State Beach, and Pomponio State Beach.

Please Note: Though individuals under 18 are welcome at the property, we require that the person making the reservation be at least 25+ years old and accompany any minor guests.

Separate charge for events and/or large parties may apply.

* SEPARATE COTTAGE ON PROPERTY ALSO AVAILABLE, SLEEPS 3 *

BOOK EARLY, as the summer months and Holidays normally fill up in quickly.

With limited exceptions, there is a two night minimum. Summer months and Holiday weekends usually require a three to five night minimum stay.

Keywords: Large Yard, Beach House, Cottage, Fire Pit, Coastside, Ocean, Wedding, Reunion, Tide Pools

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

Why The Owner chose San Francisco Bay Area

My home was not purchased to be a rental. When I don't have guests, I stay at the house, so that I can make sure that it is always welcoming to my guests.

I have lived in this house for almost 40 years, and have raised my children here. I worked as a stager (decorator) by trade and I have used my creative talent in decorating my home and garden, for my own enjoyment and that of my guests.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I rented this house for me and six friends for my birthday weekend. It was perfect for our needs and better than I expected in terms of sleeping accommodations. The linens are great, beds are super comfy. The house was very clean, quiet and cozy. We spent lots of time in the "piano room" socializing in front of the fire, and we enjoyed that we could all easily fit around the dining room table so we could eat together. Lots of great conversation and bonding, and we loved the easy walk to the shore. We had a wonderful time and staying in your house made all the difference. We would definitely come and and highly recommend your home! Thank you!
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Moss Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We ask that you have your guests using the fire pit area come in by 10:00 at night as to not disturb our neighbors. They know of our curfew. Thanks!
  • Please clean the BBQ grill after use so that it will be clean for our next guests. We would appreciate that you leave it as you would like to find it
  • The fire pit is gas. DO NOT place any wood or accelerants on the flame. Access the switch in the opening in the stone. Turn the gas OFF when done.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Three beautiful, full, vintage baths.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds 4, Antique double beds 2
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gas fire pit outside, Gas outdoor heater

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Large, Historic, Half Moon Bay Vacation Home by the Beach
average rating of 4.822222 based on 50 reviews
4

Big, mostly kid friendly, great location old house

  • 4 of 5

Pros: perfect location, nice host, big kitchen space that is well equipped, firepit, outdoor toys and furniture. Clean, but not sterile.

Cons: queen mattresses quite soft, traffic news in some bedrooms, bathroom locations (relative to rooms) somewhat inconvenient if you have a group that minds going through bedrooms to reach a bathroom (only 1 is accessible from a hallway).

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It is a beautiful property very close to a quaint scenic beach. The house is beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

We were a team of 16 people and we rented the cottage along with the house. It was a beautiful home with a good view. There were enough rooms for all of us. If you are looking for a family retreat with kids, this is the place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

Great house for family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

We met at this house for a cousin gathering (10 adults, 3 kids) during Memorial Day weekend, and had an absolutely wonderful stay! The house is very well-located with great views of the ocean (and even a whale sighting) just down the road. The kitchen was well-stocked with pots/pans/dishes, and we all took turns doing the cooking. There were toys and games for the kids, and also high chair and kids table which was helpful. We enjoyed gathering around the fire pit and roasting s'mores. I have rented many VRBOs for my family vacations (I'm the planner of the family), and this one was one of the easiest to book. Millieanne was very responsive via text, and I appreciated that there were not too many long and complicated rules. Very simple check-in/check-out process, and no restrictions on guests and # of cars, etc. We loved our stay, and our family will always have fond memories of our time here!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Liked it...didn't love it

  • 2 of 5

We rented the main house and later added the cottage to accommodate 14 adults. The main house was nice, a bit overcrowded with furniture. The kitchen was well equipped. The house is old but has lots of character. The bedrooms in the back were noisy because of the proximity to the highway and the car lights shone in the windows. I would have rented it again. The problem we had was with the cottage. When we got there the cottage was a mess. Dirty dishes were left in the sink, take out containers in the refrigerator, the stove and refrigerator were pulled out into the room (someone had been doing repairs) and tools and wall patch stuff was left on the counter. The floors were dirty and ants were everywhere! So, day one, we had to clean the apartment. It was even more troubling that I started calling and emailing the owner the very next day and she NEVER responded. I thought that at least the cleaning charge should be refunded but she still hasn't returned any of my many phone messages and emails. Very frustrating! Over the last three weeks I've left many phone messages and at least ten emails to both of her email addresses. NOTHING. No response at all. So for that reason I will not ever book this house again. The place was pretty good but the owner is unresponsive.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Debbie, Wanted you to love it! I regret that I was unaware of the situation with the house. As you stated, you did add the cottage later. I was traveling at the time, and should not have accepted your request to add the cottage as I did not realize that my contractor would not have completed the work he was doing, that is why the refrigerator and stove were pulled out and he had his tools there, (and apparently left his food out!). As you can see by my history, I have 41 positive reviews, and nothing but great comments about the house or cottage.I am sorry that this confusion caused you such inconvenience. I will absolutely refund your cleaning fee for the cottage. Please email your address so that I may get your refund check to you asap. Blessings from the beach, Millieanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairfield, Ca
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5

The house was amazing and accomodated all of my party! We would recommend this place to anyone who wants to be close to the beach and and has a huge party. I had 12 people and it was more than enough room for everyone. Millieanne is a sweetheart to work with. You will love this place.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Julie Ann, I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our beach house. You were a wonderful group and I'm so glad you chose our home to bring your family and friends. I hope you will return in the future. Thank you for your kind words. Blessings from the beach, Millieanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Delightful! Cozy, spacious! Beautiful light and windows!! Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous Family home. Everyone wants to return for Thanksgiving and Christmas!! Cozy fireplaces indoors and out! Comfortable everywhere!!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
San Francisco Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Half Moon Bay Brewery & restaurant
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
San Francisco Ferry
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Half Moon Bay Golf Course
Nearest Train
14 Miles
Bart Train
Nearest Motorway
Coast Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Moss Beach Distillery & restaurant
Nearest Beach
James Fitzgerald Marine Preserve
Car: recommended

World Famous Surf Location,

"MAVERICKS" Well known to Surfers as the Best and most difficult surfing conditions, where only the Pro"s dare go.

One mile from our beach house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moss Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
August
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
September - October
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee (House) $225

Rates quoted above are for the house only. If you wish to rent the cottage as well the nightly rate is an additional $175 with a $100 cleaning fee. Please let me know in your inquiry if you want to rent the cottage and I will send you an updated quote.

We have a four night minimum for the months of June, July, August, September and October.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties