Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Total renovation, ocean views, and just 75 feet to the beach walkway and pool!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 2, Sleeps 8

Welcome to Shipwatch Beach House! Located at 10 Shipwatch Drive, Harbor Island SC, this beautiful home has been completely updated and upgraded spring of 2017 with a casual but sophisticated beachy vibe! New paint throughout, refinished bamboo living dining area floors, new carpet in all bedrooms, new wainscotting, plantation shutters and window treatments, new beds and linens, all new furniture, accessories and artwork. Ceiling fans in all bedrooms and the living area provide a gentle cooling breeze throughout the home. This is a light and bright home, with numerous windows inviting the sun and views. There is a direct ocean view from the living/dining area as well as one upstairs bedroom. The main floor open deck and the second floor screened porch are perfect spots to enjoy your morning coffee or evening beverage of choice. A warm water outdoor shower is a welcome amenity for rinsing off sand after a day at the beach, and a gas grill is provided for cooking outdoors. This second row ocean view home is located on a corner lot, across the street from beach front homes on a quiet cul-de-sac. The site across the street from this house is unbuilt, so you have a great view over the dunes to the ocean. Ideally situated, Shipwatch Beach House guests have access to the Beach and Racquet Club only a block away as well as another pool, just 75 feet away and adjacent to the beach walkway. Ideal for a small family or group of friends, the combined living/dining area with a dining table seating 8, flows directly into a small but fully equipped and updated kitchen with stainless appliances, granite counter tops, a pantry, ample lighting and new Corel tableware. The dining table has 6 coordinating chairs and there are two additional light weight chairs in the main floor master bedroom that can be used to seat a total of eight. There is also an additional table leaf stored in the living area closet should you wish to expand the table length. The spacious first floor master, with cable television, opens directly onto the downstairs open porch, and has its own private full bath. There is a second full bath upstairs, between the two bedrooms and accessed through the hallway. Both bathrooms have full tub/shower combinations with curved shower rods providing extra space while showering. One of the two upstairs bedrooms has 2 queen beds and cable TV, the other has 1 queen bed, cable TV, and offers a direct ocean view. Both open onto the upstairs screened porch--which has an ocean view and can also be accessed from the hallway. This home offers a high speed wireless Internet connection for your convenience. And, there is a full sized stacking washing machine and dryer on the main floor. The owner provides 4 adult beach chairs, one child sized beach chair, a basket full of beach toys, and a small wheeled beach cart for transporting things to the beach. All rates exclude taxes and processing fee, departure cleaning and vehicle gate pass. No pets and no smoking, please.

More Details

Property Manager
Donna or Karl Mack
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

Amenities

Saint Helena Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Guests must read and agree to Sea Island Rentals Guest License Agreement and Harbor Island Owners Association rules. Thank you!
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Both full baths have ceramic tile floors, granite counter tops, and new fixtures. Downstairs bath is a private en suite bathroom for the master bedroom; upstairs bath is accessed from the hallway between the two upstairs bedrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • - 1 king
    - 1 queen
    - 2 queen
  • Master bedroom suite (Bedroom #1) is on the first floor, and offers a king bed, a private full bath, cable TV, and also opens directly onto the first floor porch. On the second floor are 2 bedrooms and one full bath. Bedroom #2 is very spacious with two Queen beds and cable TV. Bedroom #3 has 1 Queen bed, cable TV and a beautiful ocean view. Both upstairs bedrooms open onto the upstairs screened porch, which can also be accessed from the upstairs hallway.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • tennis
Notes:
Owner provides 4 adult beach chairs, one child sized beach chair, a basket full of beach toys, and a small wheeled beach cart for transporting things to the beach. Starter supplies (1-2 nights) of the following are provided: paper towels, trash bags, dish and dishwasher detergent, toilet tissue, bath and hand soap, coffee. Bike and helmet rentals are available at the Harbor Island Beach and Racquet Club. For more information call the BRC at 843-838-7254. The Harbor Island Beach & Racquet Club offers an Olympic sized pool overlooking the creeks and marshes of the Harbor River, a kiddie pool, sand volleyball court, tennis court, fitness center, small sundries shop and more.

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Total renovation, ocean views, and just 75 feet to the beach walkway and pool!
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
4

Wonderful house. Beautiful views. Kids loved beachand the two pools. Had a great time. .

  • 4 of 5

Only issues is need of an outdoor inclosed shower for kids ( stop them taking sand into house ). The animals wildlife amazing. Lovely restaurants Only only major issue was the BUGs. And unfortunately our youngest child seems to attack the bugs which was an issue

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and comments. We had planned to provide an enclosed warm water shower before hurricane Matthew, instead of the open outdoor shower we have now. Unfortunately, we were not able to complete this before the 2017 season. But, we do plan to have this feature available before spring 2018. Thanks, Sea Island Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Concord, NC
5

One of our best vacations!

  • 5 of 5

I have gone to Harbor Island about 2-3 times per year for many years now. We rent houses when I bring the whole family and this was truly our best family vacation in ages. The house was beautifully renovated, with many thoughtful touches, and it had every amenity you would ever need. The location is amazing - just steps from the pool, from the club house, or to the ramp to the beach. It couldn't be any more convenient. The kitchen is well equipped for those who wish to cook at home (don't miss the fresh produce at the Port Royal Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings!) There are wonderful porches for reading, good wifi, and the house feels roomy. I did have one suggestion and the owner immediately acknowledged it through our agent and plans to take care of it - so the owners are extremely responsive to their renter's needs. The house was spotless upon move -in so we didn't have to do any pre-cleaning at all. The island itself is a gated community, very beautiful, and very safe. We rented a bicycle for our teenage son and my husband, a runner, took advantage of morning runs through the residential area. The wildlife here is jaw-dropping...you will see a little of anything. In addition to the upscale and comfortable home and island, there are wonderful historical areas near by. Don't miss Penn Center, the beautiful homes of Beaufort, the Beaufort Running Tour (if you're a runner), boat rides, and...the FOOD. From casual lunches at the Farmer's Market to fancy meals at Breakwater and Saltus River Grill...Beaufort truly has something for everyone. I traveled across the USA on a road trip last year, and have traveled across much of the world, but there is truly no place I'd rather go to relax than Harbor Island...and this is now my first choice of homes when I go. And, one more thing, Karl and Donna Mack are the best agents...I've worked with them for years. They are accommodating, friendly, hospitatable, flexible, and professional. This is the place, folks, but don't take up my time slot :)

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice home in a super location

  • 4 of 5

Very nice home and location is the best for families with children (literally between 2 pools and the ocean just a boardwalk away). The only reason for 4 stars is the kitchen - it is very small - almost an afterthought. Would gladly stay there again though.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice and Quiet

  • 4 of 5

I wish I would have known that the amenities (pool, bike rentals, etc.) didn't open until April. There wasn't a lot to do for my teens. The homes and the neighborhood are very nice, and the short walk to the dog friendly beach was a huge plus for us. This was my first vacation in South Carolina, I would not go again until the weather gets a bit warmer (we were there in late March). The house had many nice perks; grill, beach toys, lots of towels, sufficient dishes and cookware. The TV's were small and not a lot of channels, again a negative for my teens but not an issue for me and my husband.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write a review--we truly appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Harbor Island pools are unheated, and typically open April 1, with a November 1 closing. Bike rentals are available year round. The summer rental location is the sundries shop at the Beach and Racquet Club. Off season there should be a sign directing guests to the Harbor Island Owners Assoc. office for rentals during M-F business hours. We apologize on behalf of the owners assoc. if there was no sign, and encourage you to call us with any concerns should you make a return visit to the Island. Bike rentals are also available from Barefoot Bubbas Surf Shop, just outside the Harbor Island gate. Thank you once again for your reservation and for your input!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful relaxing stay on beautiful Harbor Island

  • 5 of 5

This is a very comfortable and airy house, with tall ceilings lots of light. It had just been completely renovated before we arrived, and it is kept as neat as a pin. It is a stone's through to a newly renovated boardwalk to the large beach, and also has special access to the more private pool in the area. Even if it's a cool winter, you can find the sun in the fenced off pool area. If you don't know Harbor Island, it is a very special place to commune with the wildlife, stroll a pristine beach, and venture out of the gated community to fine restaurants on St. Helena Island, or out to nearby historical Beaufort. It is also located equidistant between Charleston and Savannah. It is a magical part of the coast. Note, that like all Harbor Island houses, you have to climb stairs to the ground floor. Owners and manager were very helpful at making our stay comfortable. Our dog was welcome, too. You could not find a better place to escape the winter than this clean, well maintained house near the beach.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Harbor Island is a small, quiet barrier island 14 miles southeast of the charming, historic town of Beaufort, SC. About an hour from Savannah, GA, an hour from Hilton Head Island, and 2 hours from Charleston, SC, Harbor Island is ideally located for day trips. The town of Beaufort is similar to Charleston but on a much smaller scale and boasts a beautiful downtown on the Intracoastal Waterway with historic homes, great food, and a fabulous waterfront park and marina.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • All rates exclude taxes and gate fee. Departure cleaning added to stays of less than 1 wk (7 nts)

You might like these similar properties