Picture perfect windows showcase sunsets all year long. There are magnificent views of 12 miles of beach, dunes and waterways. Everything that you could want in a beach experience is right there.
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
pismo sand castle
- Calendar last updated:
- Feb 22, 2019
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Wonderful Family Time for All - Beautiful Home
Family from Southern California and Northern California met at the Pismo Sand Castle for a great Thanksgiving Holiday. We loved the seaside decor, large living room, and wonderful view. We can’t wait to return. Much thanks for sharing your beach house! The Shoemaker Family
Great home away from home beach house
I wanted to say when I read the two old reviews I was scared to take family but I emailed Trish she was so nice and took the time to address all my issues and put my mind in ease. But when we got to the house I knew 100% the old 1 star review was not accurate. The house is a real beach house it’s the last house on the street so you have 200 degree view of the ocean. The man floor has all around windows and you can spend all day looking at cars on the beach (which is by the way the best thing about Pismo beach you can drive on the beach) . Each room is decorated so differently so every room gives you a different feeling. The house was clean, and the kitchen is great for cooks. Our friend is a chef and he loved spending time in the kitchen. The wifi kept going out but did not bother us at all. Kids walked to the beach and back all day long and the cars at the beach are so careful with crossing traffic so we had no problem. Over all we had a great time we will definitely be back next year. If it was up to our kids ( 20,16,13,14 years old) they want to go back every week. Thank you Trish for a great weekend.
Unkept Sand Castle on the Beach with Extreme Monster truck traffic making the beach unapproachable
We arrived after a seven hour travel to find a refrigerator full of plates and bowls full of cooked left overs full of mold. The dishwasher was full of dirty dishes. The back slider to the hot tub was unlockable and there was underwear and earings floating in it and it was full of dirt. We never were able to use it because no one ever came to clean it! We hurried to clean the refrigerator before our parents arrived and then had to call 3 numbers before getting through to management. All the closets were open and full of junk and personal clothing and belongings as if someone just ran out the door before our arrival. When owner called me back she said house cleaners were just there the day before. She sent the house cleaners out after we cleaned everything up and had her lock up all the closets She never sent the hot tub person or even tried to commmunicate with us again after that to try and show any concern about how our stay was going. We were very disappointed in her lack of concern and feel like she should give us the cleaning fee back. The barbecue grill was also disgusting and we had to clean that! There is continuous noise and traffic of trucks going back and fourth and at one point when our kids tried to sit closer toward the beach a huge truck went by them slowly, then sped up to spray them with sand. So not a pleasant place to be on the beach. It is sad to see all the traffic in such a beautiful place and what could be a great home so poorly taken care of when you pay a lot of money and no reguard to you as a guest. We would never go back!
Worst quality vacation house I have ever lived in
They claim that the house sleeps 12 adults. But they have only 1 king and 4 full mattresses. 2 people on one full mattress gets really crowded.
For cold weather, the house just doesn't have enough comforters or everyone.
House has no AC. During afternoon, due to all glass walls, the house traps all the sun heat and the living room gets extremely hot. The ceiling fan or tower fan are just not enough .
Very less space to move around. The owner has hoarded all kinds of things in the house and hence the house is too much full of really old things.
Only a 7-8 towels were provided.
So called 12 person hot tub gets crowded even with 5-6 adults.
Unsafe for kids:
Patio threshold was broken.
Rusty nails pocking out of many places.
Bedroom had a very thin glass object broken on the floor.
Bugs and spiders found in many places. Spider webs were found all over the house, showing the owner's disregard for overall cleaning.
Extremely bad condition of the house:
The grill had 1 week old rotting bacon and fish bones stuck all over. Even the BBQ pits in public parks are in better condition.
The hot tub couldn't heat the water enough even after running it for one hour.
Living room sink was clogged with 2 inch water in it from the moment we stepped in.
Internet speed was 15kbps. Yes 15kbps. Due to very limited cellular reception, wifi was very crucial.
All the glass mugs/cups/wineglasses were extremely stained. We had to wash each cup/glass before using.
The oven trays were soiled with oozed meat juices and smelly oil.
Outside wooden walls of the house are extremely deteriorated.
Oven was not working well. After setting at 375F it took more than 1.5hr for chicken to cook.
The problems were piling up on us but we were trying to accommodate. But when we found out horrible condition of the gas grill, our dinner was ruined. We could not take it any more and we called the owner - Trish. But after listening to the issues she started laughing at us. When questioned, she asked us why were we calling her now at night. On listening to our complains, instead of trying to pacify us she asked us to checkout before 10am, disregarding our earlier agreement of 12pm.
The only great thing about the house however was the beach. We enjoyed the beach and cool sand. Due to the bad condition of the house, all of us preferred to spend most of our time out on the beach.
I will not stay in this house again even if the owner pays me rent for using their house.
This guest was in our home for two whole days before calling me at 9:30pm the night before he left yelling and cursing me out and not even allowing me to address his concerns and then passing the phone to a friend to do the same. If he had called me anytime prior in his stay I could have addressed his concerns if they existed and taken care of anything for him. If I had walked into a house and a sink was backed up I would have called immediately which was not what happened here but his way of covering up the fact that they had stopped up the sink. I can guarantee that there are 3 queen beds in bedrooms and 2 full size futons and a king in master bedroom, but when you have 12 adults plus 6 children in the house things will see smaller. These guest lied about how many people they had at house. The WiFi just needed to be reset but I was never given the chance to help them and the problem was caused by a child probaly playing with router. If they would have given me the chance I could have trouble shooted it and rebooted it for them. I did ask them to leave at 10am instead of noon because they were in breach of contract, they lied about how many people they had in the home. The contract allows 12 people including children max and they had 12 adults plus children. They left the house a mess with food, crumb and sand everywhere from unsupervised children, broke a dvd player, stopped up sink, broke a chair, tons of trash, furniture all moved, and extra like new used. The owner and his family have many small children and the house is completely safe if they are being supervised and not allowed to run a muck. The only true concern was that the cleaner forgot to clean grill and has been spoken to so that it doesn't happen again. This is a retaliation for being caught in a lie and obviously waited till after I gave him his full deposit refund due to barbecue condtions even though I could have kept the whole thing for the breach of contract, sink, DVD player. I can promise I never laughed at him and was asking what he wanted me to do and was just blown away that when caught in lie about how many people in home he kept changing his story.
Great Beach Find
A common theme in all reviews is this place is very dated, and I can't understand why no effort is put into doing some modest upgrades, but put that aside for a moment, and this place as incredible for a family reunion following a wedding in SLO. The main floor makes this house very special as it has a wide open floor plan, a pretty decent cook's kitchen and 200+ degrees of panoramic. One problem with central California is that the beach front can be so cold and the 5 days we were there was no exception. But with our larger than life IMAX view made us feel like we weren't missing too much by not actually sitting on the beach. When it did warm up the wrap around deck was nice for hanging too. You need to know that the beach in front of the house is highway running down to the incredible Oceano Dunes Natural Reserve. Don't worry, the traffic noise is not noticeable and we were there during 4th of July. You just need to be prepared and ready to embrace a different experience and look both ways when heading for the ocean. It made for great people watching as police chased down violators of the 15 mph speed limit and watching the gracious 4x4 trucks helping the foolish Camaro dig out of the sand. 4th of July fireworks were some of the best we have ever experienced and I'm not talking about the Pismo Pier professional fire works as they are a little far away. We were ground zero around our bond fire as the local beach campers must have spent two months pay on some amazing areal fire works, not just one camper, but all of them. Yea, I'd say we had a great time at the Sand Castle, just gotta get over the lime green and orange carpet.
Everything was lovely
Stayed here multiple times for get-togethers with friends from out of town or special occasions. Always a blast!
The Sand Castle is close to all kinds of exciting or relaxing activities and fantastic restaurants, there's even a Melodrama close by.
Other Activities: Bi-plane rides, Shopping, Kayaking, boating, Wildlife Viewing
Additional information about rental rates
CANCELLATION POLICY: We do not make refunds. However, shall a cancellation be made 30 days prior to occupancy date, Lessee may re-book for a later available date. Monies will be held up to one year from the original scheduled occupancy date.