Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Two Short Blocks to Ocean Beach

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Very short walk to beach. Sleeps up to 8, including children and babies.

Our home is located only two blocks from a great sandy ocean beach in the quiet town of Cape May. These are short blocks so a super easy with kids and all the 'stuff'. We are on a quiet residential street - great for biking and plenty of on street parking.

The house is very clean, well maintained, nicely decorated and comfortable home for your family vacation. Open floor plan with fully equipped kitchen that opens to large dining room for great family meals. Separate game table in living room for puzzles and rainy day games. Wi-Fi and three TV's so you can be in touch with the world - or not!

Large upstairs loft bedroom with king, two twins and full bath with shower. First floor bedrooms include one queen and one with bunk beds. Double futon in the game area in living room.

Large grassy backyard with covered patio. Great relaxation for adults and fun for the kids. Outdoor shower and gas grille. Just a great place for a relaxing week or two with family and friends in a clean and comfortable home.

We include cleaning in our rental price so you don't have to spend your last morning racing around.

Keywords: Single Family Home

More Details

Owner
Kim Russell
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 15, 2017

About Kim Russell

We have been vacationing in Cape May for 10 years. We bought our first home in 2002 and had so much fun fixing it up we kept going! I am a homebuilder and we have remodeled and sold several homes in Cape May.

Our homes are super clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and we keep them updated and well maintained.

Kim Russell purchased this house in 2003

Why Kim Russell chose Southern Shore Region

Cape May was a sleepy beach town that the developers missed and the locals protect. It is a historic seaside resort with a very active Historical Society. Cape May is a year round destination with an active year round population, great restaurants and lots of community minded business people who have a strong interest in keeping the town quaint, quiet and just a lovely place to visit and live, maintaining its historic charm. We moved to Cape May as full time residents in 2012 and operate a real estate and building company in town. If you are interested in purchasing a home we can help!

What makes this house unique

Fantastic restaurants and great biking town. Friendly people and laid back lifestyle. Very safe community and beautiful beaches.

Amenities

Cape May House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Full bath with shower upstairs. Full bath with shower/tub on first floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - upstairs - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , large loft like space with full shower bath
    First floor bedroom - 1 queen , First floor bedroom next to full bath
    Bunks - 2 twin/ single , Bedroom with single bunk beds
  • (1) King bed and (2) twin beds in large loft upstairs bedroom. (1) Queen bed in first floor bedroom. Bunk Beds (2) One set of bunk beds consisting of two single beds on first floor.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
outdoor shower, covered patio, large yard

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Two Short Blocks to Ocean Beach
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 19 reviews
5

Rob

  • 5 of 5

If you like the quiet, the serenity of a safe community, and enjoy walking to your favorite spots, this is the place for you! Ideal for two families! Kim's place is clean, tidy, and it has all the amenities necessary for a home-away-from-home; all appliances are functional, and we love the outdoor shower! The interior decor compliments a beach vacation. We looked forward to the end of our day hanging out in the warmth of the house, reminiscing the day's events or sipping coffee on the back porch early in the morning anticipating the day at the beach. Affordable for the location. We did not mind the two blocks from the beach - traffic is practically nonexistent The 20-minute stroll to Washington Square and to our favorite restaurants is pleasant and quite scenic if you love architecture. Love walking pass Cape May's beautiful homes with their exquisite landscaped yards. Previous stays were downtown, although accessible to our favorite shops, we had to put up with the street noise at night. At Kim's place, we could sleep with the windows open on cool nights undisturbed, and peacefully. We look forward to our next vacation knowing we can count on Kim's hospitality. She is quick to respond to your requests to meet your needs.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Cape May

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival at the property, we noted that surrounding area of where the house is, is absolutely beautiful. The outside of the home and the yard is large and very open. Great for outdoor entertaining. Once we opened the door, we really felt like we were at the Jersey Shore. Nice décor to the home and very clean. Owner definitely keeps the property in nice shape. Would highly recommend anyone looking for a nice home within walking distance to the beach to stay at this property. We will be back for sure! Thanks Kim for making our stay easy and enjoyable!!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Arrived to a musty and moldy smell that never went away! Permeated to all furniture and even cabinets and dishes. Cleaned ourselves and did not help much. Couch is so worn our backs actually ached. Backyard has a strange electrical tower creating an eyesore. So disappointed since it could be very cute!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry this guest was disappointed in their vacation in Cape May. We have guests that come back year after year because they love our home . The guest that left the day before this one arrived called me to say how much they enjoyed their stay and inquired about a potential return visit during the summer. The sofa is a 3 year old Mitchell Gold that looks like new, is very comfortable and not broken down. Our furnishings are cleaned and updated regularly. We had a very wet spring and it was a humid evening when this guest arrived. I had not made sure the air was on prior to their arrival so these two factors surely contributed to the musty smell... We are 2 blocks from the beach and the house is built on a crawl space. I was notified of this guests discontent via email the next day. My cell phone number is available in the house and in all my correspondence and we live 2 blocks away, so problems are handled very quickly if we are made aware. I replied by email as I was unable to reach this guest by phone or at the house. I suggested that they close the windows and run the air conditioning to give the system time to dehumidify. When I went by the house the air conditioning was running and windows were open, not a great way to dehumidify. This guest also complained about our wireless network not being secured, again by email rather than directly and was most unpleasant when I finally reached her by phone. I only check my emails a few times a day so I suspect that my response time did not help matters. My husband is a Ham Radio operator thus the antenna in the back yard. This is our first complaint in 10 years of renting and I am truly appalled by this review. I would be happy to furnish pictures of sofa and antenna to any concerned guests and am always available by cell phone to discuss any concerns before or during a visit. Our house is very clean and well cared for and we care very much about the comfort of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Portland, ME
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5

5 of us got together for a college reunion friends weekend ; the house is immaculate, well appointed, nicely decorated and within walking distance to the beach. We all felt very comfortable here. The rental process was easy. There were a few minor house issues, like a sticky door and problems with the key but as we were only there for a long weekend it was easy to ignore. However, I suspect if we were there for a week things would have been fixed while we were there as the owner is very responsive.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AWESOME PLACE

  • 5 of 5

My mother has booked this house for our second year in row!!! And we have rebooked for next year already!! Awesome location, very clean, and the big back yard is huge for our kids!! Great location to the beach. Very quiet and relaxing street. THANK YOU for making our beach vacation another one we will never forget!!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Baltimore, MD
5

Cape May Charm

  • 5 of 5

Four adults and two grand-children enjoyed a wonderful long week-end at this very well maintained property. The neighborhood is quiet, tree lined and pretty. The house is well organized and very clean. The beach is only two blocks away. The flat grassy yard is good for children, and the covered back porch adds an entire room for gathering and/or meals.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Ocean Beach with white sand.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cape May House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 18 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
Fall
Sep 10 2017 - Dec 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Saturday to Saturday rental in Summer. Sorry, no discount for multiple weeks.
3 night or $900 minimum off season. If you can only stay for two nights the cost is still $900 but you can come early and leave late!
Sorry, no pets, no exceptions, except verified guide dogs.
Final cleaning included in rent, Sheets and towels are not included. Can be rented locally. Call or write for more info.

Saturday to Saturday, 7 night rentals only in Summer.
50% due with reservation, remainder 60 days prior to arrival.
$500 damage deposit required for one week stay, $300 required for shorter stays.
Checks only. Sorry, we do not take credit cards.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable