Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

North Fork Getaway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This cottage is a perfect getaway for someone looking to rest and relax. Located in Mattituck close to all! It is just a short walk to the beach or shops. The cottage is on a quiet side street.

The manicured lawn is a perfect place for a BBQ or relaxing on the hammock. There is a picnic table in the backyard for a meal under the stars.

The cottage has 2 bedrooms. One queen and one double bed. Linens are included with the rental (sheets/blankets/bath towels) but you are welcome to bring your own if you prefer. There is a living room with a sofa bed, TV with cable and DVD player, and internet.

The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, dishes, pots and pans. The dining area has space for 6. Wi-Fi is also available.

Mattituck has a lot to offer. Beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, quaint shops, an abundance of wineries, live theater and so much more. The cottage is a short walk to the Hampton Jitney and train station. It is the ideal place for a summer vacation.

Our weeks are considered Saturday at 2pm to Saturday at 10am. We are willing to adjust the days to accommodate your needs if available.

****$300 Security Deposit is required upon check in.**** When paying through VRBO, they take a percentage of the security deposit as a fee. We believe the fee on monies being returned should not exist. Upon checking in we require $300 cash/money order as a security deposit which will be returned upon check out in full assuming there is no damage to the property.

Please contact Karen for any further information.

More Details

Owner
Karen
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Long Island MacArthur Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Four Doors Down
Nearest Ferry
21 Miles
Cross Sound Ferry
Nearest Train
0.6 Miles
Mattituck Train Station
Nearest Beach
0.7 Miles
Veterans Beach

Numerous Wineries

Amenities

Mattituck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen Bed (1), Double Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
North Fork Getaway
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 19 reviews
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

House is very clean and cozy! The yard is plentiful. Karen and her family warm and welcoming! We will def be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Such a pleasure having you! Come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We just stayed here for two nights. The house was immaculately clean and there wasn't anything else that was needed at all. The beach is a short walk away, the wineries are nearby and the town of Greenport is just a short drive. We had a few questions for Karen; she responded immediately. Karen was also gracious enough to allow us to check out a bit late. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Major disappointment- stayed 1 day out of 12 reserved

  • 1 of 5

Was very disappointed and dissatisfied with the cottage,. Expected AC throughout home, however kitchen. & dining room did not have it, owner did bring over a small fan but it did not make much of a difference. Washer & dryer was outside and with steep stairs, goi g down to the basement, this was not going to work for us. The condition of the cottage was not up to snuff. The carpets were very worn, frayed, and cracked. The bathtub had mold all around the tub, the shower liner had mold on it. My husband was sitting outside on picnic table smoking, my dog walking around the yard when a chicken flew up on table and cut his arm with its claws. We left the next morning. Was reimbursed 43% of the cost . This was by far the worst accommodations I've ever had the unfortunate displeasure of experiencing. Perhaps a young family who just wants to getaway and isn't as particular would enjoy it, as reported in many of the comments prior, but not made for the more "senior guests".

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a real shame this guest has chosen to leave this type of review. From the moment I met Mary and her husband I knew she was going to be impossible to please. She complained immediately that the house was warm when she arrived as we didn't leave the air conditioner running with no one in the house. She mentioned at least 4 times in the 10 minutes we spoke that she thought the house had central air. The house is a summer cottage, which is clearly stated in the listing. The 3 window air conditioners that cool the house rather quickly, which was felt when I brought over the fan to help circulate the air (a fan that was left in the box by this guest). The carpet did have a 1' pull in one location which has since been replaced. As the house had allowed pets, to have an expensive carpet would create stress for myself and other guests if a pet were to damage the carpet.. The bath tub was stained, not moldy, and that also has been updated. The guest also complained there were no electrical outlets in the bedroom for medical machinery needed for herself and her husband to sleep. There are 3 outlets in the bedroom. An issue like that any reasonable person would assume would be discussed prior to booking any location. Apparently I am also to blame for other animals being spooked by their dog. I offered to bend over backwards to assist Mary and make her stay comfortable, but nothing could ever make her happy. Nothing is misrepresented in the listing and as a courtesy I refunded 50% of the rental, not 43% as stated. It was courtesy I wish I never extended as the guest mentioned the review she would leave because I didn't give all her money back because of her decision to leave the property early. This guest complained to VRBO and created issues which did not even exist, fabricating complaints to boost her position that she should receive a full refund. Never, in the years we have been opening our home to guests have we had this type of negative experience. That says a lot more than what this review states.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
queens,ny
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Awesome !!!!!!!!! A must for any family considering to vacation in the area. Karen is a great host! She address any problems immediately and goes out of her way to help. So much to do : beach, waterpark, playgrounds, wineries and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice little place, great location

  • 4 of 5

Location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and an even shorter walk to restaurants and stores. Very close to Love Lane. The beach parking pass was great. The house is very much a beach cottage, not big on amenities but it has the essentials and is comfortable. Pet friendly! Owner was close by, very helpful and communicative. My only complaint is that the house is not particularly well looked after and could have been cleaner. Honestly needs a new carpet. We cleaned the AC filters and unclogged the shower drain. Really didn't want to go down into the basement to do laundry (entrance through bulkhead outside) but I did do a few loads of linens halfway through our stay. All in all though we had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: James, sorry to hear you weren't completely happy with your stay. The house is professionally cleaned after every guest leaves so I am not sure what was wrong when you arrived. I am sorry you didn't find it to your satisfaction and wish something was brought to my attention a week ago. Yes, we are aware of the carpet being worn and is currently in the processes of being quoted for replacement. As for the air conditioner filter and shower drain their status was never made aware to me and I would have happily taken care of their cleaning. As it is a summer cottage, the fact that there is a washer and dryer available should be considered helpful but there is a laundromat less than a mile from the house. Again, I wish you would have said something so I could have made it right when you arrived. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Middle Village, NY
5

Loved the location!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a lovely stay here, great location, close to supermarket, starbucks and movie theatre and a walk to Love Lane. Very clean with a well stocked kitchen so cooking dinner was a breeze. Would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties