Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Couples Called it Perfect! August Open!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Romantic 4th floor corner hideaway for a couple, peaceful watercolor retreat for the work-weary, you'll have an unbeatable beach view from the panoramic windows and balcony doors of this Gulf Shores Plantation Dunes sunsuite. See the panoramic view from inside by clicking on Photos Nos. 10 (side window), 11 (center window) and 12 (balcony view). Head for the ocean as soon as you arrive or just relax, listen to the water, and watch dolphins play from its sunny interior.

A condo Sunsuite means one big room, divided into areas for relaxing watching television, sleeping, cooking and eating, plus a separate bathroom. The previous owner's winter guest couple stayed two and a half months, and assured me they found it 'delightful'. And that was before we repainted and redecorated with water colors and a surfing theme complete with surfer wall mural painted by a local artist. Find library bookcases against the Lobby wall as you go in holding books and magazines guests can borrow and return, plus a Hot Tub Room and Exercise Room that will open with the condo's key card. Keep going down the entrance hall and find restrooms for ladies and men, in case our condo one is not always sufficient! Take your bike along so you can ride around the complex - there are bike racks provided for you as well as first-come-first-serve charcoal grills scattered throughout the complex. There is a coded entry lockbox waiting for you to come and be surprised by how nice a small beach condo can be, and enjoy its beach view from anywhere in the condo!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Linda Styron
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 16, 2017

About Linda Styron

Although we are too old for riding surfboards (and far too heavy!) I just love the idea. My husband, an old Navy man, had been hoping for an anchor theme!?? Maybe next time...

Linda Styron purchased this studio in 2009

Why Linda Styron chose Alabama

So many happy memories started in this area, from childhood to young adulthood to old age now. My Aunt and Uncle owned a house on the beach we loved to visit on rare occasions when our family was invited, but it was rented and used for business associates most of the time. We rented many places on Ft. Morgan and Gulf Shores and always had a wonderful time.

What makes this studio unique

Such a happy place! From the roll-throwing restaurant to the Track my children and grandchildren have looked forward to their trips with us and without us. (maybe especially without us, once they reached high school age!)

Amenities

Gulf Shores Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • On your Rental Request, I need to know how many Adults and how many Children you plan to bring in order for Housekeeping to take sheet replacements.
  • Should I learn of unexpected guests not claimed on your Rental Request you will not be welcome to visit Surf's Up again. Ever!
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • . Housekeeping always furnishes 2 rolls of toilet paper and 4 sets of bath linens. I take extra t.p. and my husband and I frequently use the same bath towel.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa bed is queen size. Sheets should be in the white trunk
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1), Bunk Beds (1 set),ss I bought a sofa that includes a queen bed so young children would not need to sleep on the top bunk bed far above my hard tile floor. There is a set of safety bars my housekeeper puts in the closet with bars that go under the bunk mattress I hope guests will use if letting a child sleep on the top bunk. Also, the bunk beds are very time-consuming for Housekeeping to re-make once used. When we take children we tell them "the top bunk is for our suitcases"!
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

Couples Called it Perfect! August Open!
average rating of 4.7659574 based on 47 reviews
5

Was amazing view, very cute studio , everything we needed , very comfortable bed and lazy boy !

  • 5 of 5

It's our 7 th time at plantation resort we love it

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Robin, thank you for taking time to post a nice review of your Surf's Up vacation. You were a perfect guest who will always be welcome!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My wife and I had a terrific time. Great view of the ocean and the room was a perfect size for us.

  • 5 of 5

Everything about our trip was wonderful and it started with our room. It was so easy to check in late at night, room was very clean and the first thing we did was open the patio door and breathe in the ocean air. Bed was very comfortable and everything else worked just fine. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect for what we wanted. Location to the beach couldn't have been better.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I went for our 20th anniversary. The condo was a perfect size for the two of us. It was nice to be away from the chaos of Gulf Shores but still close enough to drive in for dinner or ice cream. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Loved every minute of it and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5

This place is a ways away from the hustle and bustle of gulf shores, but close enough to drive in for dinner. It's quiet, relaxing, and beautiful! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great value

  • 4 of 5

This is a great value for a couple for a short stay. It is very nice and clean. Fully equipped. The view is great. The elevator is closer to the front of the building so it looks like the hallway grows as you walk to the condo. But that is the sacrifice to make to have the beach view so it's worth it. The area is really nice and family oriented. The gentlemen that rent the beach chairs and umbrellas are very nice. It's like you have your own cabana boy to serve you. The building itself is very nice as well. All in all a great stay. Would stay there again.

However, I do think you need to get a new tv remote since part of that one doesn't work.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to post a very honest teview. My housekeeper called to say the tv remote needed replacing, and she is getting me a new one. My husband and I laughed about the "growing hallway" having walked it many times!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful & very clean studio condo, perfect for couple. 4th floor with direct ocean view. Sassy Bass Grill had delicious food & the best coconut margaritas!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cathy, Thanks so much for your nice review! Hope to see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Historic Fort Morgan, turn left when departing the resort,

find at the end of Hwy. 180, along with the Ferry you can ride. There is a fee for both activities, around $4/person to see the Fort, and $25 the last time I rode the Ferry.

A new restaurant, 'Sassy Bass' is located by taking a left turn when leaving the Plantation, not far down Hwy. 180 on the left - I have not been yet, but my friend told me their seafood is Awesome!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$960
 
 
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,120
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
Aug 16 2017 - Nov 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Winter
Nov 2 2017 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$75
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 6.0%

Payment of $100 to secure the reservation is expected within 5 business days. The remaining balance is due 15 days before scheduled arrival. There is presently no damage deposit. Refunds are granted on a case-by-case basis and I refund for any sad story that I actually believe and for hurricanes and hurricane warnings if the onsite management rules the complex in danger or unsafe in any way. An additional fee of $20 was added by our Board starting May, 2016, payable by email to an address I will send you before your scheduled arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties