Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

COUPLES CALL IT "PERFECT" - COME AND SEE WHY!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Romantic 4th floor corner hideaway for a couple, peaceful watercolor retreat for the work-weary, you'll have an unbeatable beach view from the panoramic windows and balcony doors of this Gulf Shores Plantation Dunes sunsuite.

See the panoramic view from inside by clicking on Photos Nos. 10 (side window),

11 (center window) and 12 (balcony view).

Head for the ocean as soon as you arrive or just relax, listen to the water, and watch dolphins play from the sofa in its sunny interior or its matching recliner..

A condo Sunsuite means one big room, divided into areas for relaxing watching television, sleeping, cooking and eating, plus a separate bathroom, 500 square feet total, so please do not take more than 4 people!

The previous owner's winter guest couple stayed two and a half months, and assured me they found it 'delightful'.

And that was before we repainted and redecorated with water colors and a surfing theme complete with surfer wall mural painted by a local artist.

Find library bookcases against the Lobby wall as you go in holding books and magazines guests can borrow and return, plus a Hot Tub Room and Exercise Room that will open with the condo's key card. Keep going down the entrance hall and find restrooms for ladies and men, in case our condo one is not always sufficient! Take your bike along so you can ride around the complex - there are bike racks provided for you as well as first-come-first-serve charcoal grills scattered throughout the complex.

There is a coded entry lockbox waiting for you to come and be surprised by how nice a small beach condo can be, and enjoy its beach view from anywhere in the condo!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Amenities

Gulf Shores Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 17
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • On your Rental Request, I need to know how many Adults and how many Children you plan to bring in order for Housekeeping to take sheet replacements.
  • Should I learn of unexpected guests not claimed on your Rental Request you will not be welcome to visit Surf's Up again. Ever!
  • I do not accept short term reservations until January 1 of the year of arrival as no matter how sincere most of them will cancel before final payment.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • . Housekeeping always furnishes 2 rolls of toilet paper and 4 sets of bath linens. I take extra t.p. and my husband and I frequently use the same bath towel.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa bed is queen size. Sheets should be in the white trunk
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1), Bunk Beds (1 set),ss I bought a sofa that includes a queen bed so young children would not need to sleep on the top bunk bed far above my hard tile floor. There is a set of safety bars my housekeeper puts in the closet with bars that go under the bunk mattress I hope guests will use if letting a child sleep on the top bunk. Also, the bunk beds are very time-consuming for Housekeeping to re-make once used. When we take children we tell them "the top bunk is for our suitcases"!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
During the summer there are lots of vendors who come to furnish fireworks and fun to our guests. You can rent beach chairs and umbrellas anytime from our beach vendor who even found a beach wheel chair for one of my handicapped guests!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
24% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
COUPLES CALL IT "PERFECT" - COME AND SEE WHY!
average rating of 4.724138 based on 58 reviews
5

Surf's up in the cold winter

  • 5 of 5

I spent my birthday on Fort Morgan Road at Surf's Up condo. Although the weather was sooo cold, the condo was very cozy. I loved the views from the balcony of the gulf and sky as the waves and clouds churned in the north wind. The kitchen was well equipped with everything I needed. I appreciated having a regular coffee maker instead of a single cup maker. The bed was very comfortable, with great lamps for reading on each side.

I loved the location, with very few high rise buildings in the area. I can imagine the beaches being less crowded on Fort Morgan Road than on the main road. The two National Wildlife Reserve areas nearby were so beautiful, with many birds, hiking trails and kayak launches.

I hope to return in warmer weather and bring my kayak to test the waters.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jane, I appreciate so much your taking the time to write a 5-star review on "Surf's Up", especially since you came during the worst January deep freeze I can remember on this Gulf Coast location! I will be looking forward to your warm weather kayak visit I hope will be soon. I enjoyed your visit! Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great little place but terrible bed

  • 3 of 5

The beds were so hard and uncomfortable. What would have been the perfect little trip was marred by sleep deprivation.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chelsea, I'm so sorry you were unable to sleep on our firm queen mattress! My husband and I could not sleep on a soft one! I ordered my new sofa with a bed just to give my guests another choice and will be contacting you to see if you have any suggestions for me to make up for your unhappy visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

We had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

The condo is very clean, tastefully decorated and has an amazing view! The owner was extremely quick in responding to our inquiry and very gracious and accommodating! We highly recommend the place and will definitely return ourselves!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alina, you were also a gracious and accommodating guest who will always be welcomed back to Surf’s Up! Thanks so much for emailing the pictures of the new condo windows and balcony door I had not seen.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful Ocean view!!

  • 4 of 5

The condo was very small and would be perfect for a couple and a child or maybe 2. The view was absolutely amazing and just a few steps away from the beach. Thank you for letting me stay in your condo. I enjoyed my time there.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean quiet and nice

  • 5 of 5

Surfs up was a cute cottage feel condo perfect for our vacation ! Great beach view and access! Thanks Linda !

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate so much your 5 star review and hope you and your daughters will be back next fall!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great beachfront condo

  • 5 of 5

Great beachfront condo! Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matt, thank you for taking time to write a positive review. Y'all come back next year when Surf's Up will have all new windows and a new balcony door!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Owner

Linda Styron
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Linda Styron

Although we are too old for riding surfboards (and far too heavy!) I just love the idea. My husband, an old Navy man, had been hoping for an anchor theme!?? Maybe next time...

Linda Styron purchased this studio in 2009

Why Linda Styron chose Gulf Shores

So many happy memories started in this area, from childhood to young adulthood to old age now. My Aunt and Uncle owned a house on the beach we loved to visit on rare occasions when our family was invited, but it was rented and used for business associates most of the time. We rented many places on Ft. Morgan and Gulf Shores and always had a wonderful time.

What makes this studio unique

Such a happy place! From the roll-throwing restaurant to the Track my children and grandchildren have looked forward to their trips with us and without us. (maybe especially without us, once they reached high school age!)

Map

The Hangout
Cosmo's Restaurant & Bar
Car: necessary

Historic Fort Morgan, turn left when departing the resort,

find at the end of Hwy. 180, along with the Ferry you can ride. There is a fee for both activities, around $4/person to see the Fort, and $25 the last time I rode the Ferry.

A new restaurant, 'Sassy Bass' is located by taking a left turn when leaving the Plantation, not far down Hwy. 180 on the left - I have not been yet, but my friend told me their seafood is Awesome!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 6.0%

Payment of $100 to secure the reservation is expected within 5 business days. The remaining balance is due 15 days before scheduled arrival. There is presently no damage deposit. Refunds are granted on a case-by-case basis and I refund for any sad story that I actually believe and for hurricanes and hurricane warnings if the onsite management rules the complex in danger or unsafe in any way. An additional fee of $20 was added by our Board starting May, 2016, payable by email to an address I will send you before your scheduled arrival. Any extra guests added after reservation has been secured will need to be approved by owner, as cleaning couple will need to take more bed linens after you and the extra guests leave.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.