check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beach Victorian / 6 bdr 5 bath luxury home @Yacht Harbor & Twin Lakes Bch

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
15
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 13-15)

UCSC parents, family members will receive a 15% off any stay, minimum 2 nites.

This beautiful 1905 Victorian home was totally upgraded and remodeled in 2005. It is on the walking tour of Historic homes in Live Oak. We have been awarded a 'Blue Plaque' for the home's unique preservation. The home is furnished with period antiques and is stunning and unique. Wainscoting, redwood beams and redwood walls adorn the home. The home is 2950 square feet. It boasts 30 stained glass windows, as well as hardwood floors, area rugs and carpet. A perfect location, it is approximately 2 blocks to Twin Lakes Beach and two blocks to the Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor. Six restaurants are within walking distance: Crow's Nest. El Palomar, Johnny's Harborside, Harbor Cafe,L & L Hawaiian BBQ and Aldo's . It also has a grocery and deli across the street. You don't even need to use your car.

The upper level has two bedrooms, each with queen bed and their own bathroom. In addition, there is a half bath off the dining area. The gourmet kitchen has high redwood ceilings with a five burner gas range, double ovens, dishwasher, microwave, disposal and an informal bar that seats three. There is a gorgeous formal dining room with a cherry antique table with seating for eight. The family room has a 50 inch Plasma TV, DVD player, sectional sofa bed and 2 wingback chairs. It has two entrances. One is the front door with a huge covered porch facing 7th Ave. and the back door leads down to the Jacuzzi and deck.

The 3rd story loft has been converted to a Harry Pottery bedroom. It is carpeted, has a large skylite, another window, loveseat, chair, TV, dvd player, 2 twin beds and a fold out chair/bed . Suitable for adults too!!

Winding down the spiral staircase leads you to the lower level of the home. It has three bedrooms: Two have queen beds and the other has two twins. The bedroom with twin beds has its own tv. The large master bedroom also has a couch, chair and 31 inch TV, Sony play station and DVD player which can be used as additional living space for tv viewing and relaxing. The roll away bed is tucked in a large windowed closet, in a queen bedroom, but can be moved for your use. There is a quaint kitchen with stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, etc. For those with teens this is can be their own place. The home is also perfect for two families since it offers total privacy if so desired. The lower level also has two entrances. One entrance leads to the outside to the BBQ, Jacuzzi and deck., one to Carmel Street Seating for 12-16 outside and table for outdoor living.

Washer and Dryer are in a covered area in back yard. No need to leave your vacation resort! Lots of parking! Two-three cars can park in the driveway (no permits needed), and parking for an additional 3 cars on the side and two cars in the front. Four parking permits come with the home for peak season. Perfect for reunions and multi-families.

Keywords: Large upgraded Victorian at Beach/Yacht Harbor

More Details

Owner
Debbi
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2016

About Debbi

I have lived in Santa Cruz for over 20 years and have loved every minute of it. Coming from the Central Valley, I enjoy the escape from the heat, extreme cold and air quality. The weather is conducive to anything. I am a horseman and love to ride on the beach and in the Santa Cruz mountains.

Debbi purchased this house in 2004

Why Debbi chose Central Coast

I have always loved the Santa Cruz area since it combines the ocean and the mountain redwoods. The beaches are fantastic and the weather, supreme. There is so much to do with free weekly concerts at the Boardwalk and Capitola Beach. There is a Begonia Festival, Jazz concerts and shopping, just to name a few activities.

What makes this house unique

The home can be divided into two units for privacy or separate rentals. The upper and lower story both each have a kitchen, family room and two entrances. In addition there are three bedrooms, three baths upstairs, and two bedrooms, two bath downstairs, living room with queen bed. Thus making it perfect for two families who want to share in the expense yet maintain their privacy, or a family who look to have their kids with their own total space. The new Harry Potter Bedroom on the 3rd level is a magnet for kids. TV, Dvd player, two twin beds, fold out bed, and 2 loveseats. Perfect for the munchkins own space!! This home is within walking distance to six restaurants. Great for adults too!

CAN BE DIVIDED INTO TWO SEPARATE UNITS

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Beach Victorian / 6 bdr 5 bath luxury home @Yacht Harbor & Twin Lakes Bch
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
San Francisco, CA.
5

Charming House in Santa Cruz, CA

  • 5 of 5

14 long term friends recently gathered in this house for our annual reunion. We always go to a different location in the western US or Europe. This house in Santa Cruz was perfect for us. Enough bedrooms and bathrooms that we were not crowded. The layout of the house allowed for privacy when wanted and group gatherings for meals and hangouts. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach and restaurants and close to the Boardwalk for entertainment. Quite fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful old Victorian, Most people appreciate its unique qualities as well as all of the sleeping accommodations it can provide for large groups. While families tend to be the majority of our guests, groups such as yours, can also find the space and charm of the home to meet and exceed their needs. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and observations. We hope you return soon to the Painted Lady.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Rodents and Ants

  • 1 of 5

It would be helpful for those who consider staying at this home to realize that this house is over one hundred years old. It seems that every effort has been made to maximize the number of people that can be accommodated. The attic loft is served by a stairway which would be more accurately described as a ladder. There are so many decorative items that the house feels rather cluttered, and surely make a thorough cleaning difficult.

Neither cook top has a hood or vent. Cooking fumes and grease float upward and outward and adhere to the ceilings, surfaces and floors.

When the breaker tripped on the clothes dryer, it took us quite a while to find the breaker box. (There are two on the outside of the house at the meters. But the one we were looking for was inside on the exterior wall of the downstairs kitchen.) I found it curious that the clothes washer and dryer were located outside the house, but I guess since it so rarely rains in California, this probably isn’t unusual.

However, our greatest concern, and the issue which nearly ruined our vacation, is the attention paid to pest control. We learned after we arrived that mice had been spotted by the previous renters, so the owners had put out mouse traps. From previous reviews, we learned that this was not a first time occurrence.

One evening, we returned from dinner out to discover a rat, not a mouse, a RAT, dead in the living room floor. It was at least six inches long without the tail. It had been caught by a rat trap behind the TV and had pulled itself and the attached trap out into the middle of the room before expiring. One family in our party very nearly left that moment. Everyone was very distressed.

I called the owner to appraise him of the situation. He didn’t seem to know that rat bait essentially embalms rats, so that there is no odor from those who crawl back into the house before dying. I urged him to engage a professional pest control service to address this problem. Perhaps they could also address the ants all over the coffee service area in the dining room. They even found their way into our luggage. My further advice would be to reduce the clutter, put hoods on the cook tops, have the electrical system examined and improved by a certified electrician, update the clothes washer and dryer and get some bed side lamps.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was very surprised to hear all of the negative comments about our home since I had a conversation with the wife after their stay. She told me her husband actually let a guest write the review as noted by the name Cindy R. Other than the rodent and ant incident, the wife told me she loved the home. She told me it was 2 members in their group who did not like our home since they did not like old homes and hated using the stairs to the Harry Potter room, and did not want to pay their share of the rental. Her husband felt bad since he picked the home and let them vent by writing this review. The stairs are steep and I have specifically not recommended them for the elderly or small children. This group was in their late sixties, so I can understand their concern with the stairs. Therefore I would recommend anyone considering our home take this into account. There is a skylight in the Harry Potter room which opens to the roof, which I have posted that the screen should stay on and close the window up at night. This was not done, and it is likely this is where the rodent entered the home. It was an unfortunate occurrence. We have a regular service come out and spray and set bait out for creatures, and set traps as a precaution. I would think it is good that the rodent was caught. We are vigilant, but if there is an open window from a guest, this is something we cannot control. Within 12 hours I got a great review from another guest--5 stars praising our home. So as you can see, almost all of our guests have a great experience staying at our home. Often it is the case. People leave food out and ants come out. Comments about decorative items are a trivial matter and I feel Cindy is being quite petty. Most people appreciate our added touches in decorations. All of the electric in the home was upgraded in 2009. A breaker can go off when the home is overloaded with 15 people and using hair dryers, spa, washer, electric clothes dryer. NO one can expect to run 5 major electrical items and not trip a breaker. All normal if you overload the system. Our information binder contains details about the breakers, water shut off, etc. But I was happy to take the call and direct him to the dryer breaker which was tripped. Hoods are not required in the home since it is an historic monument and there is no grease anywhere This guest threw everything on the wall, hoping something would stick. Can’t please everyone but we do most of the time,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
merced
5

Beautiful spacious home with awesome location

  • 5 of 5

My 3 siblings and myself opted to do a family get together in Santa Cruz. The Painted Lady was the perfect choice: Spacious, unique and furnished beautifully. The 6 bedrooms offered us all our own space. The extra kitchen also came in handy. We had lots of room for extra beverages, desserts and and overflow. The beach was only a 3 minute walk. Fantastic beach which even allowed bonfires. ( As well as Boogie Boards provided in the home)! The home was clean and came well stocked with toilet paper, paper towels, soaps and plenty of towels. We enjoyed the jacuzzi as well. Great place for a mini vacation. Planning on coming again and next time we will spend a week!!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to hear about what you enjoyed about our home. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. It will help future guests know what they can expect from the Painted Lady. Glad you had a great visit. Come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Petaluma, CA
5

Unique house in a great location

  • 5 of 5

My group and I had a great time at this house. The space was clean and ready for our group with plenty of dishes, towels, toilet paper, etc. The layout is quite unique, which we all had a good time exploring. Location is top notch, walkable to many things but still reasonably quiet. I would recommend this house, and stay here again! Thanks.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our home. It does have an incredible location: two blocks to ocean and numerous restaurants and boating activities. The character of the home is special with its numerous doors, nooks and crannies. The three levels offer many surprises! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We do hope you make a return visit to our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sanger CA
5

Beautiful and comfortable historical home

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 13 stayed at the Painted Lady for three wonderful nights. The home has gorgeous furnishings, many antiques and all of the amenities for a great vacation at the beach. The kitchens were well stocked, the beds super comfortable, the house spotless and plenty of room for all us. The deck, numerous tables, gas BBQ ,wicker chairs for seating and jacuzzi were extra bonuses. The location was superb. A three minute walk to the beach! It was delightful to be there during the week, as the beaches were not crowded and restaurants easily accessible with little or no traffic. The owners were helpful with suggestions on dining and activities and they let us know they were only a phone call away if we needed anything. The numerous stained glass windows were amazing. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this home to anyone

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our home. We take pride in our home and are pleased that others enjoy the comfort, luxury and location. We hope you return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Roseville, CA
1

Not Luxury, not recommended

  • 1 of 5

The house is not all bad, but very disappointing. The location is excellent but there are many other places to stay within the same area. The mattresses are old and certainly not luxury. There is a lot of deferred maintenance throughout house. Not every room has a window with a screen that can open to cool the rooms at night especially difficult for 3rd floor with children trying to sleep there. It was so hot on 3rd floor that the children had to sleep with parents in their bed last 3 nights. Drawers and closets went unused since they were so dirty that clothes had to stay in suitcases. The down stairs kitchen oven smoked terribly when we turned it on and dishes were very old and not usable; although some were good to use. The worst part of the house we experienced is the mice. We caught 3 mice while we stayed here with the house mouse trap in down stairs kitchen and we could hear the mice at night while we tried to sleep in the bedroom attached to kitchen on the ground floor. We definitely did not catch all of them--there was at least one more mice running around. Ants were a problem in other rooms and bathrooms. The can of Raid and mouse trap provided under the sink gave us a clue of what to expect. We were here for 8 days and 7 nights. I can not recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW! I guess this is what one can expect from people who break the rules of the contract. We are withholding his security deposit for damages and having too many guests at the home and he was demanding that we do not, so this is what you get. We will not be extorted! The truth is that this guest brought a motor home with additional guests over the maximum allowed for several days, which violated the contract and put extra stress and wear and tear on the entire home and the amenities. Also, damage was done: A couch pillow was shredded. The house was extremely dirty and in disarray. A door was pulled off its hinges. . He stated he caught a mouse and when we told him we would bring an exterminator over, he told us that it would not be necessary since he took care of it. We never saw a mouse and even looked thru the garbage. . When we went over to check the BBQ since he thought it was out of fuel, we found out it was that the igniters that needed to be adjusted. The tank was full. His criticism is suspect. Dishes not usable old? We have antique china in the home which is certainly usable and appreciated by our guests. Beds uncomfortable? Less than 20 days earlier we got a 5 star review where the guests mention the comfortable beds. Our beds have pillow tops and feather beds on them. Drawers and closets dirty? They were not. Harry Potter bedroom hot? I can’t control the weather, but why not open the 4 x4 ft skylight, which has a screen, or use the several fans we provide in the home. Ants? Ants will come if you leave food out, and when we cleaned the home there was crumbs and food particles all over the home. None of these issues (except the mice) were brought to our attention. This review is spiteful, since there are many people who don’t want to be responsible for their own actions and will do anything to get their money back. All you need to do is to look at our stellar history to know that this review is bogus.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Crow's Nest
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Crows Nest
Car: not necessary

Gilroy gardens, a botanical wonderland with rides for the kids is about a 35 minute drive. Great America amusement park is about an hour away. Monterey Aquarium is 45 minutes to the south.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Cruz House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$775
$3,850
$15,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable sec depsosit $800
cleaning $295
Tax Rate 11.0%

10% off any booking 4 nites or longer.

we accept checks and paypal. If you use Paypa, then there is a 3% ADDITIONAL FEE. Half of rent plus refundable deposit of $800 required at booking. Final half of payment due 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Santa Cruz House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
  • 3 bathrooms have tub/shower combination. 2 bathrooms are half baths
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , roll away
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , Harry Potter Attic bedroom. Ok for smaller adults too!
  • Queen size Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (4),Queen Sleeper Sofa (1), roll away bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
if you are looking for a unique vacation stay, our large Victorian is perfect for you and your family or multiple families.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties