Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy cottage, 150 Yards to the Beach, 5 Golf Courses nearby. Pets considered.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

A cozy cottage nestled in woods, with Spanish moss hanging from the trees.

We have an extra large deck, and a paved walk from parking area to outdoor shower. Unique water heating system (Rinnai) provides unlimited hot water for all inside the cottage.

And the best part is you only have a two-minute walk through the trees on a paved path to the beach.

The ten-mile long beach is 150 yards wide at low tide, with a gentle slope to it ...perfect for young children. Plenty of shelling and sand-castle building.

Our entry to the beach is just a ten-minute stroll down the beach from the new five-star hotel 'The Sanctuary', the only hotel on Kiawah Island...where you can have a drink and enjoy their amenities...but not pay the high price to stay there.

Kiawah is the 'gem' of the Atlantic Coast...not crowded, well-protected with controlled access. There is plenty to do or do nothing...and Charleston nearby has all the other amenities you might want just a short drive away.

Keywords: Beach

More Details

Owner
Judy and Ward LeHardy
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About Judy and Ward LeHardy

Judy and Ward have been married for more than 60 years. Judy grew up in NJ and Alexandria, VA. Ward grew up in Coronado, CA and MD. They spent 32 years serving in the US Army and were stationed in Japan, Germany, Italy and Panama, and throughout the USA. Ward had two tours in combat in Vietnam and one tour in Korea. They have four children, four spouses-in-law, fourteen grandchildren (three of them are married) , and two great grandsons.

After Ward retired from the Army in 1988, they bought a 39-ft sailboat and sailed around the world over five years. This voyage covered 33,000 miles and started at West Point, NY and ended at the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD. They wrote a book and produced a VHS/DVD about their journey. 'Once Around' is aptly titled, since they don't intend to sail around the world again!!!

They bought their cottage on Kiawah in 1978...before it was built! They and their family have enjoyed Kiawah ever since, and they love sharing it with old friends and new.

Judy and Ward LeHardy purchased this cottage in 1978

Why Judy and Ward LeHardy chose Kiawah Island

We were stationed in Panama from 1978-1980, and wanted a get-away in the USA. After looking up and down the SE coast of the US we found Kiawah in 1975...before it was developed. We bought in 1978 and never looked back. We have remodeled our cottage three times: added an office/store room, expanded the deck, upgraded the bathrooms and kitchen, added an unlimited hot water supply with the Rinnai system, added a gas-log fireplace and a paved walkway from the parking area to the outdoor shower.

What makes this cottage unique

We love the security, the remoteness, the quietness, the Spanish moss in the trees, the bike paths, and most especially, the beach. In all of our travels over the years, we have never found any place that could match Kiawah for all these aspects that we treasure.

We are addicted to the ocean, the beach, travel, our family and Kiawah. And, most especially, we thank God for allowing us the privledge of our times at Kiawah.

Amenities

West Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located between the front and back bedrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom w/bath
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Back bedroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Front bedroom
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 3 bicycles
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Rinnai hot water system...you never run out of hot water. Enclosed, walk-in shower in Master bath; extended deck in back. Great biking and water activities.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Cozy cottage, 150 Yards to the Beach, 5 Golf Courses nearby. Pets considered.
average rating of 4.875 based on 16 reviews
Falls Church, VA
5

Charming cottage on Kiawah!

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room for our family of 5 (children ages 17, 15 and 11) and our dog. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely return! The cottage is very spacious and clean, kitchen has everything you could need, and its location is very convenient with just a short walk to the beautiful beach! We also enjoyed how close it is to The Sanctuary and an easy drive to beautiful Charleston! The owners and the rental company could not have been more accommodating. Thanks for sharing your cottage with us and for the great memories!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comments, and we're glad your stay was a great success. Hope you'll come back. We have included pets for several years now, and find that the majority of those pets are well behaved and controlled by the owners. The cleaning team does a very thorough job in between renters so there are usually no problems for renters without pets. Blessings, Judy and Ward
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Willoughby Hills, OH
5

A fantastic vacation at a charming cottage on Kiawah Island, SC.

  • 5 of 5

This charming, roomy cottage was a perfect place to relax and enjoy Kiawah for our party of six. The cottage was located very close to the ocean with easy access via a short walk across Eugenia to the boardwalk. It was clean, nicely layed out and wonderfully decorated for a beach vacation. Enjoyed our coffee & breakfast on the beautiful deck in the morning and cocktails there in the evening. Easy to get to The Sanctuary, Night Heron, Freshfield Market area & West Beach from the cottage. Plenty of beautiful flowers, wildlife and birds everywhere. A nice surprise was learning more about Kiawah, Charleston and the owners travels with information & books left for visitors to read. And it was so interesting to read the guest book and learn who had stayed there before we had and where they were from....much attention to detail by the owners to make sure that guests enjoy themselves while staying there. Beachwalker Rentals was wonderful to work with and assured that everything was ready for us and made sure we had everything we needed. We also spent time in Charleston..A must see and try Slightly North of the Boulevard (SNOB)... So good. Closer to Kiawah..Chez Fish..doesn't look like much but wonderful seafood. And Jasmine Porch at The Sanctuary ..delicious! We plan on renting this cottage again as soon as we figure out our 2017 schedule!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks...always nice to know that things worked out well and that our cottage and Kiawah exceeded your expectations!! Blessings, Ward and Judy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Kiawah review

  • 5 of 5

LeHardy's! Great location. We were very comfortable in your home. We especially loved that we could bring our Golden with us. She is so much part of our little family They were finishing building the new boardwalks while we were there and the one closest to your house was closed the whole two weeks but it is an easy walk to get to the others.

My best friend has a couple of rental properties and she told me owners truly want feedback so here is mine with a smile and a happy heart. I know how much effort has to go into maintaining a rental property and we appreciated the comfortable bed and furnishings so much. (Just wish our kids could have gotten away to visit us there since we had two extra bedrooms.) The only thing I would recommend is that you replace the tea pot. I am a big tea drinker the the pot is pretty well burned up on the inside. I just heated water in the small saucepan. While we packed for a six week vacation we did not bring a small screw driver (couple of things needed a turn on our stuff, luggage, leash, etc.) I used one of your skewers as I could locate everything but a screwdriver. And lastly, I don't know if this is a rental property thing on Kiawah (we spent four weeks on Hilton Head in February before we came to Kiawah) but we were surprised and a little disappointed that there were no beach towels or inexpensive small beach chairs to use. We decided not to buy any since we would have to throw them out but it would have made our beach time so much nicer.

OK, enough with the whining. We truly loved our time there and would happily rent again (and pack those things above next time!) Thanks again from the bottom of our hearts. Also, I read your book! Amazing adventure! Your faith and courage are admirable.

This was our third year on Kiawah checking it out as a retirement possibility. Three positive experiences!

God Bless you both for sharing!

Kathy Swiger.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this helpful comment...and we will add a new tea pot and a small set of screw drivers for the kitchen. The beach towels and chairs are the only things we don't provide...for the pretty obvious reason...they just don't hold up as renters come and go...and the overall policy of Beachwalker Rentals (our Managing Agent) is that renters should bring their own. Hope you'll return again. Blessings, Judy and Ward
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

guest fromIndiana

  • 3 of 5

this cottage was extremely close to the beach which was wonderful. We love Kiawah Island, very family oriented. This cottage was large and very spacious. There were some issues that should be taken care of. There were a lot of spiderwebs which needed to be cleaned. Also this place allows pets so people with allergies need to think of this if renting. One of our guests had allergies and was unable to sit on couches or use blankets before we washed them because of pet dander. Also the kitchen could use some new skillets as the ones were extremely warped and basically unusable. We had to purchase some cookware to use for cooking. A few small issues and this place would get 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All of these concerns were fixed promptly. Very unusual comments which have never been raised by any renters before this. We try to please everyone, but the allergy issue could come up again, since we have decided to consider pets. The cleaning team does a very thorough job in between renters, and the comments made here are definitely an exception to what others have said. The vast majority of our renters rate our cottage as 5 star. Blessings, Judy and Ward
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Huntersville, NC
5

Wonderful place to stay!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

What a nice vacation place to have in Kiawah. Very close to the beach and Boardwalk. Kitchen was well stocked with everything needed. Love the glider in the family room. The large deck was a welcome to enjoy the early mornings and evenings. At the end found the book written by the owners on their adventures. Check it out.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks...we always like knowing guests have enjoyed their stay and it is especially fun to know that they have read our book, "Once Around"! Blessings, Judy and Ward
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eastern NC, USA
5

Just right for holiday getaway

  • 5 of 5

We found the OceanWoods Cottage to be perfect for our needs!! The proximity to Night Heron Park was a huge bonus for our children, who enjoyed biking over there daily for pick-up games of basketball and soccer, and we all appreciated being so close to the beach, even in December. We were lucky to have a couple of days of 70 degree, sunny weather, and we took full advantage and biked and played outside the entire time! The house was clean and had an abundance of towels, which was much appreciated! It's a very functional house in a great location, and we hope to return in the future!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments. We agree that our cottage is ideally situated...close to the beach, at the "end of the road" (Eugenia) location so limited traffic, and close to Night Heron Park and the Nature Center where you can see baby alligators up close! Please come back! Blessings, Judy and Ward
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Charleston Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Cougar Course
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Charleston Train station
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
US 17
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Red's
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Kiawah Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Our cottage...460 Vetch Ct. (Oceanwoods)
Nearest Point of Interest
Main Gate at Kiawah Island.
Nearest Point of Interest
The Sanctuary Hotel
Nearest Point of Interest
Bohicket Marina
Nearest Point of Interest
Traffic circle and Freshfields Shopping area.
Car: necessary

Crabbing, shrimping, turtle patrol, Nature center, tennis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

West Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,050
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,550
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 16 2017 - Nov 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,450
 
 
Early Winter 2017
Nov 4 2017 - Jan 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,050
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.5%

Listed rates include all taxes and cleaning fees. If you pay by credit card, there is a small processing fee added.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties