Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Flagstaff / Grand Canyon - Forest Trails & Magnificent Views - Kachina Village

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,920 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Private custom home, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps up to 7)

Elk Creek Chalet is a beautiful cabin with panoramic views. Trails lead right from the cabin and overlook a small creek where the elk come occasionally to drink and sleep when in season.

Custom built in 2005, our cabin has 3 bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms, a fully furnished kitchen with dining area and views.

You can watch the sunset from the two decks or front porch. The larger deck is off the living room and the second is off of the Master bedroom.

There is plenty of wildlife for you to see here and bird watchers will have the opportunity to watch our feathered friends playing and feeding in the large pine tree against the main deck.

We have a long driveway for off-street parking that will accomodate trailers in case you're attending the county fairground just one exit further up I17. Folks with toy carriers will find that we have the ideal staging ground to launch explorations of the Forest Service trails accessible nearby.

Whatever your reason for wanting to visit Flagstaff, Grand Canyon or many of the other attractions, we're sure you'll find Elk Creek Chalet a relaxing and comfortable place to make your base.

Keywords: Luxury Cabin

More Details

James & Lorna
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About James & Lorna

Most years we would visit Flagstaff in the summer to escape the heat and in the winter for some skiing.

One year we planned a family reunion of sorts and rented a cabin in Kachina village. Needless to say we just fell in love with Kachina village. It is close enough to Flagstaff proper to feel connected but far enough away to feel out of the city. We also fell in love with the many hiking trails throughout Kachina village which backs up the Forest Service land. So many options and different hikes to take practically in our back yard.

There is also a Dog friendly hiking trail where many people allow friendly dogs off their leashes to run free and frolic in the Creek which is usually running about 10 months of the year. We call this trail dog heaven (AKA - Pump House Wash Trail) and our dogs know the second we pack the car from Phoenix where we are going.

We would prefer to live here most of the year but alas our jobs keep us in Phoenix for the time being.

James & Lorna purchased this house in 2006

Why James & Lorna chose Canyon Country & Northeast

Our dogs fell in love with the neighborhood and so did we the first time we stayed here. We fell in love with the community and never like to leave.

What makes this house unique

The peace and serenity of listening to birds sing in the clean mountain air is a joy that cannot be adequately described. You just have to experience it for yourself! Hiking, cross country skiing, biking, walking, bird watching, sledding and so much more is all here in Kachina village and you don't even need a car to indulge in all the very wonderful activities Kachina village has to offer.

So many forest trails and so little time:

The many nearby attractions:

Golf at several world renound golf courses

Ski at Arizona Snow Bowl

Lowell Observatory

Visit Williams

Historic Shopping area downtown Flagstaff

Catch the Grand Canyon Railway

Take the 89-A to Beautiful Sedona to see the Red Rocks

Catch a Lumberjacks football game at NAU!

Hike many of the peaks or local trails

Many Bicycle trails in immediate area and nearby

Catch a concert at Pine Mountain Amphitheater

Visit the Museum of Northern Arizona

Go see Grand Canyon, Sunset Crater or Walnut Canyon

Horseback Riding

Indian Ruins

Monument Valley

Riordan Mansion

Coconino National Forest

Antelope Canyon and Horseshoe Bend

Find out ore about Flagstaff here ->


Flagstaff House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1920 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Powder room - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master on the Main Floor. Separate Tub and large Shower
  • 2.5 1/2 bathroom on main floor Master bathroom attached to master bedroom on main floor 1 full bath on second floor
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1) Master Bedroom with attached master bathroom suite with double sinks, bathtub and separate large shower on ground floor., Queen size Beds (2) On second Floor with bathroom with bathtub and shower, Child Beds (1) Play Pen/crib (1) and High Chair provided, Full sized sleeper sofa in living room with High quality slatted wood mattress support.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 8 garden chairs
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Flagstaff / Grand Canyon - Forest Trails & Magnificent Views - Kachina Village
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

The property is nice but the beds are extremely uncomfortable

  • 3 of 5

We stayed for 5 days in October over Fall Break and the house was very nice, clean with everything that you could need. Our major complaint were the beds. The Master Bed is so hard and uncomfortable that both my husband and I had back pain and needed chiropractic adjustment once we returned. We also got very little sleep, which is counterproductive when you are on a RR getaway. second complaint are the barking dogs the next door neighbors leave on their porch when they leave the house. Barking starts at 6 or 7am :-(

I would highly recommend upgrading the mattresses and addressing the barking dog situation with the next door neighbors. Otherwise, the house is very nice.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry to learn of your disappointment with the beds. Naturally personal preference is a big factor in choosing a bed and, in line with majority preference we selected medium firm mattresses such as one finds in better hotels. A second consideration is that it's possible to add softness to a firmer mattress, but not firmness to a softer mattress. Based on your feedback we will look to make a mattress topper available for folks who enjoy a soft bed. The new neighbors were unaware of the extent to which their dogs barking carries beyond their garden. Again, we apologize that this influenced the enjoyment of your stay and wish we'd been able to do something to help before you left. We value your honest feedback and appreciate the opportunity this affords us to ensure future guests enjoy their stay to the fullest.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Relaxing and peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation in the Flagstaff area and we absolutely loved it! The house was very clean and comfortable. Hiking trails just around the corner and easy access to the freeways! We will definitely come back!!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely home with nice deck in the woods.

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay at Elk Chalet. The home was lovely and the deck was nice to sit out and enjoy the forest. There was a nice walking trail just down the road, so my sister who walks with a cane could join us. The location was close to Flagstaff and a Quick Stop was close to get some food items and gas. The only thing that my sisters and I didn't like we're the beds, they were very uncomfortable. Overall we would recommend the Chalet.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix, AZ

Great home, but renter BEWARE!

  • 1 of 5

The home is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed the hiking trails at the end of the street and our stay was very comfortable. We felt like we were isolated in the mountains (which was what we wanted), but it was only about a 10-12 minute drive into Flagstaff. There was no cell service, but fast Wi-Fi at the house. Loved that we could watch movies on Netflix the small amount of time that we were there.

We had a great time staying here and would have considered staying here again - HOWEVER, we were falsely accused of “damaging” their carpet. We were blamed for a HUGE stain that was NOT there when we arrived or departed. When the owners notified us that we would be responsible for the cost of the cleaning, I tried calling them, but she ignored and never returned my call. I asked specifically in an e-mail where the stain was located in the house, and they would not tell us.

If we had caused the stain, we would take FULL responsibility for it. In fact, I would have called them immediately to let them know. We never wore shoes or ate/drank on the carpet. We treat everyone’s home the way we would our own, if not better.

They “claimed” that we were the only ones in the house before their cleaning crew came, but with ignored phone calls and emails back to us - and knowing 100% that it was NOT caused by us, we were appalled with how one-sided this situation turned out. The carpet in the house was dirty (as it IS a rental), but for this to happen randomly to us was not right.

It was absolutely unacceptable for us to pay their carpet cleaning bill for this stain. If anyone is considering staying here — make SURE to document EVERY little thing right when you walk in so you aren’t blamed for something you didn’t do. We wanted to write an honest review about what happened — because we’d hate for this to happen to another renter.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re so very glad that you enjoyed your stay! It’s important to us to ensure that every guest gets as much pleasure from their time in Flagstaff as we do. Our aim is that it feels like your second home to relax, enjoy the clean air, nature and magnificent surroundings. From time to time accidents happen. Small children, such as you have, are no strangers to mishaps and it’s OK, that’s life! We’re sorry that you’re upset about the additional cleaning that was needed after your stay, and in ten years of renting through VRBO this is the first time a security deposit has had to cover that. Still, there remain some important points that we do agree about: • There was no issue when you arrived. You didn’t see a stain the whole time you stayed. • The photo the cleaners took right after your stay is clearly of the Elk Creek Chalet carpet and tile, not anywhere else. Yet still, after your stay there was a stain that needed to be cleaned. While we don’t question the sincerity of your feelings, simple logic suggests no possible alternative than that the accident happened during your stay. All the same, don’t just take our word for it: • VRBO’s opinion: They found no basis for your complaint. • PayPal’s opinion: They did not agree; PayPal declined to refund 100% of your payment! Let’s be perfectly clear. The complaint is about the $48 cost the cleaners charged to make a second trip for spot cleaning the carpet! As a family with two small children, consider honestly the possibility that maybe the reason you didn’t see it is just because you didn’t see it, not because it wasn’t there. We’re truly sorry that we weren’t able to find understanding over this, but grateful for your kind words about Elk Creek Chalet.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 3


  • 5 of 5

Our Family had a great time. Beautiful, clean home stocked with everything you need. Great entertainment system but a little difficult to get turned on. Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our trip. The house was beautiful and within walking distance of hiking trails. The grandkids loved watching all the colorful birds and enjoyed playing in the snow. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy that your enjoyed your stay, the beautiful area and our house. We were also happy to hear that your grandchildren were able to enjoy the snow. Warm Wishes
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Flagstaff Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Mountainaire Tavern
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Pine Canyon Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I17 exit 333
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Mountainaire Tavern
Nearest Ski
23 Miles
Arizona Snowbowl
Car: necessary

Lowell Observatory, The Grand Canyon, Sedona, Prehistoric dwellings & Native American historical sites, Meteor Crater, Lakes galore, Walnut Canyon, Wapatki, Petrified Forest, Meteor Crater, Multiple Hiking, mountain biking, skiing and cross country skiing many within a stones throw of our property


Rates & Availability

Flagstaff House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Memorial day
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
NAU fall start
Aug 24 2017 - Aug 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
Labor day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
Xmas New Year
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
Mar 26 2018 - Apr 9 2018
3 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jun 29 2018 - Jul 8 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $25
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet fee per night $25
Cleaning Fee $135

Base rate is for up to 4 people
Additional guests are $30 per guest per night
Pets are allowed. There is a per night fee of $25 per pet
Parties larger than 4 people may incur a higher cleaning fee
Parties with Pets may incur a higher cleaning fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties