Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Log Home, on Teal River/Lake, nestled between two National Forests

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights


About the property

Home, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This beautiful log home is located on the no-wake river of Teal River, just a short distance to Teal Lake. It is also nestled between 2 national forests (Chequamegon/Nicolet Forest) ,20 minutes east of Hayward, Wisconsin. Enjoy the solitude of the Northwood's on the elevated deck overlooking the quiet (fish laden) Teal river. Teal Lake is one of three quiet lakes (10 MPH limit)in the Hayward area and is a 700 foot boat ride up the river from the house. No water-skiers or jet skiers to foul up your fishing. Catch bass, northern, muskies and pan fish right from the dock. If walleyes, crappies and small mouth is your bag, Teal Lake will provide the action your looking for. You can reach Lost Land lake via a channel as well.

With 3 bedrooms (all queen size beds and 2 bunk beds) plus a loft there is plenty of room for a large gathering.

No matter what the season, you will not be disappointed with this cabin and the area it offers. You don't want to miss out on a this vacation wonderland.

Keywords: Lake Log Home Located on Beautiful 'Quiet' Teal River/Lake in the middle of Chequamegon/Nicolet National Forest in Hayward, WI

More Details

Karen Schell
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About Karen Schell

I retired in 2008. And immediately moved to the Hayward area as I have a love for the beauty of nature and wildlife that Hayward has to offer.

Karen Schell purchased this house in 2010

Why Karen Schell chose Northwest

Its always been my dream to own a log home in the middle of the forest where I can enjoy peace and quiet and nature.

What makes this house unique

My home offers the feel of the 'Up North Woods' feeling. Its located over a mile back into the woods with the Teal River/Lake at its front door. Its very nicely decorated with the North Woods furnishings with all glass windows to look out over the river and woods. Its extremely peaceful and quiet here, yet you have an abundance of activities all around you if that's what you choose to do.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Tom & Karen

We loved staying at your home. It is totally beautiful! The decorating and furnishings are top notched. God's blessings to both of you.

PS: Hope to see you again
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 9


Hayward House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Located on Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Located on Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located in Lower Level
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom on main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Located in lower level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Located in lower level
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Room for air mattress
  • Queen size Beds (3), Adult size twin bunks (2), sofa sleeper (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Log Home, on Teal River/Lake, nestled between two National Forests
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 18 reviews

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

This is such a great house to rent for vacation, it had everything we needed and was so comfortable. Fishing was great, we caught our limit almost everyday.

Thank you Karen and Tom.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. And thank you for taking such good care of our home. You are great renters to have. And so glad you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was nice. Owners are intrusive and try to squeeze you for money.

  • 1 of 5

Although the house was nice the homeowners were awful! They were constantly under foot, always calling or dropping by the house. If this is your personal house then don't rent it out! Also seems as if they expected us to provide professional cleaning services. Teal Lake is nice but you can rent a cabin Garmisch for same price and not deal with money grubbing owners. Also because they were so awful I have to mention how awful the taste of the decor was! So many cheesy painting and trinkets!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh thank you for the negative review, gives me the opportunity to call it as it actually was. 1. You weren't charged the weekly fee of $100 for the 3rd dog you snuck in and never offered to pay anything. 2. My clients never get charged a cleaning fee like most VRBO rentals charge UNLESS they leave the home unacceptable as was the case with your party. 3. One of your 3 dogs pissed on the carpet big time in the lower level family room. You never attempted to clean it up, nor notify us of it. I did not charge you for the rental of a carpet cleaning machine or extra time to clean it up. 4. Thought you were asked to do professional cleaning service?? You couldn't even wipe the dinning room table off, or empty your garbage out! Really?? 5. Some linen is missing from the master bedroom. I have not charged you for them, but maybe I should have. You were charged a total of $100. Which doesn't even come close to the cost it cost me. It's always renters like you that do the complaining. You can't or won't follow rules, you have no respect for other peoples properties, you try to get away with everything anything you can. I wouldn't think of treating someones home or rental like mine was treated by you. You didn't like my home decor, well to each his own. I will tell you though, I get tons of compliments on my decor all the time. Many of which are listed right here on VRBO. I don't need people like you renting my home or rental nor does anyone else. Maybe you should consider finding some CHEESY place that will accept your behaviors and dis-respectfulness for someone else's property and accepts your dogs pissing all over their carpets? But I'm here to tell you, I'm not one of them! I have ZERO tolerance for any of it. Again, thank you for the opportunity to tell you and anyone else like it was/is.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A beautiful home on a beautiful piece of property.

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we first saw the property, we fell in love with it. The exterior beauty of the North Woods and the comfortable, yet sophisticated, interior made for a relaxing and memorable vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dave and Jane it was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay at our home. You are one of many wonderful people we have met through renting with VRBO.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home, lake & property

  • 5 of 5

This place is gorgeous! The owners are beyond nice and very accommodating. The house has a true northern cabin feel to it, but with all the modern conveniences and a luxurious feel. They pretty much provide you with everything you will need, other than food. The deck is amazing! Caught lots of fish right off the dock. The property is very wooded and private. Love the Hayward area-make sure to check out the town as well. Highly recommend this rental! Great for a family vacation, romantic getaway or peaceful retreat.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

Home was very beautiful and welcoming. Very quiet. All the comforts of home.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Tom and Karen's "cabin", which is located a short jaunt by boat down the Teal River from Teal Lake (trim the motor!). Their home is meticululous in detail and very tastefully appointed, to the point that you will want (need) to kick off your shoes or boots at the door. We stayed at the home for a spring family retreat and used it as a base camp for fishing and day-trips around Hayward, back-country trail exploration within Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest (watch for bear and elk!) and as a place to relax. Both Teal Lake and Lost Land Land Lake are quite scenic and offer a variety of habitat and structure for very good fishing. We took Karen's advice and had a shore lunch under the pines on one of the islands. A few things to know in advance- if mobility is a consideration, the path from the house to the dock is a short walk over slightly uneven terrain, so watch your step. We also learned that frying fish and bacon is not allowed the house. That worked fine for us because the large deck is well-furnished and set on the second level so you walk-out into the tree canopy, which made cooking breakfast outside was a plus. Overall, the setting was very private and the beautiful quilts and taxidermy displayed within the house were an added surprise. One of the better VRBO properties I've stayed at in the US.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
State Hwy 77
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Round Lake,
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Hayward House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Peak Season
May 20 2017 - Oct 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Seasonal pricing
May 26 2018 - Oct 13 2018
Changeover Day: Thursday
6 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500

For Monthly Rates, please call the owner.
If paying by credit card there will be an additional $50 charge for processing fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties