Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Custom built 3bd/3ba True Hawaiian home w/Saltwater lap POOL & lava rock wall

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Hale Emmalani is a custom designed single story 3 Bedroom, 3 Bath Princeville home. It is ideally located on a corner lot surrounded by mature coconut, avocado and lychee trees along with a beautiful lava rock wall. Hale Emmalani is a one-of-a-kind home that sleeps 6 in beds and up to 10 guests adding the sleeper and/or aerobed. This home is about 1800 square feet featuring a very open floor plan with rare Hawaiian Koa wood trim. There are new Brazilian cherry wood floors throughout. The teak dining table seats 6 to 8 and the bar seats 5. The kitchen has been upgraded with new black granite counters, a corian bar, Italian tile floor and all new Jennair & LG appliances. All three bathrooms are newly renovated with new tile. While there is a jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom - it is not entirely practical on the island, utilities being as expensive as they are there. Our hotwater heater is solar and if it hasn't been sunny for an extended time you might not have enough hot water to fill that enormous tub! We suggest the great showers, the pool or that warm beautiful ocean nearby as a better reason to book our home!

The new guest house/pool cabana has a large outdoor shower overlooking a gorgeous 10x50 lap pool with custom rock patio. Five skylights and large custom windows make this home light, bright and airy. The backyard with lap pool has Bali Hai mountain views. There is a brand new gas grill on the patio. The house is fully stocked with kitchenware, full linens, hair dryers, iron and ironing board, vacuum, beach towels, beach chairs, 2 cruiser bicycles, helmets, 4 small kids bikes, paddle ball set, basketball, soccer ball, volleyball, two tennis rackets, yoga mat , big exercise ball, kick boards, pool ball and sand toys. There is also an eclectic dvd, book and game collection for your vacation pleasure. The washer/dryer is front loading and full-size. If it is a working vacation you’ll find an HP All-in One printer/copier/scanner at the small desk with a view of the lap pool. The lap pool has a salt water chlorination system - much easier on the eyes, skin and hair. There is wireless, high speed internet access. There is a Sony Bravia flat screen TV/DVD/CD in the living room and another flat screen TV in the master bedroom. There are also a portable MP3/Ipod docking station stereo and portable CD players.

Hale Emmalani is across the street from a beautiful lush park with basketball court and volleyball net. If tennis is your game there are public courts at the nearby Makai course. You could even walk (.5mi)to the Princeville Center shops and restaurants and playground. It is an easy drive to many of the beautiful North Shore beaches including Hanalei Bay beach and Anini beach. The Princeville beaches are 2 miles away and down some pretty steep paths. Hard to do with gear and little ones but well worth it for the fit and unencumbered. A personal concierge is waiting to set you up with activities like Horseback riding, hiking, kayaking, zipline tours and luaus. The Princeville Health Club and Spa offers day or weekly passes with relaxing spa treatments available as well as steam, suana and whirpools in both locker rooms. All of Princeville’s world class golf courses are within 5 minutes from Hale Emmalani. Did we mention the salt water lap pool? Ahh….

Bedding: 1 California king, 1 European king (or two twin extra longs-just let us know what you prefer), 1 queen in the pool cabana, 1 queen sleeper sofa, 1 queen aerobed mattress, 1 queen Coleman air mattress, 1 twin air mattress.

As is custom with vacation home rentals we provide you with a starter supply of paper products, soap & detergent -but then you are responsible for your own supplies.

Check In Time is 3pm - Check Out time is 10am (late checkouts can only be arranged through my cleaning team once you arrive on the island - it is based on their schedule - thank you!)

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Cara Newman Ruyle
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Cara Newman Ruyle

Hi, we are Richard Ruyle and Cara Newman Ruyle. We have three great kids and love vacationing in Kauai and hope you will too. We love the idea of sharing this unique beautiful home and location with others. We have lovely memories from this area and plan on creating more.

Cara Newman Ruyle purchased this house in 2009

Why Cara Newman Ruyle chose North Shore

The North Shore of Kauai has a tropical beauty found few other places. The friendliness of the people there, the beautiful beaches, the hiking, kayaking, surfing ...we could go on and on. The air is clean and healthy. The tropical rains that quickly blow through leave lush greenery and often double rainbows. We have enjoyed snorkeling and dancing the hula. We know others who relish the world class golf courses. We have felt drawn to this area and want to share that with others.

What makes this house unique

We have not been in another house like this in all of Princeville. It features Hawaiian Koa would trim, accents and cabinets. The open floor plan is great for family vacations. The lap pool is the length of the backyard. The third bedroom is actually in the attached pool cabana with a queen size bed. The master bedroom also has a sliding glass door to the patio with a view of the lap pool. It is truly a place for relaxation as you re-adjust to the laid back tempo of the island.

Amenities

Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • California King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), 2 Twin XL or push together for Euro King, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), queen aerobed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
scanner/copier/printer, beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel equipment, kick boards, yoga mat, exercise ball, volleyball, paddleball set, basketball, soccer ball, 2 cruiser bicycles, 4 small kid bikes, helmets, 2 tennis racquets, ironing board, iron, vacuum, 3 hair dryers All Provided.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Custom built 3bd/3ba True Hawaiian home w/Saltwater lap POOL & lava rock wall
average rating of 4.730769 based on 26 reviews
5

Lovely stay - well loved home & neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

This home is so unique - with a real hawaiian feel. It is well stocked and a great place to come back to after adventures around the island. The pool was refreshing - felt great and enjoyed by all 9 of us of all ages. We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alturas, CA
2

Needs Some TLC

  • 2 of 5

I have rented many vacation homes in my life and I have had great success with my choices. Not so much this time. After I put a deposit on this home, I became aware of a second ad for the same home from the rental managers, one that we've rented from before and were not too thrilled with. Reading those reviews I became alarmed at the reviews on that ad (not great) and that it seemed a little misleading to have two ads for one home. I contacted the owner with my concerns about what I had read in those reviews (broken pool pump, bad bed, broken stovetop, etc) and she replied that the property manager insisted and about the bad reviews that "Some people use their reviews as revenge" and assured me everything was in working order. We arrive at the home and find it to be a decent older home in a nice neighborhood. That evening we went to swim in the pool and we notice that the bottom pump isn't working and there's layers of debris and dead cockroaches in the pool and none of us wanted to swim in that. My husband got out the pool sweep, but the handle was broken and he couldn't get to the bottom on the pool. The next day was July 4th, so we called the management company the following day and were told someone would come and fix the pool. The short story is we called twice and the pump worked for about 20 minutes after they would come, then never come on again- just like the earlier review so it is a known issue. The pool guy indicated to my husband that he agreed that the pool was not working correctly. My husband and I both emailed the owner, asking for a partial refund on the house because the pool wasn't usable, but she never responded to either of us. We received the damage deposit today and sure enough, no refund. Beyond this problem, the stovetop did have a broken element on it, the master bath has an odd tub setup that wouldn't be good for older folks, the kitchen doesn't have things like a box grater and coffee grinder, the master bed has a strange lumpy pad and cheap scratchy sheets that was ok to sleep on but not what you want on vacation, and the wi-fi is open and there's nothing to indicate that so you will look for the password everywhere before someone tries it. This could be a very nice place with some TLC, but until then I wouldn't recommend this to other travelers.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Readers, Unfortunately, we weren't able to please the guest who wrote this review. I won't go through responding to line after line because there are just too many "alternative facts". But please know I never wrote that "Some people use their reviews as revenge" - this guest has put it in quotes and I guess is attributing that to me. We responded to this guests complaints about the pool in a timely manner. This guest has misnamed all the components of the pool service. The pool filter pump was mentioned in an earlier review and it was REPLACED 6 months ago. They were complaining about a brand new working pool pump - that is on a timer. The polaris pool sweep vacuums the bottom & sides of a pool - it is on a timer and is in perfect working order. The pool SKIMMER has a broken off handle - because our pool is only 10 ft wide. It is a lap pool 10x50. It is to be used only to skim the top layer of the pool - and it is very necessary on an island like Kauai to skim the pool because the tradewinds are blowing and blades of grass or leaves may end up in the pool - but these are the same things that are blowing in the air all around you and only a tiny fraction of what is in the oceans you come here to swim in. I responded to these guests many times. I could copy and paste the email chain but I wont do that to the poor reader. We checked with the guest before this guest and they loved the pool and did not agree with their assessment. I had my neighbor go and take a picture of the pool for me and it was sparkling clean. And I was the next guest in the house so there right after them and took pictures of the pool day and night and found all beautiful and in working order. My brother's family also enjoyed the pool every evening they were visiting. So no I didn't give them the refund they demanded for a pool that was and is in perfect working order, even though she threatened me with her reviews and how many people follow her reviews. Her tune was quite different before she didn't get her "refund". "The master bed looks funky with the pad, but is comfortable and we've slept well." A little different than what she wrote above. And "We are on our last day at your lovely home," As well as "Overall, we've really enjoyed our stay". But to address two other items - the stove top element was on special order (which can take months on an island) it has been replaced and all is in order now. And the master bath/shower has two safety bar handles.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Most Memorable Stay

  • 5 of 5

Cara thank you so much for allowing my husband and I to stay here during the week of my wedding. The home is lovely and has everything a family would need for an excellent stay. Plenty of towels and beach accessories were provided. The lap pool, outdoor grill and washer/dryer made it feel like our home away from home!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couldn't be happier that we chose this WONDERFUL HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't be more happier that we chose this house to be our home while we stayed here!

This house house everything you need while visiting this beautiful island!

This house was perfect for families, especially if you are traveling with children. The pool was a huge hit and helped with the morning to entertain the kids while the adults relaxed with coffee in hand and got ready for the day!

We really have nothing bad to say about this house. Just more like a few suggestions.

*A few more fans would have been great to help cool the house down and everyone at night.

* a few extra pillows, we had plenty but we all sleep with 3-4 so we might have stolen from each other in the middle of the night! Haha

*more kids movies, or possibly movies that were filmed here would have been cool to watch then go visit those sites.

That is really are only suggestions.

The house is fully stocked and just a wonderful place to stay.

Beautiful scenery every morning, along with the distant sound of a rooster crowing. Which didnt bother me or anyone in my party one bit! It just brought about the morning feel that we were here in Kauai, it was wonderful!

I couldn't be more happy with this house or choosing this island!

The housekeeper Michelle was great and very easy to get a hold of. Cara,the owner,is great as well!

The only suggestion that I have in regards to contacting anyone is on our way to Kauai we had a hiccup with our flight in LAX, and I had no way to contact anyone only Cara by email.

I would have loved to have Michelle's phone number so I could have contacted her to let her know we would be late and not make check in at 3pm. Which ended up not being a big deal being you have access to the house by lock box, but just wanted to inform them.

It ended up being fine and all worked out.

Thank you so much Cara for allowing us to guests in your home! We will for sure be back...hopefully sooner than later! ❤️

Mahalo🌺

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You so much! We loved having you as guests! It means so much to us that we get to share our home and this special island with others. And we also truly appreciate your suggestions and that you took the time to write them! More fans and pillows are a great idea! And more kids movies too! Having 3 kids of my own I completely understand that request. All the best to you and yours. We consider ourselves truly blessed to have such lovely guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

This is not a 5 star place

  • 3 of 5

As soon as I walked into this house I felt cheated. I was expecting a 5 star place, instead it was maybe a 3 star place. We have stayed at other places in Princeville in the same price range that were much nicer and we opted for this place because of the pool (mainly) and from the reviews and pictures it seemed perfect.

*Pool was super cold. We couldn't swim in it. The cleaning pool equipment that was supposed to be in the pool at all times was disassembled and laying by the side of the house. The pool person that was supposed to clean the pool on Tuesdays did not show up. Not sure when it was last cleaned.

*Main bedroom was musty smelling and the bed was super uncomfortable. There was some sort of pad on the mattress, felt like I was sleeping on plastic. Bedsheets are clean but pretty used.

*We couldn't park our car in the garage, the owner's friend's car was parked in it.

The owner said we could leave and she wouldn't charge us for the time we didn't stay but then kept the deposit. She also rated ME, gave me a 1 star rating.

She said we wouldn't let the housekeeper in. This is not true. I told the owner we would text her once we left and housekeeper can let herself in. I did not want additional stress during our vacation.

We would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We don't advertise to be a "5-Star" resort. We don't solicit reviews. We have been blessed by many many guests who have GIVEN us 5- Star reviews! And we are so grateful. That means that many many guests have felt that for what they have paid our home, it was worthy of 5-Stars! Many many of our guests are return visitors year after year! We love our home there and take great pride and care of it. If you want a 5-star experience, stay at the St. Regis (and you will pay accordingly!). Unfortunately, this guest's expectations were unrealistic of the vrbo experience at this price point. She wanted to leave as soon as she got there. While we attempted to get our head housekeeper there to address every issue - she said " I would prefer to be out of the house when the cleaning crew comes out as I do not want my family to be put in the middle of this." This sounded suspicious to us. We wanted the chance to correct anything we could to make her and her family comfortable. We have a contract that clearly states that cancellations must be 60 days out in order to get a refund. Nonetheless, I agreed to refund her the nights she did not use. I was not legally obligated to do this - but I truly do want guests to Kauai to be happy. It does me no good to have someone unhappy in my home. Then she claimed I was dishonest when we kept the deposit. I would encourage every guest to actually read the contracts. Of course we kept the deposit. She broke her contract well within the 60 day notice. Now to address specifics: the pool is not heated. It depends on the sun. It is not advertised as being heated. Hardly any pools are heated on Kauai - except at the luxury hotels. Utilities are very expensive on the island. It is my dream to get the pool solar heated someday (but I am still saving!). The pool is cleaned weekly. In fact, the pool man was in the middle of cleaning & repairing the pool vacuum. This guest was not there long enough to know anything about the pool man's schedule. The bed has a deluxe mattress topper on it. No plastic at all. Beds are subjective, I wish there was one mattress that everyone on the planet liked, but to my knowledge, there isn't! The sheets are new as of last March. And will be replaced again in July. The garage is not advertised in the listing. The car is ours, that we share with friends on the island. There's plenty of parking room on the private driveway. It is our home, of course, our car is in the garage.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Absolutely Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

We had a terrific stay here. Was very well decorated and has EVERYTHING you need for a fantastic vacation. Can't thank you enough and look forward to booking again when we make it back out to Kauai!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Personal concierge available to arrange popular Kauai activities like zip line, kayaking and luaus.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $325
Damage Deposit $500

We accept the Online Payment option through VRBO. We require a $500 security/damage deposit to hold your dates. This is a separate fee and is refunded to you 14 days after checkout to the credit card you used online provided our checkout crew gives the okay.
Cancellation more than 60 days you get deposit refund minus $50 processing fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.