Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceans/Edge Promonotory Deluxe-Homes Natures/Best

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 Full bathroom, sleeps 4

This 100.000 m2 Property overlooks the pristine waters of the Mid/Atlantic on the north side of Sao Miguel/Azores.

This secluded and quiet retreat is two miles to second larger city and a twenty five minute drive to the airport and main city Ponta Delgada.

Close to Hot baths, Caldeiras, Golf Courses, Hiking Trails, Beach/Fishing/boating and all other water sports and activities.

It also Provides its guests with all wanted privacy and places to relax or meditate.

Sports and Physical activities: This Island offers a very comprehensive array of competitive sports.

Physical activities are too many to mention.

Culture and History- Rich and worth considering.

Religion and ethnicity-very historic. Precious and respected by all the residents.

More Details

Property Manager
Manuel
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

Amenities

Azores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Tiled Stove
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Full Bath with dresser, lighted wash basin, cabinet, and storage area.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom has walk in closet and platform bed and is open to panoramic deck, with a breakfast table for two and two lounge chairs. Guest bedroom provides two single beds, large closet, and side tables.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
One of the other two large rooms is the kitchen, which is part of the living room. It offers all modern amenities. The living room with fireplace and two large couches has plenty of seating for guests and friends. The other room has a glass-enclosed panoramic deck, dining table for six, and further lounge seating to enjoy the view and glaze at the universe at night. The outdoor stone patio has a very long wooden bench, barbeque grill, and table for outdoor eating.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Oceans/Edge Promonotory Deluxe-Homes Natures/Best
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews
Auburn, NH, US
4

Extraordinary views from property situated on oceans edge.

  • 4 of 5

The views from the house are unbeatable. The house is situated on a promontory on cliffs 50-100 feet above the waves. There are actually three buildings on the property. The owners home and a full time renter. Neither interfered with our stay. If you are looking for a beautiful and private escape, this is it. Initially finding the property was difficult. Be sure to have the owners contact number in case you need assistance.

There were several discrepancies from the amenities described for our stay. On the first day we had no hot water. We informed Manuel, the owner, and he fixed the problem. The tap water is not drinkable so be prepared to purchase some, its real cheap, as is most everything at the market. There are flies that hang out by the kitchen door so plan on keeping it closed. A relatively easy fix. There was no microwave during our stay and the "coffeemaker" was a pour over.

There has been some serious illness in the owners family that I believe has led to current difficulties in maintaining the property. Family members are visiting now and the owner is expecting some assistance getting his issues corrected.

Manuel is a very nice, courteous man who truly enjoys sharing this extraordinary property with his guests. Despite the issues stated we had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Million Dollar view

  • 3 of 5

The view is truly spectacular a 5 out of 5. When we arrived I noticed that the house was full of flies and Manuel said that he would get spray to kill them but I declined as I did,t want the house smelling of bug spray. so I went about killing all the flies manually. there was a swarm of flies constantly at the front door so it was hard to keep them out but not a huge hassle. After the first day the house ran out of hot water and I let Manuel the owner know after showering on day 2. he said it was probably a fuse. The water was cold for the rest of our stay without explanation from the owner. I don,t feel like I was treated with respect and feel that hot water is a necessity.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tony Thank you for the review Sorry for your less then perfect stay at our house; flies in rural environment are almost impossible to control, unless of course chemical the hot water issue regretfully you did not tell me for the rest of your stay (selfish of me for Barbara's health kept my mind occupied) three days latter after you left she passed away. Thank You for understanding
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Amazing view but house needs a proper cleaning

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for a week in May 2017 and the view is amazing. The house is off the beaten path - you have to drive up a bumpy gravel road and then a partially paved steep driveway which needs to be leveled so your vehicle doesn't bottom out. The owner, Manuel, is very nice and helpful. And while the house has some modern conveniences including cable TV, it is in desperate need of a good cleaning. We had to purchase bug spray because the house was full of bugs when we arrived. We were surprised to learn that the property does not have municipal or well water (it has rain water collected from the roof which may not have bothered us except the owner keeps fish in the water tank to measure water safety - if the fish live, the water is okay). The website also needs to be updated to accurately reflect what is included (there was no kayak, gas grill, or wifi and the washer and dryer were located in a locked building for which you had to request access whenever you wanted to enter and for a generator to be turned on prior to use - they also had a musty smell). There are actually three houses on the property - the owner's, this house, and another with a long-term renter who is very nice. The location is great because you are close to Ribeira Grande, the second largest town on the island and very close to the roads that go across and around the island but you still have the privacy of being outside of town. This, the view, and Manuel's friendliness and desire to please is why we gave the property three stars instead of one or two. Since prior reviews all gave 5 stars we were surprised by all of this but then realized later that the reviews were all written in 2014 or earlier (our bad for not paying attention). With some work, this property has the potential to be well worth the money to rent.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome and serene!

  • 5 of 5

This comfortable lodge sits in a stunningly beautiful location, remote but convenient by car to any Sao Miguel destination. Manuel is totally fluent in American English and is friendly and helpful to the max. When returning to this island we would gladly stay here again if available.

Weather is variable in April-early May but overall during 10 days we had a great time.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow to Sao Miguel!!

  • 5 of 5

we had a fabulous week here at the bungalow and in Sao Miguel. The views from the bungalow were amazing and we spend many hours staring at it! The house was not modern but we liked the quirkiness of it. it had everything we needed. R. Grande

had everything we needed for our stay and it was a lovely old portuguese town. Manuel was very helpful. We loved their pet dogs. Many Thanks.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Palm Beach, Florida
5

Beautiful, relaxing, majestic getaway.

  • 5 of 5

This was one of the most beautiful places I have ever traveled to. We are from America and decided on the Azores for our family vacation. The views from the property were breathtaking. We traveled the island during the day and made it back every evening to enjoy the sunset. It is centrally located in the center of the island. Very convenient for day trips. The owner is very helpful and full of life. Wonderful time, I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Joao Paulo II
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Ponta Delgada
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
nearby
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
areal ribeira seca
Car: recommended

A promontory; East side small bay and cliffs, a Lighthouse and lookout point. West side large bay with views to city and numerous villages.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Azores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$100
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning $25

For long term rental,please enquire
Please contact owner for payment arrangements.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties