expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Lion's Gate Getaway- Lush Setting Overlooks St. John & Tortola

Smith Bay, St. Thomas, USVI
  • Apartment800 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum StayNone

Studio Apartment, 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-2)

Lions Gate Getaway is a private studio apartment in a lush, tropical setting, humming birds share your 270 degree view of St. John, Tortola and Red Hook Harbor. In just a few minutes you can walk into Red Hook for shopping, dinner, drinks and night life or catch the ferries to St. John and the BVI.

The spacious porch is a perfect way to enjoy your first cup of coffee or to sit back in the evening and watch the colors change over the islands with a cool beverage in your hand as the breeze passes by.

My husband Chris and I have lived on St. Thomas for over 20 years. He came to dive, I came to sail. We met and discovered we both had a love of the water and the Caribbean life style. Chris built this house on the top of the hill, and now we have expanded it to accommodate guests in our apartment that captures the Caribbean life style. We look forward to helping you enjoy your vacation in any way we can. Just ask for local tips on restaurants and activities.


Maxine Lavitt

Member Since 2008
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few days
Calendar last updated:
Apr 22, 2018


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen


        • 1 Bathroom
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, shower
        • The shower is made of stone and you feel like you are outside but you inside with all the amenities.

        Location Type

          • Beach
          • Near The Ocean


              • Away From It All
              • Romantic


                  • Parking
                  • Air Conditioning
                  • Ceiling Fans
                  • Internet
                  • Linens Provided
                  • Basic Soaps
                  • Shampoo
                  • Telescope
                  • Toilet Paper
                  • Towels Provided
                  • Wireless Internet


                      • Freezer
                      • 4 Ring Stove
                      • Coffee Grinder
                      • Coffee Maker
                      • Cooking Utensils
                      • Blender
                      • Microwave
                      • Oven
                      • Refrigerator
                      • Stove
                      • Toaster


                          • DVD Player
                          • Radio
                          • Satellite / Cable
                          • Television
                          • VCR
                          • Video Library


                              • Balcony
                              • Beach Chairs
                              • Beach Towels
                              • Patio
                              • Terrace
                              • Wood Deck


                                  • coin laundry
                                  • restaurants

                                    Leisure Activities

                                      • bird watching
                                      • sight seeing

                                        Sports & Adventure Activities

                                          • deepsea fishing
                                          • fishing
                                          • golf
                                          • jet skiing
                                          • sailing
                                          • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                          • snorkeling
                                          • swimming
                                          • wind-surfing

                                            House Rules

                                            Check-in: 3:30 PM

                                            Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                            Cancellation Policy

                                            100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                            62 Reviews


                                            Latest reviews

                                            Great Location!

                                            shane E.

                                            Max and Chris are awesome. I will be here next time!

                                            Owner's Response:

                                            I want to thank you Shane for enjoying Lion's Gate the way I do. Gazing at the view with the breeze. Some days it is hard to get off the porch and enjoy other parts of the island.

                                            We can't wait for you to come back.

                                            And thank you for leaving the apartment in such good shape. It was move in ready when you left.

                                            Thanks again


                                            Perfect island top retreat!

                                            Geoff F.

                                            We spent two fantastic weeks at Lions Gate. Maxine and Chris have created a beautiful island getaway right at the top of the hill in Red Hook offering perfect views of the ocean, neighbouring islands and city below.

                                            For our entire stay we had no car and got around just fine. Red Hook has everything you need just below our retreat, all the popular bars and restaurants, as well as groceries, shops and the Ferry. It’s a fairly easy walk down the hill (approx 10 minutes), walking up is quite a bit tougher though, we were fine with it, just stopped when needed and carried on. Only took taxi up hill (approx $5 plus tip) from Red Hook below a couple of times as we had groceries or a lot to carry.

                                            It was nice to be greeted daily by our Ambassadors Louie and Nelson, they reminded of our own dogs, and Maxine and Chris couldn’t have been better hosts. They checked in from time to time with us to make sure everything was good, plus offered us much valuable information on all aspects of the island. Maxine also graciously offered us rides down the hill etc. if she was heading that way. My wife and I would definitely stay here again should we return in the future.

                                            Thanks Maxine and Chris for all the memories!

                                            Owner's Response:

                                            The pleasure was all ours having Geoff and Nicole stay with us.

                                            The most considerate guests anyone could ask for.

                                            They set a high bar for the next visitors.

                                            I hope they come back to back in the sun and avoid the of the North.

                                            Thanks so much for staying with us

                                            Max and Chris.

                                            Not a very good experience.

                                            Kathleen F.

                                            We were very unhappy with our stay because of the following:

                                            There was an ongoing roach infestation, even after we were assured that it was taken care of.

                                            The owners dogs ran free and came in our room and on our porch, helping themselves to our food. We love dogs, but felt they should have been controlled. It was also annoying to hear the constant barking and growling between the two.

                                            Privacy was nonexistent. The husband was working constantly, right outside our door. My wife stepped in spilled varnish, with her bare feet, and we realized he was using our chairs for step stools. The wife was also right outside our door when he wasn't.... Walking dogs that are not leashed and trimming bushes. I feel that maintenance should have been completed at times while guests are not there.

                                            The bathroom has a glass block wall in the shower. We came home one afternoon and wanted to take showers after swimming in the ocean. That was not going to happen for my wife, as there were guys working on the outside of the shower. We should have been notified of the planned construction project. And yes, you can see through the glass block.

                                            The kitchen is lacking many things, if you want to cook. We ran out of propane the first night, but the owner did take care of it the next day.

                                            The driveway is crazy steep and is dangerous at best, for guests to negotiate. Cabs would never bring you home and walking is not a good option either. We had a rental car, but a hair raising experience every time we came or left.

                                            On our last day, we were allowed to check out by 11am, but left around 9am. My wife was greeted that morning by the husband who asked "When are you leaving"

                                            The owners, did give us wine for the roach problem.

                                            We felt like we were intruding and a pain to these owners.

                                            Owner's Response:

                                            I am very sorry to hear that they had such an experience.

                                            I would like to address a few of the issues they had.

                                            Gas bottles do run out, it's a shame there isn't gauge on them, we switched it over as soon as we knew.

                                            The exterminator comes once a month and came that very day and they die, sometimes not in an out of the way location

                                            The apartment does have doors to separate it form the rest of the property. This has never been a problem but I am grateful for any concerns and will take care of it.

                                            Since the hurricanes there is always work being done. Because of that I gave a discount for their stay.

                                            The island is steep and every road, driveway has it's own characteristics,.

                                            I only wish they had spoken to me about issues they had as I would have taken care of everything. If anyone every needs anything I am on property and can get it for them.

                                            Again I feel badly about their experience and wish they had talked to me.

                                            Please read other reviews as other guests did not have the problems these guests did.

                                            Amazing view

                                            Lisa P.

                                            You can’t beat the views ! This location in Red hook is great, close to everything you may want or need. Beaches, the ferry to St John, restaurants, grocery’s, and snorkeling.

                                            Maxine and Chris, the owners are wonderful. They were very attentive to any question or concern, they are very friendly and very interesting people.

                                            Their place is more than just a rental, it is a home. Cozy, comfortable and welcoming. We had a great time.

                                            Thanks Max and Chris

                                            Owner's Response:

                                            We loved having you. I hope you consider this your getaway in the tropics when winter gets to be just to much.

                                            It was great to be able to reward your patience waiting for us to get power with a stay in the cottage.

                                            Thank you for taking such good care of it.

                                            All the best


                                            An ideal place to get rejuvenated.

                                            Jacqueline L.Riverhead, N.Y.

                                            Ideal location close to restaurants, stores, beaches and St. John. Beautiful and cozy environment with a lovely views of the harbor St Thomas and St John. I was able to get some needed exercise when I chose to walk up and down the hill from the property. Chris and Max were charming and helpful.

                                            Owner's Response:

                                            Having Jacki was such a pleasure. It's wonderful when guests enjoy the view and the breezes and find themselves more relaxed than when they came.

                                            As an added treat there were 4th of July fireworks on St. John that we can see right from the porch.

                                            I would love to have Jacki return. I hope that she thinks of us as her home in the tropics.

                                            Awesome view and location!

                                            Pete T.Mukilteo, WA USA

                                            Great restaurants close by, snorkeling, parasailing, golf, sailing with our host Max, botanical gardens, white sand beaches and the ferry to St. Johns all within walking distance. House was clean, comfortable and kitchen well-equipped...bbq too! Max, Chris and the dogs were wonderful hosts...we will return.

                                            Owner's Response:

                                            We loved having Pete and Michelle,

                                            Wonderful guests who appreciated all the we offered and the island too.

                                            They treated our dogs like their own and we all missed them when the vacation came to an end.

                                            Looking forward to their next visit

                                            Thanks for choosing us.



                                            Smith Bay, St. Thomas, USVI

                                            Lions Gate Getaway - Red Hook, the East End of St. Thomas Other Activities: Shopping, kayaking, parasailing


                                            Additional information about rental rates

                                            Tax Rate

                                            High Season ..... Dec 15-Apr 15 .. $140/night. Holiday Season .. Dec 15-Jan 15 .. $150/night. Low Season ...... Apr 16-Dec 14 .. $125/night. This does not include the St. Thomas Hotel tax of 8% Stays of three days or less are $150.00 per night. Easter week $150.00/night

                                            62 Reviews
                                            Wonderful 4.9/5
                                            Enter dates for accurate pricing

                                            Property # 240575ha