Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hatteras Village Oceanfront 7 Bedrm Great Vacation Rental

Bedrooms 7
Half Baths2
Space 5,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 9 Baths, (Sleeps 18-20)



Located in the Summer Place subdivision this custom-built and professionally decorated home was designed for large family vacations.

The ground level includes a private pool, hot tub, dual outside showers, access to the all-floor elevator, a den, laundry area, half bath, two bedrooms plus a recreation room with foosball table, small refrigerator, sink and microwave.

The second floor has four master bedrooms (two with deck access) and a second laundry area. The top floor has a master bedroom with a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower.

The open kitchen with breakfast bar overlooks the expansive dining and living area with half bath and access to an ocean view deck and screened porch.

Above it all is a towering loft with views that go on forever.

1 King (Master) / 1 King (Master) / 1 King (Master) / 1 King(Master) / 1 Queen (Master) / 2 Bunk Sets (4 per room) / 2 Bunk Sets (4 per room)

* Standard Amenities

* Pool Private

* Non Smoking

* Gold Linens

* OS Highway 12

* Multi MBRs

* 9 DVD Players

* Wet Bar

* Icemaker - In Freezer

* 2 Washers

* 2 Microwaves

* Grill - Propan

* Deck Furniture

* Fish Cleaning Table


* Hot Tub

* Screened Porch

* Elevator

* Ocean Front & Ocean View

* Game Room

* Pets Not Permitted

* 9 TVs

* 2 Stereos With CD

* Sound View

* Icemaker - Freestanding

* Wine Cooler

* 2 Dryers

* 2 Dishwashers

* Sundecks

* Lockable Storage

* 2 Enclosed Outside Shower (H & C)

Keywords: Beach Front Vacation Home North Carolina

Ocean Front oceanfront beachfront

Cape Hatteras

More Details

Patrick McLaughlin
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2018

About Patrick McLaughlin

Favorite things! Family / Surfing / Photography / Offshore Fishing!

If you are interested in booking our home please contact us. We will pay the Up-Front Booking Fee now charged by VRBO!

Patrick McLaughlin purchased this house in 2005

Why Patrick McLaughlin chose Hatteras

Hatteras Village, NC is the true North Carolina Outer Banks experience. Located at the very tip of Hatteras National Seashore, the authentic Carolina charm and natural landscape is relaxing and refreshing.

No chain stores or commercial 'resort type' attractions intrude upon the charm of Hatteras Village. If you love the beach, you will love Hatteras!!

And plenty of delicious fresh caught seafood Hatteras is famous for!

What makes this house unique

Relax, Fun, Happy, Barbecue, Sun Tan, Surfing, Relax, Wine, Friends, Relax...Relax....Relax....Relax.

Guestbook comments from the owner

For 10 years we have had dozens of families each summer come to our home in Hatteras, NC. We were honored to have four NYC Firefighters visit Surfn'dipity last week and of all the thank you notes, this was the very best ever! Time to go to NYC to meet this guy!

Hey Patrick. We had a great time at ur house. But I feel like 1 week is just not enough time. It was the first time any of us ever been to cape hatteras. And everyone got along great. There was plenty of space for all. However, By the time I started getting settled it was time to go. It seemed like I blinked, and it was time to leave. I didn't get to do everything I wanted to. Perhaps I will have to try again next year. I can't begin to explain how miserable I am to be back home. So much so that I found myself looking at houses for sale down in cape hatteras today. A man can dream. Lol. Anyway, it's been great. You kept good communication with us, and your house had just about everything we needed. My wife loved the decor. My regrets..........1) not spending any time on the sound side, 2) not taking ferry over to that island, 3) not renting kayak, 4) not spending more time fishing, 5) not taking deep sea fishing trip, 6) not trying paddle boarding, 7) not booking in house clam bake, 8) not staying longer...and there are many more, but I don't want to bore u anymore. If there is a next time, maybe I will get a chance to meet you. I'd like to send u a firehouse t-shirt. Please send me your address so I can do so. And if you ever decide to come to this godforsaken butthole of the city of New York, let me know.. Maybe I can jump into the trunk of your car and catch a ride down south, to the place where I belong. Thank you very much. Sincerely, Joe
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1


Hatteras House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • 1st Floor Den Bath - toilet , Off Den / Entry way to home 1st Floor
    Off Master Suite 3rd Floor - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    'Linda' Bedroom Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    'Laura' Bedroom Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    3rd Floor Living Area 1/2 Bath - toilet , Off Living Room and Kitchen
    'Susan' Bedroom Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    'Beth' Bedroom Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Kids Bunk Room Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Kids Bunk Room #2 Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor Showers 2 TOTAL - outdoor shower
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master Bedroom 3rd Floor - 1 king , Main Master Bedroom of Surfn'dipity (off Kitchen 3rd Flr)
    Laura - 1 king , Master Oceanside 2nd Flr, Yellow Full Bath w/tub/shower
    Linda - 1 king , Oceanside 2nd Flr, Master with Full bath/tub/shower
    Susan - 1 queen , Master facing Sound, full master bath with tub/shower
    Beth - 1 king , 2nd Floor facing Sound full master bath w/tub/shower
    Kids Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , 1st Floor 2 sets of bunk beds (sleeps 4) with tub/shower
    Upper Loft & 1st Floor Den - 2 child bed , These are not bedrooms but each has ability to sleep 2 kids
    Kids Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , 1st Floor 2 sets of bunk beds (sleeps 4) with tub/shower
  • King size beds (4), Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (4) 2 Bunk Beds in each 1st Floor Room, each room sleeps 4.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
5 of the bedrooms are master bedrooms with private baths perfect for 3-5 families, kitchen has two dishwashers / sinks, screened in porch with picnic table on top deck.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Hatteras Village Oceanfront 7 Bedrm Great Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.888889 based on 19 reviews
Louisville, KY

Great Home!

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent our annual sibling vacation in this home last week. There were 13 adults. Two of them have difficulty with stairs, so the elevator was a blessing. It worked great. We enjoyed having all the gathering areas and the kitchen was fully stocked. Every bedroom having its own private bath worked out terrific. The home was clean and the owner was more than accommodating. Patrick was fabulous to work with. The views from the top deck were breathtaking! Relaxing in the hammocks and swings on the second deck were just what the doctor ordered for afternoon relaxing. Don't miss out on renting this outstanding home! Oh.......don't miss the pool and easy access to the beach!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks!!! We love our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Libertyville, IL

Gorgeous home in great location

  • 5 of 5

Spacious, clean, well-maintained, tons of amenities. Lots of great choices - steps from beach, screened porch, great pool, upper deck with amazing ocean view, lots of places to chill out. Owner very attentive and accommodating. Definitely coming back!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andra, so glad you could visit and have a wonderfully relaxing vacation! Patrick & Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Scenery is breathtaking, house just needed more detailed care

  • 3 of 5

The house itself is gorgeous and the view is absolutely beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but encountered a rough start to the vacation. We arrived right as the cleaning crew was walking out the door, and we later found that none of the bed sheets had been changed (sand, dirt and pine needles were in the sheets). The kitchen ice-maker also did not work all week so we found ourselves making daily trips to the market for bags of ice to stock our coolers with.

Lastly, it's worth mentioning that one person slept up in the 4th floor loft a few nights and found his Invisalign tooth braces covered in ants one morning. While it's not meant to be a bedroom it should still be free of bugs, so he slept on the couch instead.

The owner was responsive to the issues but steadfastly defended that the cleaning crew can sometimes overlook things if they feel rushed, which they were not. We arrived 15-minutes before check-in but the cleaning crew was already on their way out the door. I was disappointed that nothing was done retroactively about the cleaning issues.

Again, the house is beautiful with plenty of amenities and the setting is truly blissful. The cleaning just needed more attention to detail.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were quite surprised to hear our home was not in perfect condition and as clean / spotless as we would like if we were arriving as quests. At first we did not believe it (and for some time afterwards) as we have had the same individual taking care of our home for 7 years and have never had any issues with cleanliness. We were later to find out our long time professional had been sick that week and had someone else do the work which was amazing when you consider 16 weeks a year for seven years, and this the first time she was unable to clean. She had been reassured by her replacement, who also cleaned alongside of her all these years, that the house was in perfect arrival condition, when apparently it was not. This was the one and only time in all the 12 years we have owned the home it was less than 100% upon the arrival of quests. All our reviews are super positive, with the exception of this one. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Truly A Gem!!!

  • 5 of 5

From the minute we walked in, we knew that we had made the right choice. The home is spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We were three generations with a range from toddlers to seniors and everybody found their niche. The little boys claimed the upstairs loft as their Lego room and the little girls chose the screened in porch for arts and crafts. And the teenagers were never bored with the pool, hot tub and surf at the their disposal. Each family took a night to cook and everyone commented on how well the kitchen was stocked. We all miss sitting on the beautiful deck overlooking the ocean as we sipped our morning coffee. The beach was clean, very close and almost tropical in color. Having the elevator was such an asset for loading and unloading. Fishing, restaurants, grocery and gift shops were all nearby but the favorite was the short walk to the Happy Belly Ice Cream Parlor! Patrick was always available to answer any questions. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks ! You guys are the best! Hope to see you back in the Fall!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Family Reunion House

  • 5 of 5

We were three generations, gathering to celebrate my mother's impending 94th birthday. The house could not have been better suited to our needs. The elevator allowed her to be part of every bit of fun. The kitchen was well appointed, which helped as different families took turns cooking every night. The upper deck chairs and tables were enjoyed each morning and again around sunset. The kids stayed in the lower level, and had a ton of fun, but the sound didn't carry one bit. The pool was warm and lovely, and the hot tub a perfect way to end the day. And the beach...oh the beach. Warm and inviting, even with the crabs that entertained us. The big living area / kitchen was larger and nicer than the pictures actually show. This was our first trip to the OBX, but Patrick was very responsive before and during our trip. When we had an issue with the AC one morning, it was fixed by noon. I can't get that good of service at home.

Also we LOVED the surrounding area. Plenty to do, little shops and restaurants, but also quiet, peaceful, relaxing. On our way home, we tried to go visit Duck where all of our friends go, and got stuck in a horrific traffic jam and never made it. I am so glad we ended up in the quieter, southern OBX. We hope to do it again soon! Thanks again Patrick. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Melissa! So glad you had a great time! It is always our goal to make you feel our vacation home is your special getaway!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Couldn't be any better!

  • 5 of 5

First time ever in OBX. 4 families with 6 children. What can I say. Your house met very need we had! The sleeping arrangements were perfect, the hot tub was never empty, and the kids spent countless hours in the hammocks just hanging out. Nothing is better than getting up in the AM and sitting on the deck. It was great to be able to have a sit down dinner each night with such a large party. The kids loved sitting at their "own" counter! The best part about your house is that it is comfortable! The location can't be beat. All in all, it was a week filled with laughter. Thanks for providing us with such a relaxing atmosphere for us to enjoy. We are already gearing up for next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Hatteras - Ocracoke Ferry

Premier Offshore Fishing Fleet of Hatteras Harbor only 2 miles away.

Kite Surfing abounds as the newest and fastest sport on water. Lessons and rentals available close by.

Stand Up Paddle Board Rentals also available in Hatteras Villiage


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

Please contact us to confirm open dates before booking at 757-831-1277 or

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties