Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Family-Friendly Vacation Home on Roundout Creek

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Recreation and relaxation await you at our private 1.75 acre pet and family-friendly home in High Falls, NY on the Roundout Creek. High Falls, NY is located less than 2 hours from NYC near the town of New Paltz in the Shawangunk Mountain range at the foot of the Catskills (“The Gunks”).

Our home is perfectly located just minutes from the area’s most awe-inspiring attractions, the Mohonk Preserve and Minnewaska State Park. Local back routes allow you easy and scenic access away from traffic and potentially crowded parking.

Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the nearby rail trails, hiking and biking paths, rock climbing, water-hole and pool swimming, tennis, golf, cross country skiing, downhill skiing, and snow mobiling. The area is also known for fantastic antiquing and tasty dining, given its proximity to the Culinary Institute of America located just across the river.

Kids of all ages will have fun apple picking, petting animals at the nearby family farm and nature center, romping in the local playground, roller skating and skateboarding at the indoor rink, bowling, ice skating, and visiting the Mid Hudson Children’s Museum.

But you don’t even need to leave the house for fun-filled adventures. Canoe or kayak from your own backyard on the wide and scenic Roundout Creek. (You can even canoe right into town or drop a line and fish for trout and bass). Step right next door to the Stone Dock Golf Course to golf, sled, or cross country ski. Play basketball in the driveway. Take a dip in the hot tub. Swing on the hammock. Or lie back and relax on the deck with your burgers on the grill and do nothing but enjoy the farmland views.

Our house is stocked with virtually everything you and your family will need for a comfortable stay, including many items for babies, toddlers, and kids including a pack and play bed, high chair, and many books and toys. An excellent grocery, pharmacy, liquor store, and video store are less than 10 minutes away along with an ATM and gas.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

Why The Owner chose Hudson Valley

Unparalleled scenic beauty and peace so close to NYC; year-round activities and fun; all the conveniences of a big town with village charm

What makes this house unique

Canoeing and kayaking from your back yard public golf course right next door hot tub, hammock, and basketball child friendly; stocked for kids pet friendly back routes to popular destinations that avoid traffic

Amenities

High Falls House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play, Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Central heat and air conditioning, wrap-around deck, hammock, picnic table, Adirondack furniture, canoe and kayak, life jackets, paddles, basketball hoop, high chair and toddler chair, children's books, children's indoor and outdoor toys

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Private Family-Friendly Vacation Home on Roundout Creek
average rating of 4.875 based on 24 reviews
2

Cheap, unaccomodating

  • 2 of 5

Although our stay was fun, the problem we had as guests was how we were treated. The hot tub had been broken by a previous guest and we received no notification of this prior to me emailing the week before our stay to ask if we needed to know anything (I think he could have been more gracious by emailing us first, but that's beside the point). The whole reason we booked this property was to have a hot tub and to find out it would not be available was extremely disappointing, so we asked for a small break on the price (considering that was a major selling point and there was no where else at that time to book since it was so close to our arrival). He was not very accommodating with this and only offered a VERY small sum off the ENTIRE bill of our 3 night stay. The house, although large and appearing to be clean, had many cobwebs and dead bugs in areas which was unpleasant.

Anyway, overall our experience could have been better. Hope this helps!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest received an email 2 weeks ahead of their stay letting them know of the broken hot tub. They asked for a dollar amount as a make good and I complied. They broke the house rules by smoking in the house - the entire upstairs stank of marijuana smoke. I held back their make good dollar return in return, but given no damage to the house, I returned their deposit in full. This review is in retaliation for me holding back the make good. In my 8 years on VRBO I've never had to experience a guest like this - very unfortunate.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Perfect for families

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at this property. We have small children and they had a blast with all the toys provided. Location of the house is great too with a number of hiking trails close by. Greg is a fantastic host responding to our questions right away and providing lots of good recommendations for things to do on the area. We will certainly consider this house again for a future stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5

The house was the perfect location to be with our 3 generations family. Very comfortable and exactly as described. The kids loved the ot tub and all the toys. The deck was for everybody the place te be!! if possible we all come back once....

Thanks, Greg

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and Confortable

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this home! The property was beautiful and very relaxing. The house was well stocked with everything we needed. We had two little ones with us that just loved playing with all the toys and reading the books. Also had two dogs that played in the back yard. The weather was perfect,we sat on the back deck and enjoyed the view. After dinner on the grill, my husband and I enjoyed some time in the hot tub. Greg was kind enough to get it running for us even thought it was so early in the year. We really appreciated that. I would recommend this house to anyone with children,pets, and ones who like to relax and enjoy themselves. Hope to visit again!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House in a Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

The house was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We appreciated the hot tub and the karaoke machine, as well as the proximity to great hiking trails, farms, and cute small towns. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Just Right

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed in Greg and Hally's home for a week and it was just what we were looking for. The home feels more like a friend or relative's place rather than a rental. It is warm, cozy, and has everything you could possibly need. It's a "baby bear:" neither too fancy where you're afraid that your kids are going to break everything, nor is it so bare bones and under-cared for that you're wishing that you stayed in the Holiday Inn. It is just right.

The beds and sofas are great; the kitchen is well-stocked with cookware and essentials; there are more towels and linens than you could possibly use. The yard is large and lovely. We enjoyed watching birds and squirrels hang out by the creek, and the hot tub--and the ability to sing karaoke--is just what everyone needs when on vacation. And, for us urbanites, the real treat was having a garage attached to the house. For once, my husband and I understood why anyone would want to raise their family in the suburbs ;)

Greg is an excellent host. Communicative, professional, lovely.

You can't go wrong with this home. Just a mile from an amazing swimming hole and a brisk walk away from an awesome organic market...this house will add joy and relaxation to your mountain getaway.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

High Falls House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$310
From
$335
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,330
$4,850
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$280
$1,225
$4,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties