check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Birch Bay Chalet

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Quaint Birch Bay Chalet. Chalet sleeps 6 to 8 comfortably with views of the beach, Canadian San Juans, eagle's nests and wildlife. One half block to beach, one block from Water Slide Park, one mile from State Park, 3 miles from Semiahmoo Resort, 5 miles from Canadian border, 20 miles to Bellingham, WA, 35 miles from Vancouver BC, and 70 miles to Mt. Baker Ski area.

Unit has two bedrooms and one bath, one queen bed in downstairs bedroom and two full size beds in the upstairs bedroom, with a loft sleeping area with a pull out sofa and trundle bed. High speed wireless and direct internet, Dish TV, complete kitchen, washer and dryer, microwave and refrigerator makes it a great place to bring the family or quiet and nice for romance. Close to everything and plenty to do. Beach comb, skim board, clam dig, crabbing, smores on the beach, bike ride, eagle watch, golf, ski, shop, kayak, windsurf and play.

Make your reservations now!

Keywords: Chalet

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About The Owner

My wife and I originally met when we attended Western Washington University in Bellingham, WA. We lost touch with each other and then found each other 25 years later after marriage and divorce. We purchased the Birch Bay Cabin from my mother-in-law and we rented it to my sister-in-law for 5 years and now have made it a vacation rental.

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Northwest & Islands

My mother-in-law purchased it several years ago and we wanted to keep it in the family. We love the area because of its beauty, peacefulness and closeness to Canada and Bellingham. The beach is great and wonderful for crabbing, clamming and walking. The views are awesome and the wildlife spectacular. It is one half block from the beach, one hour 15 minutes from Mt. Baker Ski area, 5 minutes from the border and 45 minutes from Vancouver, BC.

What makes this house unique

The cabin can sleep 6 to 8 people, beautiful views of Birch Bay, Canadian San Juans, eagles nests and the beach. It has direct and wireless internet, Dish Network TV and easy access to the beach, a block from the waterslide, close to the State Park, 5 miles to the Canadian Border, Close to golf courses and Semiahmoo Resort, 25 minutes to Bellingham and 2 hours from Seattle.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Birch Bay Chalet
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 12 reviews
5

exactly what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5

The Chalet was ideal for our family. Cute, plenty of room, all the necessities for cooking and playing at the beach. And we all loved being able to walk a short block down to Birch Bay. We spent hours each day playing around in the water, then evenings relaxing at the house.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you had a good time at our cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
VANCOUVER
5

Great place for a family with older kids!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five visits Birch Bay every summer, and we found this property well suited to our needs. It's an older cabin with a '70s layout which some might find outdated, but our teens thought it was funky and fun. There was plenty of room for them to hang out in the loft and sleep upstairs, while we parents had some peace in the main floor bedroom. (Note that the open staircase/loft area is best suited to older kids, not toddlers.) The cabin is spacious, with bedding, towels and kitchen items all supplied. We particularly appreciated how the hosts replaced the barbecue in time for our stay. Communication through VRBO messages was excellent - James responded quickly and took care of everything. I was happy to find a rental in our preferred area of the Bay - we hope to return next summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had a great stay at the cabin and we look forward to your return. You are correct i the description of the cabin as being funky and some people might perceive that as outdated. That's why we let everyone know it "is a beach cabin" Glad you got it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Adequate but very dated

  • 2 of 5

The cleaning fee was quite excessive especially since they ask the guests to wash towels and take out the garbage. We never leave a mess anyway wherever we go as it is just bad etiquette. Place is a bit dated and the downstairs bed a bit unsteady. Place can get quite stuffy even with the fans and none of the windows have any screens which attracts bugs at night. Overall , the place worked for us but for the price they changed for two nights with the crazy cleaning fee I wouldn't do it again. Basically all the cleaner had to do was make two beds!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you felt the rate was high. I know are rates are low compared to other rentals in the area so I am okay with the rate. Also, we advertise our beach cabin is just that, a beach cabin. We advise people if they are looking for 5 star accommodations to check out Semi-ah-moo which charges approximately $300.00 for a one bedroom.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Overly Perfumed Vacation Rental

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in this cabin August 2016 as a treat for my daughter's birthday weekend. The location is wonderful, and the cabin is cute and charming with a nice bedroom upstairs that was good for accommodating four kids, and it has a beautiful mermaid mural in the bathroom. But this rental is very heavily perfumed with artificial air fresheners. Two people in our group have allergies and asthma and were sick the whole time we stayed here, even after we collected up all of the air fresheners and stored them outside during our stay. For the small size of the cabin, it had over 12 synthetic air fresheners. One of which sprayed the living/dining room on a timer automatically. We will be asking about our perfume sensitivity from now on when we rent from VRBO. If you're not sensitive to synthetic heavy smelling perfume, this is a cute and convenient place to stay in Birch Bay.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you had this problem. We've never had an issue in the seven years I've rented the cabin. I think it's a good idea that you let people know about your sensitivities in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Plenty of room for a family and very close to the beach! Even has a view of the beach.

  • 4 of 5

The daily cost was definitely an attraction and the fact that we could bring our dog was a big plus. We had a wonderful time with family and enjoyed sitting on the deck. And there is lots of room to play and lounge both inside and out. We all enjoyed our time.

The property was pretty clean and had lots of the basic necessities.

Some of the negatives we found:

The deck could use some attention as there were many rotting boards, especially on the side of the house. I'd add some screens to the windows to keep the bugs out. The dryer wasn't working so we couldn't do laundry unless we hung it outside to dry.

And the BBQ is an accident waiting to happen.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had a good time on your stay. Thanks for bringing to our attention bb the barbecue as we have now removed it. Also, the dryer just quit right before your stay and we hope to have it repaired shortly. We are currently scheduled to repair the deck at the end of the summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing Get Away....

  • 4 of 5

The Birch Bay Chalet is a clean, well maintained rental property.. It has two bedrooms but 6-8 people can sleep in the chalet. It is walking distance to the beach. The owner gave us detailed instructions how to get to the property and the housekeeper has kept the rental clean and she also gave some suggestions for activities and places to go. We will definitely go back here and recommend it to our friends or relatives.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Birch Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off-season
Nov 30 2016 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Fri,Sat
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Fourth Of July
Jul 3 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$165
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

CLEANING $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Birch Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Water View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties