Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Panoramic Oceanfront Views! Popular Condo! Virtual Tour!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 960 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

POPULAR TOP FLOOR CONDO!!

SCROLL DOWN TO CALENDAR SECTION TO SEE LINK FOR VIRTUAL TOUR.

Quiet, romantic Maalaea Bay offers the ideal setting for your Hawaiian vacation. Located at the water's edge on a quiet street, this complex (Lauola condo complex) offers lovely grounds, pool, and barbeques.

Completely upgraded, 2 bedroom, 2 bath, oceanfront condo centrally located to all of the wonderful areas for fun Maui has to offer. The unit is located on the 4th floor of a 4-story building and offers spectacular unobstructed views of the blue Pacific Ocean, the South Shore of Maui, and Haleakala.

From your double lanai enjoy some of the best whale watching in Maui, as the Humpback's bring their young to the protected waters of Maalaea Bay (in the winter months). Also, when the surf picks up, Maalaea produces the 'Freight Train,' one of the fastest and longest surfing waves in the world (Best in summer months). Night-time affords wonderful views of the lights from Kihei to Wailea, and upcountry. PEACEFUL... PERFECT FOR UNWINDING!

Master bedroom is located in direct view of the blue Pacific Ocean and offers it's own private bath. Unit is air conditioned, offers a tastefully updated kitchen, washer and dryer inside the unit, Marble floors, countertops and bathrooms. A full, queen size, Murphy bed in second bedroom. Jacuzzi tub in guest bath. Living area features comfortable seating with fantastic views. Other features include Wi-Fi, a large screen television, DVD,VCR, surround sound, and stereo with a multi CD player. A real nice unit that's affordably priced.

Just a few feet from your doorstep, enjoy snorkling and swimming...one of the best locations in Maui. The unit is located just a short walk from a secluded, 7 mile, white sand beach that borders the Kealia Nature Preserve. Perfect for the beachcomber, a good long walk, or getting away from it all. A short walk the other way, takes you to Maalaea Harbor which is a popular place for boat excursions to Molokini for snorkling, fishing, sunset cruises and even more whale watching.

Maalaea Harbor is also home to several resturants including Buzz's (famous for their Tahitian Prwans and their Maui Onion Rings), The Waterfront (a 5 star resturant), and The Blue Marlin (tasty Mahi Mahi fish and chips). Shopping, an ice cream parlor, The Pacific Whale Foundation, miniture golf, even a fast food place (Carl's Jr.)is located at the Harbor. Maui's #1 tourist attraction, the Maui Ocean Center makes it's home at Maalaea Harbor. Bottom line...this place is central to unlimited activities in Paradise!!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Could not have been happier. This is a place I will come back to again. The night views are wonderful too!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 960 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large, marble and glass block shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Located on the ocean side of the condo (rare)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Full, thick, queen size mattress on Murphy bed
  • King size beds (1), Murphy Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

VRBO Bear enjoying the lanai

VRBO Bear stayed here

Nov 18, 2004

Huge, unobstructed views of the Pacific ocean, the south Maui shoreline and Haleakala... wow! I couldn't keep my baby blue eyes off of those views... what a great place to watch for Humpback whales in the winter months, I can bearly wait to come back! I bearly set my furry paws in this Maui condo, when I noticed all the recently upgraded features such as granite counter tops in the kitchen and baths, marble tile floors, big screen TV, stereo system, etc... all the features of home PLUS this condo is centrally located in Maalea - not far from the Maui Ocean Center aquarium. Just down the street, begins a 4 mile beach that's to die for - great for strolling or beach combing. When you get a "rumbly in your tummy", there's lots of great Maui restaurants nearby too. What are you waiting for? Signed, VRBO Bear

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

52% Complete
44% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Panoramic Oceanfront Views! Popular Condo! Virtual Tour!!
average rating of 4.4 based on 26 reviews
5

Spectacular Ocean Front

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in the Maalaea area. For the price, the accommodations can't be beat. It's location was central to all of our activities - hiking North Shore, Whale Watching, Snorkeling, Shopping, and restaurants. Kehie is just 5-10 minutes away with all kinds of choices, as well as a grocery store for those that want to cook themselves. The condo itself was a 4th floor unit. The furnishings were comfortable and everything that you need (except food) is available from the git-go.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Keep looking

  • 1 of 5

This condo is in dire need of some routine maintenance, upgrades and a deep, deep cleaning. From the lights to the walls to the appliances to the drains to the artwork to the doors. Our first adventure on the island was a trip to the store for cleaning supplies. We have stayed in VRBO properties for the past 5 years and have never been disappointed until now. There are better places to stay in Maui! Trust me, keep looking!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am surprised by this review, as I have been on VRBO for over 12 years, and all reviews of past clients have been 4's and 5's...and the condo is quite popular with guests. You mention quite a few issues that are a bit shocking... I do have both a deep clean and a pre-clean done by the same folks who are my cleaners that work for the property manager. Never any issues. However sometimes if wind, we get some of the red lava dust on the lanai. You mention your first trip was to get cleaning supplies. If you found the condo to be unclean...did you reach out to the property manager where you picked up the keys..that is just a couple of condo complexes away and let them know? Light fixtures, doors, etc...? hummmm...There is a light in the master bath that has 4 or 5 bulbs, and I do know one will burn out before the others, but that is just a light blub that burns out. The art?? hummm to that too, as the art is nice according to other guests. I am sorry you found the condo not to be up to your standards. My property manager and I stive to assure our guests are happy with their stay. Brad
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4
Grande Prairie
4

Amazing location !!

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The view was spectacular and we saw whales every day. The harbour is a short walk away with a few restaurants, tourist shops and convenience stores. The beach is a short walk away as well in the opposite direction and is not busy at all. This location is between Lahaina and Kihei so it is easy to get to the shopping centers and popular beaches. We had everything that we needed in our condo as well as beach chairs, umbrella and snorkelling gear. Would definitely stay here again !!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Lauloa Ocean View

  • 4 of 5

First, we love the location. The view is spectacular and having the master bedroom next to the Lanai is a big plus. The condo itself was fine. Just a few minor complaints that keep this from being a five star.

First, the main reason you rent a condo like this is for the lanai. However the railing blocks a lot of your view when sitting. (I'm 6'1 so my height was not the issue) The last condo like this we had solved this issue with taller stools that allowed you to look at the bay over the railing and not through it. A small thing but makes a big difference. The second thing is the kitchen. The owner very generously encourages you to leave your leftover food in the fridge for housekeeping to take home. I'm all for that but the only condiments left were salt and pepper. Food is expensive enough without having to buy basics like a bottle of ketchup etc. that you will probably only use once or twice. After staying in other condos that had kitchens that were stocked and ready to cook, this one has the bare minimums but we were able to get by.

Along the same lines there was just a shortage of some of the items you would expect in a furnished beach condo. For example there was only two beach towels in a condo advertised for 4 people. There was one snorkel and mask, three beach chairs, one umbrella and no ice chest for outings.

You should also be aware that the sliding door to the master bedroom is paper thin and does not provide any real privacy, especially if anyone is in the living room. On a positive note, the sliding door to the bedroom was broken when we checked in but maintenance had it repaired within an hour after calling them.

To summarize, the location is awesome, the view from the Lanai is stunning and it's a nice quiet, secluded area. We just think that when paying top dollar the owner would do well to add the extra touches that make staying in a VRBO more enjoyable and convenient.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
4

Had a great time!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great condo to stay in. We got in to Maui late, and it was very easy to find the keys and the location. The listing is exactly as it looks, it was mostly clean, the floor was a bit dirty, but likely because of the wind blowing it in under the main door. (maybe a quick strip replacement is needed?) The owner communicated greatly, and the maintenance office was helpful when the fridge didn't work. I have already recommended this property to my friends! I adored that I could sit on the patio and watch the sea turtles graze right below us! The little general store down the street was our first stop every morning and Kihei was only about 8-10 minutes away! We'll be back for sure! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice place to stay

  • 4 of 5

The condo was nice, and was well cared for but needed a little TLC. We had a problem with the A/C for two days and called 3 times before we got someone to come down and correct whatever was needed. It was centrally located which made it manageable getting either to the northern or southern beaches. Within walking distance to the Marina for snorkeling adventures or sunset cruises. Allot of turtles coming right up to the bulkhead of the properety to eat what they could off the rocks. The beach at the end of the street was a little seedy, and had allot of flies, maybe it was just the time of year, but we couldn't hack it and left. The manager of the site was nice and personable. If your driving to Lahaina around dinner time give yourself over an hour to get there as the traffic is terrible. It took us an hour and fifteen minutes to get to the famous Lahaina Laua (which was only seventeen miles away). Thanks

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Other Activities: boating, wildlife viewing, parasailing, shopping, mini golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties