Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Lakefront Home!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

53611 Hwy M-203

Hancock, MI 49930

This home was completely renovated.

It's a cozy, two-bedroom lakefront home with a wide front porch. Enjoy swimming in the refreshing lake, or simply sit on the front porch swing with a cup of coffee and watch the sunset!

The home is completely furnished, with hand-crafted furniture, linens and kitchen utensils provided. It is located five miles from town, where there are numerous restaurants, shops, a ski hill, snowmobile and ATV rentals, and much more!

Within a mile of the home, there are beautiful cross-country, biking and hiking trails. Get away from your everday life and enjoy the peace and quiet of this area!

Cancellation Policy: 20% Deposit is non-refundable. If owner can fill a cancelled reservation, the remainder of payment will be refunded.

Keywords: House, cabin, cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About The Owner

I live in the Minneapolis area, but love to go back to Hancock to visit!

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Upper Peninsula

I purchased the residence in my hometown, in hopes that one day I could move back there!!

What makes this house unique

The house is located on the most desirable waterfront in the Keweenaw Peninsula. It's semi-secluded, with a nice beach, but still located near town.

Amenities

Hancock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) Double on the bottom, twin on top
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Beautiful Lakefront Home!
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
4

Great Sunsets

  • 4 of 5

Had a lovely time at the cottage! Kitchen is well stocked, and has a large fridge. It's very cozy. Swing on the porch was a bonus as was the fire pit & chairs. Great views - bring your paddle board or kayak!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Lyon, MI
5

Hancock cottage

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable place to stay. This was our first time renting a home and it worked out well. Having internet access was a definite plus to help guide some of our destination decisions and keep track of the weather. The place is located about 3 miles from Mclain State Park and approximately 10 minutes to either Calumet or Houghton/Hancock. The views are really nice off the porch, particularly the sunsets.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boise, Idaho/Scottsdale, AZ
5

Beautiful Location with Everything You Need

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed at this property for a week in the Copper Country during a family wedding that took place in Hancock. We had a great stay and really enjoyed the mornings and evenings sitting on the wonderful porch area overlooking the beautiful Portage Shipping Canal. I spent a bunch of time in the water swimming and watching the boats and jet-skis enjoying the water. The location of this property was awesome as it was exactly 5 miles from town and although on the main canal road, extremely quiet on the lake side. We hosted family and friends one evening and had ample space especially outside. Overall, the house had everything we needed for a enjoyable week. We look forward to staying there again at some point in the future. A great location to enjoy all of the beauty of this slice of heaven in the Upper Peninsula.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Livonia, MI
5

Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Great house with a great location and view. The house was clean and well maintained. I would definitely rent this house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ellsworth, MI
5

Beautiful Spot!

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent time and were very happy with the home! It was in an absolutely perfect spot! Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Deceptive Description

  • 1 of 5

I had medical emergency come up and landed myself in the ER in eastern Michigan. I called Nicole the following day and she was nice enough to mark the cottage as available as well as contacting people who'd previously shown interest in renting the house. However, no takers. Their policy was explained to me and I asked if she could please contact the owner and I'd have the hospital provide whatever necessary documentation was needed to waive the full cost of the rental. I had no such luck. I wasn't expecting my deposit back but was hoping to be able to return home so I could get to the doctor. We had to leave 2 days early and I came home to find myself admitted to the hospital in St. Louis. This review is being made excluding my feelings (except for this line) of the owner's complete lack of consideration for a medical emergency.

Upon arrival we realized there are NO shades or blinds anywhere in the house! The house does sit directly on a highway with neighboring houses so each time we left, we "hid" our laptops in case someone would happen to come around. We taped up aluminum foil on the easterly windows in the bedroom otherwise sleep would have been difficult at best once the sun rose. Bare light bulbs were exposed as light fixtures in several rooms.The bathroom window had no screen and the window was open when we got there. We couldn't shut it because the crank wouldn't operate. We had a MAJOR fly issue because of this. Two bowls stacked inside of one another in the cabinet had popcorn kernels in them. The dishwasher was loaded and the dishes were clean but that is not the renters job to put the dishes away when we don't know where anything goes. There was no note telling us what to do upon checkout or giving us any numbers to contact in case of an emergency. It took us over 30 minutes to figure out how to operate the television. Again, there should be a note explaining what av feed to have the television on and then an explanation stating to push channel up once on that av feed otherwise it displays no signal. The television in the bedroom could not be scanned through using the channel buttons. You have to enter channels manually and there is no list telling renters what the channels are so this takes forever to say the least. Also, the water has sulfur in it and wreaks! The toilet runs nonstop which kept a light sleeper awake much of the time. I've rented 7 houses and this was by far the most disappointing one of them.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: While I sympathize with any medical situation, the cancellation policy was explained at the reservation time, and there is no exception for medical issues. Unfortunately, there are many times when people have to cancel at the last minute, and I couldn't afford to continue giving renters their money back. I am always willing to return to the renter 80% of their payment (the deposit is non-refundable) if I can find someone to rent during the cancelled days. With only a notice of two days, we could not find anyone to rent it during the time mentioned in this review. As to the remaining issues: 1. The dishwasher absolutely should have been emptied and the cleaning service will be contacted both about this and the dirty bowls. 2. I was not aware of the crank on the bathroom window or the toilet running, as no renter this summer has notified the property manager of this. The only way items can be remedied is if we know of them and no one else had complained of either item. 3. There are curtains on all of the windows in the home. The windows which this guest felt necessary to cover with foil are covered with fairly sheer curtains and he obviously preferred something darker. However, this will not be changed. 4. Instructions for checkout are always given when the final payment is made, and the manager can always be contacted for any issues you may have. This has never been a problem in the past and I don't anticipate a problem in the future. If there should be any other emergency, 911 should be called. 5. I was not aware of any issues with the televisions, but this will be looked into. Again, as noted above, problems cannot be fixed if I do not know of them. 6. I apologize for the smell of the water, but this is something that cannot be changed. I try to make the stay enjoyable for all guests, and am always happy to address anything you would like to post in a review!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 6

Map

Car: necessary

Five miles along the Hancock Canal from the edge of town

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 6.0%

Special rates exist for local event week/weekends. Long-term rentals only considered in the off-season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties