Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

FALL! !BEAUTIFUL TIME OF YEAR! UPSCALE HOME W/ IDEAL LOCATION! SEE VIDEO AFTER P

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

'A BLUE MOON' in Union Pier, Michigan...better known as Harbor Country. Approximately 2 hours from Chicago O'Hare Airport. Secluded and 350 steps to the entrance of Lake Michigan's beautiful, clean, sandy beach. 3 Bedroom/2 Bath 2-story sleeps 6 comfortably. 2 Large screened porches surrounded by woods. Large Balcony/Deck, accessed from 2 Bedrooms. Upscale decor and amenities. NEW Flat-Screen TV! DISH TV! Full Kitchen with everything you'd find in your full time home, plus Breakfast Bar and Large Dining Room. 'Ultra-Bath-Spa' 2nd Floor Bath has double sinks, and Garden-Tub Jacuzzi. Comfortable Beds through-out.

1st Floor Great Room has LARGE SCREEN HD TV with large selection of movies, including kids movies.. Master Bedroom, and Kids Bedroom each have a TV. All linens are provided...but, bring your own beach towels. Gas Grill. Washer and Dryer.

I keep an information book for guest's use, with restaurant info, wine tasting routes, kids museum info, local golf courses, shopping, art gallery info, and so much more!

Harbor Country offers soooo much...go to the web for lots of general information.

The ideal, perfect place for your next beach vacation!

Keywords: beach house,walk to beach,walk to shops,private,upgraded,upscale,secluded

More Details

Owner
Laura Weaver
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2017

About Laura Weaver

Contact the owner, Laura Lee Weaver. I am a licensed Realtor in Illinois, and own this as a second home.

Laura Weaver purchased this house in 2002

Why Laura Weaver chose Union Pier

I have been coming to Harbor Country for 30 years. It is my very favorite place, and Lake Michigan is my favorite body of water, from all of my travels. Lake Michigan has an interesting coastal line, with clean, sandy beaches. There's a huge state park...Warren Dunes State Park...within 10 minutes...great for many reasons, especially hiking, and adventure walks. The art galleries are numerous and fantastic. There are a variety of restaurants. Most of all, it is an extremely relaxing atmosphere...it's like going back in time.

What makes this house unique

The new FOUR WINDS Casino is a combination of Wisconsin Dells meets Las Vegas (10 minutes away). Plus, there BLUE CHIP Casino, which is approx 15 min away. Most visitors spend hours on the beach (best to bring your own beach chairs and beach towels). The sunsets are fabulous and not to be missed. This area of Michigan has a lot of vineyards, so it's fun to take a wine tour in your car...just don't drink too much!! When you go right from my driveway, you are 350 steps from the beach entrance...if you go left from my driveway, you are 500 steps from cute shops with ice cream, liquor, sandwiches, coffee, everyday items, bakery, restaurant, bike/beach gear rental, and more... I have the perfect location because, even though you're close to all that great stuff, my home has a very private, secluded, quiet location. I love my house, and I know you will too!! (P.S. I personally clean every room from top-to-bottom, every year, and have a very 'particular' cleaning team, that keeps everything tip-top!!)

Amenities

Union Pier House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 35
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are two Screened Porches, one large 2nd floor Deck (great for morning coffee and reading the paper), and two patios. Four Winds Casino is 10 minutes away. EZ walk to ice cream shop, restaurants, bakery, upscale convenience store (great wine selection), deli/sandwich/coffee shop.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
FALL! !BEAUTIFUL TIME OF YEAR! UPSCALE HOME W/ IDEAL LOCATION! SEE VIDEO AFTER P
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this beautiful blue house! Perfect location, just a few minutes walk down to the beach, to a couple of breakfast spots, a small market/liquor shop and ice cream shop. The house is clean, has everything you need and has plenty of great sleep options. The house has everything you need for a great weekend in Union Pier. Would recommend this house to anyone!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Love hearing that you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We all want to go back again

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 spent a week at Blue Moon, 2 adults and 2 young teens. It was a great week and we hope to do it again.

The beds were very comfortable and the house had plenty of space. We were able to spread out in our own spots after a full day of togetherness as much or as little as we wanted. The bathroom towels were the thickest and nicest I've had a rental ever, yay. We cooked every day at least 1 or 2 meals. The kitchen was well equipped. We enjoyed the bright colored dishes and decor each meal. There were games we played a few times for some laughs at night.

Every day we saw deer playing outside while we relaxed inside. There were 2 babies, 2 teens and 2 adults that we counted. This was a family favorite each day.

The beach is a short walk from the property, down a lot of stairs. It was so close we just carried our paddle board from the house rather than loaded onto the car after the first day. We swam hours every day except the last one because it stormed. We watched the sunset several nights at the beach because it was that easy to get to.

The bakery down the street was a nice treat to walk to but we were on IL time so it was a struggle to get there for a good selection. There's also a small grocery store and a breakfast place we never tried that also sold ice cream that we also never tried.

We rode our own bikes into New Buffalo a couple of times, which is an easy half hour ride. We all love the views and house watching on that ride. We went hiking for a couple hours in Warren Dunes about 10 minutes away one day too. Gorgeous hike. St. Joseph's is about half hour north. Outlet malls are about half hour south.

The owner (Laura) responds within hours to questions. After the trip, our security deposit was returned quickly.

Overall it was a great week and the property just made it that much more enjoyable!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the detailed review. It really helps! Really enjoyed having you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Would stay again..

  • 5 of 5

The property was mostly well kept and very clean. From the moment we arrived, there were deer and woodchucks roaming the year; my three year old loved watching them. We used the tiled screened in porch a bit, it was very relaxing and inviting when it was raining.

A little explicit clarification for the beach walk; it's a fifth-mile walk and then about 50 wooden stairs to the sand. It was fun and easy for the younger crowd, not as enjoyable for those over 60. The house provided a red wagon for hauling stuff there, but you can't walk the wagon to the sand.

There's 5 mbit WiFi and a chromecast on the main TV, so the creature-comforts of home were easy after the kids went to sleep.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time! Yes...all the Union Pier, Lakeside, etc. beaches have stairs...at least ours are newer and in great condition, plus, there are two landings, on the way up or down, or older folks to rest, without blocking stair traffic.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a week at Blue Moon. It was a great week and we were all sad when we had to leave!

The owner (Laura) was very responsive when we had questions before booking and she also stayed in touch in the weeks leading up to our trip. Even after the trip, our security deposit was returned immediately. While we had no issues the entire week, I'm sure we would have gotten prompt attention if we would have needed it.

I was pleasantly surprised at how well equipped the property was for our stay. The kitchen was fully stocked with not only pots, pans, utensils, etc., but also with all sorts of spices that came in handy as we cooked for everyone. Similarly, the bathrooms were spacious, plenty of towels. The beds were all comfortable and the house had plenty of space. We were even able to have some family who were staying nearby over for dinner a couple nights and there was plenty of room for all.

The beach is a very short walk from the property. We didn't feel like we had a long trek to haul all of our beach gear to and from the beach each day. Unfortunately, the beach is not as wide this year as it has been in some previous years, but there was still plenty of room for our entire family to have fun in the sun and surf all week.

Overall it was a great week and the property just made it that much more enjoyable!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, for the detailed review! It gives me great pleasure when renters enjoy our home, and most importantly, have a really great time during their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful stay at A Blue Moon

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time....The house had everything we needed and was a very comfortable place to stay and enjoy Lake Michigan. Great location and so much to do in the area. It was affordable and comfortable....a great place for a family to stay.

Jill Priebe

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you! I'm so glad you had a great time. Thank you too, for leaving our home in such good condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful! Loved all the extras and beautiful furnishings. Just need to be more specific about distance to the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Stray Dog Bar & Grill
"What a great spot for family dining, during the day, and early evening. It's more of a drink..."
Red Arrow Roadhouse
"Great atmosphere...an "old school", tavern vibe, and OUTSTANDING "comfort" food! Great place..."
Luisa's Cafe
"Expect a pretty long wait on weekends. if you don't have younger kids, it's worth the wait!..."
Cafe Gulistan
"I'm not a hummus fan, but those who love it, like to go for that."
Barneys Market
"Everything you need...groceries, wine, meats, deli...it's all here!"
Casey's
"Food is just so-so, but the drinks and atmosphere is great!"
Lake Michigan Shore Wine Trail
"Michigan wine is just OK, but driving around to the different vineyards is a lot of fun!"
Skip's Restaurant & Catering
"There PRIME RIB is OUTSTANDING!! Really...none better, anywhere! Pretty much everything is..."
Blue Plate Cafe
"Good food, but noisy atmosphere."
Car: recommended

UNION PIER is ideally located! Short drive to downtown New Buffalo (the largest town in the area); walking distance to ice cream shop, restaurants, beach equipment/bike rentals, wine shop, deli, convenience store. You can hear the Lake Michigan waves (when they are large) from our house, since we are only 350 paces to the Lake entrance.

Those 21 and older, can follow the "wine trail", as there are approximately 23 wineries in the general area, and 2 casinos...FOUR WINDS (The Dells meets Vegas), and BLUE CHIP (smaller but powerful! in Michigan City).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Linen Fees $175
Refundable damage deposit $700

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund