Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BEACH FRONT Penthouse - February 24th Available...$2800!!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Beautiful and luxurious living!

Loggerhead Cay unit 514 offers endless water views from this top floor luxury unit. This condo is a Gulf Front unit in building five of Sanibel Island's premier weekly rental destinations. Unit 514 has been completely renovated in an open floor plan style and will not disappoint! We can comfortably sleep six guests with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a queen size sleeper sofa. Bedrooms are large and private. Unit 514 has plenty of closet space, flat screen TV's and comfortable bedding and towels. The Screened Lanai overlooks the Gulf, is very comfortably appointed, and a great place to enjoy coffee, meals, or a cocktail.

Loggerhead Cay sits on a beautiful world famous shelling beach, offering convenient access to the causeway, bike and walking paths, marinas, and many other attractions. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge occupies almost a third of the island and is home to spectacular migratory birds, manatee, alligators, bobcat, and many species of wildlife. There are several shops, galleries and restaurants nearby, as well as two full service grocery stores. Within the complex, there is a heated swimming pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard, BBQ grills and picnic tables.

This condo features high end furnture throughout. The thoughtfully designed gourmet kitchen is fully equipped for entertaining or just enjoying a meal with one of the best views on the island. Dining table seats six, and enjoys incredible Gulf views - better than island restaurants! The flat screen television disappears into the granite windowsill offering unobstructed views. The master bedroom welcomes you with a comfortable queen mattress, luxury linens, en suite bath, built-in cabinetry, and full sliding doors opening to the glassed/screened lanai overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The lanai is furnished with an additional dining set and 'stress less' leather recliners. Many an evening has been spent watching the sky change colors with the setting sun. Dolphins are frequently spotted playing in the surf near shore.

We stock the condo with a pack and play, beach towels, and beach chairs. If we don't have it, we can help you find it! You'll find the reserved parking space near the elevator most convenient.

We have been renting our condo for 8 years, we are good at what we do, and look forward to working with you to make your vacation memorable.

Thank you for considering Loggerhead Cay 514. We also own unit 542 and 191 at Loggerhead Cay - VRBO number 120708... 'Best Reviews on Sanibel!' and VRBO number 686278. Please note the reviews written for our sister unit #542. They are indicative of unit 514!

Please note that our condo rents Saturday to Saturday unless otherwise noted in the rate section.

*Very close to fabulous shops and restaurants (biking or even walking distance)

*Best Views in Complex

*Master bedroom overlooks the Gulf of Mexico (Lanai doors open entirely allowing a full view from bed)

*Guest bedroom w/ twin beds



*Tennis Courts and Shuffleboard

*22 miles of paved bicycle baths w/ easy bike rentals (ask us)

Unit 542 and 191 also available

vrbo 120708

vrbo 686278

If you have a larger party and would like to rent a Captiva 4 bedroom Beach House on the Gulf Mexico please check out VRBO # 685014

Keywords: Beach Front luxury view comfort clean elevator updated 2 bedroom 2 bath fully equipped kitchen leather recliners quality mattress French door fridge washer/dryer beach chairs umbrella upscale retreat nature paths biking trails comfortable beds bright and cheerful decor

More Details

Erin Fredrickson
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Erin Fredrickson

We have owned property on Sanibel Island since 2007 and recently purchased this unit with some friends who have also fallen in love with our island paradise. This is our third property in Loggerhead Cay. We live in East Grand Rapids, MI and have 4 young children.

Erin Fredrickson purchased this condo in 2015

Why Erin Fredrickson chose Sanibel Island

We choose to own property in Loggerhead for many reasons...some highlighted below

*renovated condo - views do not get any better!

* Beautifully landscaped grounds/ very tropical feel

*Best location on the island convenient to everything

*some of the most spacious two - bedroom units on the island

*Huge swimming pool with gulf views

*family friendly


Sanibel Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 child bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
High End Furnishings in Every Room, Quality Mattresses with Luxury Bedding, Fully Equipped Gourmet Kitchen, 3 TVs, BBQ Grill with Picnic Tables in Common Area, Shuffleboard and Tennis Courts in Common Area, Designated Parking, as well as Guest Parking.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
15% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
BEACH FRONT Penthouse - April 14th...NOW $1900!
average rating of 4.681818 based on 44 reviews

Excellent February Vacation

  • 4 of 5

My family thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay at this beach front penthouse condo. It was our first trip to Sanibel, but we would be happy to come again, and to stay at this same property. As noted in the listing, the unit is directly beach front with unobstructed views of the sand and the gulf. Our children loved building sand castles and playing in the surf (slightly on the chilly side in February, but still plenty enjoyable). We also liked the easy access to nearby sights, including the lighthouse, Tarpon Bay, and Ding Darling National Refuge.

The condo was well furnished and stocked. The beach chairs and umbrella and beach toys came in very handy. The kitchen had everything we needed. The 2 balconies got much use from us. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the side balcony in the evenings enjoying the gulf view via moonlight.

Great stay overall. Our only regret is that the trip was only for a week!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view. Great location.

  • 5 of 5

This unit was well stocked with all possible needs. We especially enjoyed the lanai. Master bedroom has a gorgeous view.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointed in physical condition of the condo

  • 3 of 5

I gave three stars because of the fabulous view of the beach and easy access to the beach. However the condition of this condo is poor...the upholstered living room furniture is badly worn and soiled. Mattresses are worn and uncomfortable, bed clothes is worn and beyond usefulness, shag carpet is outdated and drab, plumbing fixtures are worn and loose. A general makeover is woefully needed. For the price I expected more from the owner and the booking agent.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We continually strive to make our properties the best on the island. Although our condo was not to your taste we assure the photos are accurate of the quality we provide. Our properties are and always have been top rated condos on Sanibel. Furthermore, my response time and attention to details is something I pride myself in over the past 11 years. We always encourage our guests to contact us upon arrival with any concerns so we can rectify issues in a timely manner. It is disappointing that we were blindsided with your review without any communication throughout the week. We will be inspecting the condo and assessing any issues that need to be addressed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was just beautiful; probably the nicest property we’ve ever rented! The two lanais were wonderful for quiet reading and napping! We could see and hear the Gulf from the lanai, and it was very calming and relaxing.

The kitchen was very functional with lots of space, glasses and dishes. When we come to Sanibel again, we would definitely stay here!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs

Weird chopped up layout

  • 2 of 5

Unit felt chopped up and had a weird layout design.

Plus side was nice updated spacious kitchen with large island. Great Gulf views.

Downside was the floor plan with a weird, raised living area and bizarre master bedroom / lanai entrance. Bathrooms felt outdated and a little worn out.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. Browne, We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our condo at Loggerhead. The pictures in our listing are very representative of the unit. If the lay-out of the condominium was not to your specific taste, we understand and apologize for any inconvenience. As a side note, the living room floor is slightly raised so our guests can sit and still have a direct view of the Gulf with no window obstruction. In addition, the "wall" in the master bedroom has been converted to sliding glass doors that fully retract to allow for a full Gulf view from the bed. We have found that most guests view these features as upgrades to our condo as opposed to bizarre features. Thank you again for your visit. Sincerely, Todd and Erin Fredrickson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The most amazing view!

  • 4 of 5

We have stayed in this unit for several years, and the view is the best. Very peaceful and relaxing, on an island we have come to love over many years.

I am giving 4 stars instead of 5, as we experienced a few problems. We could not get the main TV to work correctly. For some reason, there are 4 remotes on the table, instead of the 3 last year, but only one has batteries, and it didn't work. It has always worked other years, but this time, no matter what we tried, we could only watch CBS. We did appreciate the TV channel charts, but we could not access anything other than CBS. Erin's attempts to help did not work, and following the user manual didn't either. As watching TV was not our focus while there, we finally gave up. Either there is a secret we could not find, or something was not working.

The garbage disposal was also not working for our entire visit. Even resetting the button on the disposal did not work. We notified Erin, and she was going to take care of that.

We were appreciative of the added fan in the bedroom, as that definitely helped the room to stay cooler at night than on previous years. We were not able to leave the sliding doors to the lanai open much at all, as there was a significant problem with gnats this year, certainly not something in Erin's control, but part of nature and timing. Another helpful change was a new keyless entry lock, which worked much better than previous ones.

My husband noticed that the beach chairs are still the same as before, meaning they are the low-to-the ground chairs which we are unable to use. Regular height chairs would be very appreciated for those of us with limitations on getting 'down' to those low levels.

The pots and pans are also showing a lot of wear, although otherwise, the kitchen is well supplied for our needs.

Despite any of these issues, we still find this unit to have the most wonderful view, and is very peaceful. This year, we especially needed that, so thanks again. We hope to be back.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
Sanibel Inn
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Beachview on Sanibel
Nearest Beach
Loggerhead Cay 979 East Gulf Drive
Car: recommended

Sanibel is a sanctuary island with over 20 miles of dedicated bike and walking paths. Safe sandy beaches, wildlife viewing and kayaking, shopping and great food!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Intl. Fee 3.75% $0
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

International guests will be charged an additional 3.75% processing fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties