About the property
- Condo300 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum StayNone
Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-2)
You'll love the unobstructed side view of the Gulf from the private balcony of our home away from home! Closest one to beach with unobstructed side view. Although close to beach and pools, our balcony and unit are quiet... away from the noise of the pools and Sugar Shack on the beach front. For years, families have been returning time and again to Sugar Beach Condominiums. Many extras are packed into this charming efficiency/studio unit, which has a combined living/sleeping area with a full kitchen separated by a breakfast bar.
The complex has four pools: 2 full-sized pools (one heated), a kiddie pool, and a centrally located interior pool. Public beachside restrooms are available. There are three gazebos in the pool area. The Sugar Shack snack/drink bar has a variety of drinks and light fare available (seasonal). The first floor sundeck is open and lounge chairs and umbrellas are available for rental on the beach. A tennis court and shuffleboard area are available. There's a barbeque grilling area with 3 grills and picnic tables.
Sugar Beach Condo Association does not allow pets to accompany guests. The Association allows one vehicle for each studio/efficiency or 1 bedroom unit. The Association requires registration passes which are available from the security guard on-site for $20. You can not park at the complex without a pass. A guard is on duty at the parking entrance.
A security deposit is required. If no damage or loss is incurred, and if the reservation is not canceled, unless it is re-rented for the same period, this deposit will be refunded in full within 14 days of departure. In addition to rental fees, a one-time cleaning fee of $60.00 and an 11% lodging tax is collected. The security deposit, rental payment, lodging tax, and cleaning fee are due prior to arrival. All payments are to be made by echeck, credit or debit cards.
12 weeks notice - all deposit refunded
10-11 weeks - 75% deposit refunded, 25% kept
8-9 weeks - 50% refunded, 50% kept
5-7 weeks - 25% refunded, 75% kept
Less than 4 weeks - 100% kept
Jerry and Rebecca Knoff
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 21, 2018
About Jerry and Rebecca Knoff
We are 55+ empty nestors who love to travel and dine-out, preferably with close friends! We have always loved the ocean, and were married 33+ years ago at sunrise on the beautiful gulf coast beaches.
Jerry and Rebecca Knoff purchased this Condo in 2004
Why Jerry and Rebecca Knoff chose Orange Beach
More family oriented beach area than Florida panhandle destinations. Lower property tax base in AL than FL. Lower real estate prices in AL than FL.
What makes this Condo unique
Loads of good seafood in the area! Great fishing, either from the pier or through charter boats. Beautiful white sand beach!
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Thank you for the wonderful stay at sugarbeach condos! Everyone was so nice, the security, the cleaning ladies, and the owner! We were actually ON the beach!!! Unfortunately, the weather was not cooperating and it was windy and chilly out but the heated pool was nice since it was too cold to get into the beach! Everything was cleaned and the room was perfect for the both of us! We enjoyed our time there and want to thank everyone for the friendly service we received!
Not clean; lock issue; do not recommend
I shared my experience with owners personally in Dec16. I contacted owners personally and sent photos and they said they'd follow up with cleaning lady. I decided to put review on website after seeing a repeat of what I experienced at the unit.
I really enjoyed layout of the unit. It is a great location. In spite of the cold and rain, it was a blessing for a quick getaway.
Owners are only aware of issues if someone informs them and that is why I sent pictures of the unacceptable condition of unit. The bed did not look like it had been changed so I started to check it. There was hair on the sheets, hair on a pillow and when I took the sheets off, there was hair on the padding as well. There appeared to be blood on the comforter and a pillowcase. I lost confidence in the cleaniness and washed everything. There was hair on the floor, a dead roach and hair in kitchen drawers. The scissors in the drawer were broken.
I was looking for a baking pan for pizza and could not find it. I decided to look in the dishwasher and, lo and behold, the majority of the dishes were in there. That was really surprising as I have never had to empty a dishwasher at a rental property. I left the items in there and washed what we used and returned items to the cabinet as I didn’t know if the items in the dishwasher had been cleaned or not. That would account for why the broken scissors were still in the drawer because items had not been returned to their proper areas for the broken item to be discovered. In addition, upon packing up I noticed there was not a battery in the smoke detector.
The most frightening part was when I was packing up the car. The code to enter the condo stopped working. A red light started flashing which was different than what occurred previously. I don’t know if it was on a timer or not but it was not even 0900 yet. Thankfully, I’d left my granddaughter resting in the room. I was knocking loudly on the door trying to get my granddaughter to come to the door and one of the neighbors nicely offered for me to use their telephone after I explained the problem. However, I needed to act immediately and located maintenance to find out if they could assist.They had a ladder to reach the balcony so that I could awaken my granddaughter and let her know it was okay to open the door. Maintenance informed me there had been problems with the door lock previously. Fortunately, I someone in the room when the lock malfunctioned.
I cannot recommend.
We're quite surprised to see you post this review at this late date. When you gave us this feedback last year, we promptly shared it with our manager, who took extreme steps to ensure this was not a recurrent issue. Also, the "blood" you mention was not blood at all. I cannot now recall what it was determined to be, since half a year has passed, but there has been no reoccurrence. Regarding the lock issue you had, we have expanded our instructions so people have a clearer idea of how to operate the lock. A back-up key has also been put in a strategic location. I'm not sure what egregious reviews you've seen that caused you to put us in this bad light at this late date, but I can assure you we have had many very happy customers since your stay.
We always strive to give great customer service while keeping our costs down so people can enjoy the beach as much as we do. No one and nothing is perfect (except God), but we have been blessed with great customers over the years in our little beach retreat.
Hard to go wrong at the Gulf! Pretty much what we expected. Two negatives though. Other than payment correspondence, zero communication. We were on the phone in route trying to figure out check in procedure, etc. VRBO had to help us with the number to contact in order to get the needed information which was finally text to us but only after we called. Cleanliness of the unit was an issue. I was forced to sweep toe nail clippings off the balcony. GROSS!!! Wore our shoes the rest of the time in the unit. Probably wouldn't stay there again given all the availability of other condos.
Thank you for your feedback! We've passed on your concerns to our housekeeper, although we generally hear that the unit is quite clean and well stocked.
Regarding the lack of communication, it's our understanding that once a booking is paid in full, our access instructions and other useful info we've place on the VRBO website become visible to our guests. So sorry this didn't apparently happen with you! We'll discuss this with VRBO to determine what steps we need to take to ensure future guests don't encounter this issue.
We do hope you'll return! We'd love another opportunity to impress you!
We had a great time and the facilities were good for my husband and I.
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Please visit us again. We love our repeat customers!
Small beach getaway
The condo was perfect size to accommodate a couple looking for a beach getaway. The complex was also vert nice always clean and organized. Lots of nice beach, and stores near by with plenty of options for food. A nice close walk to the beach was perfect. Complex had a beautiful balcony over looking the ocean perfect for just sitting with a book or cold drink to relax.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything perfect for your beach vacation! Please visit again. We love our repeat guests!
This being our first time to Orange Beach, we werent sure what to expect. As soon as we arrived to the condo, all stress melted away. The condo is prefectly furnished and perfect size for 2. All we had to do was relax. The condo is right by the stairway and only 1 flight down to step on the sand. We only used the elevator for load and unload. I love the size of the complex. It makes it more like an actual beach vacation as opposed to your average resort overload. We would love to stay her again.
So glad you enjoyed your trip and found everything perfect for your stay! Please do come back again! We LOVE our repeat guests and will treat you right.
Sundeck with picnic tables; security guard; short drive or walk to state park and fishing pier!
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Cancellation Policy: 12 weeks notice - all deposit refunded 10-11 weeks - 75% deposit refunded, 25% kept 8-9 weeks - 50% refunded, 50% kept 5-7 weeks - 25% refunded, 75% kept Less than 4 weeks - 100% kept