Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Log Home at the Door to Lassen National Park.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-10)

Charming 'Real Log Home' at the door to Lassen National Park. Welcome to 'Peaceful Pines'.

Home is situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac on almost one private acre. 12 acres of pines boarder property to the east for exploring/walking.

Surrounded by Ponderosa Pines--just 5 miles east of Shingletown and 35 mile east of Redding, CA. Perfect for that weekend 'get away' or weeks vacation.

BEDROOMS:

Master Suite: Upstairs (for privacy). Queen bed, 2 large closets, full bath with shower over tub. Large vanity.

Guest Rooms:

'Wild life room': Double bed

'Bird House': Double bed

Guest rooms share full bath with tub over shower.

KITCHEN:

Country flair with genuine (ORNAMENTAL) wood stove, center butcher block island. Equipped for the cook with large oven, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, ample dishes and cooking utensils.

Guest house on property with permanent tenant.

Keywords: Log Home, woods, pines, explore, Lassen Park, wine tasting, secluded, peaceful

More Details

Owner
Mary Williamson
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
July 28, 2017

About Mary Williamson

A native of Redding. I enjoy family time, gardening and travel. I purchased this home as a weekend retreat. To enjoy the cooler summer weather, to rest and relax. I work as a Nurse Practitioner at Planned Parenthood in Redding.

Mary Williamson purchased this house in 2008

Why Mary Williamson chose Shasta Cascade

At the door to Lassen National Park. This is a great area to explore or just relax. Fishing, wine tasting, hiking, snowmobiling and Eskimo Hill are a few of the local activities.

What makes this house unique

This Charming Log Home is surrounded by lots of tall pine trees. Situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac this home offers privacy and seclusion. Rock BBQ, children's play area. Enjoy the cool nights during the summer and the possibility of snow in the winter. The area abounds with recreation. Hike to the top of Mt. Lassen, go wine tasting at the nearby wineries, fish at Hat Creek.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good Morning…



I am trying to get back into the swing of life after such a wonderful stay… I am trying to open this to give my remarks but it will not let me so hoping you get this..



Your cabin was absolutely awesome… What a beautiful place… So quiet and it had everything we needed to prepare meals/cook outs for the family. The kids enjoyed exploring your yard alone, not to mention Lassen having snow in July! The setting was awesome so quiet and homey…. We could have just moved right in and never looked back…. Thank you for having such a wonderful place an sharing it..



Thanks!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Shingletown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size bed (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofas: Double sofa bed and one twin sofa bed. Sofa beds are located in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
True log home with unique old style stove as focal point of kitchen.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
21% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Log Home at the Door to Lassen National Park.
average rating of 4.4848485 based on 39 reviews
5

A very cozy and convenient place to stay if you're exploring Lassen Volcanic Park and its vicinity

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house for two nights and absolutely loved it. The owner put a lot of effort to make it feel like an ancestral rural home in the woods you never had while comfortably housing two families of three. The location is just a few miles away from the Lake Manzanita entrance to Lassen Volcanic Park so it was very easy for us to move around and explore. Thank you Mary for having us at our place!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home - Easy Access to Lassen

  • 5 of 5

The house is really beautiful and the photos don't do it full justice. Authentic log cabin with rustic charm! Everything was clean and decorated perfectly. Full kitchen set up as well. Wood stove in the living room was our favorite room to gather as a group and play games by the fire. Note: There is minimal to no phone access or wi-fi on the property, as listed, so be committed to truly zero phone access while there. You do get service in town though, a five minute drive away. Lassen is a short drive away and the sledding hill (Eskimo Hill) is a great place to sled in the winter! We really enjoyed our time.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient and quiet place, just the way we like

  • 5 of 5

We arrived late in the day and found the place very cosy and welcoming. Plenty of couches and sitting areas, great kitchen area with open space. The feeling of being in a log cabin was very pleasing.

Showers, bathrooms, and other amenities, and the rest of the cabin were clean and pleasing.

We recommend the cabin near Shingletown.

Don

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

pleasant but could have been better

  • 4 of 5

overall stay was good. home was in good condition, with good kitchen and all that. quiet and as advertised, my only complain is with the maintenance of the unit. lights in the front porch by the main door entrance werent working, lights in the parking space werent working, lights at the back porch were very dim at best. there are lights installed but they just don't work; we visited this home when there was a bear and mountain lion alert in lassen national park, this place is around 12 miles or so away from it; we were traveling with small dogs and it gets very dark after sunset; not having adequate lighting was a disappointment. Also, unfortunately, we were traveling during hot days, we only found 1 small table fan, just one; in the entire house.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did communicate prior to your arrival and you were informed that there have NOT been any bear or lion sightings here, they have NEVER been in the garbage, which would be a sign of their presents. There are actually 2 movable fans in the closets or storage areas, in addition to a swamp cooler. Also, night time temperatures are 45-55, you can open the windows to cool the home down and close them in the morning and the log walls are great insulation to keep the home cool. I was not aware of the outside light being inoperable and will rectify this. I hearing your real concern as being the wildlife. Perhaps you were worried that they may enter through the windows at night, therefore not feeling comfortable to open them and let the night temperature cool the home. Yes, this home is in the "pines" therefore no street lights, and it is dark at night. Sorry for your disappointment. Did you see any lions or bears?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very comfortable home

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at this home will working in the area. The home was comfortable and well furnished. The only problem I encountered was not being able to get the dvd player to work on the tv. I don't know if someone moved some wire or what happened , but I could not get it working. No bid deal since I did not have much down time. I would recommend this to anyone needing a reasonably priced comfortable place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice experience, but could have been even better

  • 3 of 5

I found it is spacious, has nice kitchen and dining area. It has good parking area, woods around. This is my first stay at a log home & hence found it interesting. There were no big surprises.

Some things we didn't like:

- We spent a lot of time getting the propane based heaters work, but were no successful. We had a figure out that an electric heater was kept inside a bedroom closet in ground floor.

- There was an attached home just behind this home, which caught me by surprise. I was expecting just this home in a big lot. May be it is written somewhere in the VRBO property webpage I might have overlooked.

- Wifi password was not found in the instruction booklet. There was no cell phone service at the home for us to call the owner for help. It could have been helpful for us to research about local places.

- The TV stopped worked after we pressed some button & we couldn't get it working again because it seemed like a very old model (probably from 1990s). So, we didn't have the TV for kids for entire stay even though there was some DVD collection in the home.

- We couldn't find soaps in bathrooms.

Hope this helps.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments, they are extremely helpful for me to know what to address at the home. In response to the your comments the following issues are listed in VRBO:(important to read ALL of the listing amenities) long term tenant in guest home; wi fi password (also listed on information sheet on the frig). Baseboard electric heaters are located in the living room, dinning room, master bedroom, both bathrooms and 1 of the downstairs bedrooms. The 1 downstairs bedroom has the portable heater in the closet. TV is older, I plan to update it. However, all remotes work the same, so even with a later model TV the programming for the DVD would work the same. I agree an updated home book is needed and is in progress. Some cell providers do work on site, see note in listing. If you EVER need to reach me- just go 2 blocks out the highway and call. Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Redding, Ca.
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Pioneer Pizza
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Pioneer Pizza or Reeds Deli
Car: necessary

Lassen National Park, Subway Caves, Burney Falls

Photos

Rates & Availability

Shingletown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. Rates are based on parties of 7.
Holiday rate is $225.00 per night, all other fees apply.
Cleaning fee of $95.00 per booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties