Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Watch the Sun Rise and Set from the Deck!! Semi ocean front, pool, hot tub! NH13

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-10)

Perfect Semi-Ocean Front house for a few families to enjoy the Beach. Watch the sun rise over the ocean and set over the sound from your Ocean & Sound facing decks. Plenty of space for everyone to spread out and relax w/ a very relaxing Ship's Watch on the top level - perfect place to curl up with a great book, and a large first floor with a wet bar, game table, bistro table, and sitting area w/ futon. New smart Tvs in bedrooms.

Top Floor: Ship's Watch, Living Room w/ Ocean facing deck, TV/VCR/DVD stereo (surround) system, powder room, dining table (6) and breakfast bar (3), nice kitchen, sound facing deck, Queen MBR w/ pillow top mattress, sound Views & Deck access.

Middle Floor: Queen MBR w/ TV, Ocean deck and views, Queen Bedroom w/ TV & private deck shares bath w/ Pyramid Bunk room w/ TV & deck.

Ground Floor: Sitting Room w/ futon, washer & dryer, full bath, Pool Table, wet bar, TV/DVD/Stereo w/ surround sound.

Extras: Private Pool (10'x20'), Hot Tub (for 3), Gas Grill, Pool Table, Bed Linens provided and beds made, 6 TVs (New smart TVs in bedrooms), Netflix, 2 Stereos, 2 DVD players, 2 CD players, free local and long distance phone calls, high-speed wireless internet, Great Ocean and Sound Views, 100' to the beach access, no smoking, no pets.2017 pool dates: 4/7/17-10/15/17

Beds are made prior to arrival. Towel sets may be rented for $7 a set.

More Details

Property Manager
Leslie Hornfeck
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really enjoyed having the beach access right across the street, great restaurants within walking distance, Jeanette's Pier very close, and Oregon Inlet too! The home was so nice, especially the views of the ocean and the sound. Everything was clean and in working order. Definitely will keep this on our 'list'. Thank you for opening up your home to renters!
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1


Nags Head House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (1) 3 Queen Bedrooms, Bunk Beds (1) 1 Duo-Bunk (Double on bottom, single on top)
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • surfing
  • swimming


4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Watch the Sun Rise and Set from the Deck!! Semi ocean front, pool, hot tub! NH13
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

Perfect for two families

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous vacation home for a couple of families. My wife and I rented this home in the spring of 2014 with our good friends and their two children (a newborn and a 3-year-old). Our kids were 3 and 1 at the time. It was perfect. The ships watch was an instant hang out spot for the toddlers and it was close enough for us to hear what they were doing from the kitchen and living room. Also having sleeping quarters on a different floor from the common space was huge, especially when it came to kids nap time. The close walk to the beach was perfect for flying kites and when the weather was a little too breezy, it was a short drive to fun indoor things - like the aquarium.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
asheville, NC

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I met friends here for a wonderful week at the beach. The home was clean when we arrived. Check in was not an issue with the touch pad on the door. There was plenty of room for the 4 adults. We ate most meals in and found the kitchen to be more than adequate. The beds were very comfortable. The price was reasonable for the proximity to the ocean. I would highly recommend the Whale Bone.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pictures are deceiving.

  • 2 of 5

We stayed here with six adults and two infants. While the kitchen is tiny and cant really hold more than one adult at the time, the house is great given the location of how close to the beach it was. That was really our only issue with the home. Our biggest complaint would be that the rental company didnt really have the house clean when we arrived. The pool didnt even appear to have been clean and the house wasnt clean at all. Secondly we rented some gear to use while there; two beach chairs and a high chair. The beach chairs while I expected to be used were rusted and extremely worn out. The back on the one didnt even stay up. When I called Leslies to complain, Kevin told me he would have new ones sent out. I'm pretty sure they didn't bring new ones and just moved the old ones closer to the door to appear they had done something because they were in the exact same condition. I would rent this home again if the owners were to switch the rental company they use. My biggest complaint is with Leslies Vacation Rentals and not the actual home.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you were disappointed with our services. I wish that you had reached out to us during your stay so that we could have addressed any concerns that your family had with the property while you were here, instead of writing that you were unsatisfied on a VRBO review. We pride ourselves in taking great care of the properties and our guests and immediately address any concerns that our guests might have. Unfortunately, the only call that we received from your family was about the condition of the beach chairs. We use a rental company for this equipment and immediately called them to replace the chairs. We would have gladly refunded your credit card for the chair rental if we had known that this was not resolved to your satisfaction. Regarding cleanliness, we personally inspect all of our properties and thought that the house looked great for your arrival. Had you called to let us know of any cleaning problems we would have gladly come to the house to make it right for you. We are sorry that you experienced problems with our services during your stay and wish we had the opportunity to host your family again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kohler, Wisconsin

Great Place

  • 4 of 5

We had an amazing time while visiting the Outer Banks recently, and our entire group agrees that Whalebone was a great place to stay! The price was reasonable, it's as close to the ocean without actually being on the ocean as possible, and there was more than enough space for 6 adults and 4 kids under 3 years of age. There was a grocery store nearby, and plenty of restaurants around if we wanted a night out. All the kids loved the pool in the backyard, and the gas grill was great for cooking dinner most nights. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0






  • $1095-$3295/wk
  • US Dollars
  • 9/07/13-9/27/13: $1095 | 9/28/13-12/31/12: $995 | 1/1/14-5/16/14: $1095
  • 5/17/14-5/23/14: $1195 | 8/24/14-5/30/14: $1595 | 5/31/14-6/6/14: $2295
  • 6/07/14-6/13/14: $2495 | 6/14/14-6/20/14: $2995 | 6/21/14-8/15/14: $3395
  • 8/16/14-8/22/14: $2400 | 8/23/14-8/29/14: $1595 | 8/30/14-9/5/14: $1395
  • 9/06/14-9/26/14: $1195 | 9/27/14-12/31/14: $1095
  • All rates are weekly, Sat. check in 4:00pm to Sat. check out 10:00am

You might like these similar properties