Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Steps to the Beach, Patio, Bikes, Grill

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

Recently remodeled from top to bottom and nicely furnished, this Duplex (1 bdrm apt on top and 2 bdrm/2bath apt on bottom) beach vacation rental sits in a quiet upscale neighborhood on Law Street, less than a block from the ocean and Law St Palisades Park which was voted best ocean overlook point in the San Diego area.

This roomy duplex has 3 large private patio areas (one private to this unit in front with an ocean view and one shared patio in back) with tables and chairs and gas BBQs. There are 4 shared beach cruiser adult bicycles for riding along Pacific and Mission Beach and Bay boardwalks, sea bird reserves and the neighboring scenic drive through Bird Rock and La Jolla. Private double garage parking with automatic garage door opener and free laundry room (shared by both upper 1bdrm and lower 2bdrm/2ba units).

The light and airy living room is tastefully and comfortably furnished with all new furniture, queen sofa bed and a large screen plasma TV. The kitchen has granite counter tops, all new appliances and beautiful Maple cabinets. Master bedroom has a queen bed, 2nd bedroom has a double bed, each has a TV. Cable/wireless Internet, WiFi, Cable TV, unlimited phone. ASK us if this unit has AC!

Multiple Rentals in Quiet Upscale Neighborhood: Rent both the upper 1 bdrm and lower 2bdrm/2ba for extended families or friends vacationing together, less than a block to the ocean and Law Street Palisades Park. Several San Diego websites list it as the “Best Beach Overlook.” This two-block long patch of lush green grass, with several shaded benches, overlooks the sandy beach from the top of a 25 foot cliff. It is a favorite spot for observing the wide white-sand beach below and the endless numbers of surfers and sail-boarders displaying their skills at wave-ridding, just off-shore. The park is also a favorite for picnickers and sunset watchers and wedding/engagement and family photos. It has restrooms and outdoor showers. A wide ramp gives easy access to the beach below. North Pacific Beach around Law Street has a much more mellow, less crowded atmosphere than Pacific Beach and Mission Beach south of Crystal Pier/Garnet Street, yet Pacific Beach's myriad of ethnic and seafood restaurants, shops and clubs are only 6 blocks away.

Amenities Galore - we try to think of everything: The ocean and bay boardwalks are wonderful for bike riding so we provide new beach cruiser bicycles for you, just like you rode as a kid. No fancy gears, just a plain bike with a big comfortable seat, high handlebars, a kickstand and back-peddle brakes. There is a gas BBQ (with gas provided!), two laundry rooms, a private garage with auto garage door opener. WiFi Cable/wireless Internet and phone line insures that you can keep in touch with work if necessary and there is Cable TV and DVD. There is a communal grassy area with table and chairs. You will find beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach towels, beach toys for the kids, alarm clock, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, shampoo, dishwasher soap, body and hand soap, laundry soap and bounce sheets, coffee filters, saran wrap and aluminum foil, kleenex, paper towels, toilet paper, etc. Comfortable beds with high quality, high thread count sheets.

Peace of Mind while you travel: * Why tie up a credit card with a security deposit when you could be using that money for your well deserved vacation? We offer optional Accidental Damage Insurance, in-lieu of a Security Deposit. When you include this insurance with your reservation, the cost & repair of covered accidental damage will be handled by us! Coverage: unintentional damage to the vacation rental during your stay, up to $1,500, including things like carpet spills, furniture tears, broken lamps, & even pet damage in pet-friendly homes!

We recommend purchasing Travel Insurance. Protect your vacation investment from unexpected events. Did you know that vacation insurance could cover you if.... You or a loved one gets sick (even if they aren't traveling with you)? You need medical treatment while traveling? A blizzard or hurricane prevents you from starting your vacation or forces you to leave early? And much more. Call us today for more details or visit our website 'NancysVacationRentals' for more info.

More Details

Property Manager
Nancy's Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

date entered: 03/08/2008

homeowner-added comment:

My husband and I spent two weeks in February at 711 Law St and couldn't have been happier with our accomodation. It was less than a block from the beach and within easy walking distance to any kind of shopping or restaurant that we could want. Nancy goes the extra mile to make this property comfortable and welcoming including outdoor furniture and barbeque for the large sunny deck, laundry facilities in the building and a fully equipped high end kitchen. The living room furniture was luxurious and the Queen size bed was the most comfortable we'ver ever slept on.

We were primarily seeking sunshine as a break from our dreary Canadian Westcoast weather, so accommodations were somewhat of a lesser priority. We were truly delighted therefore that our "leap of faith" in renting from a complete stranger resulted in lovely and comfortable accomodations as well.

Sandra and Fred (Victoria, BC, Canada)

guest name: Sandra and Fred

guest city-state/province: Victoria, BC, Canada
Mar 2008
  • 1 of 2


North Pacific Beach Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The lower two bedroom unit has two full bathrooms with combination tub/showers.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen
  • In this lower2bdrm/2ba unit the Master bedroom has a queen bed and the second bedroom has a double/full bed and there is a queen sofa-bed in the living room. Lamps, alarm clock, mirrored closet doors, plenty of dresser drawers, quality 400 count Egyptian Cotton linens. Beach towels provided, also. You can also rent the upper floor one bedroom apt if you need more bedrooms. Upgraded gel-infused memory foam mattresses on the sofa-beds
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
ASK us if this unit has AC! If you need more space, you can rent the upstairs one bedroom, also, and there is another one bedroom right next door.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Steps to the Beach, Patio, Bikes, Grill
average rating of 4.774194 based on 33 reviews
Vancouver, Canada

Fantastic Location, Great Service, All you need!

  • 5 of 5

When we arrived at this property, we were blown away by the proximity to the beach. Couldn’t have gotten a better location. The property was well maintained and clean. It was supplied with any amenities you would need for cooking & eating in. Had lots of extra bedding & towels etc. We had a couple issues (was cool at night and we couldn’t figure out the heat) but Nancy’s team was incredibly on the ball, dropped a heater off for us right away, and was very accommodating to any issues we had. There were toys for the beach for the kids, a spare cot & pack and play our kids were able to sleep on. A private garage in the back was super convenient since we didn’t have to worry about parking at all & easily accommodated our van. Would definitely recommend this place to family & friends and can’t wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pacific Beach beachhouse.

  • 4 of 5

The location was great. The management was responsive. My one critique: They need to replace the carpeting, which is dated. But it was really nice being a half block from the beach.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Curtis, Thanks for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are always working with the owners of the properties and encouraging them to update their rentals. We invite you to stay again. Cheers, Nancy and Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, solid rental

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 9 days in June, two adults and two 4-year-old boys. The property location is fantastic. It's a half-block walk down to Law Street beach, you can be on the bluff in under a minute and knee-deep in the Pacific a minute after that. Law Street is about 6-7 blocks north of the party-heavy areas, so it's plenty quiet for families but only a 5-minute trek away from the pier and all the nightlife. Plenty of great food options within a 10-minute radius (get to Baked Bear, if you do nothing else) just be prepared for the bro-crowd to be out in force weekend eves. There's a surfing park about two blocks north that's super popular, but you can also surf directly off Law Street (there's actually a company that offers lessons right off the beach). No tidepools, but a mile walk north looked like it would start to get rocky.

The unit itself is standard fare for beachfront rentals, it's long and skinny and has the lived-in feel that every beach house over 2 years old always has. The front patio is nice for grilling and people-watching and the shared back patio - while not as conveniently accessible - is a little more secluded. The interior is generally well maintained, reasonably sized, and well laid out. We had two adults and two 4-year-old boys and never felt cramped, though it's definitely not a mansion (typical, for a beach locale). When we stayed the master bath toilet was missing a lid and the overall cleanliness of the unit prior to our move-in got maybe a B, and there wasn't much in the way of a "here's how the house works" book (you'll get an orientation email but we had to figure out the cable/dishwasher/etc ourselves), but those were our only complaints; everything else was in good shape and well-maintained. The kitchen supplies were pretty basic - there are pots and pans and whatnot but we never found pot holders, a pizza slicer, cheese sliced, etc. - so chefs may want to inquire ahead about what is and isn't provided.

The garage came stocked with plenty of beach toys for the under-10 crowd along with boogie boards, chairs, and everything you'd need (no surfboard, but that would have been a surprise). There are also a couple bikes available, with easy access to the beach bike path down 1/2 block toward the ocean.

All in all we had a great time, and would recommend this rental for anyone comfortable with the typical beach-style unit.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Will, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Guest feedback is appreciated to help maintain the vacation rental. We are working on a welcome guide for our rentals. We do provide technical assistance when guests have cable or internet issues. Next time you stay with us make sure to call us with any issues, and our team is happy to help. After each departure, the units are inspected by our maintenance staff to ensure they are cleaned properly. My apologies regarding the missing toilet seat. Again, if our guests call about a missing item or the unit not being cleaned appropriately, we are happy to assist them and deliver any desired items. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Cheers, Nancy's Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Jordan,UT

Great property! As advertised!

  • 5 of 5

My kids and I had a great time on spring break! We loved being steps from the beach and the availability of the bike and the beach chairs/boogie boards. This was one of the best vacations we have had in a while and would certainly love to return in the near future!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so pleased to hear you had such a great time with the family during spring break! We do hope we can help you make more awesome vacation memories in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location

  • 3 of 5

This house is less than a blocks walk to the boardwalk and beach. It is near a busy intersection but we never heard the traffic. It is the bottom floor of a two story home but never heard the upstairs family who were staying there. So in that regards the house was great.

The negatives, the rug in the house could use a good scrubbing. It seemed stained on entry. Under the couch cushions were crumbs we didn't create. The bathroom in the hall had mold on the baseboard near the sink which kind of bothered me but nothing that couldn't be taken care of. The internet didn't work when we got there but Nancy's Rentals was right on that. We had to wait for the cable guy who fixed that issue ( the wires were spliced). Working with the Rental agency was easy and they were very accommodating.

Having said all that, with these minor adjustments, we would stay here again. The price was right and the location was perfect for us.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and your stay, overall. We're sorry to hear that the unit wasn't up to par. We have contacted the cleaning company to make them aware of these issues so they will not be problematic for the next guests, or in the future when you return! Thank you again for the review and we look forward to having you as our guests again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Coronado Ferry
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Mission Bay Golf Course
Nearest Train
8 Miles
San Diego Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I- 5 and I-8
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Pacific Beach
Car: recommended

Within 5-20 minutes is Sea World, the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Old Town with it's excellent Mexican Restaurants, Belmont Park & it's authentic 1920's wooden roller-coaster, Sea Port Village, downtown San Diego's Gas Lamp Quarter, the Convention Center & Petco Park. 30 min to Lego Land, 40 min to The Wild Animal Park and gambling casinos, 75 minutes to the quaint historic gold rush town of Julian, in the mountains, & another 30 minutes beyond that is beautiful Anza Borrego Desert State Park. Even Disneyland & Knotts Berry Farm can be done as a day trip. Mexico is only 25 minutes away. Local activities include Swimming, Snorkeling/Diving, Boating, Sailing, Water-skiing, Surfing, Windsurfing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Shelling, Hiking, Rock Climbing, Biking, Golf, Tennis, Fitness Center, Gym, Miniature Golf, Amusement Parks, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Restaurants, Live Theater, Concerts, Cinemas, Museums, Sightseeing, & Indian Gaming Casinos.

Other Activities: Walking on beach or walking, running or riding bikes on boardwalk.




Additional information about rental rates

Departure Clean $160 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 10.5%

Due to HomeAway's limited ability to post additional fees, certain fees are not included in the quote/rate and may be required:
-Additional $25 for Summer Cleanings.
-Additional $50 cleaning fee for stays 2 weeks and more.
-Baby equipment (if available): Fees vary based on equipment needed.
-Portable Air Conditioning Rental (if available): $50 delivery, $25/day (3 day min).

Nancy's Vacation Rentals is not responsible for any erroneous descriptions or rates posted on this website or any other 3rd party travel website. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed by Nancy’s Vacation Rentals​. For up-to-date availability and accurate pricing, please visit NancysVacationRentals.

You must read and accept our Terms and Agreement and House Rules prior to us approving your reservation request.

Contact us for last minute deals or for monthly rentals.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties