Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New High-End Lakefront, Hot Tub, Calm Waters

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

We recently built this custom home. So it's new, but designed and decorated with old Tahoe charm.

The floors are all heated stone or lush carpet. This house offers 3 floors accessed by stairs or an elevator. Elevator for disabled use only, so ask ahead if you need this service, as you will need to sign a waiver. Every window offers a view of beautiful Lake Tahoe. The main floor bathroom has a shower that can be accessed with a wheel chair. The bedrooms are very separate and offer a peaceful getaway from other guests. There can be a lot of people in the house but there is plenty of room so as not to feel crowded. It has a very nice flow for entertaining with the kitchen on the main level and a wet bar downstairs next to the patio. The house holds a maximum of 8 adults and a maximum of 6 children.

Our house is easily accessible with two driveways off the street. The 2 master bedrooms, 1 Queen & 1 King beds. The kitchen also has double ovens, warming drawer, and a gas cook-top for your use. There is a separate refrigerator in the laundry room, right off the kitchen, to hold all the extra drinks or party food! The stairs down to the pier also offer an easy to use chair glide so everyone in the family can enjoy it! There is a sundeck on top of the boathouse with an umbrella and lounge seating.

2 single kayaks, a dinghy and one buoy for your own watercraft use are also onsite for use in the calm waters of Carnelian Bay!

Keywords: Large Lakefront House

More Details

Suzanne Murphy
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Suzanne Murphy

My husband and I and my parents own 'Bearslide.' We all live in Reno, NV which is a very short drive to Lake Tahoe. My husband is a General Contractor so the designing and rebuilding of this house has been a labor of love!

Suzanne Murphy purchased this house in 2007

Why Suzanne Murphy chose Carnelian Bay

We grew up nearby and have always loved going to the lake. We snow ski and water ski and have always enjoyed boating and fishing. We have always dreamed of owning property at the lake. When we got to the opportunity to afford a second home we knew Lake Tahoe was our choice. After purchasing an older 'fixer-upper' we rebuilt and love every aspect of our home now. With less than an hour's drive we can go up to the most beautiful lake in the world anytime!

What makes this house unique

Carnelian Bay has some of the most calm waters in Lake Tahoe. Bring your own boat or jet ski and leave it on one buoy that is available for use. Enjoy water skiing and kayaking all day long. Very close to some great local restaurants either 1 mile north to Garwoods, CB's Pizza, or the Old Post Office Coffee Shop in Carnelian Bay or South to Bocchi's Italian Restaurant in Lake Forest and Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique in Tahoe City.


Carnelian Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Additional access door for bunk room guests
    Downstairs Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Kitchen/Dining Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower , For guest room and family room
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Upstairs Master - 1 king
    Downstairs Master - 1 queen
    Bunkroom - 4 bunk bed
    Guest Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • 1 Queen & 1 King New High-end Latex Mattresses (December 2017), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (4) Top bunk beds are small size only suited for children.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Game Room with large table for playing puzzles and board and card games. One buoy available for use.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
New High-End Lakefront, Hot Tub, Calm Waters
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews

Wonderful stay - we loved it !

  • 5 of 5

Exquisitely tasteful and comfortable house with breathtaking views.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Oliver, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house, but not high-end when things are broken

  • 3 of 5

The location of the house and the house itself are quite lovely. The problems arose with the lack of maintenance and attention to detail a high-end house charging premium rents should have. First off, the hot tub did not work the entire three days we were there. I emailed the owner the first evening (Friday) we were there and she didn't respond until the afternoon of the next day and didn't do anything to fix it. Second, the WiFi wasn't working. When we called the service provider it said that the bill had not been paid. We let the owner know immediately and the problem was not remedied until Sunday late afternoon. The upstairs shower leaked through to the downstairs bathroom and the dishwasher leaked. A number of window handles were broke therefore we could not open certain windows. There were no instructions for using the speakers to play music or instructions for anything including the hot tub. Lastly, there was no wood stocked for the fireplace.

Now for the good things, the pier is amazing and the seating area at the end of it is wonderful. The kayaks and floats were easy to access and use. The views from the house and pier are incredible. The house is spacious and fits a large group comfortably.

Bottom line, its a great house, but the owners are not responsive enough and for the rents charged all of the details should have been perfect.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful setting but missing some basics.

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful home but all the beds were HORRIBLE. No one got a good nights sleep the entire week, and my husband slept mostly on the couch. It would take very little to upgrade the beds and make them appropriate for this level of rental. Also important to note the bunk room connects to the master bathroom. So if you are looking for privacy this won't work.

Kitchen was large and nice but poorly equipped. No wine glasses and not a single sharp knife.

Deck was great but be prepared for lots of steps over 50 of them to access it.

Hot tub was great as was the downstairs family room.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

In Love

  • 5 of 5

What an incredible week! My family and I LOVED this house so much. WE DIDNT WANT TO LEAVE! I'm already thinking up the next time we can use the house! SUCH an accommodating hostess, and a wonderfully cozy, beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words Emily! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Suzanne Bearslide
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rolling Hills Estates

Fantasic Home with Great Landlord!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for four nights. We were snowed in so we were happy that the house was clean, comfortable and cozy. Suzanne even arranged to have 2 guys come out to help shovel us out when it was time to leave - that's pretty amazing service!! I would highly recommend this house to anyone - I know we'll be back for sure!!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Doug for the nice review. I'm glad you had a great time and had a full snowed in experience! I look forward to accommodating you anytime in the future. Suzanne Murphy Bearslide
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing view, great kitchen, excellent for handicap accessibility, great for kids.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at this home. Every day waking up to spectacular views was great. The stove is fantastic and the kitchen allows lots of helpers. The bathrooms were great. The home was clean and nice. We were able to park 4 cars in the driveway. It is very convenient to shopping, and ski slopes. The dock is amazing. I was super impressed that there are HC chairs that allow mobility impaired people to even get to the dock. Wow.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Garwood's Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Sierra Boat Works Marina
Nearest Point of Interest
Post Office Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Bocchi's Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Forest Boat Ramp

20 minutes to either Squaw Valley or Northstar ski Resorts


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $450
Damage Insurance $79

Holiday rentals may be higher.
Rates are subject to change until confirmed.
Additional Cleaning charges may apply for groups larger than 10

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties