check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Santa Barbara Coastal Utopia

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Nestled in the heart of sun-drenched Santa Barbara, our coastal utopia is perfect for all travelers. Our charming family-friendly home will offer you the comfort of a completely updated and professionally decorated setting with which to enjoy your stay. With a fully equipped chef's kitchen, unique micro climate, lush garden and green landscape, this home is ideal for entertaining. The home is located in a safe, quiet and peaceful cul-de-sac. You will be delighted by the views of the beautiful Santa Ynez Mountains from every room in the house. Our private backyard with spa, gas grill and spacious sandstone patio will be ideal for your next vacation.

Located just a few minutes from downtown Santa Barbara with it's shopping, restaurants, historical sites, and charming atmosphere. Centrally located, UCSB and all beaches are within a 5-10 min drive.

Relax on the patio with a drink and your loved ones while watching the sun set.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Jill Rearick
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 11, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

Santa Barbara Coastal Utopia
average rating of 4.66 based on 50 reviews
Snohomish, WA/ Northwest USA
5

Great Santa Barbara Home!

  • 5 of 5

6 family members stayed in this home for the weekend while attending a wedding. It's in a very quiet neighborhood with easy access to the freeway and to the grocery store. Everyone found the beds comfortable in all 3 bedrooms. There was a blow up single mattress in the linen closet which we also made use of. The kitchen was really well stocked with spices, pots, pans, utensils, etc. Everything was very clean and there were great directions on how to use the TV, open the patio doors, etc. There's a wonderful patio with an outdoor grill and fridge. There's a hot tub and the backyard feels very private with a fence and lovely vegetation. I found the owner, Jill, very easy to work with. She responded to my questions and needs within a day. She allowed us to have a later checkout since we had a brunch to go to on checkout day. I took a walk around the neighborhood and found a cute little public trail through a "wilderness" area to walk through, and my son found a handy set of stairs, also from the neighborhood, straight to an In-and-Out Burger joint. I would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend this home for anyone staying in the Santa Barbara area.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bakersfield
5

A Great Girls' getaway

  • 5 of 5

We went for a long weekend birthday celebration for one of our good friends. This house is quiet, cool, and complete as far as the kitchen goes, we were able to cook, etc. It's not a fancy house, but it had everything we wished for.... it is consistent with the price of other Santa Barbara properties. Everything was clean and tidy. We played cards on the patio, and watched some movies.... as well as saw some of the sights of the city. I would recommend this house to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

I felt cheated after staying at this home

  • 1 of 5

After arriving at this home, I quickly realized that it was not matching it's owners statements in its VRBO listing. Over the next 24 hours my observations only got worse and to the point of feeling CHEATED. Here are some of the issues:

1)The water filter at the sink and in the refrigerator did not work.

2) The bed in the guest room nearest the master is terrible.

3) There are ants in the master on the floor and crawling on the hanging towels in the bathroom.

4) there's peeling paint on the walls and ceiling in the master bath.

5) the master bath has rough patched unpainted holes in the master bath.

6) there's mold growing between the shower glass and cabinet in the master bath.

7) the floor mat in the master bath is stained with what looked like blood.

I contacted the owner with my concerns and asked for a credit, but have yet to hear back from her. I would never stay in this home again and this home does not meet VRBO's standards.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house was checked out by the Housekeeping Staff after you left, and they insisted that there were absolutely no ants in the Master Bathroom, or anywhere else in the house! The house is treated regularly by a pest control service. Regarding the water filter on the refrigerator, it had not been brought to my attention and it has been replaced. You should have contacted me right away and I would have taken care of it, but I did not hear from you while you were staying at the house.There is no water filter at the sink.The bed in the Guest bedroom was also checked out and it was absolutely fine. It is the same mattress that is on the other beds and all were purchased at the same time. We have had some repairs done and have not had a chance to have the bathroom repainted yet, because the house has been occupied. The rugs in the bathrooms have always been cleaned prior to guests arrival. Perhaps you soiled it! Well, you seem to be the only one disgruntled with my home as it has always a had a 4 or 5 star rating. Perhaps it was too expensive for you to rent my home, and that's why you want credit back. I do not make a habit of giving back the rental amount of money after staying at my home! My home most certainly does meet VRBO standards. Perhaps it just did not meet your standards!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Great kitchen for Thanksgiving!

  • 4 of 5

I agree with other reviews. We had a great time with the nice backyard and grill. Furnishings were acceptable and I love the kitchen. Carpets could use a cleaning but the beds and livingroom were fine. Nice TV's in each room. I had no problem with security deposit and the owner was easily contacted and helpful when I had questions.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice, but issues

  • 3 of 5

I agree with other reviewers, the house had some nice features, remodeled kitchen, great backyard. Furnishings are dated which is acceptable, but water rings on the wood tables was sort of icky. Sofa comfy, nice TVs in each room. Hallway bathroom had a double towel bar that was very loose and when you touched or tried to hang your towel on the outer bar, it fell off. The seat cushions of the dining table had torn off ties, so when you sat on them, the whole pad slid out. I reported these when we left, hopefully they were fixed. Obviously whoever does the cleaning must have noticed, not sure why they had been just left like that. Bed linens are coarse, inexpensive but the beds themselves were comfortable.

My main issue is regarding the security deposit. I have stayed at many VRBO places, and not experienced a security deopsit requirement, just a regular deposit that held the dates and was then applied to the rental balance. My credit card was charged when I booked, a month before our stay. We stayed at the house just two days, followed all the departure requirements to the letter, and expected the deposit would be returned within a week when the home was inspected. When I noticed the security deposit hadn't been after a week, I contacted the owner. I apparently did not read the clause in the rental agreement that stated the deposit would be returned "within 21 days". Well it was not WITHIN 21 days, it was exactly on the 21st day. And I had to pay interest on that money for 2 months!!! When it is simple to place a hold for an amount on a credit card instead of actually making a charge, I'm not sure why the owners do this. Their paperwork should state that they will hold your money for a full three weeks after you leave, not say "within" 21 days. The experience left a bad taste.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
SF Bay Area
5

Relaxing and plenty of room

  • 5 of 5

We spent a long weekend in Santa Barbara for my uncle's 90th birthday party at the Samarkand. The house is located right off the freeway and convenient to gas stations and groceries. Quiet cul de sac with pleasant neighbors. We relaxed in the comfortable hot tub and patio area. Enjoyed family throughout the house. Plenty of room to spread out. Great kitchen and living room, bedrooms were very comfortable. Large dining area inside and out where we grilled fish on the BBQ. Plenty of room to park inside garage. Did not feel like a rental, very homey and clean. Owner is wonderful to work with. We hope to come again.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Santa Barbara
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Goleta
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 101
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Hendrys (Arroyo Burro)
Car: recommended

Chumash Casino, Santa Barbara County Wine Country, Santa Barbara Zoo, Golfing, Sailing, New Ice Skating Rink in Goleta as of Oct. 2015.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Barbara House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $175
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%

***Holidays are subject to higher list pricing, please contact owner for details***
*** There is an additional tax of $2.00 per night per reservation that will be assessed in accordance with local law***
*** International credit cards will be charged a 5% convince fee.***

I accept Checks, Visa and MasterCard only. Final payment must be made no later than 14 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Santa Barbara House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our vacation rental home is beautifully remodeled, freshly furnished and features gorgeous landscaping.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties