check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Dec 9-16 - 7 nts @ $99/nt. ++ Other Specials!++ 2 BR, 1 Bth, 4 Beds, Ocean View

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Lahaina Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6 in 2 queens, 2 twins)

Special #1 - Arrive December 9, depart December 16 - 7 nights for $99.00 per night.

Total Cost to you: $909.82 (includes taxes and cleaning after departure)

Special #2 - Arrive February 6, depart February 10 - 4 nights for $149.00 per night.

Total Cost to you: $799.97 (includes taxes and cleaning after departure)

Special #3 - Arrive February 25, depart March 4 - 7 nights for $175.00 per night.

Total Cost to you: $1,387.31 (includes taxes; no charge for cleaning if your stay is 7 nights; $125.00 for less than 7 nights)

All nightly rates under the "Rates" tab are subject to 13.25% Hawaii Tax.

Call or text Dave at (503) 407-7494 for the quickest response!

Regular Policy (excludes 'Specials'):

* Pre-pay in full and receive a 10% discount.

* Stays of 14-20 nights and receive a deeper discount, a free mid-stay cleaning and linen change

* Stays of 21+ nights receive a deeper discount, two free mid-stay cleanings and linen changes

* Parking is free

* EFFECTIVE 2016, the Papakea resort began a Facilities Use Fee of $17 per night for the first 10 nights of a stay (max of $170). This fee will be collected by the resort itself at the time of checkout. WE DO NOT COLLECT THIS FEE.

To email us quickly, click on "Owner Info" (above). When you get to the Owner Info area, below our family photograph you will see "Contact Us", then a button that says 'Send Email'. Send us an email and we will respond very quickly.

Please check the 'Calendar' button for available dates - we keep it up to date daily!

NOTE: ***** This unit has 2 queen-sized beds and 2 twins, to sleep 6 (max) - but only one bath. NO SOFA BED. It is great for families and close friends!

Welcome to Papakea H401 at North Kaanapali Beach! You are viewing a very unique condominium in West Maui with a really beautiful ocean view. The unit is very well equipped, nicely furnished, and was renovated in August/September 2009. Other improvements were made in April 2011, August & October 2013, and in May 2016


• Pay in advance - 10% discount (excludes Specials)

• Wireless internet is installed in the unit

• Sleeps 4 (6 if you are family - only 1 bathroom)

• Master bedroom + loft

• 1 Bathroom (small tub with shower)

• Towels/linens, soaps, etc. provided

• Fully equipped kitchen

• Great view

• Low-rise resort (4 stories max)

• 13 acre property - beautiful grounds

• Walk to farmers market, rental shops, plate lunch restaurants, other restaurants, ABC store

• Area has a great ‘old Hawaii’ feel to it

Unit Description:

• It is in the “H” building, which is close to parking and the lobby

• Top floor, end unit (4th floor, elevator) with very nice views

• 2 levels - main floor + loft

• Main floor: master bedroom w/queen-sized bed; bathroom; kitchen; living/dining area; lanai - great views from the main floor and lanai

• Loft: two (2) twin beds; one queen. Open to the living area below

• Sleeps four to six - great for families

• 3 ceiling fans

• Window air conditioner in the living room - do not expect 'hotel-like' air conditioning; Papakea was built without central a/c

• TV, DVD/VCR player - living room. iPod/iPhone-4 player/charger/radio in the kitchen area

• Kitchen: electric range/oven, microwave above range, dishwasher

• All small appliances, utensils, etc. - well-equipped kitchen


• New countertops, new hall mirrored doors, new faucets, new bathroom sink, new microwave, new carpet and drapes, and fresh paint - work done in 2009, 2011, 2013, and 2016.

• Open, soaring feeling - cathedral ceilings

• End unit

• View of the beautiful and well-maintained grounds, which include lush vegetation, 'koi' ponds, swaying coconut palm trees, the swimming pool, tiki torches, and of course, the Pacific Ocean!

• You can also watch sailboats go by (and whales in the winter months)

• Gaze at the Island of Molokai from your very own lanai

• View of the West Maui mountains through the large window in the living room

• Papakea has significant acreage (13 acres), and the buildings are only four stories high. Only the top floor units provide you with the cathedral ceilings and the loft area

• Gentle breezes flow naturally through the unit most of the time

• Except for the very hottest month or two, we have found air conditioning to be unnecessary

• What better way to enjoy Maui - the fresh mountain air and sea breezes

• At night you can hear the ocean waves breaking on the beach

• The unit has tiled floors in the hallway, bathroom, and kitchen

• The living room and master bedroom are carpeted, as is the loft

We understand that you are looking for value on your Maui vacation. We have researched the pricing for upgraded units similar to ours and have priced our unit competitively. Please shop and compare. Call us or e-mail us to discuss our pricing.

Please also check out our Map below. We are working on this page frequently to help you find places of interest, places to eat, and fun things to do!

The Papakea Resort's address is 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761. It is adjacent to the Kaanapali Shores. The area is called Honokowai. It is minutes from the Kapalua airport, which has daily service to Honolulu. The Papakea is a non-smoking resort.

Answers to frequently-asked questions:

• Parking is free

• The Papakea has beach lounge chairs around the pool

• The Papakea lobby provides excellent concierge service to help you book your fun adventures

• The unit has beach towels and had some snorkel gear, 3 boogie boards, a cooler, 2 tennis racquets, and 4 beach chairs (as of May 13, 2016)

• The kitchen is fully equipped and has some common spices; however, bring your own spices, sugar, coffee, tea, etc. (we usually bring them in zip-lock bags)

• Bring your own shampoo and hair dryer

• Minimum depth of the 2 swimming pools is 3 feet

• Putters and golf balls are available at the front desk for a small fee

• Tennis racquets and balls are also available for a small fee

• Check in time: 3:00 PM

• Check out time: 11:00 AM

• Papakea is a non-smoking resort (there are designated smoking areas near the parking lot)

• The main Kaanapali Resort area (Westin, Sheraton, Whaler, Hyatt, etc.) is 2.5 miles south of Papakea

• Lahaina is about 5 miles south, about a 10 minute drive

• Maui “red dust” - the West Maui mountains are barren now - the pineapple fields are empty. The red clay can cause red dust. It is more apparent during high winds. Sometimes this dust will get onto the lanai furniture - wipe down the furniture before using - the red dust can stain clothes

• New carpets were installed May 4, 2016

• New upholstery installed on chairs and barstools March 25, 2011

• New drapes were installed in April 2011

• New upholstery on the sofa and chair installed in September 2013

As required by Hawaii Law Act 326, our tax ID is W40878766-01 and Emilio Villanueva is our local maintenance and cleaning service contact.

Keywords: Maui, Kaanapali, Papakea, View

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Dave Dudek
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Owner

About Dave Dudek

Our family has owned at Papakea since 1999. Dave and Tracy Dudek are the owners. We have two sons, ages 16 and 22. We love the islands and lived on Oahu for many years. We enjoy our second home very much, and hope that you will, too! Aloha.

Dave Dudek purchased this condo in 1999

Why Dave Dudek chose West Maui

Maui has been rated as one of the top destinations by leading travel magazines for years. We agree! We particularly love West Maui because you can stay as busy as you like, or you can relax, 'hang loose'. We felt that if we enjoyed this area so much, others would, too. We also felt it would be a great long-term investment for our family.

What makes this condo unique

Looking out over the spectacular Papakea gardens, pools, Tiki Torches at night, and the Island of Molokai from our 'lanai' is our most enjoyable benefit. From Papakea you can walk to the beach quickly, walk to a nearby beach park, rent snorkeling gear, surfboards, and other water equipment. There are farmers markets, restaurants, and shops very close by. Our boys particularly love what we call 'buffo hunting' at night. The big Hawaiian frogs (buffos) will be out around the pools, and we sneak up on them and gently grab them behind the ears! It's fun!


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Dec 9-16 - 7 nts @ $99/nt. ++ Other Specials!++ 2 BR, 1 Bth, 4 Beds, Ocean View
average rating of 4.529412 based on 17 reviews
Burnaby, BC Canada

Love Papakea

  • 4 of 5

We are missing Papakea already. My family of five stayed in this unit for 12 days and had a fantastic time. The unit was clean and lots of supplies. Thank you for having 3 boogie boards and 5 chairs we used them everyday. We enjoyed all the closes beaches but our favorite was DT Fleming awesome for Boogie boarding. H building is one of the best building for sun and views. We had great whale shows almost everyday. We had the construction going on while we were there and never even knew unless you walked to the Sea wall. Thank you for letting us stay we will definitely be back to Papkea.


  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lesley, Aaron, and family. We are so pleased that you had a great stay at Papakea and in our unit. We hope you return soon. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great view but the condo needs some attention!

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at this condo for 10 days over Christmas and New Years. It definitely needs some TLC. The most disappointing thing was the dishwasher doesn't work. The top rack was rusted out and when you pull it forward it falls out. The bottom rack was rusted out in spots as well. The place NEEDS a new dishwasher. We had to hand wash all our dishes. There was a hole burned in the counter top. The carpets are stained and coming apart at the seems. One of the lamps in the living room didn't work and the head was falling off. One of the lamps in the bedroom didn't work. The fan in the bedroom makes all kinds of noise. There was a plastic coating on the shower rod that was peeling off constantly while you showered. Both the handles on the Lanai doors (glass and screen) were really loose. Just a bunch of maintenance needs to be done.

The air conditioner would keep the bottom floor fairly cool but the loft was too hot. My youngest son had to sleep on the couch the whole trip.

Dave is great to work with and the view is awesome. the condo was affordable but needs some attention.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The dishwasher works. We were unable to find out why this guest could not use it. Here is the real reason for this picky review: sinkhole repairs are being made at Papakea. This guest wanted a refund or a huge discount about a week prior to his arrival for Christmas. I reassured him that the noise and inconvenience would be minimal. This has been confirmed time and time again by Papakea's management. We have not been to our condo for years and rely on our maintenance people to care for it. They are now taking care of these details. When I asked the guest why he did not call our staff (or call me personally) to fix these very minor problems before he wrote this negative review, he said "I did not want to inconvenience them or you". We cannot make things right if a guest does not call us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Nice, clean condo with an amazing ocean view!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was amazing and an unforgettable one! The condos atmosphere was very peaceful as soon as you walked in. The ocean view was beautiful! The condo had enough sleeping room for our group of 6. Everything provided in the condo met our needs. You cannot go wrong with staying at Papakea. Dave (the owner) was very nice and helpful from the start. He allowed us to check in early since we arrived early (10 AM local time). His rates are affordable (he even throws in a discount for booking early and paying in full). Maui is my new favorite place! I recommend this condo to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Surrey, BC, Canada

Nice Condo

  • 4 of 5

I rented this condo for my daughter and her family (I had to rent a separate one for the rest of us) but we were all in the same building. This condo was clean, well supplied and all three kids had their own bed. The view from the lanai was incredible! I think the H building is the best because while it is set back a bit from the ocean, you get the added view of the ponds and tiki torches. We would choose this over being directly on the ocean. This was our first experience with VRBO and Dave made it really easy for us. We can't wait to return to Papakea and when we do my daughter wants to rent this condo again.......and that says it all!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vancouver, BC Canada

Wonderful clean, quiet place in Kaanapali close to the water

  • 5 of 5

This condo and loft was great for my family with 3 kids. This condo has everything you will need. It does have a small cooler, boogie board, snorkel gear and a few beach mats. It also has some spices. You can't ask for a nicer place to stay. The grounds are very well maintained and it is nice and quiet in the evening and early morning - very relaxing. Dave was lovely to deal with. I would recommend this place to anyone and would stay here again! Thanks Dave and Tracy for letting us stay in your home!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
British Columbia, Canada

Love Papakea!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location with an amazing view. Saw whales from Lanai every day. Spent a very comfortable 9 days here. Would return in a heartbeat! Have been to Maui many times, and Papakea is my favourite condo by far! Dave's information was very helpful. Wish I would have known about this unit years ago. Mahalo!


  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping & Eating
Nearest Point of Interest
ABC Store (808) 669-0271
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmer's Market (808) 669-7004
Nearest Point of Interest
Honokowai Okazuya and Deli; Pizza Hut
Nearest Point of Interest
Kapalua Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Papalaua State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Old Lahaina Town
Nearest Point of Interest
Fun, protected beach in Lahaina town!
Nearest Point of Interest
Honokowai Beach Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Honua Kai Beach Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Napili Bay

There are several Luau locations near Papakea.


Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter Rates
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Year's Rates
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
Winter Rates (cont)
Jan 5 2017 - Jan 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
February 2017 Rates
Jan 30 2017 - Feb 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
Spring Rates
Mar 1 2017 - May 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Summer Rates
May 27 2017 - Sep 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
Fall Rates
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
December rates
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
Christmas-New Year's
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
January Rates
Jan 3 2018 - Jan 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
February Rates
Feb 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
5 night minimum stay
Spring Rates
Mar 1 2018 - May 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.25%

If you pre-pay in advance you will receive a 10% discount. This offer excludes 'Specials', where the discount will be more than 10%.

Personal check, credit card (American Express, Visa, MasterCard, Discover), money order, bank draft, or Monopoly money (just kidding!)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • Master: Queen size Bed Loft: Queen size bed and two twin Beds
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Three tennis courts, two swimming pools, two cabanas (gazebos), two shuffle board courts, two 18 hole putting greens, lobby with a tourist/concierge desk.

Partner Offers