Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

GORGEOUS Downtown Carriage House w/Patio-Retail-Dining+Market

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Downtown Studio Apartment, 1 bath, sleeps 2

A guest favorite for couples due to location and price, this comfortable, studio apartment is perfect for a couple’s getaway. The unit has been completely renovated and is situated at the corner of Rutledge and Spring, which is an excellent location within walking distance to many restaurants and even a convenient mart. The studio comes with one queen bed, a love-seat sofa, flat screen TV, a kitchen with all the essentials necessary for a night in, and a bathroom with a standing shower and sink. The toilet is separate from the bathroom. The unit also comes with one off-street parking spot in the shared driveway, a washer/dryer, a large back patio (shared) with a gas grill, and is per-friendly. Additional amenities include: shared patio with gas grill, washer/dryer, parking for 1 car in shared driveway  - other guests are allowed to park in this driveway - it is possible to get blocked in by other guests, there is also street parking. Walk Away Stays provides the highest quality luxury linens, towels, hotel style toiletries, and the finest Charleston roasted coffee for your convenience.

If this property is booked for your dates, please check out our other listings:

www.homeaway.com/4288958

www.homeaway.com/4292680

www.homeaway.com/4236825

More Details

Property Manager
Kevin High
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 5, 2017

About Kevin High

Kevin J. High has lived in Charleston, SC since 2004. He is a world traveler and an avid sailor, diver and pilot. After sailing around the world with his family, Kevin chose Charleston to be his permanent home. Kevin made his love of travel easier by learning to pilot his own plane. Now, quick family excursions are a regular outing in his household. SC. We specialize in fully furnished executive short and long term rentals. We also provide excellent concierge services to all of our confirmed guests from grocery shopping to baby equipment rentals and tour tickets.

Kevin High purchased this studio in 2006

Why Kevin High chose Cannonborough Elliotborough

Charleston is one of the most amazing cities on the east coast. The history, restaurants and the people made me never want to leave.

What makes this studio unique

There are dozens of restaurants within 2 blocks of this property and its located just a short walk to upper King Street. Walk Away Stays provides additional concierge services for your stay in Charleston at walkawaystays.com.

Starting ten years ago with just one property, Walk Away Stays is now the premier property management group offering luxury vacation rentals in downtown Charleston, SC. As a full service company, we offer the best of everything you need for your stay in Charleston. Enjoy resort-level amenities from concierge services and 24/7/365 agent availability to Wi-Fi, high quality linens, hotel style toiletries and more—all within the exclusivity of a private vacation property. We specialize in fully furnished rentals in Charleston, SC with long and short-term options for vacationers, executives, wedding parties and family reunions. Our portfolio includes incredible historic homes, Charleston “single” houses, luxury waterfront homes, condominiums, apartments, boutique hotels, carriage houses and more—with convenient locations all over the city. Feel relaxed and right at home in one of our unique, pristine downtown Charleston vacation rentals.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Great location - parked my car in driveway and walked to where I wanted all weekend. It was a very comfortable modern space with everything I needed. 227D was so quiet and relaxing and better than I ever expected. I hated to leave, but hope to get back someday and will recommend to my friends.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Cannonborough Elliotborough Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shower only, small counter with sink and mirror. Full mirror on door.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Open space, separated with a half wall from the washer/dryer. Queen size bed with small couch at foot of the bed. Tv is on a moveable arm so that you can watch from in bed, on the couch or while sitting at the dining table.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 6 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Catering Available: If you'd like us to stock anything in the kitchen beforehand, please let us know and we'd be happy to do so, service charge included. The patio has a fountain, fire pit, gas grill, seating and table. Deck/Patio: Outdoor courtyard area. Minimum Age Limit for Renters.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
GORGEOUS Downtown Carriage House w/Patio-Retail-Dining+Market
average rating of 4.581395 based on 46 reviews
4

Wonderful weekend!

  • 4 of 5

The garage apartment was clean, neat and well-equipped for our stay. We had a perfect weekend! Would definitely stay again. We walked and rode our bikes everywhere. We felt welcomed and loved our visit!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jai, Thank you for the review and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Let us know next time you visit Charleston, we would love to host your stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great place to lay your head after being out all day, but studio needs to touched up a bit.

  • 3 of 5

Although we suspected parking would be an issue, we ended up putting our rental in a Garage 15 mins away on St Philip St. so we wouldn't have to jockey cars with other guests or worry about being summonsed on the street. We are city people, so we understand...but clearer options would have helped us out a little more. Great location - quiet & secluded. The studio was great and well air conditioned...shower needs a bit of an update as does the cable reception. All in all, good location to stay for a quick visit.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey John, Thank you so much for choosing Walk Away Stays and I hope you enjoyed your time in Charleston. I apologize that you feel you didn't get good instruction on where to park. We would have been happy to direct you to a parking garage, so sorry about that! I will speak with the owner about updating the shower (we don't stay in the units so hearing feedback is VERY helpful) and I will have someone go look at the cable reception now. Thanks again for staying with us and for providing us with your feedback. Hopefully we can host you next time you visit Charleston!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Rocky start, great trip

  • 3 of 5

The place was great- very clean, small, but everything we needed. Fabulous outdoor space as well.

Major downside- the room was not ready when we arrived and we had to stay in another carriage house we had not booked for the first night. Lots of moving around and Home Away Stays was not at all accommodating in helping us transition.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I would like to first apologize that this inconvenience happened during your vacation. We unfortunately did have a scheduling error during your stay that caused the unit to not be available for the 1st night of your stay. We caught the error prior to your arrival and wanted to make the transition as smooth as possible. We had someone checking into the unit that we had you in the first night the day that you were moving. We called you as soon as your unit was available to check into and tried to get you moved over as quickly and as seamlessly as possible. We also, for your troubles, did offer you a refund for one night of your stay. I am so sorry that you did not feel like we were accommodating for the transition but we did call as soon as the other unit became available and we refunded you 1 night of your stay. I hope that you were able to enjoy your time in Charleston. Thanks and please let us know if we can help you out with any future stays in Charleston!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Functional accommodations, adequate for those interested in being close to city.

  • 2 of 5

The unit is small, but well appointed and equipped. The location is central to many points of interest in the city, but the parking is less than desirable.

We did see a cockroach, which put me on edge the remainder of our stay, although we never saw another.

Another point that might bother some, as it did me, was the air filter had some artificial freshener that gave me a headache.

Lastly, be sure to read the fine print regarding charges. We failed to tally all the incidentals before booking and that, coupled with VRBO charges, caused the rate to be double the advertised rate.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
4

very nice, local experience

  • 4 of 5

Location and amenities were as expected. The house itself was very conveniently located, updated, clean and nice for us. Great local restaurants close by, super friendly neighborhood at every place we went to for meals, or drinks. The parking situation was not well explained. We had to ask one of the other guests and rifle thru the info in the house to figure it out. There was no parking pass for the car window to allow for street parking as was noted in the instructions we found in the house. It worked out for us because we walked everywhere, even in the rain, but I could see the parking being a challenge for some. I found it curious that there'd be a non-refundable cleaning fee, no daily cleaning service (although not needed for us), yet an expectation to tip for cleaning services.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay and got familiar with the neighborhood, we love it too! As for the parking, we understand that the shared driveway arrangement can be confusing to people at first, it is unusual for anywhere EXCEPT Charleston. It's just one of the quirks of the city and off-street parking is a HUGE perk here for many reasons, largely because it's free when you stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
21 0
2

Great location

  • 2 of 5

The location for this area was great. I thought the studio was cute, but there were a few "issues" that will cause me not to stay here in the future. The water pressure in the bathroom sink was pretty much non existent and water trickled out. I ended up having to use the kitchen sink. The outlets in the bathroom did not work. I am five six and 125 lbs and the shower was too small for me. Imagine how my husband felt at six foot three. haha. There was no remote to turn the TV off and on so we had to manually turn it off and on. I noticed a few spots on the comforter and loveseat and there were tiny spiders crawling in various places. Cute concept, but definitely not for me in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
60 7

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Charleston International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Fuel
Nearest Train
11 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Xiao Boa Biscuit
Nearest Beach
11 Miles
Folly Beach

Walking Distance to King Street, MUSC and C of C.

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Shelling, Wildlife Viewing, Racquetball, Horseshoes, Parasailing, Basketball Court, Miniature golf, Boating, Health/Beauty Spa.

Imagine waking up to church bells chiming, a cool ocean breeze, and the sound of horses trotting on a cobblestone street. Charleston is this and more.

A remarkably dynamic destination, it’s no surprise that Charleston continues to be honored as the number one city in the United States and the world! Our beautiful city has been recognized by Conde Nast Traveler, Travel & Leisure and Southern Living magazines as a top destination within their annual reader’s choice awards. Charleston lives up to these honors and more, beating out every other city. Our charming Southern town has much to offer. Spend some time downtown to enjoy exceptional cuisine, high-end boutique shopping, beautiful sights and rich history, then enjoy a nice stroll on one of our many gorgeous beaches, just minutes away! Return to the city at night to immerse yourself in our acclaimed creative culture and night life offering a mix of Southern charm and modern innovation.

Charleston truly is one of the most beloved cities in the U.S. There’s no place quite like it. To really experience the best of the best, don’t settle for anything but luxury. Relish your time here in an amazing vacation rental in downtown Charleston, SC from Walk Away Stays!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Nonrefundable Damage Fee $39 + Tax
Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Cleaning $66 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.0%

Rates are subject to change daily

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties