Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 BR - SLPS 16 FIREPLACE, COVERED HOT TUB, DECK, PET FRIENDLY

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedroom Home, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 16 (10 adults + 6 children)

THIS IS NOT A PARTY HOME---THIS IS A PRIVATE FAMILY HOME!

Make this COMFORTABLE AND COZY, fantastic LAKE TAHOE HOME the place for YOUR NEXT ESCAPE !

PERFECT FOR FAMILY REUNIONS, MULTI-FAMILY VACATIONS, SKI WEEK REUNIONS, OR SIMPLY ESCAPING FROM IT ALL! THE AGE LIMIT FOR THIS LISTING IS 25+

This well equipped family home is in the PERFECT LOCATION FALL,WINTER, SPRING, SUMMER

IMAGINE:

200 yd walk to BEACHES or LOCAL TRAILHEAD

200 yd drive to LAUNCH YOUR BOAT

Close to SHOPPING, RESTAURANTS, and OLD BROCKWAY GOLF COURSE

5 minutes to CASINOS and TAHOE RIM TRAILHEAD

10 minutes to NORTHSTAR

20 minutes to SQUAW , ALPINE MEADOWS & TRUCKEE

45 minutes to RENO AIRP0RT

OPEN floor plan with FIREPLACE

COMFORTABLE SLEEPING FOR 16

(1 KING, 4 DOUBLES, 6 TWINS)

Large DECK out front

LARGE COVERED HOT TUB

PLENTY of PARKING for LARGE GROUPS

(PARKING for BOAT or RV as well)

PET FRIENDLY

IF POLICE ARE CALLED TO THE HOUSE FOR DISTURBING NEIGHBORS, YOU WILL BE ASKED TO LEAVE with No Refund!

No Refunds on Cancelations made on Holiday Weekends.

$25 Fee for any lost keys or locks out needing replacement keys.

50% refund on all Cancelations made 1 week prior to your stay.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About The Owner

What is Tahoe Tip? Tahoe Tip is a nickname some of the North Tahoe locals gave to Don after he and Lana left the freeways of Southern California behind and became full-time residents at the family cabin. Lana & Don purchased this cabin in 1977 as a second home and fulfilled one of Don's lifelong dreams of immersing his family in this mountain paradise. Born in Hannibal Missouri, Dad was stationed at McClellan Air Force Base in Sacramento, and the first 'leave' he took, he hitchhiked up to what his fellow airmen referred to as, 'THAT BEAUTIFUL LAKE, HIGH UP IN THE MAJESTIC SIERRA NEVADA'S'.

At the very moment he first passed over the Brockway Summit and witnessed the most beautiful sight he had ever set his eyes upon, he knew that one day this magical mountain paradise would be called his home, (or second home initially).....And that's where this Fairytale story of the man, his family and the mountain lake they so love began, over 50 years ago......

Having transferred from the East coast with his career to Northern California earlier that year, Lake Tahoe was an easy drive for the weekend, and we explored as much of Tahoe's shoreline every chance we could get away. Though when Dad received the last of his (seemingly countless) transfers to Southern California and the drive became 8 hours (10 hours for Mom & Dad) instead of 2, it became clear that we weren't going to be able to get there as often.

The story of our first trip to the cabin, the Ford Country Squire station wagon loaded up with 4 kids, a dog (through a blizzard) dragging furnishings for the whole house and everything 'including the kitchen sink' in a oversized trailer with the roof rack piled high is one of family legend...seriously, you just had to be their to understand. This is just one of the fond memories I will never forget.

The Owner purchased this house in 1977

Why The Owner chose Lake Tahoe North Shore CA

LOCATION,

LOCATION,

LOCATION!!!

Isn't that how the old saying goes? We wanted our kids to be able to walk to the Lake (and now hiking trails), in a nice quiet neighborhood, and close enough to the incredible skiing in the Tahoe basin.

What makes this house unique

Walking to the lake! Relaxing in a covered spa watching the snow fall, enjoying a good book near the cracklin' fire, taking our dog for long walks, having coffee on the front porch amongst the giant trees, simply getting away from it all!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and stay with us again.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Tahoe Vista House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 3 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps 5
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (4), Single Bunk Beds (6)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

5 BR - SLPS 16 FIREPLACE, COVERED HOT TUB, DECK, PET FRIENDLY
average rating of 4.818182 based on 39 reviews
5

Lovely spacious house, great location!

  • 5 of 5

My party and I spent the weekend here in February and loved it. There were a lot of us, taking up almost every bed, but the property still felt spacious with all of us there and it was wonderful being so close to town.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to have you stay in our home! You are welcome anytime! Lana
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale, AZ
3

Livable but Could be Better

  • 3 of 5

I'll preface this review with the fact that Lana was really great and I hope she doesn't take offense to this balanced review. This review has pros and cons and I wrote it with the help of my family who stayed there with me. It seems very surprising that this house has 4.9 out of 5 starts and I wonder if maybe a lot of family and friends reviewed it. That said, reviews are how we make our travel decisions and I wish there would have been more balanced reviews on the listing when I was making my decision. I chose this house for a very large group and did feel responsible when it wasn't up to everyone's expectations.

Pros: Proximity to the beach; room for a big group of people; owner was very nice, responsive and accomodating; lots of seating for a big group; beds were very clean and some even had bed bug mattress protection; walking distance to really cool trails; close to Safeway and other cute towns with restaurants; it was also very affordable

Cons: next door neighbor is building an add on and did not comply with the super strict noise ordinance; they started construction at 6 am which kind of sucks when you are on vacation; the house definitely needs up keep as there are some missing window screens, broken blinds, hot tub was cloudy upon arrival; bunk bed bolts needed oil and grease because they were noisy when you moved around; patio boards need staining; patio boards need screwed down; the outdoor grill needs to be replaced or fixed; kitchen supplies like pots/pans should be replaced; fridge door handle needs to be tightened; fridge electrical outlet should be fixed or replaced as it stopped working and had tape on it; cob webs on the outside of the house; the house was clean but it seemed like it needed a deeper cleaning; the house is old and hasn't been remodeled so lots of things like mildew/mold on the shower tiles etc...;

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Crystal, I am so so sorry that you were disappointed with our home! I truly appreciate the comments and thank you for bringing to my attention the problems you encountered with our home. My neighbor has always been unhappy that we are no longer living there and we are renting our home to families. She is a very unhappy person and I feel sorry for her that she has never been blessed with a family. That was certainty inconsiderate of her to start her workers at 6:00am I was unaware this was happening. Thank you for telling me about the locks and screens needing repair. I am certainty taking care of this immediately. Unfortunately, yes sometimes the bunks are noisy, I am completely aware the porch needs re-staining ( we had a very severe Winter which made it worse), the spa man was there the next morning and apologized (they are overwhelmed with all of the people at the lake and not enough service people), the grill was purchased in February and thank you letting me know there is a problem, the shower is cleaned every time there are new guests (I must make the housekeeper aware of this-thank you), there is tape on the switch behind the refrigerator because guests keep turning the switch off (which is the switch that connects to the refrigerator) I am truly sorry that you were not happy with our home. My husband recently passed away after a long illness of Alzheimer's Disease and I have not been there this year. We have owned our home for 40 years and really take pride in keeping up with repairs. Thank you for making me aware of these concerns. Much Health and Happiness to you and your family, Lana
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Roseville
4

Great location with lots of beds

  • 4 of 5

Cabin is cozy and perfect location, our king size bed was comfy, liked the big dining room table and nice big fireplace. Also liked having a fenced in yard for our dog. The downside was the bbq grill, it needs replacing. The ignitor and the lid is broken, also the hot tub needed vacuumed out and jets weren't working properly. One of the big reasons we rented this was because of the hot tub and bbq grill, so that was disappointing. I would say a little bit of upkeep on those items and replacing and restocking some kitchen supplies is needed, but other than that cabin was nice and clean.Another thing that would be nice is if the back yard had a fire pit.

Sum it all up great location, lots of beds, needs a bit of upkeep, then would be perfect.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry about the hot tub! The hot tub service manager had a emergency and could not get there on Saturday when you contacted me. I did not know the barbecue was broken. So sorry! We absolutely can not have a fire bit at Lake Tahoe unless it is on the sandy beach. Lake Tahoe is in a severe draught! I am happy you enjoyed our home! Please do come again, Lana
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Girls weekend

  • 5 of 5

Had a girls ski weekend, the Cabin was perfect and we loved it. And so close to Northstar too!!! Great place!!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Love to have you! You were great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect. Loved the place! Hope to come back and use it again soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Placerville, California
5

Great place to stay for a "Quality Time with Family" getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The owner of this property is such a pleasure to work with. I originally reserved the cabin for the 2014 Ironman that was cancelled due to the wildfires. Instead of losing the money I paid toward the rental fee, she allowed our family to stay another weekend. It's not something she had to do, but something she chose to do, which we appreciated immensely. We decided to stay in the cabin during the winter and it was so much fun. The cabin was well appointed for the size of our party. There was a total of 8 adults (4 couples) who stayed and the cabin was a perfect fit for all of us. If you're looking for a quaint, cozy, historic era cabin, I highly recommend you consider the TahoTip, cabin. Its' character and charm will add warmth to your memories.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tahoe Vista House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Fall
Sep 4 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$240
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Between Holidays
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$240
 
 
Pre-Christmas
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2018 - Apr 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Spring
May 1 2018 - Jun 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$240
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Transient Occupancy Tax $100
Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning fee, pet fee $200

There is a very strict noise ordnance in the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. Outside Quiet time is 10:00 pm! If this is not observed at our home, you will be charged $100 which comes from the security-damage fee.

Cleaning fee is $200.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties