Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Recently remodeled 5 Bd/5BA House Steps from Hanalei Bay

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This 3,000 sq ft home has 5 bedrooms and 4.5 bathrooms which provides plenty of room for everyone! This spacious home is perfect for multiple families travelling together. There are 2 levels within the house joined by a central hall and stairway. The mountainside and ocean-side suites are located on the upper level. Both suites are generous with king-sized beds and their own dedicated bathrooms suites. The lower level has 3 bedrooms with a separate living room area, wet bar and dining table. All rooms have distinct and different decor, tasteful, yet fun to be in and around. With new bamboo floors and upgrades throughout, you will not be disappointed. A fully equipped kitchen on the upper level, you will find everything you need, including a gas grill, to prepare a tropical feast. There are also two dining areas on the lanais to create the perfect outdoor setting for a family dinner or a romantic dining experience for 2. We have native bananas and papayas in the garden and great spaces to lie and rest in the shade, under a palm tree. The house is also equipped with an outdoor hot water shower for your convenience when returning from the beach. Wireless internet services and free long distance services within the United States is also complimentary.

The house is two blocks from Hanalei Town and a block and a half from the Pine Trees beach access on beautiful Hanalei Bay. You can't beat Hanalei Bay with its relatively flat, hard sand that seems to stretch into the warm Pacific Ocean for miles, this beach is great for all ages including surfing for the beginner as well as the experienced surfer depending on where you surf in the bay.

Only a quick walk as well from the center of Hanalei Town if you need to find the unusual gift or just pick up a few great postcards! Small shops and boutiques line the historical Hanalei Town streets and there are lots of great restaurants. Sophisticated and formal as well as the traditional Hawaiian mixed plate - and all within walking distance!

So what are you waiting for? The time is now, come on down and bring the family or a few good friends - experience Aloha in Hanalei Town.

TVNC 1164

24 hour emergency on island contact:

Mindy Laney/808-346-5531

Keywords: Beach House, View Property, Vacacation Beach Home

More Details

Jake Kilgrow
Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

About Jake Kilgrow

Our family lives in Jackson Hole, Wyoming and we fell in love with Hanalei and the North Shore of Kauai for their similar attributes of unmatched beauty, preservation of open space and seclusion. When we are not in Jackson Hole we enjoy spending our free time in Kauai with family and friends exploring the beaches and surf breaks around the island. We are avid outdoor enthusiasts so the North Shore of Kauai was a great paring and natural fit for our lifestyle. We feel very fortunate for the quality time we have been able to share with our family and friends in this beautiful part of the world and we look forward to sharing it with you...

Jake Kilgrow purchased this house in 2007

Why Jake Kilgrow chose Hanalei

Hanalei Town has an old Hawaii feel and really laid back vibe. Within Hanalei there are no hotels, condominiums, or other signs of big resort development. We would argue that Hanalei is the absolute best beach town in all the islands and that is why we chose this area as our Hawaiian beach get away. From our home you can walk out the door for a sunrise surf followed by a large cup of Kona Coffee and perhaps a visit to the farmers market for the most incredible produce and baked goods. There is a great variety of restaurants, boutiques and the natural beauty is overwhelming. Come see for yourself and we think you will agree.

What makes this house unique

The location of the home is on a quiet cul-de-sac with no traffic and easy walking distance to both stunning Hanalei Bay and Hanalei Town. This location provides a huge convenience when traveling with young children and/or other families coming and going throughout the day. Additionally, the layout of the house is fantastic for families and/or friends traveling together. There are two generous master suites on the upstairs level with their own bathrooms and then on the garden level there are three more bedrooms and two full bathrooms. There are two living rooms divided between the garden level and the upstairs which provide places for privacy and also spaces for everyone to be together at one time. The views of the mountains and waterfalls are stunning from nearly every room and lanai in the house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just got back home from the best vacation we have had in years! The layout of the home was perfect for our two families with the both master suites on upstairs level and the 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the garden level. There was plenty of space for everyone to be together yet places to retreat for privacy. Thanks again and we will certainly be back in the near future.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1


Hanalei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 6 - outdoor shower
  • 5.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 2 King Beds 2 Queen Bed 2 Twin Beds
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Deep Soaking Tub in Master Bath. We also offer beach towels, beach chairs, and beach accessories.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Recently remodeled 5 Bd/5BA House Steps from Hanalei Bay
average rating of 4.76 based on 26 reviews

Perfect Location in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Great location, well supplied house, new appliances and comfortable living areas make this a perfect house to stay in when visiting Hanalei. As others have said a short walk to a beautiful beach and a short walk or bike ride to town. Highly recommend getting bikes. Housekeeper was very helpful and organized renting Bob strollers which were already there upon arrival. House was perfectly clean and found no issues. Plenty of bathrooms and nicely equipped kitchen and bbq. Easy working with owner and fast responses made this a very positive experience. 100% would stay again.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Location but needs some updates

  • 2 of 5

Our sixth annual family vacation to Hanalei was nice until the end. The location of the home is great if you want to be close to town and the beach! However, all the beds were rock hard. I will say that the property manager was quick to accommodate us with mattress toppers, but those didn’t do much as we still slept uncomfortably for the duration of our 11 day trip. The internal plumbing was also very loud throughout the home, especially if you're staying downstairs. At the end of our stay, we noticed a leak in the drywall in one of the downstairs bedrooms — we immediately informed the manager before our departure. It’s very upsetting that our deposit was withheld by the owners whom thought we had something to do with the leak. I was in shock because I’ve never had issues with security deposits before, and let me tell you, It’s a horrible way to end a vacation. Honesty did not seem to be the best policy in this situation. Almost two weeks and a million emails later, a plumber found that it was actually faulty pipe inside the wall that had been slowly leaking. We eventually got our deposit back once they realized we weren’t at fault. Overall, it was a nice family trip that unfortunately ended on a very bad note. I think if the owners replaced the mattresses and fixed all internal plumbing issues, future renters would find their stay very relaxing and worth the money.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Very rarely, in the over 10 years we have rented our home, have we received a poor review. We know that despite how hard we work to ensure a positive guest experience, we cannot please everyone. In this case, however, as owners we do feel this review is unfair. We work very hard to ensure that all of guests have what they need to enjoy their vacation, with many of our guests returning to our home after their initial stay. We are continually updating and replacing items in our home. We completed a remodel of the downstairs, as well as updated the mattresses in 2 of the 5 bedrooms in December 2017. These guests did not inform us of the noisy plumbing until after we withheld their security deposit. They also didn’t tell us of the water leak until their departure. In our contract it does specify to notify us immediately in the event of a water leak or other major issue in the home. In the past, we have not had guests report issues with noisy plumbing, nor have we experienced these noises when we stay in our home. In regards to withholding a security deposit our rental agreement clearly specifies the terms in which monies will be kept. Our property management team found water damage below our soaking tub, which upon initial feedback to us as owners was reported as suspected damage due to overflow. These guests also exceeded our maximum occupancy expectation with 12 people, violating the expectations in our rental contract of limiting occupancy to no more than 10 people. We were also told by our property management team that these guests did not respect our home, resulting in excessive cleaning and trash removal. Additionally, our team found a drawing left on one of our newly painted walls by one of their children that required additional painting to repair. As a result of the collective issues reported upon their departure we withheld the security deposit monies until we could determine what had happened. We returned the remaining portion of their security deposit promptly after discovering the water damage was due to a faulty drain in the soaking tub which now has been replaced. It is not our practice to withhold a guest’s security deposit, but will do so in the event that there is damage (or suspected) damage to our home. We have a great reputation on VRBO with many 5 star reviews. We will continue to provide excellent guest services, as well as an amazing vacation rental.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house in nice location

  • 4 of 5

Great stay in Hanalei

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location in Hanalei

  • 5 of 5

House was well supplied and met all expectations. Quick walk to scenic Hanalei bay and easy walking access to shopping Plaza and grocery store. Definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX

Perfect Property close to Hanalei Beach and Town.

  • 5 of 5

We had an incredible family vacation in this home. The two upstairs masters have heavenly breezes and all the bedrooms have lots of windows and fresh air. The location can't be beat and the the house itself is very nice. Everything works perfectly, tv easy to use, internet, great round dining room table (seats 10 or 12), kitchen is gourmet. The outdoor shower is super helpful. The indoor showers are very nice and large. The owner was wonderful to work with and made everything very easy. I would for sure return to this location and this specific house.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house! Perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at Hale Hanalei. The house easily accomodated four adults and four children. The layout allows for everyone to have their own space but there is also plenty of room to gather for meals or a movie after a long day on the beach. The kitchen was one of the best stocked kitchens we've ever had in a rental. Sharp, good quality knives, tupperware, ziploc bags are often lacking in rentals but were all in abundance here(it's the little things). The location of the house is perfect as well. Easy walking distance to both beach access as well as town but away from the busier beach entries and streets around the shopping district. This was a long planned and highly antincipated trip back to Hanalei for us and Hale Hanalei exceeded our expectations. Thanks so much to Jake and his property management team.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.04 Miles
Tahiti Nui
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Ski
5000 Miles
Jackson Hole
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Hanalei Bay
Car: not necessary

Our home is located on a quiet cul-de-sac, 1.5 blocks from beautiful Hanalei Bay and 2 blocks from Hanalei Town. Very easy and convenient walking distance to the beach and/or the restaurants and shops of Hanalei Town.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning Fee $500
Tax Rate 14.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties