Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. On a mountain/ocean views

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms with suites (private bath), 4 Bathrooms,

This is a beautiful house with easy access, incredible views and close to many amenities. The Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. There is very little development in this area of Costa Rica and you can enjoy the relaxation and beauty of paradise.

This home has everything. Comfort. Views. Easy access (which is rare in the Southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica). Year round 2WD access is all that is needed. There are ocean views, ever changing mountain views and wildlife nearby. Scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, green parrots and toucans (to name the most common).

Activities nearby : Withing 20 minutes you can go on zip line tours, horseback riding, whale and dolphin watching, golfing, deep sea fishing, hike in national parks or simply relax.

Shopping, pharmacies and grocery stores are all close also.

More Details

Property Manager
Nicholas Halverson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018

About Nicholas Halverson

We built this house in beautiful San Buenaventura, Puntarenas, Costa Rica in 2008. We love to watch the sunsets over the ocean and during the day the views of the mountains behind us are simply breathtaking. Our family uses this house throughout the year (we also own several other properties in the development) and we have made it our only 'home-away-from-home'. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do. We just started the landscaping so our prices are little bit less than they will be in the next couple of years. We've planted over 100 plants, flowers, fruit trees, etc on the 1.5 acre lot.

Nicholas Halverson purchased this house in 2008

Why Nicholas Halverson chose Tres Rios

We built this house with a swimming pool, hot tub, large master suite, on a lot with both ocean views and mountain views. We're from the Midwest USA and love looking at mountains as much as the ocean. The gentle breezes throughout the day are great. We have seen toucans and scarlet macaws flying by as we sit out on the patio. You never know what you'll see in Costa Rica.

What makes this house unique

We love the privacy. It is very quiet and very safe.


Tres Rios House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Safe
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Full 3 - toilet , shower
    Full 4 - toilet
  • Master bedroom has dual sinks (on mainfloor)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Suite Main Floor - 1 king , Private bath, shower, closet
    Upstairs Suite 1 - 1 queen , Private bath, shower, closet
    Upstairs Suite 2 - 1 queen , Private bath, shower, closet
  • Extra twin bed and two couches available. A pack-n-play crib is also available. Master bedroom is handicap accessible
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
All bedrooms have iPhone alarm clock chargers. 3G cell signal at the house.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Beauty. Privacy. Relaxation. 3 suites. On a mountain/ocean views
average rating of 4.607143 based on 28 reviews

Stunning. Breathtaking view. Clean. Private. Quiet

  • 5 of 5

When we first arrived to Costa Rica we weren't really sure what to expect. Normally we do the all inclusive resorts, so this was a huge change for us. The drive to the house was amazing. The people in the local village are very friendly and always waved to us. The property has amazing 360 degree views. The lawn and the landscaping is very well managed and clean. We had Fran, the grounds keeper show us around the property and told us what all the different plants and trees were, which was right up our alley! The house was clean and tidy , yet simple. The first few days we had some set backs, but it made for great stories. After a few days, we got the hang of the area and it truly felt just like home! When we came back from our stay, I told my husband that something feels missing, like I forgot something. I was almost sad, then I realized that I was homesick! Not for my actual house in the States, but for Costa Rica! We are counting down the days til we can visit again. After this experience, we don't think we'll EVER do the all inclusive thing again. This vacation rental home is hands down the only way to travel.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

While the house itself appears nice, the lack of cleaning made for a bad experince. There was blood from previous meat storage in the frezzer. The coffee machine had mold inside from used filter being left. Multiple ant trails through out the house. The master bedroom tub had multiple stains on the surface. The

kitchen sink was filthy and no hot water was hooked up for the kitchen. The owner stated "hot water is not necessary". The house in general was not clean. The swimming pool was green and the grass uncut.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Muy tranquilo y la casa espectacular

  • 4 of 5

La casa es espectacular, la vista hacia montañas y mar es increible.

LAs fotos que se muestran en la pagina son iguales a la propiedad.

Es un refugio donde las personas encuentran la paz y tranquilidad que andan buscando.

Los locales del pueblo son muy amables y generosos.

Aca ud puede andar en bicicleta, correr y caminar, ademas de ir a las diferentes playas. Preferiblemente ir en vehiculo 4x4.

Nick es muy agradable y se preocupa por el bienestar de sus huespedes. Recomiendo mucho el lugar, es una zona muy interesante.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Vacations

  • 5 of 5

I went to the house with some friends and we really had a great time... the house is gorgeous. It has everything you need for good vacations. We were 8 people and we fit very well, even when the house has just three rooms (the master bedroom is huge).

If you are looking for privacy and a good place for staying, this is definitely a good option to consider.

We went just two nights but we wished to stay even more.. hopefully next time.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 were extremely comfortable in this home - plenty of space inside and out. The views from the home were breath taking, especially the sun setting over the ocean. We went zip lining, snorkeling at Cano Island, visited many beaches, swam in a secluded spring fed river with a waterfall, surfing - you name it, all with in 30 minutes of the Villa. The local restaurants were great, not one bad meal. Our property manager was extremely helpful - from setting up tours to telling us the best places to buy food and gas. My favorite part was sitting in the morning with a cup of phenomenal coffee while gazing at one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Our experience staying at this location was a nightmare since the day we booked! Communication with the owner is very poor, and even had an argument in an e-mail, as we were told we should stay somewhere else, two weeks before our departure!! When we did arrive in Quepos on Tuesday, we picked up a cel phone in Uvita and contacted the property manager, which in turn replied there was someone else in the house and we couldn't come stay until Thursday. What? you have to be seriously kidding! He ended up hours later in the day, finally accommodating us to our rental. The home itself.... outdated, dirty, and our sheets were not even clean, there was dirt and grit in the beds, interior of the home is in dire need of TLC The ants in the kitchen were insane, we had cereal on the counter, to find the bag was full of ants the next morning and not to mention no hot water in the kitchen, so don't use the dishwasher, the ants loved it though. The pool was filthy with green algae floating on the bottom.... and I don't mean a little, there was a lot. Hot tub doesn't work or should I say cold tub, no lights in the pools work.... don't let pictures deceive you, it looks nothing like it. The gardener was at our place every morning at 6:00 am...... for what reason...... we don't know, since our grass was never cut, but did notice our plastic pop bottles missing out of the recycle bin in the garage. One night his family showed up and toured up to the shed to pick up stuff...... so privacy.... hmmm, don't plan on skinny dipping, as you never know who might show up. We were then told by the property manager, we had no rush to leave during the last day of our stay, as we were leaving to another one of the owners homes just down the hill. Well, the gardener was bugging us to leave at 9:00am, as the cleaning ladies were waiting outside. We then packed up and went to the next home, which was cleaner except for the dishwasher full of dirty dishes. NO towels, or toilet paper to be found, washer and dryer did not work, no proper dishes or cooking utensils, another nightmare!! We have stayed in Costa Rica before and never have encountered a vacation, like we did with this one. Nick will keep saying to us, we got a deal, but seriously, it should have been free!! There are many other wonderful rentals in the area with much better accommodations and service!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I provided this client with a discount given that she had agreed to book well in advance. After communicating with the client that they would need to move houses midway through their stay, two weeks after they originally booked and 4 months in advance, I gave her another discount, and offered them a full refund at that time. The double booking occurred as we donate three weeks of our house every year to non-profit organizations (scholarships for students to go to elementary school, theater scholarships) and one of the org told me their winner had selected a date in February unbeknownst to both of us, there was an overlap. However, as soon as I caught it, I contacted the client, offered a full refund if she wanted or another discount on the home. In an e-mail 2 weeks before arrival she belittled me and accused me of 'scamming her'. I told her perhaps this isn't the right location for you. My team and I work hard to provide a great experience for all of our clients, as you can read by the 20+ positive reviews. She did respond via email: "I apologize for my actions" Her claim that someone was in the house and they were going to have to move in later in the week is simply untrue. There was no one in the home before they checked-in. We have the same experienced cleaning crew and we have not had that complaint before - however, if she was upset about the cleanliness we would have immediately come back and cleaned it to her liking. Chips on the counter - this home is in the middle of a tropical rain forest. It is NEVER advisable to leave food out on the counters. The beauty of the rainforest is the wildlife - toucans, scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, etc. If you leave sweet/salty snacks open on the counter you will attract ants into the home however. Our pool is professional serviced/cleaned 2x/ week (Wed/Sat) by an experienced company. Neither the cleaner nor our workers nor the clients ever complained about this. The pool lights are remote controlled LED lights. The remotes were placed on the outdoor table with “Pool” and “Jacuzzi” labels on them. Gardener there every day at 6 am to water the flowers/plants/grass. It is the dry season in Feb and the plants would die without TLC. Had the client requested them not to show up at 6 am we would have honored that (as we have done with others) Skinny dipping: I have private testimonials from several clients that this is indeed possible and common! This review is malicious, unfair and untrue.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palmar Sur
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
El Jardin
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
San Buenas Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Costanera Highway (Hwy 34)
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
El Jardin
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Playa Tortuga
Car: necessary

San Buenaventura is a charming Costa Rica pueblo with approximately 400 people. There is a convenience store in town and you are close (5-10 minutes) from great restaurants.

Next door to a golf course

5 minutes from a new hospital

1 mile from the highway

Two tilapia restaurants within 10 minutes

Close to deep sea fishing, whale watching, beaches, surfing, hiking, zipline tours,.

From the property you will see scarlet macaws flying overhead (lapas), toucans and parakeets. In the early morning and at dusk you will be able to listen to the howler monkeys.

This property has both incredible ocean views as well as ever changing mountain views.

Other Activities: Shopping, zipline tours, canopy tours, scuba, whale watching, nature hikes

Golf: San Buenas Golf Resort is located next door. It is a private club but access is available with this rental.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Cancellation Policy:
If there is a "no-show" 100% of the total of the reservation will be charged
If a reservation is cancelled 30 days or less prior to arrival date during Green Season , 60 days or less prior to the arrival date on High Season or 90 days or less during Holiday Season, 100% of the reservation will be charged.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties