Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Views from Large, Family Friendly Cabin at Mt. Magazine, Arkansas

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Huge Cabin~4 Bedrooms + Loft with 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 16+ very comfortably

*****Please Call or text 479-849-6089 for reservations, questions, payments, etc. or email vernonbogart@yahoo.com for cabin availability and I will respond immediately*****

Enjoy the seclusion and magnificent views of Arkansas' tallest mountain, Mount Magazine and the surrounding Ouachita Mountain ranges in this large, 2350 sf custom log cabin. There's enough room for a large family reunion, graduation party, wedding, receptions, etc. and everyone can stay in the same place as it sleeps 16 people in beds (not pull-out couches--4 bedrooms plus a large loft with 4 full sized beds). A fully equipped kitchen with a huge dining table, chairs and bar stools makes for good memories and much smaller food expenses during your visit. The entertainment area is supplied with a TV/DVD player, a supply of DVDs, CD player and board and card games. A gas grill is just waiting outside for that perfect hamburger cookout.

Sleeping arrangements are:

Three bedrooms with queen beds

One bedroom with a full bed

Four full beds in large loft.

Cherokee Cabin boasts 155 acres with three stocked ponds (catfish, bass and perch), and abundant deer and turkey give opportunities of wildlife viewing, fishing (catch and release only), hiking and exploring. horse shoes, basketball, etc. *Nearby areas offer riding trails and ATV trails, so bring your mounts. (ATV riding not permitted on premises).

*The Blue Mountain Wildlife Demonstration Area is just minutes away for all you field trial enthusiasts! Check out the Booneville website for a list of dates of upcoming events.

*Beautiful Blue Mountain Lake is within a 15 minute drive and offers fishing, swimming, hiking and boating.

*Take a scenic drive through Arkansas' own 'Paris' to the top of Mt. Magazine, about 30 minutes away. Along the way, enjoy antiquing, swimming and bird watching at Cove Lake and see the amazing bluffs on the way to the lodge where you can dine and look out and enjoy the view over Blue Mountain Lake and the River Valley.

*Canoeing and kayaking are all available within a one or two hour drive and make for a great family day trip.

*Casinos are just across the border in Oklahoma~as close as a 50 minute drive.

*You won't want to miss the beautiful Fall color changing of the leaves in early to mid- October. Vibrant oranges, reds and yellows make for unbelievable backgrounds and foregrounds for your photo album memories.

*No need to stay home during the holiday season--get the entire family together to open presents at Cherokee Cabin. If you'd like, we will provide a Christmas tree and decorations for your family to enjoy all of the classic traditions.

Make Cherokee Cabin your home base to enjoy the many fun and exciting things Arkansas has to offer and avoid the inconvenience that an impersonal hotel provides. No need to pack and unpack every day when you stay with us.

*We are centrally located within a two hour distance from Fayetteville, Eureka Springs, Little Rock and Hot Springs. Fort Smith is a scenic 45 minute drive and digging for diamonds in Murfreesboro is about 2 1/2 hours away.

If you check our calendar and see an opening this week and want a quick weekend get-away, you can call or email me and ask about specials on last minute reservations!

*We can accommodate your party, reunion, wedding, reception, etc. - addtional fees $100-$300 Please call for pricing.

For groups over 16 needing more sleeping space, please call and we'll work something out with you that may involve extra air mattresses and/or sleeping bags for the kids.

We accept VISA, Mastercard, and American Express, Cashiers Checks, Money Orders or Cash.

Please call me for availability.

Keywords: House, cabin, lodge, inn, graduation, wedding, reception, reunion

More Details

Owner
Vernon Bogart
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 29, 2017

About Vernon Bogart

Vernon Bogart. I am a transplant from Kansas to Arkansas in 1996 and love it! My sons and I built the house in 2005 and I take care of the cabin and the property.

Vernon Bogart purchased this house in 2005

Why Vernon Bogart chose Arkansas

This house is located in the middle of our 155 acre farm. A great place for peace and quiet, or take a short drive to the top of Mount Magazine, or visit one of the many lakes that are close by.

What makes this house unique

This cabin offers seclusion without being too far off the beaten path. It is large enough for families to come together, stay in one place and make new memories and traditions. We have hosted weddings, receptions, reunions and graduation parties here. Free fishing (catch and release) in one of our ponds. basketball, firepit (when there is no burn-ban on), horseshoes; 155 acres to hike and explore. Wildlife is everywhere around the cabin with spectacular views of the mountain ranges.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We came here to get away for the weekend and this was a great place to do it! We really enjoyed the well-prepared kitchen, excellent organization and top-notch cleanliness. What we most appreciated over other VRBO cabins we've stayed in was Robin's wonderful professionalism, cheerful manner and promptness. We will be back!
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 19

Amenities

Magazine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Full Baths; 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Loft - 4 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (5) --sleeps 16 in beds. More sleeping space can be added with air mattresses or sleeping bags for the kids--just ask.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Amazing Views from Large, Family Friendly Cabin at Mt. Magazine, Arkansas
average rating of 4.652174 based on 42 reviews
Little Rock,Arkansas
5

Pleasant Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We are seven friends who enjoy seeing more of Arkansas in a setting where we have comfortable beds and a fully furnished kitchen. Cherokee Cabin met the requirements beautifully. We enjoyed the frolicking calves, the catfish and bream in the ponds, and our visit to Mount Magazine where most of us saw the Lodge for the first time. All made for a delightful weekend.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your vacation at Cherokee cabin and look forward to having you come stay with us in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean,all in working order , nice amenities

  • 4 of 5

Nice getaway

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning, beautiful cabin, amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

We had a marvelous time. The cabin is gorgeous, the views spectacular, great location for everything we wanted to see in the Mt Magazine/Paris area. Very relaxing! Huge refrigerator and freezer, well appointed kitchen with lots of dishes, pots and pans, everything you need if you stay in and cook. Breakfast is our big meal of the day so this worked really well for us. Would be a great place to have a family reunion, milestone birthdays, etc.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vilonia, Arkansas
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5

Cherokee Cabin is lovely, and it worked great for a short getaway for sixteen women. Although the cabin seems remote, it is just minutes from Magazine. The cabin was clean and well laid out, with a nicely stocked kitchen, although the skillets need to be replaced. Beds were comfy, and there were plenty of towels, pillows, and extra blankets. The cabin does sleep sixteen, but that is with two people per bed, which is made very clear in the cabin description and the photos. For some reason, the owner could not respond to my texts while we were there, but he did send someone to check on us, which was very thoughtful. The views from the patio are amazing, and we witnessed a gorgeous sunset and an amazing sunrise. Beautiful Mount Magazine is about a 45 minute drive, and we ate lunch at Skycrest Restaurant on our way home. I wish we had stayed longer so that we could have enjoyed the fire pit, and fished in the ponds.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Cherokee Cabin and really appreciate your review. We will inventory our pots and pans at the cabin and replace and/or add to them--I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. I'm sorry that I was unable to respond while you were at the cabin--my fiance' and I were on her family's annual week long reunion that takes place on a cruise ship and had no cell service until we reached land. I look forward to having you visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Too much money for the place

  • 1 of 5

The cabins were very nice and spacious but we had 13 people in our group and the hot water heater wasn't working properly. We contacted owner but he didn't send anyone to fix it and no money compensation. The mattresses were horrible. Felt like we were sleeping on springs. Also no locks on bathroom doors. Too much money for all the things wrong with it. Also we thought it had a hot tub as described by the pictures, but no hot tub.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your concerns that you've voiced. You were here over the Christmas holidays and our plumber needed to order the parts for the hot water heater which is now fixed. We appreciate the feedback on the beds and have added memory foam mattress toppers for our guests comfort. As the cabin had been extremely popular and booked most nights for the past several months, we were happy to have a couple of vacant nights to address your concerns. Thanks once again for being a guest at Cherokee Cabin and look forward to having you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Wonderful comfortable cabin.

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the cabin. Inside is beautiful. Love the solid slab wood counter tops. The kitchen is fully stocked. Very secluded on a hillside view breathe taking views. Seems to be a place you think you are off the grid. Now for the parts we didn't care for- the cabin needs some up keep, mainly on the outside and the floor in the dining area. The gutters are falling off and the deck is going to need some attention soon. The deck boards are getting rotten and weak. The beds are fairly uncomfortable, me and my wife slept in 3 different ones and found the couch to be a more comfortable place to sleep. The big disappointment was the hot tub pictured was no longer there. I think the pictures need to be updated to show current conditions. Other than the little thing this was a great place to stay. Also the only place to ride atv's is on the dirt roads around the cabin. Beware that this place is surrounded by dirt roads. Very dusty but at the same time seem to be maintained well.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Train
50 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Car: necessary

The cabin sits in the middle of our 155 acre property and is surrounded by trees, lakes and mountain views and it's just a short drive to the top of Mount Magazine.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Magazine House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Mar 1 2017 - Jan 4 2018
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $500
Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $150
Price/person (>4 yrs) $10 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.5%

*$175/night for the first two people plus $10 per person 4 and older anytime Jan 5th thru February 28th
*$200/night for the first two people plus $10 per person 4 and older Sunday-Thursday from March 1 thru Jan 4th.
*$225/night for Friday and Saturday Nights (two night miniumum) March 1st-January 4th.
*Reunions, Weddings, Receptions or other Large Groups will be charged an additional $100.00-$300.00. Please call for pricing.
SPECIAL Mid-Week Pricing When Available: Tuesday & Wednesday night (must book both nights) @ $150/night for two persons. $10/person/night extra (ages 4 & up) plus cleaning fee, deposit, taxes.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties