Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 10

Free use of two kayaks - complete with paddles, vests, etc. Outside shower, Concrete under house, New Central Air and Heat System, New Windows, Lots of Upgrades...

Fantastic Location!!

Very quiet street with sandy beaches front and back of house. Gulf of Mexico is across the street and the Bay is a few hundred feet behind you. Great sunsets. Unique house that offers the best of both worlds. Beach or Bay - you decide. Roughly two hundred feet to the Gulf of Mexico or two hundred feet to Mississippi Sound. Water is in front and back of house!!


Owner
John Reeves
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About John Reeves

I am married with two daughters. We all love the Island. My oldest daughter graduated from Auburn with a Masters degree and my youngest just graduated from Auburn as well. This is Rachael, Tommie and my wife Martha.

John Reeves purchased this house in 2009

Why John Reeves chose Alabama

We have four vacation homes on Dauphin Island. This one has quickly become the favorite. Shallow water is great for kayaks and all other forms of water sports. The Gulf is across the street and the Bay is at your back door. The best of both worlds. I totally remodeled the house - new metal roof - new windows - new siding - new carpeting - new light fixtures - new doors - new decks - new stairs - new boardwalks - new appliances, etc.

What makes this house unique

Both the Mississippi Sound and the Gulf of Mexico at your door.

Map

Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Kayaking

Amenities

Dauphin Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
14% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews
5

Awesome !

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and the location. There was 10 in our party and we had plenty of space to spread out. They have done lots of updates to the house (paint, bedding, new picnic table,grill ). We also had a blast with the kayaks and fishing in the Mississippi Sound. What a Great week on the beach!!!

Kithas/Arnold Family

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love it when our guests enjoy their stay. Thank you for your visit and review. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time here. The house had absolutely everything we needed for a comfortable stay - comfortable beds, plenty of towels, all necessary kitchen utensils and appliances. The wifi was great and there was an incredible supply of DVD movies. We loved sitting on the back porch every evening enjoying the beautiful sunsets over the bay. We had an awesome time playing with the ghost crabs and hermit crabs on the bay side and also playing in the waves and watching the dolphins on the Gulf side. Unfortunately, we did not have the chance to use the kayaks but, the owner, John, was kind enough to bring a new one by in case we needed it. John was awesome about everything - very responsive. I would definitely recommend this place and this island if you are looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the location!

  • 5 of 5

This house is the perfect location. We enjoyed watching the dolphins play in the bay and the pelicans fish. The bay side was perfect for the kids. The beach is just a short walk across the street. We had so much fun minus the rain.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad y'all enjoyed your time on the Island. June was an unusual month for rain with a Tropical Storm, as well. Come back anytime. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place, just needs a more thorough cleaning

  • 4 of 5

LOCATION: Great! Just a short walk to the beach on the sound side and right across the street from a public beach on the gulf side.

HOUSE: Perfect size for one family; several dead light bulbs; blinds fell off the wall in one room in the middle of the night; shelf in the master bath is about to fall off the wall; it was clean.

AMMENITIES: Two of the three kayaks had cracked hulls and took in water, there were paddles and life jackets for each; We found dirty dishes in the dishwasher and towels in the dryer; there is a large charcoal grill that's rusting out but still usable and a small, newer charcoal grill—both were totally full of ash and we had to clean them out before they could be used; the fridge was really nice, just needed a new water filter; the stove and oven was in good shape, but one of the burners isn't working; there were also available some sand toys, four beach chairs, three lounge chairs and a hammock on a stand.

These minor issues did not affect our stay—we had a lovely time. All-in-all, it's a nice property and an affordable price.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I've corrected a few of the items already. New cleaning crew, new grill, bulbs and blinds. I will take care of the others this week. I did not know about those. Thanks again for your visit and review. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, beautiful scenery, quiet and serene.

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time in Dauphin Island. It's beautiful, quiet, relaxing and peaceful. We had my parents and my family including our 7 year old son and everyone enjoyed themselves. From fishing, walking on the beach, mini-golfing, hiking in Shell Mound park and the Bird Sanctuary, visiting the Estuarium, taking the ferry to Gulf Shores, and having coffee while reading a book on the porch...it was absolutely wonderful! The slogan of the island in 'how family vacations used to be' was spot on. We'll be back!! Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great view and location

  • 4 of 5

Sure this house has a honey-do-list a mile long but the view from the living room couch makes up for it. This was a great place for a spring break vacation that does not break the bank. We had our own personal beach on the Mississippi Sound side and there was only a short walk to a clean family friendly beach on the Gulf side. This house sleeps 8 comfortably and was clean. Dog friendly is a plus too. The stove had 3 out of 4 working burners, the water pressure in the master bath was weak and it had some light/electrical issues. Only one kayak was usable but luckily no one else in my group cared to paddle. For those reasons it gets 4 out of 5 stars. However, I will consider this rental for future trips because I'm all about that view and the beach.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Pet Fee $105
Tax Rate 11.0%

$1200-$1900/wk US Dollars
Sept-Apr .. $1200/week.;
Apr-Sept .. $1900/week.;
$100 cleaning fee
Dates Available: Year Round

$500 upon booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties