Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Cottage, House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Full Baths, (Sleeps 6-8), Private Area

Newer 'Lakefront Cottage' located in a private setting, quiet but near enough to the beach to hear the surf and feel lake breezes! 4-season sunroom invites the outside in, spilling over into the comfortable living area.

Comfortable furnishings, natural tile, wood and bedroom carpet. Wi-Fi, 2 TVs, (with fire stick) 2 DVDs, lovely outdoor patios and fire pit. Living area offers 2 additional sofa-beds for your convenience. Fully equipped kitchen complete with granite style counter-tops, open floor plan.

Large, private surroundings allow plenty of space for romping with your (well-behaved) dogs, parking your boat or RV or just relaxing and dining outside.

A 5 minute walk around the corner brings you to the beautiful waters edge of Lake Michigan, only 255 paces and no stairs!!

Keywords: Lake House, Lake Michigan, Newer Cottage, Privacy

More Details


Holland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) 1 in bedroom, 2 in living area
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Follow the surf around the corner to the white sands of Lake Michigan! Walk for miles, see breathtaking sunsets, swim or relax in the sun. Bike paths galore or boating options nearby.


3.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

16% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
average rating of 3.1666667 based on 7 reviews

Comfortable Vacation Accomodations

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with the house and its access to Holland and the local beach. The location is quiet and conducive to relaxation. The fire pit and porch are nice features, and the yard (both front and back) have beautiful flowers with natural grasses. We were slightly disappointed in the absence of any grassy areas.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent for family vacation,

  • 4 of 5

Plenty of space for 7 adults and a dog. Home was clean and excellent location. Nice fire pit area and on a quiet block. Would definitely rent again. The only downside is the path to the water especially the last leg is not recommended for anyone with knee issues or seniors.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Disappointed with the whole experience!

  • 1 of 5

We had reserved and paid for this stay on August 5th. We received a confirmation for check-in at noon on August 25th and check-out at 5pm on August 28th. My daughter arrived at the location at 12:15 and was told that we didn't have the cottage because someone else was staying there and our reservation was cancelled! Kathy insisted that we cancelled which wasn't the case. Kathy tried to find another location which was only available for two nights and not in the same vicinity as this cottage. Then she tried to find a hotel on ottawa beach rd with two beds. I'm sorry but that does not compare to the space in a cottage. We did get a full refund with a $75 consolation gift. What I want to know is why the other family didn't get the same treatment. After all we should have had the cottage as we were the first to arrive. Instead Kathy continued to insist that it was our problem as we had cancelled. This was going to be our last family vacation together as our kids were going off to college. Makes me wonder if the other family was staying longer and therefore it would have been more profitable? Wish I would have had a chance to actually stay at the cottage to give it a more appropriate review.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, As you indicated, we understood this reservation to be cancelled. I don't know how this was miscommunicated but despite our every effort to locate other housing for you ( at our expense) you decided against it. We did our best to assist you, even so far as adding a gift refund. When a party cancels, any other incoming travelers take precedence and have no connection to a previous reservation. Again we apologize for any inconvenience and understand your disappointment. We are proud of our track record and hope you will consider us in the future. BrightEscapes
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice home & good location, rodents

  • 1 of 5

July 2015. Walking distance to nice public beach w/ no steps. Beach is small and can get very crowded. House is nice and yard is pretty. FYI: the yard does not have any grass area for kids to play on. Dryer handle was broken on arrival and owner was very communicative on working to make it useable the couple times it broke. However, found live mice in trashcan under kitchen sink on two occasions. Pretty unpleasant to have to dispose of that. Did not tell wife first time as early in week but after second mouse had to tell her and of course vacation was quickly over. Told owner we were leaving and she refunded me the cleaning fee (not even a full day). Nice house but would obviously not recommend

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Lovely Home - Great Property Management

  • 5 of 5

My family of 7 adults/3 dogs stayed here for a relative's wedding last year and had a wonderful time. We were a high maintenance group (we needed to rent a few extra days and they allowed us to bring 3 dogs) but the owners were so accommodating. We really appreciated the flexibility. It's an excellent location if you are looking for peace and quiet - just a quick walk to catch the sun set over Lake Michigan and for us, a quick drive/bike ride right around the corner to our relative's house. The house itself has a bright open concept, is sparkling clean and everything functioned as expected (I think it has central air conditioning but we didn't need it when we were there in mid-August). We had plenty of living space and bathrooms for all of us to get ready for the wedding. And we loved that we could help ourselves to the mint in the backyard for our mojitos!

We wouldn't hesitate for a second to consider this house again for another stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Susan- I'm so pleased you had such a good time at Lakefront Cottage last summer! We often hear positive comments from our guests, but I know it takes extra effort to actually place the review-- so it's very much appreciated. We hope you will consider us for your future vacation needs~ Kathy Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
morris illinois

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great home for a girls week. Group of six ladies found this home very comfortable and had everything we needed. Even cool enough in august to use the fire pit one night. The public beach area is pretty small but being so close you can get there early and set up then lounge the day away. We all loved Holland, and the best Saturday "farmers market" we had ever been to. Rented many homes on VRBO and this one is a keeper. Rental agency always prompt and available. Thanks Kathy!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much girls- I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay at Lakefront Cottage and welcome you back any time! I also appreciate your taking the effort to submit your review, many guests are return visitors that just don't take the time to comment~ as long as everyone enjoys themselves! Thanks again, Kathy Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Property Manager

Kathy Bright
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

Why Kathy Bright chose Holland

Beautiful location at Lake Michigan, private & protected from the strong winds, yet so close to the beach you can hear the waves and feel the breeze! Private Residential Area with Fire Pit and Benches Right in Front Yard. All Amenities Included.

What makes this house unique

Location~ walk for miles on the shoreline, ride your bike on the miles of bike paths, visit Holland, Grand Haven, Saugatuck all only 15 minutes from cottage.

Chicago or Detroit 2 1/2 hr drive!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Had a terrific time at the cottage, very comfortable! We appreciated the thoughtful details, the well appointed kitchen and extra touches in bathrooms. Caught a perfect sunset on the path leading to the beach, many thanks for all your recommendations! Paul & Laura
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Holland Tulip CIty
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Ottawa Beach Inn
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Holland Depot
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US 31
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Ottawa Beach Inn
Nearest Beach
James St./ Tunnel Park/ Holland State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Tunnel Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Holland State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Downtown Holland
Car: necessary

Lake Michigan's beautiful white sandy shores at James St. Beach is a short 5 minute walk (255 paces) and no stairs! Nearby bike paths offer miles upon miles of travel in any direction! Enjoy Tunnel Park (1 mile) and popular Holland State Park located 3 miles south- where the Holland Harbor and 'Big Red' Lighthouse are surrounded by white sandy beaches. Only 20 minute drive to picturesque tourist towns of Saugatuck/Douglas 'Art Coast of Michigan' or well known Grand Haven. Downtown Holland is a 10 minute drive (Hope College, lakefront parks, Tulip Time Festival, eateries & shopping.) Tulip City Airport is 15 minute drive and Grand Rapids an easy 45 minute drive. Chicago or Detroit approximately a 3 hour drive.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Deposit $500

Check for off-season rates and monthly rates!


Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund