Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront -gracious and private Caribbean Villa.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 7,300 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

4 Bedrooms Suites with Baths, a 5th bedroom and 2 Half Baths, sleeps 8 adults.

AcquaBlu has all the luxuries of a villa but feels like a home, because it was our home! It's 4800 square feet, with 7 porches and balconies, a 38' x 12' pool, a library, an extra large kitchen set up to serve a party, 4 uniquely themed bedrooms, gorgeous gardens, a separate media room with an extra pull-out bed, a laundry room and breakfast area, and a wine cellar for your use, stocked with the best Italian and French wines.

The villa is located in the quiet and private Boatman Point Association, which includes 38 acres with only 12 houses. Our home looks out on Rendezvous Bay and the vast Caribbean Sea. We chose to build our house here because of the stunning views, the privacy, and the constant ocean breezes, while still being only 7 minutes to Cruz Bay.

More Details

Owner
Dale Miller
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Dale Miller

I was four years out of UVa when I came down to St. John on the first Pan Am 727 service to St Thomas. It was love at first site and truly changed my life goals. Back then you needed a machete to cut your way through to the North Shore Beaches. It was quite an adventure, if you could manage to rent one of the eight available jeeps on island. Now St. John has grown up, but it is still pristine as 3/4 of the Island remains undeveloped as US National Park. I can still glimpse the old days when traveling about.

St John has seen me through two families and now a new life with Ayn. I raised a daughter here, gave shelter to four other children, built a small guest house for myself when matters were in change, and now live on Bordeaux with Ayn. It is a bit difficult to believe that all of this has occupied 50 plus years, but it has and the fascination with this rock in the middle of the Atlantic continues unabated. I will be here to help you have the best holiday you possibly can.

We built our first house on Gifft Hill in 1989. We used it as a rental house and traveled back and forth between Connecticut and St. John. Our daughter Megan grew up between our two worlds. Finally in 1995 we decided to move down here permanently.

AcquaBlu is our second St. John home, completed in 2005. We lived there for 5 years but decided it was a little too big for us. Megan went off to Davidson College, so it was just the two of us and we decided we wanted to travel. Dale built a little house nearby and now we come and go as we please.

Dale Miller purchased this villa in 2005

Why Dale Miller chose Cruz Bay

After living in my first Island home for 12 years the lure of the ocean started working on me. I searched for almost three years before deciding on this one acre parcel to build our compound.

Primarily it was being on the sea, the breezes and perfect views that sold us on the location; not muggy, not buggy, never hot as we catch the Tradewinds year round. Plus we have a night time view of the twinkling lights of St. Thomas and the sunrise over Ram's Head Point in the morning, along with the gorgeous ocean views and the sounds of the sea.

There is something magical about leaving town and in minutes being totally away from it all.

We also loved the Boatman Point community. It's safe, quiet, and very private.

What makes this villa unique

Being part of The Boatman Point Private Association gives access to its rubble beach reserved for owners and their guests. Acqua Blu is accessible by a well kept private concrete road that leads in from South Shore Drive. You are truly out on the Point with amazing views, trade winds, and privacy as soon as you come off South Shore Rd.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are a huge fans of St. John and have visited annually for the last seven years. Of all the places we have stayed during our visits, Acquablu was our favorite, hands down! We have young children, and it was the most accommodating that we have found. Wonderful views, awesome kitchen, relaxing spots everywhere you turn, and very private location made it our most enjoyable stay yet!



Taken from VRBO.com
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Estate Rendezvous and Ditlef Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 7300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telescope
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Pool Bath - outdoor shower
    Great Room Bath -
  • Four in-suite and two half baths
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • St Thomas - 1 king , Inside Shower
    French Garden - 1 king , Outside Shower
    AV Room - 1 queen
    Plantation - 1 king , Inside shower
    Ram's Head - 1 king , large tub and shower outside
  • 4 Bedrooms have king size beds and private bathrooms. There is a possibility of using the queen size pull out in the AV room, but it doesn't have an ensuite bath. There are cribs and small beds available by agreement.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Wine Cellar with French and Italian wines, Media Room, Library, Laundry Room/Breakfast nook, Japanese Soak Tub

Reviews

Sun, surf and breathtaking views.

VRBO Bear stayed here

Oct 16, 2015

On the day of check-in Jessy met us at the barge and led us to the Villa. The short drive to the Villa was picturesque. As we entered the property, we were blown away by the location and the unobstructed views of the blue Caribbean! Our favorite times in the Villa were to watch the sunrises with a cup of coffee and feel the strong Caribbean breezes at night. The Villa is very spacious and well-appointed, wonderful for family gatherings or special events. All parts of the Villa had breathtaking views of the ocean and the architecture allowed for plenty of sun and breeze. Its close proximity to Cruz Bay made shopping and dining a breeze. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the coral at world famous Trunk Bay and also visited the nearby Westin. I would highly recommend this Villa for anyone looking for a perfect Caribbean vacation!

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Oceanfront -gracious and private Caribbean Villa.
average rating of 4.529412 based on 20 reviews
5

Amazing Experience...Cannot wait to go back

  • 5 of 5

St John has been our annual Caribbean get away for 7 years now. We usually stay at Caneel Bay, but have spent time at the Westin/Gallows as well. Here is my advice - STAY AT AQUA BLUE VILLA! My wife and I were married at Caneel this past December, but stayed at AB Villa with a few couples in our wedding party. The home is incredible, and the view is absolutely breathtaking. When you walk in, you feel as if you are walking on clouds on top of the Caribbean! All 4 bedrooms are equally great, so if you are sharing with other couples or with family, nobody will be unhappy. Two of the rooms feature amazing outdoor showers, and you feel as if you are showering amongst the trees and rock, with a view of the ocean. The pool area is incredible. The main living room/great room is absolutely incredible as well, and there is a constant breeze travelling through the open air home. Finally, Dale is the best. Dale is the owner, he lives on the island, knows everyone and everywhere to go, and makes the stay even more magical. For first timers to St John, location is key if you are renting a home. The home is perfectly located above Chocolate Hole. Cruz Bay is a 5 minute drive, the beaches you want to go to are 10 minutes away, and basic food shopping is less than 5 minutes. If you prefer to have taxis take you to and from, as we did at night, Dale can help you arrange for a driver for your time there. Don't hesitate, book Aqua Blue Villa.

-Stephen S. Third week of December.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very nice, young people who honestly appreciate the specialness of St John. When you please a group like this, it makes the job worthwhile. You keep trying and hope someone can feel the effort.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flower Mound, Texas
5

Just another day in paradise

  • 5 of 5

The pictures do not do this house justice. It is a breathtaking property overlooking the beautiful ocean. We were greeted by Dale's granddaughter Joice as soon as we got off the ferry. She was extremely helpful while we rented our jeep and headed to Aqua Blu. The house is HUGE! We had 2 families with 4 teenagers. Everyone had plenty of space to call their own, but the living room and kitchen provided more than enough space for us all to gather together. We spent one day enjoying the pool and house. One of the nights we had a significant storm. Joice e-mailed us first thing in the morning to make sure everything was all right and if we needed anything. I would recommend this house to anyone wanting a luxury villa on a quiet street.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Wedding Week!

  • 5 of 5

Acqua Blu

If you’re reading this review, you’ve already seen the pictures and know the house is beautiful. And we can tell you that it’s as-advertised..it’s amazing! We’ve stayed in a number of villas on St. John over the last several years and this was easily one of the best experiences. If you’re considering Acqua Blu to stay for a vacation, we highly recommend it. Dale is a great host and couldn’t have been easier to work with. Every request/question we had, he made it happen.

For our stay, we went beyond a vacation. We held our wedding and reception at Acqua Blu. If you’re considering this villa for a wedding, stop looking…this is the best you’re going to find. There are multiple spots to hold the ceremony and ways to arrange guests. The sunset offers an amazing backdrop for the ceremony and photos. The stocked wine cellar on the property offers great options for ceremony/rehearsal and Dale will make sure it’s loaded with whatever you need.

Thank you Dale for helping make our wedding memorable!

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Extremely Inferior and frustrating experience

  • 1 of 5

The owner failed to meet us at the car barge and escort us to the Villa, as promised. In fact, we were unable to reach him for 45 minutes and once reached, he did not offer the escort, but instead merely provided directions and said the Villa was open. We were never provided a key to the Villa and were forced to take our valuables with us upon each departure. We immediately reported that the a/c in one of the bedrooms was nonfunctional. It was not repaired until late on our fourth day there. Clearly, this was a needed repair that could have been detected before our arrival. The water pump ceased functioning after three of our party shampooed their hair and covered themselves in soap. All this owner had to do was explain to us the possibility of an outage or caution us about not taking three showers at the same time and preemptively instruct us on how to restart the pump. Again, he was unreachable by phone for 30 minutes and everyone had to use bottled water to rinse their hair and bodies. The refrigerator in the kitchen was not working upon arrival and repairs were not made until our fifth day there. The only notable positives was the location of the Villa and it's great views as well as its proximity to the sounds of the surf. The owner had the unmitigated gall to send us a to do list before departure which included a warning that if we failed to remove the garbage there would be a $35 per bag fine. We have vacationed on St. John 1 to 2 times per year for the last 11 years. We have rented 12 different Villas and this was by any measure the worst experience we have ever encountered. We will never again rent directly from an owner because of the above issues and because this owner's response to our shower debacle was to "relax". At the price we paid for Acqua Blu we would have expected and in fact had always received much better advice, direction and service from all the prior management companies.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Michael, I rethought my answer to your review and replaced it with the next guests comments. Again, I am sorry you had such a difficult time and wish you well in your future stays on St John Incredible! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ We really loved our stay at Dale's Aqua Blu villa. It was far beyond our expectations. We had expected to stay at Red Hawk cottage, so we were surprised to be in the main villa. The property is beautiful with a well-maintained pool, library and wine cellar. The great room includes a sitting area, kitchen, eating area and even a baby grand piano. The whole room opens on to a wide balcony that looks out over Rendezvous Bay. Absolutely gorgeous. A beautiful sight to wake up to in the morning - well, late morning. OK. Very late morning. We were also pleased with the quiet neighborhood. All we heard at night was the ocean and the occasional passing rain shower on the tile roof. Lovely. The location makes it a fairly short trip (20-30 min) to get to either the north shore beaches or the south/east end of the island for snorkeling. The trip to Cruz Bay is just a few minutes. We also enjoyed taking the path down to Hart's beach to do some beach combing and watch the surf. Dale was the perfect host - attentive without being intrusive. Dale mentioned that a wedding was planned at the villa later this year. I can't imagine a more beautiful spot for such an occasion. Date of arrival February 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great for large groups

  • 5 of 5

18 of us (12 adults and 6 kids) recently rented Acqua Blu and Red Hawk for a week in June. It can be difficult to find one location that can hold that many people, but the logistics worked out great. All of the bedrooms in Aqcua Blu (except for 1) are exterior entry and are not connected to the great room. This wasn’t an issue for us as our children were young and stayed in the same bedroom as the adults. All of the bedrooms have A/C, however we only used it at night. It was great during the day to open all of the windows and doors and allow the breeze to blow through the house. The Great Room does not have A/C, but it was NOT necessary. The weather in St. John is amazing and we enjoyed the fresh air in the house. Water is an issue on the island – not just at this house. A day didn’t go by that we didn’t see water trucks out delivering to houses on the island. Whitney was great! She was on call 24x7 if we had any issues. She stopped by to make sure the pool was balanced, check our water usage to make sure we didn’t run out or to see if we needed anything. It was nice to know that she was available if we had any trouble. She gave awesome advice on things to do and where to eat on the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our week on St. John!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House, Wonderful Breeze, Great Pool

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful supportive service of house

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is really great to get a review like this from someone who has been to St John over twenty times. Makes the effort we put in worthwhile and soothes the sting of the one guest in a hundred who is simply mean spirited and did not pick up the wonderful St John vibe. Yeah Whitney!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril E King, STT St. Thomas USVI
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Westin Resort
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Cruz Bay
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mahogany Run, St. Thomas
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Westin Resort
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Boatman Point Beach
Car: recommended

Plenty of watersports, plenty of private beaches and National Park beaches, hiking, plenty of local wildlife, plenty of bars and nightlife, plenty of taxi tours/Park tours, lots of fine dining, lots of shopping, and also plenty of quiet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $60 per person per night
Damage Insurance $79

Rates are based on the season and the number of guests. Contact us for details. Also contact us for holiday rates and event rates including weddings.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.