Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

$95+/Night 1BR/1BA Oceanfront Hawaiian Holiday! Book Early!

Bedrooms 1
Space 700 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

Your location in Kihei will be near main roads to all Maui has to offer, fine restaurants, the finer shopping centers, scenic overlooks, walk to Pacific Whale Foundation, sort drive to Maui Ocean Center, Old Town Wailuku, 'Up-country' and the best beaches in the world for any water sport! Enjoy this Maui vacation spot whether you want to just relax or experience more. Kauhale Makai has a full time concierge offering special rates for any Maui activity!

Whale watch from our lanai (seasonal) and see sunset skies from a 2nd floor, ocean view (balcony) or through sliding glass doors from our dining table, above tropical gardens (not parking). Enjoy our pillow-top Cal King bed. We have new custom carved, mango wood, bedroom furniture. Freshen up between adventures in our enlarged, renovated, bathroom with custom, walk in multi-shower, unlimited hot water, four-foot vanity and elbow room to share. There is a full kitchen, renovated for open space with an island breakfast counter. Oh, FREE WiFi too.

Outside you are literally steps from the sandy beach. Pacific Whale Foundation is just a couple of buildings away. Azeka Shopping Center and Piilani Shopping Center are about five driving minutes away. Times Supermarket is next to Azeka Shopping Center with plenty of local restaurants, a post office and CVS Longs Drug Store. Piilani Shopping Center currently has an Outback, Starbucks, Jamba Juice, Subway, Round Table, L&L Drive-in, and a pharmacy in Safeway or CVS Longs Drug Store.

The property is located on Waipuilani Beach Park, offering ocean, mountain and tropical garden views. Kauhale Makai has central air conditioning, gated pool with spa/hot tub and children's wading pool. There are gas grills, putting green, shuffle board, an air conditioned, party room with fridge, separate men's and women's bathrooms and saunas.

Live and share the Aloha Spirit of Maui. We would love to accommodate you. 'E komo mai'

**We offer a discount for 30 nights (or more) continuous stay. Email us for the details.

We do not have an ADA compliant unit. However, our assigned parking spot is conveniently close to the easier walks leading to elevators. Our entry door has a two inch threshold and our walk in shower has a three inch threshold.

Keywords: 1 Bed 1 Bathroom new renovated second floor condo ocean view Anthurium building of Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) CLEAN and well cared for.

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About Steve

We love our location on Maui at this quiet beach, where we spend time on the water or in the pool with our boys.

Steve purchased this condo in 2003

Why Steve chose Kihei

We love being by the ocean and enjoy the comfortable, easy climate and activities in Kihei, Maui.

What makes this condo unique

Though we live on Maui, we always feel like we are on vacation at our condo. The beach is visible with the dune where it meets the property. Drive 5 minutes or hike a flat mile to a great choice of restaurants, groceries, post office, pharmacies.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The upgrades to the apartment look really nice. We liked the beach for an early morning undisturbed walk, then it was only 2 miles in our rented car to get to the main swimming beaches for the rest of the day. The location is convenient to get to any other parts of the island to enjoy the various features of Maui.

We would come back to the same place for sure.

No disturbances, no annoyances, everything worked great.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Hawaii State Law prohibits smoking in the unit or within 25 feet of entrances/exits to the building complex.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Renovated in 2009. Upgrades: Walk-in Shower with new tile throughout, inviting Rain Showerhead + Handheld showerhead, new vanity & granite countertop
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1) NEW Pillow-top California King; We have a toddler mattress (No crib) for families with a little one; Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) full size futon with memory foam
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Newly renovated, beautiful, custom, enlarged, walk-in shower with overhead rain shower head AND a separate handheld massage shower wand


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
$95+/Night 1BR/1BA Oceanfront Hawaiian Holiday! Book Early!
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 18 reviews
sacramento ca

Perfect place to stay in Kihei!

  • 5 of 5

We love Village By The Sea and this condo is great.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The owner had no property manager. Communication very difficult.

  • 2 of 5

The condo itself was fine and clean. Everything worked ok except we couldn't get the key box open and there was no one there representing the owner to help. Nice neighbors solved it for us. Depleted cleaning supplies- many empty bottles of glass cleaner, toilet cleaner, bathroom cleaner, all purpose cleaner. I rented this for 30 days, and there was only 3 rolls of toilet tissue and 1 roll of paper towels. Kauhale Makai is showing its age and lack of care- broken elevators, very dirty textured corridor walls, chipped concrete. The grounds are fairly nice, but need some new plantings- beginning to look sparse. The location is great and the view is spectacular. The large number of "No" signs is quite unwelcoming. The outdoor grill area is very nice and clean. Good pool. Very nice and helpful receptionists.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reviewing correspondence and photos provided by our contract cleaner demonstrates Patricia's negative comments are baseless. Our contract cleaner informed us, she "trashed our condo". This is a first for us after hosting guests since 2009. We are processing a complaint with VRBO so other owners are warned. We have only been gracious and shared aloha with Patricia in our communications, before & during her stay. Before her plane landed, we communicated via text to welcome her and provide entry codes as a reminder for easy access. When she did call, we walked her through entry codes and access to our secure, private WiFi on more than one occasion. Upon arrival, Patricia could not recall the entry instructions emailed, did not check for our text and did not call us right away. We have a key-less, security, entry lock, where codes are entered in a doorknob keypad. We sent via email and text, her agreed, unique, digital entry codes. Without contacting us, Patricia enlisted third party help of neighbors and community security to break into our emergency lock-box, remove the master key and bypass the key-less security system. If she had called us right away we could have talked her through entering her key-less codes. The "Property Manager" is on site for business hours and tasking maintenance. Patricia was met by additional roving "Security" as she tried to enter our condo. We also delivered additional items as Patricia requested them but she omits these from her review. Patricia was a very difficult guest to please, even with several calls a week. Via VRBO we contact guests and expect communication via email, phone, text or voicemail. We sent her information via emails & texts before and during her stay. Via numerous calls she finally admitted she doesn't access her email often. When she claimed she didn't see texts & emails, we reviewed texts and emails and forwarded them again. Guests can call us if there is any question or immediate need. Kauhale Makai is an ocean-side two structure concrete complex with over 140 units of studio to 2 bedroom layouts. The elevators were recently overhauled. Hawaii law requires "No Smoking" signs be posted at all building entrances. Patricia is a smoker who agreed to our no smoking policy. We invite guests to review photos of Kauhale Makai and our condo to make their own discernment regarding location & grounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Monitor Washington

Great location, exactly as advertised and perfect for us.

  • 5 of 5

We booked very last minute but this met our needs perfect. We had direct beach access for walks bother directions and were close to stores. The condo had a pool and bbq's, AC, great fans for air circulation. We had a sunset view off the balcony as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a good apartment/condo as were visiting Maui to celebrate our babymoon. We found this place after some research and we were very happy to stay here. It is located centrally in Kihei so it is not too far from western beaches or Haleakala towards the east. Condo included all the necessary amenities including all necessary cutlery and a complete kitchen. Best part is the balcony which provides much better views of the garden and nice little secluded beach. We stayed here for about 8 days and almost forgot that it was a not a place we owned when we had to leave as our vacation was over 😀 Owner is nice and very prompt to address any concerns you may run into. These condos are situated in residential part of Maui island and hence very close to grocery and medical stores (such as Safeway, LongDrugs/CVS) for convenience. We had some great memories at this place and we certainly look forward to return soon. Mahalo!!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time and absolutely loved staying in your condo. The view was beautiful, the interior was spacious, and we loved the updated bathroom and the comfy bed.

The bbq area was a wonderful bonus and became a great place to meet other area visitors while we all cooked and compared cooking methods and recipes. The pool and hot tub area was clean and never crowded or noisy. We loved the stunning sunset views every night and had dinner on the balcony a couple of times. Your condo has one of the best views on the island as far as we could tell. None of the restaurants we visited could offer that as well as your place did. Whatever issues other reviewers had with the view being blocked have been resolved. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the plumeria trees were gorgeous and smelled great!

Having a designated parking spot was also a great bonus. We walked to the Whale Center and enjoyed hearing about the fish pond project and other conservation work they are involved in. The location was convenient to everything we needed without being on an overly busy thoroughfare. We were never bothered by traffic noise and we did enjoy hearing the bird songs, even if they do wake up a bit early :)

We loved everything about the place and hope to return soon.

Best Regards,

Keith and Lori

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


  • 4 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at your condo, it had everything we needed, including a soft comfortable bed!

Owners were great to deal with, Emails were answered promptly and professionally. The condo was as stated with great extras, location was central to everything and the kitchen has everything you need, so make sure you hit Costco after you pick up you rental car, it will save you a ton on groceries and it's only 15 minutes to the condo from there.

If you're looking for comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price, this is the place!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Waipuilani Park
Monsoon India
Indian Restaurant
Sushi Paradise
Sushi Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Antonio's Italian
Italian Restaurant
Maui Brick Oven
Gluten-Free Restaurant
Piko Cafe
Coffee Shop
Diamonds Ice Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Coconut's Fish Cafe
Fish & Chips Restaurant
Wow Wow Hawaiian Lemonade
Java Cafe
Fork and Salad Maui
Organic Restaurant
Shearwater Tavern
Nalu's South Shore Grill
Hawaiian Restaurant
Wow Wow Hawaiian Lemonade Aloha
Juice Shop
Peace Love Shave Ice
Roasted Chiles
Mexican Restaurant
Vietnamese Cuisine
Vietnamese Restaurant
Izakaya Genbe
Japanese Restaurant
Nutcharee's Authentic Thai Food
Thai Restaurant
Home Maid Cafe
Miso Phat Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Peggy Sue's Maui
Hamburger Restaurant
Isana Restaurant
Korean Restaurant
808 Grindz Cafe
Cold Stone Creamery
Ice Cream Shop
Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
Jamba Juice Pii'lani Village Shopping Center
Juice Shop
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Jawz Tacos
Seafood Restaurant
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Akamai Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Fabiani's Bakery and Pizzeria
Italian Restaurant
1054 Togoshi Sushi Restaurant
Sushi Restaurant
Tienda del Sol
Mexican Restaurant
Brekkie Bowls
Health Food Restaurant
Pizza Madness Maui
Pizza Restaurant
Blue Moon Cafe
Eskimo Candy Inc
Seafood Restaurant
Shaka Sandwich & Pizza Inc.
Pizza Restaurant
Tacos Guadalajara
Mexican Restaurant
Belle Surf Cafe
Outrigger Pizza Co
Pizza Restaurant
Thailand Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Stewz Maui Burgers
Hamburger Restaurant
Cuatro Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Sushi Restaurant
Kamana Kitchen
Indian Restaurant
Haui's Life's A Beach
Mexican Restaurant
Fat Daddy's Smokehouse
Barbecue Restaurant
Car: recommended

Good beach for kite surfing, windsurfing or kayak launch. Connected to less busy beaches for walking and running. Activity room available for parties with fridge and separate men's and women's sauna, showers and bathrooms.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 14.25%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Please email me for quote breakdown or for extended stay discounts.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties