Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tranquility Place - the Ultimate Mountain Experience!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)

You have found one of the best places in the North GA mountains! Tranquility Place will be even better in person. Our cabin is nestled in the woods on top of a gentle knoll with the mountains in the distance. It is bordered by a couple of gentle ravines and a creek. We offer a wonderful flat approach (less than 2 miles from HWY 441), plentiful paved parking for 3-4 cars, much outdoor space for kids to play or grownups to enjoy the privacy of the wooded area. Inside, the kitchen is upscale and wonderfully stocked and can accommodate a large family. We have a spacious family room with 2 living areas, a queen sleeper sofa, gas logs, a 50'' wall mounted flat screen TV with satellite TV/DVD and wireless internet. The all wood floors, tongue and groove heart pine walls and ceilings provide the extra warmth that only a mountain hideaway can provide. The bedrooms are so so spacious; the master offers a king bed and double bed. The queen bedroom has space for our electric inflatable queen bed.

Our furnishings are newer and nicer than most. We are offering you a stay in a very nice mountain home, not a rustic old cabin. Make your reservation today before the calendar is filled!

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Owner

We are a family of 5 that loves the outdoors and the mountains.

Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Owner chose Lakemont

The name describes this cabin perfectly. The beauty of the setting in the woods on top of a knoll coupled with a modern home having essential conveniences along with top notch furnishings. Tranquility is so close to Atlanta (2 hr drive), 2 state parks, 3 lakes, and 2 rivers.

What makes this cabin unique

Wonderful private setting but so close to many things to do and see

Amenities

Lakemont Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Bag all kitchen trash in large black bag (look in laundry closet) before putting in outside container. Best to tie the top of black bag closed.
  • At checkout - close & Lock all windows and doors. Leave dishes clean in kitchen. Leave extra inside door key and lockbox key before leaving.
  • Run one load of towels and place in the dryer before leaving the day of check out. Mesh laundry bags are provided for used bedding sheets.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
  • Half bath is on the main level. Full baths are located upstairs in each bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • * King Bed * Queen Bed * Double Bed * Convertible Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Screened Porch with Outdoor Furniture Group, Covered Front Porch with Rockers, Very Large Paved Flat Area Great for Extra Parking or Area for Kids to Play, Nice Campfire Area

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Tranquility Place - the Ultimate Mountain Experience!
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
5

All the comforts of home

  • 5 of 5

We just got home from our wonderful stay at Tranquility Place over the Christmas holiday. Upon arriving at the cabin, we were amazed that it was even cuter and cozier than the pictures. The cabin was so well stocked with anything you could need from nice serving dishes in the kitchen to extra pillows and blankets in the bedrooms to plentiful seating in the cozy living room. The gas log fireplace was the perfect way to warm up from the cold temps outside. I can’t say enough about how pleasantly surprised we were with the comfort and coziness of this place. And the surrounding towns were close enough for grocery runs and quick day trips to beautiful state parks. We would love to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will look forward to having you back and thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about your experience. Happy New Year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

A very nice cabin BUT

  • 2 of 5

This cabin is very nicely furnished and well-equipped at a great location. It was easy to get to any of our planned destinations from the cabin. All the furnishings and bedding are newer and clean. However, we found bugs upstairs and with a 5-year old son with me, it made me worried. We spent some really cold nights there (10-15 degrees outside) and the central heat of the cabin was not able to warm up or keep the house warm, we were freezing inside even with multiple blankets on. ;( I contacted the owner who always replied to my messages promptly every time but nothing really was solved... All in all, I expected a better cabin/service for our money, especially because of the safety of my son.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for letting us know about issues that might affect other guests! We are so grateful for your visit and sad to hear about some unpleasant parts of your stay. We try very hard to do all we can to prevent such with regular safeguards in place. We've had regular quarterly pest control since 2009 but have never seen the type of bug you saw upstairs (commonly known as a "stink" bug). We also had the HVAC technician come out by noon the day after we found out you were not staying warm. He ran many tests and could not find a deficiency in the system (we use a company regularly). Again, we are sorry that you did not have the experience you had hoped for. For our future guests benefit: Heat/AC - the cabin is served by a heat pump with 2 thermostats. Heat pumps are known to have a harder time warming when the outside air is very cold ( in this case 10-15 degrees ) because it draws in outside air before heating or cooling it. There is also an upstairs thermostat for the system and it could be possible that the upstairs and downstairs thermostats were not synced within a few degrees with one another. We made a trip up to the cabin right away and found the system to be blowing warm air both upstairs and down. We also offered to our guest to use a second space heater we had stored off the master closet and when we arrived we found it had not been taken out and used. Stink Bugs inside - none of our past guests, cleaning staff or handymen have ever seen a stink bug inside. From our research we found the bugs hate the cold and seek light and warmth during extreme cold spells. Our cabin is surrounded by large beautiful trees. The bugs most likely were attracted by the outdoor campfire and flew in to the lights in the cabin when our guest had the door open briefly to come and go at night. We found these bugs do not multiply or carry disease. We did not find any of them on our visit shortly after our guest checked out. Our guest came just after Christmas and over New Years. We responded quickly to all of the concerns even though it was our holiday too. The guest that came to stay just before this guest gave us a 5 star review and did not mention any of these issues. We validate and take very seriously all information given by our guests. We will strive to continue to offer a very high quality experience to all our future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

Betsy has a beautiful place. The decorating will make you giggle at every turn. Peaceful, comfortable and quiet. Just what the doctor ordered. Thank you Betsy!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having guests that enjoy the cabin this much. Thank you so much and please come again as soon as you can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Naples, Florida
5

Perfect cabin in a beautiful area

  • 5 of 5

We evacuated Flirida to escape Irma and were fortunate to find this cabin. Betsy was so helpful and considerate in this very stressful time. The cabin is beautiful and well equipped and had absolutely everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind comments. We were sad you had to leave during the storm and hope that you find things much better than expected when you get back home to Naples. Please come back soon under better circumstances!! We appreciate the time you took to let others know about Tranquility Place!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tranquility Place is a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Tranquility Place! Betsy is so nice and everything was just as pictured. We would definitely stay here again. The place was clean,comfortable and close to everywhere we wanted to go. Thanks again Betsy!

Trish:)

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved having you and so appreciate the time you took to let others know about Tranquility Place cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time in Lakemont! Our family had a great time hiking the trails and going zip lining at Highlands aerial park. We went to Tallulah Gorge and Minnehaha and Angel Falls. Had a wonderful time. Betsy has everything you need in the cabin. Beds were comfortable. Cabin is very clean. Only negative is that the lighting is a little dim in the cabin as the pictures showed. The neighbors are quite nice as well! Just a wonderful weekend.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having your family as well. Thank you for your kind review! I will check on any needed wattage bulb increase to brighten lighting. In the summer the heavy tree foliage does make the interior darker. A recent guest also damaged a very nice bright lamp we had in the master suite which has not yet been replaced. Come again soon! There are endless things to do in Rabun County and surrounding areas.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Atlanta, GA
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Mama G's
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Kingwood Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 441
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Tallulah Grill
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Scaly Mountain
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Rabun Beach/Lake Rabun

Cabin is about 5 minutes north of Tallulah Falls State Park and 7 to 10 minutes south of Clayton

Other Activities: kayaking, wildlife viewing, boating

Golf: Kingwood Resort

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning fee minimum $95 + Tax
Booking fee $15
Tax Rate 5.0%

Holiday rates are slightly higher than normal seasonal rates and do require longer minimum stays. Book direct with owner by calling 404-379-5738 or email bstrauss@kw.com

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties