Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore Estates

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

Call or email for Special Rates - The Firelight cottage is a charming turn of the century built home that has been updated and remodeled and is only 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. It has a covered rocking chair front porch with seasonal mountain views along with a wrap around deck. It sits in a small mountain neighborhood. It has two king bedrooms. Bunks in the third bedroom,sleeper sofa in the living room. King size bedrooms also have their own private entrance onto the covered wrap around deck. After a day of shopping and browsing the many galleries and stores in the area, hiking and enjoying water activities, attending a festival, concert, or play; or visiting the spectacular Biltmore Estate in the Asheville area you can relax in front of the quaint gas log fireplace, watch TV or a DVD from the video library on flat screen TVs, pay a family game or use your laptop to surf the web with high speed WIFI access. Relaxing in the comfortable multiple jet setting Hot Springs spa on the two tiered deck is also a definite option. You can also cook in the kitchen or use the grill out on the private deck. If you’re in the mood for a quick supper out you can enjoy quality restaurants about 3 minutes away in the charming hamlet of Black Mountain.

Peaceful and relaxing, Firelight cottage is a quick 15 minutes away from the center of Asheville with its many world class restaurants, year-round live entertainment, museums, art galleries, theaters, concert halls, and large exhibitions at the Civic Center. The quaint downtown of Black Mountain is only three minutes away from the cottage, with the beautiful Lake Tomahawk only a short five minute drive(see picture. There is a trail around the lake along with a huge twenty five yard pool that can easily accommodate lap swimmers. Access to the Blue Ridge parkway is a quick and easy 10 minutes away. Lake Lure and the beautiful Chimney Rock State Park is a scenic and relaxing 30 minute drive. Mt. Mitchell, highest mountain in the Eastern U.S., is a 45 minute drive up the Blue Ridge Parkway. For those interested participating in workshops and gatherings, the cottage is only a 2 minute drive away from the Ridgecrest Conference Center.

During the spring, summer and fall seasons there are festivals occurring all over the area with the Biltmore Estates Festival of Flowers occurring every April and the L.E.A.F. Festival taking place twice a year in May and October. Asheville is also an antique hunter’s paradise, and the River Arts District (more than 80 artists’ studios) produces some of the best art in America. Shoppers will love the boutiques and specialty shops.

The cottage is also only 2 minutes away from the Ridgecrest Conference Center and a short five minute drive to the beautiful Lake Tomahawk trail and swimming areas.

For those guests needing more sleeping accommodations check out VRBO Listing 276176. It is a mother-in-law cottage sitting next to this cottage and has 2 bedrroms and 1 bath; sleeps up to 6.

Please note that winter road conditions in the mountains can often be unpredictable. While the cottage is close to a main road about (500 feet), the road grade leading up the cottage while small, is still steep enough that a 4 wheel drive vehicle might be required if there is more than a few inches of snow on the ground. In more severe weather ( 3+ inches of snow or ice) guests may have to park at the bottom of the road and walk up to the cottage. Guests should keep abreast of weather conditions several days before their arrival and we also encourage them to call us as well for updated information on weather and road conditions. We highly recommend that guests consider purchasing travel insurance if your stay is in the winter months.

There are a number of steps throughout the house reflecting how rooms were added on throughout its history. This can make the cottage potentially difficult to traverse for elderly or disabled guests. Please call us for more information regarding any questions you might have about this.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Marilyn

Bill and I are seniors who are working. We have been people helpers all our life and made careers out of it. I am a retired social worker. We love the area of Asheville and found it to be very enjoyable and thought that others would want to come and visit but not everyone can afford to pay the high prices of vacation rentals. So we decided to get into the vacation rental business. Bill works full time and I manage the cottage.

Marilyn purchased this house in 2009

Why Marilyn chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We found two cottages that needed TLC. We wanted to buy something old but unique to the area and we surely did find that in Firelight Cottage. We fell in love with the old fashioned porch and the size and quirkyness of the home. We were told that this was a hand built house and that the lumber was milled from timber on the property at a nearby mill. Redoing the plumbing and electricity was quite the comedy as each of the previous owners had done the work themselves. Then we had old fahsioned sewer and water lines as well to address which turned out to be quite the lesson on how to detect underground leaks and find sewer lines. We have laughed and cried over this property and have come to appreciate it's enduring charm. We are glad that we have kept this piece of mountain history alive and renewed its vitality. It has been and continues to be a journey. Each year we are able to do more and more improvements.

What makes this house unique

We love the heavy old fashioned doors with the old fashioned door knobs. The King bedrooms are add ons from one of the previous owners and are charming especially the one we call the hobbit room as you have to bend down a little to go down to that room. We also thought the kitchen which once the porch was quaint with the bead boarding. The clawfoot iron tub is the original and in great shape. The one feature that made us laugh and sealed the deal was the fireplace which leans a little to the right. You just gotta love that....This cottage is kinda like Asheville...a little bit quirky but fun and comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed the uniqueness of this cottage. We loved the front porch seating and being able to rock in the rocking chairs. Black Mountain and Asheville are beautiful cities and we cant wait to visit again. Both of our families enjoyed being able to sit around, relax and just talk. Thanks for having us and we hope to back again.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 82


Biltmore Estate
Blue Ridge Parkway
"You can access the Blue Ridge Parkway from the cottage by going down to exit 55. Turn right..."
Battery Park Book Exchange
"Very unique coffee house, wine bar and used bookstore. They carry many rare first editions a..."
Town of Black Mountain
"Charming and quaint downtown Black Mountain is two minutes from the cottage . Many unique sh..."
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Asheville - Hendersonville Airport
Car: necessary


Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With Flat Screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , With Flat Screen TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , With Flat Screen TV
  • King size beds (2) Two pillowtop king beds in two of the bedrooms. Three steps up to bathrooms. Double bed and Bunk Beds in third bedroom. Bunk Beds are seven feet long with upgraded mattresses.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(80 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
25% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore Estates
average rating of 4.425 based on 162 reviews

House was clean, plenty of room for three couples to visit and sleep. No complaints.

  • 5 of 5

Three brothers and their wives enjoyed the convenience of this house for sleeping, while in the area attending a family reunion in Black Mountain. Location was perfect, accommodations were just what we needed. While we were not using the house for anything but showering, sleeping,and winding down in the evening, it has many amenities that would make it a great get away. Hot tub, backyard lounging area, big living room/tv area, dining room, furnished kitchen, and big furnished front porch make it a very hospitable environment.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful description. It is also a great location as well as being 5 minutes from black mountain it is just 15 minutes from asheville.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our family loved our stay in this mountain cottage!

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful place to stay! A true Appalachian moutain cottage - plenty of room and privacy, nestled in the moutain rhododendrons, hot tub and front porch for relaxing - we loved it with our family of 5.

Expectations as shown on VRBO website, owners easy to communicate with and immediately responsive. We had no problems, all went as advertised, a great experience!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Your description is great. I liked the Appalachian reference. Firelight has its charm for sure. It is a nice size for everyone to stretch out too. It's a wonderful place to have fun and enjoy the mountains.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location for property

  • 5 of 5

Pros: This is a great location for a mountain vacation. While we stayed here for vacation we tubed the French Broad, rafted the Nantahala, hiked to 10 water falls, and visited 8 breweries. The kitchen was stocked with real pots and pans you can use for cooking, not the useless thin $10 sets you find at so many other properties. There was a firepit, a hot tub, and a picnic area on the deck where we ate most of our breakfasts. The deck and eating area were spectacular. The rooms were large.

Cons: There were two ground bee nests. One in the front yard and one in the back yard. The bees in the backyard were a little scary around dinner. Also, there were short steps between areas in the house. Initially we were a little worried with our mother, but we quickly became used to them and there were no issues.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I didn't know about the bees. Thanks I will get the pest company to address that. Yes this cottage is in a great location! The cottage has everything you need to be comfortable. Thanks for listing some of the features that make this cottage a good one to choose.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family-friendly get-away.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at this cottage. It was comfortable and perfect for a family with kids. Marilyn left good instructions, e.g. how to turn on the DVD player, where to take out trash, etc.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quirky, but fun

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time in the cottage. The rooms we used were comfortable, the house well supplied with all the implements we needed, and the area is beautiful. The house slopes, which sometimes felt a little disorientating. The queen mattress in the room with bunk beds sagged on one side and did not look comfortable (2x bunk beds, 1x queen sized bed) - I was glad that we did not need to use that bed. The other 2 rooms (king size beds) were comfortable. I would stay again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am not sure about the double bed in the bunk room because I just heard that a guest loved that bed but I will check on it. We are glad you liked the other features of the house. It's a quirky house with different levels and a a slight slope but it's what we thought was so endearing. But we did have a professional engineer inspect the house to make sure it was stable and would remain that way for years to come when we first purchased it. This house is almost a hundred years old and is a good example of houses built up in the mountains back then. It has its own charm. The location and conveniences are just great. We hope you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here! The beds are super comfortable and there's plenty of room for our family to spread out. The wrap around porch with rocking chairs is fantastic and the hot tub is clean and fun. The appliances are modern and it was nice that we could adjust the temperature in each room to suit our individual preferences. We quickly adapted to the uneven floor levels and just considered them part of the charm. The location is great so we could easily hop on the highway to get to places quickly. The double bed could stand to be leveled a bit and the living room furniture updated. But other than that it was a very relaxing place to be and we will return if we come back to the area in the future!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: it is a really cute cottage. This is the first I have heard about the double bed. We will check on that. We purposely decorated the cottage in sturdy furniture that is suitable for this rustic cottage in the woods. We hope you come back. Thanks for listing all the wonderful qualities this cottage has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $40

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties