Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore Estates

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

Call or email for Special Rates - The Firelight cottage is a charming turn of the century built home that has been updated and remodeled and is only 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. It has a covered rocking chair front porch with seasonal mountain views along with a wrap around deck. It sits in a small mountain neighborhood. It has two king bedrooms. Bunks in the third bedroom,sleeper sofa in the living room. King size bedrooms also have their own private entrance onto the covered wrap around deck. After a day of shopping and browsing the many galleries and stores in the area, hiking and enjoying water activities, attending a festival, concert, or play; or visiting the spectacular Biltmore Estate in the Asheville area you can relax in front of the quaint gas log fireplace, watch TV or a DVD from the video library on flat screen TVs, pay a family game or use your laptop to surf the web with high speed WIFI access. Relaxing in the comfortable multiple jet setting Hot Springs spa on the two tiered deck is also a definite option. You can also cook in the kitchen or use the grill out on the private deck. If you’re in the mood for a quick supper out you can enjoy quality restaurants about 3 minutes away in the charming hamlet of Black Mountain.

Peaceful and relaxing, Firelight cottage is a quick 15 minutes away from the center of Asheville with its many world class restaurants, year-round live entertainment, museums, art galleries, theaters, concert halls, and large exhibitions at the Civic Center. The quaint downtown of Black Mountain is only three minutes away from the cottage, with the beautiful Lake Tomahawk only a short five minute drive(see picture. There is a trail around the lake along with a huge twenty five yard pool that can easily accommodate lap swimmers. Access to the Blue Ridge parkway is a quick and easy 10 minutes away. Lake Lure and the beautiful Chimney Rock State Park is a scenic and relaxing 30 minute drive. Mt. Mitchell, highest mountain in the Eastern U.S., is a 45 minute drive up the Blue Ridge Parkway. For those interested participating in workshops and gatherings, the cottage is only a 2 minute drive away from the Ridgecrest Conference Center.

During the spring, summer and fall seasons there are festivals occurring all over the area with the Biltmore Estates Festival of Flowers occurring every April and the L.E.A.F. Festival taking place twice a year in May and October. Asheville is also an antique hunter’s paradise, and the River Arts District (more than 80 artists’ studios) produces some of the best art in America. Shoppers will love the boutiques and specialty shops.

The cottage is also only 2 minutes away from the Ridgecrest Conference Center and a short five minute drive to the beautiful Lake Tomahawk trail and swimming areas.

For those guests needing more sleeping accommodations check out VRBO Listing 276176. It is a mother-in-law cottage sitting next to this cottage and has 2 bedrroms and 1 bath; sleeps up to 6.

Please note that winter road conditions in the mountains can often be unpredictable. While the cottage is close to a main road about (500 feet), the road grade leading up the cottage while small, is still steep enough that a 4 wheel drive vehicle might be required if there is more than a few inches of snow on the ground. In more severe weather ( 3+ inches of snow or ice) guests may have to park at the bottom of the road and walk up to the cottage. Guests should keep abreast of weather conditions several days before their arrival and we also encourage them to call us as well for updated information on weather and road conditions. We highly recommend that guests consider purchasing travel insurance if your stay is in the winter months.

There are a number of steps throughout the house reflecting how rooms were added on throughout its history. This can make the cottage potentially difficult to traverse for elderly or disabled guests. Please call us for more information regarding any questions you might have about this.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Marilyn
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Marilyn

Bill and I are seniors who are working. We have been people helpers all our life and made careers out of it. I am a retired social worker. We love the area of Asheville and found it to be very enjoyable and thought that others would want to come and visit but not everyone can afford to pay the high prices of vacation rentals. So we decided to get into the vacation rental business. Bill works full time and I manage the cottage.

Marilyn purchased this house in 2009

Why Marilyn chose Black Mountain

We found two cottages that needed TLC. We wanted to buy something old but unique to the area and we surely did find that in Firelight Cottage. We fell in love with the old fashioned porch and the size and quirkyness of the home. We were told that this was a hand built house and that the lumber was milled from timber on the property at a nearby mill. Redoing the plumbing and electricity was quite the comedy as each of the previous owners had done the work themselves. Then we had old fahsioned sewer and water lines as well to address which turned out to be quite the lesson on how to detect underground leaks and find sewer lines. We have laughed and cried over this property and have come to appreciate it's enduring charm. We are glad that we have kept this piece of mountain history alive and renewed its vitality. It has been and continues to be a journey. Each year we are able to do more and more improvements.

What makes this house unique

We love the heavy old fashioned doors with the old fashioned door knobs. The King bedrooms are add ons from one of the previous owners and are charming especially the one we call the hobbit room as you have to bend down a little to go down to that room. We also thought the kitchen which once the porch was quaint with the bead boarding. The clawfoot iron tub is the original and in great shape. The one feature that made us laugh and sealed the deal was the fireplace which leans a little to the right. You just gotta love that....This cottage is kinda like Asheville...a little bit quirky but fun and comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed the uniqueness of this cottage. We loved the front porch seating and being able to rock in the rocking chairs. Black Mountain and Asheville are beautiful cities and we cant wait to visit again. Both of our families enjoyed being able to sit around, relax and just talk. Thanks for having us and we hope to back again.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 82

Amenities

Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With Flat Screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , With Flat Screen TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , With Flat Screen TV
  • King size beds (2) Two pillowtop king beds in two of the bedrooms. Three steps up to bathrooms. Double bed and Bunk Beds in third bedroom. Bunk Beds are seven feet long with upgraded mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(85 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
24% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
Cozy Mountain Setting 15 Minutes to Asheville and Biltmore Estates
average rating of 4.4235296 based on 167 reviews
5

Wonderful family get away

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time in Asheville. The house was perfect for us and the owners could not have been nicer. We will definitely be back for a stay on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your happy review. We are pleased that this was a good fit for you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was really cute and we totally enjoyed our stay. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean and very well kept. My only suggestion is there is a step down in the kitchen that was not very well pointed out and my Dad took a pretty good fall going into the house for the first time. Other than that no complaints.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry your dad fell. We have a sign there by the step down from the living room to dining room. We are mulling over what we can do differently. We always appreciate feedback.We always like to hear that everything else was good.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very cozy!

  • 4 of 5

Very secluded and quiet. Clean!

Owner more than helpful!

Lockbox somewhat difficult to open .

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes on occasion someone who hasn't ever done a lock box does have trouble. We do send instrctions and you can call us if that happens. Sorry we didn't know you had trouble with that. Thank you for your wonderful review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Zebulon, NC
3

Not what I was expecting!!

  • 3 of 5

The cottage and general property wasn't what I was expecting from the description(s) posted on the cottage site. A bit misleading.The area was fantastic as far as location. There were issues from the beginning thru the week, but will not go into details. We over came them and moved on. Marilyn understood our concerns and I believe the issues will be addressed. Black Mountain and Asheville both are wonderful places to spend family vacation. There is something for the entire family to do. The Blue Ridge Parkway drive is breath taking. So much to see and do on the Parkway. I would recommend the area any time of the seasons.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate customer concerns. We do appreciate communication as it helps us create a better experience for our customers. We do understand that this was not a good fit for this customer,however we do try very hard to show and tell what the cottage is like. We always welcome questions or concerns before someone rents as we want it to be a good fit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

This house was the perfect location for my vacation in Asheville -- a quick 20 minutes! The town of Black Mountain is also really nice. It's super quaint and friendly. Nonetheless, the property itself is beautiful and the outdoor amenities are a plus. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is such a great location as you can hop into black mountain a quick 5 minutes and then into asheville,both unique towns. Art and music are promienent in the area but these two places are my favorites. The cottage is large and has the basic comforts of being at home. You can have a fire outside and a hot tub experience on the large deck.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

House was clean, plenty of room for three couples to visit and sleep. No complaints.

  • 5 of 5

Three brothers and their wives enjoyed the convenience of this house for sleeping, while in the area attending a family reunion in Black Mountain. Location was perfect, accommodations were just what we needed. While we were not using the house for anything but showering, sleeping,and winding down in the evening, it has many amenities that would make it a great get away. Hot tub, backyard lounging area, big living room/tv area, dining room, furnished kitchen, and big furnished front porch make it a very hospitable environment.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful description. It is also a great location as well as being 5 minutes from black mountain it is just 15 minutes from asheville.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Biltmore Estate
Blue Ridge Parkway
"You can access the Blue Ridge Parkway from the cottage by going down to exit 55. Turn right..."
Battery Park Book Exchange
"Very unique coffee house, wine bar and used bookstore. They carry many rare first editions a..."
Town of Black Mountain
"Charming and quaint downtown Black Mountain is two minutes from the cottage . Many unique sh..."
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Asheville - Hendersonville Airport
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $40
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties