Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front/View Condo

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 720 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-4)

RENT DIRECT FROM THE OWNERS AND SAVE!!! There's nothing more relaxing than sitting on the lanai watching the palm trees sway in the afternoon breeze while enjoying the fabulous ocean view; the swells breaking over the reef where green sea turtles play. October through April you can see the whales as they breach and teach their young, that’s right, whale watching is possible from the lanai!

Located on the second floor, the Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) Resort includes a Sparkling Tile Pool, Hot Tub, and Kiddies Pool, these pools also have beautiful murals of whales and turtles. Putting green, shuffleboard, and volleyball court, as well as barbecue facilities are also on the grounds. Our guests are welcome to use the two public tennis courts located south of Kauhale Makai. Laundry facilities are on nearly every floor of the resort. In addition, a concierge next to the front quest for booking events and attractions.

This condo is furnished with granite kitchen counters, electric appliances, tile flooring and bathroom separated from the lavatory; everything one would need for a 'home away from home. We lament sleeping on poor beds while on vacation, with visions of our bed back home. This is why we have a King-size 'Pillow Top bed manufactured by Custom Comfort Mattress Company in the bedroom. We are sure you will appreciate a good sleep while on vacation. In addition, should you tire of the ocean views, there is high-speed wireless internet for our guests to surf the web or access their e-mail through our WiFi router allowing you to connect your own laptop. The entire condo has been furnished and decorated with island furniture and art, and there is, CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING! From the moment you walk through the door you will know you are in Paradise. Sorry, but no pets are allowed (resort rules). This is a NON-SMOKING unit.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About The Owner

We have been coming to Hawaii several times each year during the past decade for business and thought; maybe we should invest in our retirement plan now. That was 2002 and we never looked back since. Maui continues to be the one place we can let our shoulders drop and let the tension of work and daily stresses melt away. Our children ask to come to Maui every chance they get. All seasons and through all weather conditions, we have found our sanctuary from the busy, stresses of everyday life. We hope you find our little piece of paradise as enjoyable as we do.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2002

Why The Owner chose South Maui

Maui is our favorite Hawaiian island, Molokai is probably the most serene, but too small to accommodate vacation renters.

What makes this condo unique

While on the mainland, we long for our morning ritual of a cup of coffee on the lanai; watching whales and the parade of boats making their way to Molokini for snorkeling trips. Every evening the sky is a tapestry of color as the sun sets and paints the clouds with the most vibrant colors and shapes as a backdrop to the palm trees keeping in rhythm with the island breeze.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Michael and Alicia,

I apologize we did not get a review in on time, I didn't realize there was a time frame, this was our first time using vrbo. We had a lovely wedding/honeymoon and loved your condo. It was perfect for our needs. We would recommend your place to friends asnd family and we will definitely book with you on our next trip.

With gratitude,
May 2017
  • 1 of 13

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahului Airport (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Who Cut the Cheese
Nearest Ferry
21.5 Miles
Lahaina
Nearest Golf
1.7 Miles
Elliair Maui Golf Club
Nearest Train
22 Miles
The Sugar Train attraction is in Lahaina
Nearest Motorway
0.6 Miles
Piilani Hwy 31
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Stella Blues
Nearest Beach
1.9 Miles
Kalama Beach Park
Car: recommended

Whale watching (In Season)

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub with shower and water closet (Toilet) are separate from the Lavatory for privacy.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Custom Comfort Mattress Company Pillow Plush., Sleep Sofa (1) 1 twin size in living room with linens in the upper cabinet of wall unit, Murphy Beds (1) Queen side tilt. Includes enough storage and closet space for two people comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Putting Green and Shuffle Board in the central courtyard area.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
6% Complete
Ocean Front/View Condo
average rating of 4.4126983 based on 76 reviews
Houston, TX, USA
4

Really great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Mike and Alicia! Thanks for the lovely condo. We had a very comfortable stay. When we arrived everything was in place. The location is really great, and we enjoyed spending time at the accessible beach behind the complex. The kitchen was very well equipped, though we did not use much as there were plenty of affordable resturants in the area with a veriety of choices to choose from. Thanks again.

Priya and Gaurav.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

First time to Maui, for the price this is great property! Worked out to be a great location for us.

  • 5 of 5

The Kauhale Makai village by the sea is a very well maintained property. Nice grounds and pool area. Has putting green, volleyball court, shuffle bording, horse shoe pit, saunas, hot tub, 8' deep pool, ample lounge chairs, children's wading pool, 5 gas bbq's, picnic tables and tiki torches were lit every night, also looks like all units have ocean views, elevators and coin laundry facilities on each floor. Stayed in Michael and Alicia Ondos property # 27285. First impressions were that it was clean and had most all the conveniences of home. Has a tropical theme which we liked. Bamboo furnishings and trim, Ocean and local style art. Bed was comfortable. There was also a twin sleeper love seat, a queen/full murphy bed and another pull down bed in the kitchen bar. So this place could sleep up to 6. The only downside to having extra guests is only one bathroom which is open to the bedroom. Something a folding privacy screen or room divider could fix. The kitchen is nice and has everything you need so you don't have to eat out every night. Plenty of pots and pans dishes ect. Also there is boogie boards a cooler and ice packs (which we used). Didn't get to use the Lanai/Patio during our stay because of construction so all the deck furniture was inside which made it seem a little smaller. I noticed some sand on the bed which was concrete dust from patio door slightly open. Just shook comforter off and vacuumed rug with vacuum in closet. Yeah the TV's arn't very fancy a 19"glass tube in bedroom and maybe a 30" flat screen in living room. Couldn't get programing on living room tv, keep saying no signal, bedroom tv remote had no batery so pretty much left it on the Maui visitor ch..oh well didn't go there to watch tv. Went to Maui for Daughter's destination wedding and the location of this property was perfect for us. Son & grandkids were at Sugarbeach. Daughter, Sister and Brother, stayed around the Kamaole 2 area and Wailea so we were in between. The Kamaole area has beter walk ability more shops close by some nightlife ect. This area was more quiet. The beach way less crowded and had some pumice stones. About 3 blocks North is Kalepolepo which is a great less crowded beach. I didn't get to meet the owners, but got a VRBO mesage about new furniture to replace a broke chair left at office. Couldn't get logged in to Vrbo at the time to answer them. But past interactions via email have always been quickly answered. Would definitely stay here again 5☆

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs, CO
3

Good location, run down property

  • 3 of 5

This condo was probably a great pick about 15 years ago. The space is fantastic--one bedroom, roomy living area with murphy bed, and a nice deck which is great for the sunsets. However, the furniture is old and creates a musty smell in the condo and the AC kicks in a moldy smell that my wife who has asthma had a hard time handling. We did receive prompt attention when we complained and got some cleaning products to work on the moldy smell, but in all honesty this unit needs a deep cleaning and a remodel. At least one sofa chair was unusable because a leg was ripped off. However, if you don't mind the musty smell and you are trying to keep your vacation inexpensive, it works fine.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry to hear you feel this way. We have an on-island contact whom was able to assist. Please know all furnishings were updated within the past 4 years. It's unfortunate to hear about the musty odor, since the A/C was recently upgraded and we had no problems during our Thanksgiving 2016 visit, when we purchased two chairs in the living room and had the bathroom repaired.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, great location, overall nice property

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here while visiting with friends for a wedding so other than sleeping and taking the occasional shower, we didn't really use the place much. If you go to Hawaii to stay in your room, this place probably isn't for you as the TV (in the bedroom) and other forms of entertainment are a bit outdated. However, if all you are looking for in a place to stay is cleanliness, good amount of space, and decent location then this is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Michael and Alice responded very quickly when we needed to get in contact with them. The price was great and would recommend family and friends to stay here!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your time providing feedback. We strive to maintain a clean and functioning unit at a great price for our guests. We make every effort to reply to our guests concerns in a timely manner. Please know we, the owners, are located on the mainland; but, our on-island contact information is on the fridge for the fastest response to our guest's needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location. Close to the beach, restaurants, shopping and the grocery store. Great for 3 people but a tighter squeeze with 4. Large fridge and good appliances in the kitchen. If you're staying long, you'll need to buy extra toilet paper and paper towels for the room. TV in the bedroom is outdated and the remote was broken. Blowdryer was also broken. I emailed the owner but he was non-responsive.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were unable to locate the email you mentioned sending, but appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We have removed the hair dryer as an amenity as this, along with Boogie Boards, are high maintenance items and need replacement far too often.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Registration $15
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties