Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Poipu Shores 206A Fully Oceanfront 2BR Condo Air Conditioned Ocean Sunset Views

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4). You are right on the Blue Pacific here!

Dramatic oceanfront living at it's tropical finest. Qualitiy design,amenities and decor make your stay comfortable and memorable. This condo is air conditioned! King and Queen bedrooms, both in-suite, with full size washer and dryer. Ocean lullaby for a restful sleep after enjoying the beauty and splendor of the Garden Island. A short oceanfront stroll brings you to the world famous Poipu Beach Park, restaurants and access to the amenities of Poipu. It's 'Simply, Poipu'

Hawaii Transient Accommodation #TA-116-861-1328-01

More Details

Property Manager
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 12, 2018

About Patricia

Tom and I were married on Kauai in 1977. He actually proposed under a palm at Poipu Beach! We became condo owners at Poipu Shores in 1992 and have owned as many as four condos at once there. Currently we own 2 and manage seven. We are a quality resource for your questions and know every inch of the island, including all of the Poipu vacation properties. We live in Honolulu, which gives us easy access to Kauai, and I do go there often to give the 'white glove treatment' to all our condos. This is a vast difference from Mainland owners who do long distance maintenance and oversight of the property. Depend on us for the current information on all things Kauai and Hawaii.

Patricia purchased this condo in 2001

Guestbook comments from the manager

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your condo. We found everything, except sometimes the weather, very well maintained and in very good working order. We look forward to returning again and enjoying the beautiful view from the lanai.
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 1


Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms are en suite for the respective bedrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing


3.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
20% Complete
Poipu Shores 206A Fully Oceanfront 2BR Condo Air Conditioned Ocean Sunset Views
average rating of 3.7 based on 11 reviews

We would not stay here again.

  • 2 of 5

The view is the best thing about this condo. The beds were comfortable, but the second bedroom is so small, there was no where to put your clothes away, except for a tiny closet and a small dresser that had broken knobs and the drawers were difficult to open and close. Some of the glass blinds didn't close all the way or were very difficult to turn because the handles were so corroded, one was completely broken and came off in your hand, obviously because of the closeness to the ocean but we were in another condo here and theirs worked great. The master bedroom/bathroom was very nice and the view was great. The living room furniture is uncomfortable and the wicker sofa is very worn. The seagrass flooring was uncomfortable on your feet and we all chose to wear socks or slippers in the evenings. The copper kitchen counters were peeling so bad, when you wiped them down, you had this odd plastic material all over your washcloth. The pots and pans were new but I had to scrub the blender to make tropical drinks because it was so dirty. There are no bar stools at the kitchen bar, we thought that was strange. We saw turtles and whales every day from the lanai and liked the high bar stools, except for the fact the vinyl is broken on the back of all of them. This condo feels very dark because of the Indonesian type of furnishings. The pool was awesome and very warm.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great staff

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Wish it had a sand beach but we found it.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Venetia, PA

uncomfortable and not worth the money

  • 1 of 5

To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. The only nice thing about this unit is the view. We were booked for 10d but after just 4d we left to find a more comfortable and clean unit for the remainder of our stay. This place isn't worth the money at all. Here's why: 1. Look carefully at the pics and you see there is NO carpet...instead it is a sisal/wicker hard surface which HURT to walk on! When I called to complain I was told owners like the "beach" look and feel and won't upgrade to carpet (even at realtor's suggestion). Told us to wear our shoes if our feet hurt and offered to bring throw rugs (Patricia did bring 2 but it's not enough to cover the whole unit!) Who wants to wear their shoes all day in the unit?!? 2. While we knew there was no A/C and have stayed in Poipu many times and not had a problem this unit gets ZERO air flow. It is stifling & I therefore was unable to sleep pretty much at all. 3. There was NO soap. Shower dispensers empty. No bar soap. Dispensers for sinks (once you pumped about 10x) was a very runny liquid that was a poor excuse for soap. Why should we have had to call to ask for soap? We shouldn't have, so we didn't. 4. DIRTY POTS, SILVERWARE & COFFEE POT! The coffee pot had dried grounds in it! Clearly hadn't even been rinsed and the machine itself looked like it had never been cleaned. Found several dirty pots and silverware with food crusted on them. 5. The balcony furniture in the picture is NOT what is in the unit. The unit has the most uncomfortable bar style (high) table and chairs -- height wasn't a problem but the chairs had no armrests. Completely uncomfortable. Not to mention the table, 4 chairs AND a lounge chair were all rammed onto a tiny lanai which made it too crowded. When I asked if we could get a small low table and chairs I was told "you have to have the hightop table so you can see over the railing to see the ocean." UMMM - not so! Look at the pictures above (and we looked at all the other units while we were sitting at the pool) --- the balcony is GLASS and you can see right thru it to see the ocean! So we never sat on the lanai either. 6. Unit is tiny - made even moreso by the giant furniture. This unit needs smaller furniture in order to feel more comfortable. 7. Broken disposal & light switches.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the time the guest took to write this review. Of course, no property manager likes to get this kind of review. So allow us to make a point by point comment… 1. About 1 out of 10 guests make a comment on the seagrass flooring. It, in fact, is a very tropical look. The owners of this condo do like the look and feel of it and we do not attempt “hide” the floorcovering as it is clearly shown in the video and stills on our site. Many homes and condos on the island have seagrass. The guest did tell us that she had plantar fasciitis and walking on anything is painful. 2. We are in the middle of a very unusual heat wave here, going on over 3 weeks, with temperatures in the low 90’s with no trade winds to speak of. Everyone on Kauai is feeling the heat. The owners are sensitive to this and are now in the process of installing an AC solution in the next month or so. There were three ceiling fans as well as free standing fans for their use. 3. No excuse for this. Our cleaning crew has been notified. This is not our norm by any means. 4. No excuse for this. Our cleaning crew has been notified. This is not our norm by any means. 5. It is difficult to keep up our photos when furniture is upgraded, as was the case here. The correct lanai furniture was shown on our virtual tour available to all visitors on VRBO. Our guests at all our oceanfront properties prefer bar style chairs so their view is completely unobstructed. Most of our homes have upgraded to this style, because while the barrier is glass, the top is metal which is pretty close to eye level if viewing from a standard chair. 6. Each condo is decorated to the owner’s taste, which this guest didn’t feel akin to. 7. Running a disposal is not in the normal out cleaning process. This guest should have contacted us and we would have repaired any issues which she uncovered during her stay. This home has dimmer switches and often when the dimmer is slid all the way down, turning on and off the lights creates no light. We are sorry this guest was so unhappy. It is never our intent. If this guest would have communicated her unhappiness and displeasure, we would have gladly moved them to other available oceanfront homes on the property. We had two that were open. We have a staff to deal with these
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Terrific views!

  • 4 of 5

This is a nice condo with absolutely amazing views of the ocean--we saw whales and sea turtles almost every day and also saw dolphins--all right off our balcony. It is also very close to the Poipu Beach--just a few hundred yards.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fontana, CA

Great views - excellent location

  • 4 of 5

The Condo was a good condition the only issue was the light in the master bath room would not come on. The only other negative was the pans were in very poor condition. Even with not stick spray the eggs would stick to the pan... there was no no stick coating left.

The view was breathtaking and a loved the sound of the crashing waves against the clift. My wife on the other hand couldn't sleep so she slept in the 2nd bedroom and she loved waking up to the birds singing.

It was walking distance from the Condo to a swimable beach and small shops.

I highly recommend this condo but you do need to leave your windows open as there was no AC, so you must like the sound of crashing wave.. Outstanding location.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: April 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston TX

Sharon and Danilo

  • 5 of 5

Awesome condo, perfect location.

Owners are the best, fully and beautifully furnished with everything you need.

No AC, cross breezes are nice.

Would go back here and stay forever:).

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Paco's Tacos Cantina Poipu
Mexican Restaurant
Bangkok Happy Bowl Thai Bistro and Bar - Poipu, Kauai
Thai Restaurant
Anuenue Cafe
Breakfast Restaurant
Puka Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs
Hot Dog Restaurant
Island Taco
Mexican Restaurant
Poipu Shopping Village
Poipu Rock n' Roll Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Papalani Gelato Poipu Shopping Village
Ice Cream Shop
Breakfast Restaurant
Keoki's Paradise
Hawaiian Restaurant
Little Fish Coffee Poipu
Coffee Shop
Plantation Gardens Restaurant & Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Holoholo Grill
Red Salt at Ko'a Kea
Hawaiian Restaurant
Loco Coco
RumFire Poipu Beach
Da Crack
Mexican Restaurant
Makai Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Bubba Burger
Hamburger Restaurant
Bubba Burgers
Hamburger Restaurant
Savage Shrimp
Seafood Restaurant
Lappert's Hawaii
Ice Cream Shop
"Tortilla Republic ""The Upstairs"""
Mexican Restaurant
TR Cantina & Margarita Bar
Mexican Restaurant
Merriman's Fish House
Seafood Restaurant
Gourmet Pizza and Burgers by Merriman´s
American Restaurant
The Dolphin Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Shops At Kukuiula
Eating House 1849 Koloa
Hawaiian Restaurant
Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Seafood Restaurant
Kalapaki Joe's POIPU
Sports Bar
Poipu Beach Park
Prince Kuhio Park
Beach House Restaurant
Fine Dining Restaurant
Riptides Shave Ice & Snacks Kauai
Rip Tides LLC
Snack Bar
Seaview Terrace
Espresso Bar
Stevenson's Library
Koloa Shave Ice
Aloha Roastery Specialty Coffee
Seafood Restaurant
Orchid Food Shop Food Truck
Craving Thai
Thai Restaurant
Chalupa's Mexican Food
Mexican Restaurant
D Green's BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Garden Island Grille
Pizza Restaurant
Koloa Mill Ice Cream & Coffee
Ice Cream Shop
Koloa Deli
Poipu Bay Golf Course

Very few locations on Kauai are fully oceanfront. Dramatic ocean audio and views all along the south shore, with close beach access. Small boutique property, with only 38 condos, all oceanfront. Spectacular oceanfront pool. Quiet, safe and peaceful. Lovely botanical gardens behind the property, with parking.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Out Cleaning $156.26
Tax Rate 14.42%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.