check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Poipu Shores 206A Fully Oceanfront 2BR Condo 2nd Floor Elegant

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Dramatic oceanfront living at it's tropical finest. Qualitiy design,amenities and decor make your stay comfortable and memorable. King and Queen bedrooms, both in-suite, with full size washer and dryer. Ocean lullaby for a restful sleep after enjoying the beauty and splendor of the Garden Island. A short oceanfront stroll brings you to the world famous Poipu Beach Park, restaurants and access to the amenities of Poipu. It's 'Simply, Poipu'

Hawaii Transient Accommodation #W2545249-01

  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2016
Call Manager

About Patricia

Tom and I were married on Kauai in 1977. He actually proposed under a palm at Poipu Beach! We became condo owners at Poipu Shores in 1992 and have owned as many as four condos at once there. Currently we own 2 and manage seven. We are a quality resource for your questions and know every inch of the island, including all of the Poipu vacation properties. We live in Honolulu, which gives us easy access to Kauai, and I do go there often to give the 'white glove treatment' to all our condos. This is a vast difference from Mainland owners who do long distance maintenance and oversight of the property. Depend on us for the current information on all things Kauai and Hawaii.

Patricia purchased this condo in 2001

Why Patricia chose South Shore

Poipu Shores 305A is considered a Deluxe condo category rankings at Poipu Shores. This means our condo (and any other condo in the A building) that ends in the number 4, 5 or 7, is larger by at least 135 sq. ft. than those ending in 1, 2, 3 or 6. They also have lanais (decks) that are twice the size of the other condos. This comes in handy for Sunset and whale viewing and dining on your lania with more than two people. We are at Poipu Shores because of the best views on the water at Poipu, the short walk to Poipu Beach and the quiet and boutique atmosphere of the property. We are very secluded and quiet. Of course, our oceannfront pool is The Place! A building Condos ending in number 5,6, and 7 are situated in a way that the entire South Shore of Kauai, from Poipu Beach to Niihau, is seen from the condos. ending numbers 1,2,3 and 4 condos only have those views from their lanais.

What makes this condo unique

This condo was extensively remodeled in 2007. Slate floors, crown mouldings, new slate master shower and kitchen back splashes. New stone on the lanai. You will enjoy the extra square footage of this condo compared to the 'standard' condos in the A building. We never put more than four people in our home and the quality reflects that concern. The pool, the view, the sound of the ocean is what will bring you back again and again. Almost 20% of our guests are return visitors to our condo.

Guestbook comments from the manager

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your condo. We found everything, except sometimes the weather, very well maintained and in very good working order. We look forward to returning again and enjoying the beautiful view from the lanai.
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 1


Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Poipu Shores 206A Fully Oceanfront 2BR Condo 2nd Floor Elegant
average rating of 3.75 based on 9 reviews
Venetia, PA

uncomfortable and not worth the money

  • 1 of 5

To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. The only nice thing about this unit is the view. We were booked for 10d but after just 4d we left to find a more comfortable and clean unit for the remainder of our stay. This place isn't worth the money at all. Here's why: 1. Look carefully at the pics and you see there is NO carpet...instead it is a sisal/wicker hard surface which HURT to walk on! When I called to complain I was told owners like the "beach" look and feel and won't upgrade to carpet (even at realtor's suggestion). Told us to wear our shoes if our feet hurt and offered to bring throw rugs (Patricia did bring 2 but it's not enough to cover the whole unit!) Who wants to wear their shoes all day in the unit?!? 2. While we knew there was no A/C and have stayed in Poipu many times and not had a problem this unit gets ZERO air flow. It is stifling & I therefore was unable to sleep pretty much at all. 3. There was NO soap. Shower dispensers empty. No bar soap. Dispensers for sinks (once you pumped about 10x) was a very runny liquid that was a poor excuse for soap. Why should we have had to call to ask for soap? We shouldn't have, so we didn't. 4. DIRTY POTS, SILVERWARE & COFFEE POT! The coffee pot had dried grounds in it! Clearly hadn't even been rinsed and the machine itself looked like it had never been cleaned. Found several dirty pots and silverware with food crusted on them. 5. The balcony furniture in the picture is NOT what is in the unit. The unit has the most uncomfortable bar style (high) table and chairs -- height wasn't a problem but the chairs had no armrests. Completely uncomfortable. Not to mention the table, 4 chairs AND a lounge chair were all rammed onto a tiny lanai which made it too crowded. When I asked if we could get a small low table and chairs I was told "you have to have the hightop table so you can see over the railing to see the ocean." UMMM - not so! Look at the pictures above (and we looked at all the other units while we were sitting at the pool) --- the balcony is GLASS and you can see right thru it to see the ocean! So we never sat on the lanai either. 6. Unit is tiny - made even moreso by the giant furniture. This unit needs smaller furniture in order to feel more comfortable. 7. Broken disposal & light switches.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the time the guest took to write this review. Of course, no property manager likes to get this kind of review. So allow us to make a point by point comment… 1. About 1 out of 10 guests make a comment on the seagrass flooring. It, in fact, is a very tropical look. The owners of this condo do like the look and feel of it and we do not attempt “hide” the floorcovering as it is clearly shown in the video and stills on our site. Many homes and condos on the island have seagrass. The guest did tell us that she had plantar fasciitis and walking on anything is painful. 2. We are in the middle of a very unusual heat wave here, going on over 3 weeks, with temperatures in the low 90’s with no trade winds to speak of. Everyone on Kauai is feeling the heat. The owners are sensitive to this and are now in the process of installing an AC solution in the next month or so. There were three ceiling fans as well as free standing fans for their use. 3. No excuse for this. Our cleaning crew has been notified. This is not our norm by any means. 4. No excuse for this. Our cleaning crew has been notified. This is not our norm by any means. 5. It is difficult to keep up our photos when furniture is upgraded, as was the case here. The correct lanai furniture was shown on our virtual tour available to all visitors on VRBO. Our guests at all our oceanfront properties prefer bar style chairs so their view is completely unobstructed. Most of our homes have upgraded to this style, because while the barrier is glass, the top is metal which is pretty close to eye level if viewing from a standard chair. 6. Each condo is decorated to the owner’s taste, which this guest didn’t feel akin to. 7. Running a disposal is not in the normal out cleaning process. This guest should have contacted us and we would have repaired any issues which she uncovered during her stay. This home has dimmer switches and often when the dimmer is slid all the way down, turning on and off the lights creates no light. We are sorry this guest was so unhappy. It is never our intent. If this guest would have communicated her unhappiness and displeasure, we would have gladly moved them to other available oceanfront homes on the property. We had two that were open. We have a staff to deal with these
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Terrific views!

  • 4 of 5

This is a nice condo with absolutely amazing views of the ocean--we saw whales and sea turtles almost every day and also saw dolphins--all right off our balcony. It is also very close to the Poipu Beach--just a few hundred yards.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fontana, CA

Great views - excellent location

  • 4 of 5

The Condo was a good condition the only issue was the light in the master bath room would not come on. The only other negative was the pans were in very poor condition. Even with not stick spray the eggs would stick to the pan... there was no no stick coating left.

The view was breathtaking and a loved the sound of the crashing waves against the clift. My wife on the other hand couldn't sleep so she slept in the 2nd bedroom and she loved waking up to the birds singing.

It was walking distance from the Condo to a swimable beach and small shops.

I highly recommend this condo but you do need to leave your windows open as there was no AC, so you must like the sound of crashing wave.. Outstanding location.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston TX

Sharon and Danilo

  • 5 of 5

Awesome condo, perfect location.

Owners are the best, fully and beautifully furnished with everything you need.

No AC, cross breezes are nice.

Would go back here and stay forever:).

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ontario, Canada

Poipu Shores

  • 5 of 5

We found this property online. From the beginning, Patricia was first class and the rest of the stay matched that experience. The property was wonderfully situated by the oceana and within walking distance of a great beach for swimming and snorkeling. The building was quiet, well maintained and it was easy to reach most of the main tourist sites. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

As for the island, it is now our favourite of all the Hawaiian Islands and we will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, Colorado

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

We (2 couples) have stayed in this unit before and happily returned ( this is our 3rd or 4th time renting from the managers and we have been well treated every time - with great customer service.) I read the prior review about the construction and feel bad for the people but it so much of this is out of the manager's hands. In terms of a construction status - it seems to be almost done. We have been here for over a week so far and there was only one day of 'bad' noise and even then it wasn't continuous. Most days there is no noise at all from that unit. We spend a lot of time in the condo - because we LOVE the lanai views which are fantastic for whale and turtle watching. As an fyi, we have never been bothered by the trash shute since it is in a 'closet' with a door and is not directly in front of this unit anyway. Again - we love the unit and have been treated excellently by the managers every time we've rented here. They care about their guests and have gone above and beyond to meet our needs. It has been a great stay and we hope to return again soon.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Very few locations on Kauai are fully oceanfront. Dramatic ocean audio and views all along the south shore, with close beach access. Small boutique property, with only 38 condos, all oceanfront. Spectacular oceanfront pool. Quiet, safe and peaceful. Lovely botanical gardens behind the property, with parking.


Rates & Availability

Poipu Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Season Special 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
Holiday 2016/2017
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
Spring 2017
Apr 25 2017 - Jun 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 2 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
Low Season Special 2017
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
Holiday 2017 / 2018
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 4 2018
5 night minimum stay
Winter 2018
Jan 5 2018 - Apr 22 2018
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Out Cleaning $156
Tax Rate 13.42%

$500 deposit holds your reservation until 60 days prior to arrival when your balance is due in full. $75.00 administration fee on all cancellations. There is a 3% credit card convenience fee not included in the VRBO total, which can be waived if you pay with personal check or bank transfer.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms are en suite for the respective bedrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties