Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rays' Riverfront Retreat on the Upper Truckee R. Near Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12) on 1 acre-Riverfront property

Life on the river is truly amazing! Rays Riverfront Retreat is a 2,700 sq ft updated home on a large acre lot backing up to the Upper Truckee River. Come enjoy the large private swimming hole directly behind the home with your own beach. Sit on the deck looking out to the river and enjoy gorgeous mountain, river and meadow views. The home is centrally located between all three major south shore ski areas: Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra at Tahoe and three great golf courses. Just a short drive to the nightlife, gambling and world class entertainment provided at Stateline by Harvey's, MontBleu, Harrah's and the Hardrock Casino.

The home features 5 spacious bedrooms; including two master bedrooms with king beds and private baths, two bedrooms with queen beds (one with an additional single bed), one room with single bunk beds and a large loft with a sofa/queen bed. The 3.5 newly remodeled baths include dual head showers, jetted tub and heated floor. The home uses a high efficiency tankless water heater. (Never run out of hot water!) There is a large garage and large driveway for four additional cars. A large deck overlooks the backyard lawn leading to the river.

Come home to a warm log fireplace after a great day of Lake Tahoe recreation. The large dining room table expands to seat 10 and the kitchen includes all the amenities of home. Ray's Riverfront Retreat is the true embodiment of the Lake Tahoe lifestyle.

***Please note:

- Minimum age to rent is 30.

- We do not allow any wedding related activities on our property.

- This is a smoke-free property. Absolutely no smoking inside or anywhere on the property.

- We do not allow any pets.

Keywords: House, Ski cabin, Summer cabin, Quiet getaway, Riverfront Property

More Details

Mike Ray
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Mike Ray

I have been skiing around Tahoe for over 45 years. A few years ago, my family and I realized a longtime dream of owning a vacation home in Lake Tahoe. When looking for this home, we wanted a place that felt like a peaceful mountain retreat. Our family loves the outdoors and all the fun recreation that goes with it; and this vacation home let's us enjoy all of it. We have put a lot of love and effort into upgrading the house into a comfortable and welcome place to enjoy. We hope you enjoy it too.

Mike Ray purchased this house in 2009

Why Mike Ray chose Christmas Valley

When we found this property on the Upper Truckee River, we knew we found the right place. It is a beautiful property with a historic ranch on the other side of the river and awesome mountain, river and meadow views. This house is not crammed onto a small lot like so many homes in Tahoe. This home is on an acre with a big deck that overlooks the large grassy area next to the river. We also chose this area because the property is close to Kirkwood, Heavenly and Sierra at Tahoe ski areas. All the amenities of South Lake Tahoe are also nearby.

What makes this house unique

This is one of only a few properties with a home directly on the Upper Truckee River. Swimming in the river and just hanging out and enjoying the beautiful scenery without having to drive anywhere make this property unique. The beautiful beaches of Lake Tahoe are a short drive. Skiing and snowboarding at Kirkwood, Heavenly, and Sierra at Tahoe ski resorts. Backcountry skiing, snowmobiling, hiking, biking (Mr. Toad's Wild Ride mountain bike trail is nearby), golfing, all the recreation a mountain enthusiast could want. Fall colors in Hope Valley are just 10 minutes away.


Christmas Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • The Rental Party or any guests shall not create unreasonable noise or disturbances, engage in disorderly conduct, or violate EDCC 5.56.090(A3).
  • Parking is limited to 5 vehicles. Only one vehicle may be parked in the garage. Parking on the road is not permitted during the winter.
  • If guests have more people in their party than the Owner allows, they shall be subject to immediate eviction and no refund will be issued.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , Master Bath with dual-head glass shower
    2nd Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , 2nd Master bath with whirlpool tub
    Upstairs Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • All bathrooms are newly remodeled and beautiful.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master with bathroom/dual head shower.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2nd Master w/bath-whirlpool tub-can be locked off or shared.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen bedroom overlooking river and mountains.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Large Queen bedroom with extra single bed.
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Loft with queen sofa-bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed
  • All bedrooms are large, spacious and with large windows with great views. Nicely appointed furniture and bedding with plenty of closet space.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Large 1 acre property across the river from the historic Celio Ranch. River has swimming hole and beach. Ski Resorts nearby (Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra) or stay and enjoy the beautiful scenery in the backyard. The house has two master bedrooms with king beds. The second master bath can be locked off or shared with others.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(51 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Rays' Riverfront Retreat on the Upper Truckee R. Near Kirkwood, Heavenly, Sierra
average rating of 4.745098 based on 51 reviews

Great experience, great memories!

  • 5 of 5

Dear Claudia and Mike,

We had a wonderful time at your house. It is comfortable, well divided and perfectly organized. Spacious but cozy at the same time. All of us agreed that we had a positive experience being together for the long time for that reason. The beds were all comfortable and the bathroom beautifully remodeled. The jacuzzi: even for our muscles after a day of skiing!! The two boys had a great time playing in the game room. The garden is amazing and we hope there will be another time to come during the summer to appreciate it even more!

On behalf of all of us, thanks for the good memories!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Perfect and understanding!

  • 5 of 5

We had some friends coming from Florida, and we wanted to pick the best location for them to experience Tahoe. This place was perfect! It was located fairly close to two major ski resorts (Kirkwood and Heavenly) so we were able to go to both. However, the best part was just playing in the snow in the beautiful backyard. Our boys (3yo and 1.5mo) had an amazing time practicing using their skiis within steps of the house and also with an incredible view of beautiful mountains in the background. That honestly was the best part of the trip and it didn't even require us going to a ski resort.

The place was already great in terms of location and spaciousness, but Mike (the owner) was equally wonderful. We ended up have one of the car radiators crack during our stay due to the cold weather, and needed to get it fixed locally in Tahoe before we could head home. The trouble was that we had to wait until Monday to get it fixed, which was the same day that we needed to check out. I sent Mike a quick message to ask about a possible late check out. He was super understanding even during out-of-state travel and let us have as much time as we needed that day. Needless to say that we were all very impressed with his customer service. He definitely made the stressful situation with the car much less stressful, and we are super grateful for that.

The only thing that I feel bad about is that in the midst of all the car chaos, I didn't read the checkout instructions carefully and forgot to take out ALL the trash in the house even if the bear bin was full. You just have to place the extra trash to the side of the bear bin. So Mike had to make a special trip into town to take out the trash after he returned from his trip, which I full terrible about, especially after all his kindness. So please don't forget to take out ALL the trash in the house so Mike doesn't have to. :) Thanks Mike for letting us stay at your wonderful house!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Property with an amazing backyard

  • 5 of 5

There were 4 families that came up to ski a little and enjoy the weekend. The place was great for little kids with toys and even a foosball table. Backyard was also nice for the kids to play in the stream.

We are thinking of making this an annual thing so hoping to be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely few days here over the Christmas holiday with our entire family. We didn’t get much snow but the house was very spacious and so we spent a lot of time playing games inside, or walking in the quiet neighborhood and backyard. We appreciated the toiletries in the bathrooms, and the ample space for the kids to play. We did a lot of cooking and the kitchen was well supplied with pots and pans. My only suggestion would be to have more towels available for the kitchen and bathrooms. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Property

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house and property - we will definitely be back.

Five couples used the house as a base for kayaking at Echo Lake. Plenty of room for everyone and the deck and lawn area added extra space to enjoy and relax.

House is located in the Christmas Valley area away from the crowds that can be in the Y and SLT areas.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely spacious home in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I, along with our kids and grand kids, spent a week here and absolutely loved it. The well appointed home was large enough for everyone to have their own space when needed, and the gathering spots (living room, dining room and game room) were comfortable and inviting. The deck was the perfect setting to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. A gorgeous redwood railing was recently added. We all loved the yard. Swinging on the tire swing, playing frisbee, and making s'mores at the campfire were regular routines. The yard led down to the river, a magical spot where we hung out frequently, skipping rocks, wading, or just watching the river flow. The negatives were minor and are mentioned for complete honesty. Several of the pots and pans had been burnt or overused and need to be replaced. I missed having a large frying pan. Another towel or two in each bathroom would be helpful. The rug as you enter the house could use a shampoo but in general the home was clean and well maintained. In the yard on the left side of the house there is a pile of wood to be used in the fire-pit. That was great, but there was also a fair amount of broken equipment and debris there that was unsightly. The property is so amazing that these issues feel like nitpicking, but we wanted to bring them to Mike's attention. The furnace malfunctioned on a cool morning at the end of our trip, but Mike came up to attend to it promptly after being contacted. He appears very motivated to make sure his guests have a great stay. We highly recommend this home and would love to come back another time.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Charlie for the nice and honest review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the yard and river. It was nice to be able to allow fires in the fire pit again after the years of drought. The house was used heavily this summer by guests and was booked solid from June until mid August. You were near the end and with no open days, we weren't able to do the mid season carpet cleaning that we usually have done. That has been taken care of and next summer we will block out some days mid-season for the carpet cleaning. We have also taken care of the other issues addressed now that we are able to catch up. You were a great family to have up and hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
South Lake Tahoe Airport or Reno/Tahoe Intl-66 mi
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Lake Tahoe Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1.1 Miles
Several nearby restaurants in Meyers or SLT
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Sierra at Tahoe
Nearest Beach
Our backyard or Lake Tahoe (9 miles).
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Tahoe
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Sierra at Tahoe Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Heavenly Valley Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Kirkwood Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Echo Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Mr. Toad's Wild Ride
Nearest Point of Interest
Fly fishing lakes and streams


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160

Fees: $160 Cleaning Fee, $59 Property Protection Fee, 10% Lodging Tax

Holiday rates slightly higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties