Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanview, beautiful - 3 Bdrms/2 bath top floor

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms,, 2 full Baths with walkin showers, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to the Papakea! Our 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo is just 50 yards from the ocean. Wonderful beaches next door. The Papakea is located on north Kaanapali beach, just minutes from shops, museums, restaurants and galleries in Lahaina and Whalers' Village.

This fourth floor condo (E404) features wonderful ocean views from the master bedroom, living area, and the lanai. The living area and master bedroom and loft have vaulted ceilings and a large picture window looking towards the ocean. Imagine waking up every morning of your vacation with a view of the beautiful Pacific ocean and the island of Molakai! Very few condos have the master bedroom ocean side. Comfortable lanai is a great place for your morning coffee

Make the coffee and enjoy your morning cup on the lanai, and in the evenings watch the sunset from the condo private balcony/lanai or stroll the the beachfront, excellent photo opportunities!!

The master bedroom has a king size pillow top bed. The second bedroom also features a king size bed, and the third bedroom/loft has a full size bed and two twins, making this condo a wonderful unit for a family retreat. Both bathrooms have been remodeled with walk in tiled showers, clear glass enclosures and include granite counter tops.

The remodeled kitchen includes granite counters, a fully equipped kitchen stocked with eating, cooking and barbecue utensils to make your vacation hassle free. New pots and pans, glass ware and silverware. Coffee maker, blender and 4 slice toaster. The condo offers in room washer/dryer.

The Papakea has beautiful ocean views, two private ocean side swimming pools with oversize hot tubs, twelve outdoor gas BBQ's with their own bench area, three on site lighted tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, two twelve hole putting greens, Koi ponds and lush gardens and grounds. For outdoor enthusiasts, the golf courses at Kapalua and Kaanapali are nearby, as well as great snorkeling and boogie-boarding. Or you can enjoy morning and sunset walks along the beautiful soft sand beaches.

The Papakea was first awarded the Five Star award in 1987 and every year since then by Interval International.

A minimum 3 night deposit is required to hold your reservation. The balance is due at least 60 days prior to your scheduled arrival date. If you need to cancel, you need to give 60 days written notice prior to arrival for full refund (minus one nights rental fee), otherwise the entire deposit will be forfeited.

Come stay at the beautiful Papakea property and discover the true Aloha spirit of Hawaii! This property is most desired to relax, beautiful lounge chairs pool side and ocean side.

Keywords: Condominium - top floor unit of a four story building,, elevator access

More Details

Owner
Amy & Joe Consul
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About Amy & Joe Consul

Joe and Amy live in California with their two beautiful daughters. We love to vacation together and as a family travel to Maui and are always looking forward to our next visit to the Papakea! Walking into the condo feeling the trades is relaxing and calming. Please enjoy our home. We continue to improve the condo to make it the best experience and most comfortable for all our guests. We visit several times a year and are always listening to our guests for positiv3e suggestions.

Amy & Joe Consul purchased this condo in 2009

Why Amy & Joe Consul chose West Maui

Following 8 trips to Hawaii including 6 to Maui, we realized that the Papakea was the perfect vacation and second home resort property for us. The Papakea is a beautiful resort property located ocean front between world class resorts in Kaanapali and Kapalua. It's minutes from shops, restaurants and galleries in Lahaina as well as world class golf in Kapalua. And each night you have a front row seat to the most beautiful sunsets on the world! Celebrating 7 years of ownership in paradise

What makes this condo unique

The views are spectacular, very relaxing, close to the beach. The Papakea is one of a few low rise resorts offering beach front condos. Though through many years of Mother Nature having her way there are wonderful ocean views but no beach in front of the property.This property buildings are four stories high with easy elevator access.

We love waking up and having coffee on the lanai to start another wonderful day in paradise!! Having the master bedroom on the ocean side is unique and is why we visit the islands, for the scenery and sounds of Hawaii

During whale season you can see the whales in front of the Papakea. This is truly breathtaking, bring your binoculars sit back and enjoy the show!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful vacation in your condo. The location was so great; close to everything we wanted or needed, but far enough from Kaanapali that we felt we could relax. The whale-watching was just superb the week we were there. People who live at Papakea year-round were even commenting on how great it was. We just sat on the loungers by the ocean and watched for hours. Our entire family was thrilled with the resort and the condo. It was very comfortable for all nine of us, we never felt crowded. Even when we all sat down to eat, we used the table, the bar and the lanai and it was very comfortable. Thanks for everything.
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower , Beautifully updated w/ walk in tiled shower, granite counter
    Main/Hall bath - toilet , shower , Upgraded walkin tiled shower, granite counter, hair dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master suite - 1 king , Spacious room with beautiful ocean view, attached bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Very comfortable, ceiling fan, new carpet, large closet
    Loft - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Private loft, ceiling fan and new carpet
  • King size beds (2) There is a king bed and new bedroom furniture in the master suite. A pillow top king bed in the second bedroom, One Double Bed Upstairs in the loft, Two Twin or Single Beds in the loft Loft is open yet private, wonderful ceiling fan keeps the area cool and comfortable
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanview, beautiful - 3 Bdrms/2 bath top floor
average rating of 4.787879 based on 35 reviews
San Rafael, CA
5

Lovely condo!

  • 5 of 5

We were very happy with our stay at this condo! It is very tastefully decorated! I loved that it was on the 4th floor with high ceilings! The bed in the master is very comfortable. The kitchen is very equipped. Amy is a pleasure to deal with. Wish we could have stayed longer at the unit!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Debra, We are so pleased you had a wonderful time in Maui. And happy that our condo suited your family on your vacation. It would be a pleasure to have you stay again. Joe & Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous place to stay!!

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 6 adults, 1 teenager and a 2 year old traveling from Phoenix Arizona. The unbearable temperature in Phoenix when we left was 114. When we entered the condo and saw the beautiful views of the ocean- I truly felt like we landed in a piece of Heaven!! I think I just sat outside and stared at the ocean for hours! It was such a wonderful treat to be able to have coffe in the morning a a glass of wine in the evening while gazing out over the ocean. There was plenty of room for us all to sleep comfortably, and the living room kitchen area gave us room to spend time together to eating , laughing and just spending time together.. The condo was clean and well stocked which was very much appreciated!! There were plenty of dishes, pots and pans to make everything from a pasta dinner- to bacon eggs and pancakes for breakfast- and of course everything we needed to grill! On the days we were headed to the beach, everything we needed again was there.. Boogie boards, beach towels , sunscreen, even sand toys for the littlest one in our group. We were close to a grocery store to shopping, and of course close to beaches. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place. We look forward to returning hopefully during whale watching season!

Thank you for sharing your home .

The Lindstrom and Tirk families..

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jill, Thank you for the kind words and so happy you and your family enjoyed our condo. All the things you mentioned about the family time and being comfortable is exactly how we envisioned our condo being used. We are glad you found the amenities we have provided and other that previous guests have left for future guests. On a personal note we thank you for all the groceries etc you left as we stayed after you and they were enjoyed !! We look for to having you return during whale season as it is spectacular. Joe & Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix, AZ
3

Nice place just not exactly what we had in mind

  • 3 of 5

This is our first VBRO maintained as a Resort so a bit different from our prior rentals. Place was nice, disappointed with no beach right at the property - had to drive to get there. AC was not turned on prior to our arrival so Super hot when we got there. Property very nice and staff nice. Easy access to grocery stores. Since we had a big group the additional loft beds were handy but had to use all the fans provided to stay cool. Only one small through the wall AC in the living room for the whole location. Nice kitchen, loved the BBQ at the poolside.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matt thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't find the beach next door that is an easy walk from our property. We too enjoy the grounds as they are one of the most beautiful on the island. I'm happy you found the fans that are provided for additional air flow. As you stated the a/c unit is a window unit thus we have installed ceiling fans and the floors fans as back up. We enjoy the trade winds and open a few windows to feel the breeze and hear the ocean. Aloha, Joe & Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Little Rock, Arkansas
4

Great family time!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this unit. It is very well kept and clean. The view and the whole complex are beautiful. The heated pool was awesome! The beds were comfortable! The bathrooms were cleaned (very important)! We enjoyed our time here at this beautiful oceanfront condo.

One major complaint is the AC air unit. It is just not big enough to supply air for the entire 3-bedroom unit (it stop working well on the 5th day). We stayed in the guess bedroom and it was hot but not as hot as the master bedroom. We shut all the blinds during daytime to keep the sun out but it was still hot. The service man came to change the air filter but it did not seem to make a difference. We were quite uncomfortable the last several days.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gwen, So happy to hear overall you had a great time in Maui and the condo was clean and the beds were comfortable. I apologize about the a/c unit, you never know when an appliance stops working to our expectation level. Please know we have since replaced it with a unit that has about 50% more btu's. Hopefully the offer and acceptance for compensation for your uncomfortable situation helped , in which you seemed pleased from your text message. We want all our guests to have the most pleasurable experience and vacation. Thank you again, Joe & Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice resort and great location

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time at the property. Amy was also great at returning any of our questions and requests. The views are spectacular from the condo, and the sunset can be viewed from the property. The condo is spacious and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello and we are glad all 8 of you enjoyed your stay and the area. Thanks for the nice review and come again. Amy and Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

6 out of 5 stars for this unit

  • 5 of 5

We (family of four adults, two children (12, 14)) thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very nice, well equipped unit with modern kitchen and bathrooms. The views of the ocean and gardens are excellent and the orientation (NW) provides shade in the afternoon which is a plus. We did a lot of cooking and found everything needed to do so. Unit has many beach supplies (chairs, boggie boards, coolers, etc.) and the owner is very responsive to any queries/need. We have stayed at Papakea many times over the years and this is the nicest 3 bedroom that we've rented---it could easily accommodate 6 adults and two children or other combinations there-of. One can walk to shopping including a major grocery store (Times), a Farmer's market, Snorkel Bob's, ABC, and other shopping. Beach access to the south and lots of board walk or sidewalks to run on. Overall, excellent value and owners were delightful to deal with. We would definitely rent this unit again when we need a 3-bedroom. Papakea as a resort is first-class, impeccably kept with very friendly desk staff. The buildings have undergone major exterior renovation (now complete). It also offers many amenities if one wants to use them---this can be particularly attractive for younger families.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review and so happy your enjoyed Maui (again!!) and our condo worked for your family. It was nice meeting you in person in February and sharing our common love for Maui. We look forward to you returning to the islands and having you enjoy our condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
28.9 Miles
Kahului
Car: necessary

Papakea Resort is a 13 acre oceanfront resort, 8 minutes north of Lahaina and 15 minutes south of Kapalua

Other Activities: kayaking, parasailing, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, shuffleboard, shopping, boating, shelling,

We can provide you a list of our favorite activities and places to visit for sightseeing and dining, relaxing etc..

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225

Free onsite parking available, one permit included in rental

$17/day resort fee for your first 10 consecutive days. This is per condo NOT per person fee. This fee covers; parking permit, WIFI, and cable during your stay. This will be collected directly by the Front Desk at checkout

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties