Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Mountain Cottage 15 Minutes to Downtown Asheville

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Call or email for Special Rates! Heartsong cottage is a charming turn of the century built home that has been totally updated and remodeled and is only 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. It has a covered rocking chair front porch with a private deck out back. It sits in a small mountain neighborhood. There are two bedrooms one with the master bedroom having king size bed and other bedroom having a set of oversized bunk beds and a double bed. All of the mattreses Many guests enjoy visiting the spectacular Biltmore Estate along with shopping and browsing the many galleries and stores in the Asheville area. Others like participating in hiking and water activities, attending a festival, concert, or play. Whatever your pleasure, you can always come back to the cottage and relax in front of the quaint gas log fireplace, watch TV or a DVD from the video library on our flat screen TV, play a family game or use your laptop to surf the web with high speed WIFI access. Relaxing in the comfortable Hot Springs spa and/or cooking out with the gas grill on our private deck is also a definite option.

The quaint downtown of Black Mountain is only three minutes away from the cottage, with the beautiful Lake Tomahawk only a short five minute drive (see picture. There is a trail around Lake Tomahawk with beautiful mountain scenery in almost every direction. Also adjacent to the Lake is a huge twenty five yard swimming pool with kiddie area for the whole family to enjoy. The pool can also easily accommodate lap swimmers.

Peaceful and charming, the cottage is 15 minutes from the center of Asheville with its many world class restaurants, year-round live entertainment, museums, art galleries, theaters, concert halls, and large exhibitions at the Civic Center. During the spring, summer and fall seasons there are festivals occurring all over the area with the Biltmore Estates Festival of Flowers occurring every April and the L.E.A.F. Festival taking place twice a year in May and October.

Asheville is also an antique hunter’s paradise, and the River Arts District (has more than 80 artists’ studios) produces some of the best art in America. Shoppers also love the boutiques and many specialty shops the downtown area has to offer. The quaint mountain village of Black Mountain, only 3 minutes away from the cottage also has a charming downtown area with many quality restaurants as well. Access to the Blue Ridge parkway is a quick and easy ten minute drive away. Lake Lure and the beautiful Chimney Rock State Park is a scenic and relaxing 30 minute drive. Mt. Mitchell, highest mountain in the Eastern U.S., is a 45 minute drive from the cottage up the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Please note that winter road conditions in the mountains can often be unpredictable. While the cottage is close to a main road about (500 feet), the road grade leading up the cottage while small, is still steep enough that a 4 wheel drive vehicle might be required if there is more than a few inches of snow on the ground. In more severe weather ( 3+ inches of snow or ice) guests may have to park at the bottom of the road and walk up to the cottage. Guests should keep abreast of weather conditions several days before their arrival and we also encourage them to call us as well for updated information on weather and road conditions. We highly recommend that winter guests consider buying travel insurance.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details

Owner
Marilyn
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2017

About Marilyn

Bill and I are seniors who are working. We have been people helpers all our life and made careers out of it. I am a retired social worker. We love the area of Asheville and found it to be very enjoyable and thought that others would want to come and visit but not everyone can afford to pay the high prices of vacation rentals. So we decided to get into the vacation rental business. Bill works full time and I manage the cottage.

Marilyn purchased this cottage in 2009

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great Place! Very romantic and cozy.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 68

Amenities

Black Mountain Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Extra Sink In Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
  • King size beds (1) Upgraded pillow top mattress, Double Beds (1) Upgraded pillow top mattress, Bunk Beds (1) Upgraded mattresses for adult use as well as kids
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
18% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Mountain Cottage 15 Minutes to Downtown Asheville
average rating of 4.6981134 based on 121 reviews
5

Perfect house for us!

  • 5 of 5

Close to the interstate, Hot tub, well equipped kitchen, cable & internet. No complaints :) we will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely review short and on point. Come back .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina
5

Great cabin, we had a delightful weekend.

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was very comfortable, beds especially! Very clean. Location was perfect, easy to get to and close to the things we were wanting to do. Only complaint was the hot tub jets, or lack of jets I should say. They did not work hardly at all. Outside of that, it was great experience and we would rent it again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. This is a year old brand new hot tub. I wish you would have called during your stay because we could have told you that if the water level gets too low, jets will not work and that you have to push the button twice to get high. If you push the button once it is low. We did, however, check the jets again to make sure they were operating properly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Met our needs perfectly!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin worked great for us. It was close to Black Mountain and an easy drive to Asheville. The kitchen was well equipped and it was a comfortable home. Marilyn was also very responsive and easy to work with. There is no a/c in the bunk bed room but it wasn't too hot during the weekend we stayed. However, it was a bit warm. If you can keep the bedroom door open it will be cool enough but we needed to keep it shut since it kids are noise and light sensitive. Our 4 year old loved the bunk bed and running around the circle drive while we had our morning tea. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the cottage and are planning to come back. We will see about your suggestion of adding an a.c. in the small bedroom as well!. It is a very comfortable cottage and has a great location too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro NC
4

Perfect for an outdoor based weekend away.

  • 4 of 5

We came with a group of friends for a biking weekend. The cabin was tidy and clean and was perfect for our needs. Four of us stayed comfortably and it was quiet at night. Only has A/C in one bedroom, so 4/5 instead of 5/5. Overall nice cabin for the price.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. The a.c. unit in the living room is so cold that it keeps the smaller bedroom cool. But maybe it wasn't enough for you guys. It is a great cottage in a good location. It has everything you need to be comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I along with our two kids (5&3) had a great stay! The cottage was just like it appeared in the photos. There were clear instructions to explain the hot tub and everything else we needed to know. We enjoyed our time.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So many people love this cute cottage. We are so glad that our instructions were helpful. That hot tub is really nice out there on the deck just a few steps from the back door. You guys were wonderful guests as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a great property and location.

  • 5 of 5

Great property and a great location. Very nice for people on a budget!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: we are so happy you liked this cute cottage. We also think it is a wonderful value, clean, comfortable and charming. The location is just what you need here in the mountains for convenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
28 Kilometres
Asheville - Hendersonville Airport
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties