Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Montmartre - Abbesses View on Paris -1BR-Where Picasso Lived

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 344 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1BR + Convertible bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

The apartment offers a rare view on a charming & lively square planted with spanish oak trees. In 1920-40, the building was the furnished “hotel du Poirier” (Pear tree hotel). Many famous guests lived in (MODIGLIANI, Albert CAMUS, Max JACOB …). PICASSO and other painters artists lived across in the “BATEAU LAVOIR”.

This unique apartment sleeps 4. Located at the third floor, it is very bright and has many large windows (four in total). Our guests enjoy it very much.

The apartment is located on the 3rd floor (Fr standard) and offers a living room with 2 large windows, an open kitchen, one bedroom, and a bathroom.

The furniture is a mix of antique wooden French furniture and pictures, and modern pieces as the bed, comfortable convertible sofa and closet.

The living room has a lounging and a dining space. It offers a comfortable sofa, dining table and design chairs, a flat screen television and 2 windows with view over the trees.

The sofa can be converted into a comfortable double bed in the evening.

The kitchen is open on the living room, fully equipped and offers a bar table perfect for those quick on-the-move meals or to savor a glass of wine wine.

To the left of the living area is the bedroom. It offers a comfortable queensize bed, with nice bedside tables, a wardrobe and a writing desk.

The tiled bathroom offers a sink, a walk in shower and a toilet. It is clear and sunny in afternoon thanks to a large size window.

The apartment has been largely renovated in 2012 and 2017. When renting, have had a long history of 5 stars reviews. In early 2017, 3 of our guests were disappointed. We contacted them for opinion and advice. There was an issue with cleaning. That was solved. Listening to our guests suggestions, we decided to upgrade the apt :

The living room was repainted. We bought some new furniture : bed tables, nice design chairs, a nice and easy to open sofa bed, a new fridge and changed the white curtains to more colorful ones. The kitchen work plans and the ancient wooden tables & desk were re-varnished. And more details.

New photos were taken. We believe they show the apt as guest will find it. We want our guests happy.

We are living on the 4th floor, just above and our son inhabits the apt when not rented. We are here if you need help, but do not worry, we will not be intrusive.

On the left of the building is the 'Abbesses' district, on the right the Old Montmartre village. All the rooms enjoy a view of the square. The area is very safe : we are in the same block as the fruit & vegetable stand featured in the famous movie “Le Destin d’Amélie Poulain”. The Abbesses subway station is 2 mn walk and the Sacre Coeur Church a few hundred yards. Most interesting places in Paris may be reached in 15mn.

As a bonus, Phone calls to land lines in France, and to US, Canada and australia are generaly free. It is also true for more than 50 countries. More over, calls to cell phones towards specific countries (often US & Canada) may also be free. Ask us for detail as it may vary with time and policies of operators.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About The Owner

Just a point, important to us. We decided to rent the apartment when our son does not need to stay in. We enjoy meeting foreign people and believe this is a way to meet nice people as well as getting some return on the apartment. We want people to enjoy their stay as much as possible.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2000

Why The Owner chose Paris Arr. 18 (Montmartre, Sacre Coeur)

The apt is on a famous square, where PICASSO had its studio. We live in Montmartre since 1992 and will never leave the area. Montmartre is really a village. One easily meets people around here. Not like in a big city.

We are living in the apt uptstairs and have bought this other apt with the idea of transforming ours in a duplex once kids will become teenagers.

What makes this apartment unique

We feel on holidays everyday. Light, charm, nice people around, and No cars, No stress.

Guestbook comments from the owner

For anyone seeking an authentic Paris lifestyle experience, the Apartment "DOUIS" is perfect! The building is older-and has a spiral staircase. This is very typical of older buildings, and adds to the experience of the apartment. Right outside of the apartment is a lively little square that is full of life and energy, but not overly touristy. There is a cafe and a bar down the street, which provides background sounds during the day, but at night with the windows closed the apartment becomes a refuge of quiet. The unit iself is just as pictured-small bathroom and kitchen, living area and bedroom. Having a washer and dryer was nice-operates very differently that American units, but the instructions are clear and posted on the front door (inside the unit.) Overall, given the location, price, and amenities--I'd rent this unit again. The manager is highly professional and renting the unit was very smooth. Even if you do not rent this unit, rent from the manager-outstanding!
Nov 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Montmartre Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 344 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Monument View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
Notes:
Fully equipped Kitchen, 32 Square Meters/345 Square Feet, Sleeps One to Four People, Third Floor in a Four-story Building, Traditional Oak Wooden Floor, Four Windows (all noise proof), Master Bedroom (queen-size bed), One Living Room and Open Kitchen (sofa bed), the Building has NO Lift as most building in Montmartre, Bathroom has a Nice Shower, but NO Bath, Kitchen is open in the living room through a bar, Baby Bed and Toys available on request, DSL internet access through Wifi(wifi card may be rented)

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Montmartre - Abbesses View on Paris -1BR-Where Picasso Lived
average rating of 4.478261 based on 24 reviews
5

Cozy apartment, great location

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay, the owner hospitality, the cozy apartment and neighborhood. It is an enjoyable area, rich with music and art! We have already recommended it to a few friends.

The available amenities made our stay comfortable. It was a pleasure staying in the apartment while we were in this beautiful city.

The owner said the place was recently refurnished and we found all was nice and clean, starting with the comfortable sofa bed in living room that is super easy to maneuver. The bed was comfortable. The sheets were fresh. The mix of the contemporary feel with the antique pieces of furniture added to charm of the apartment.

We couldn't have picked a better apartment location for our first family trip to Europe!

We made it back to NYC safely and miss Paris already, Montmartre in particular.

Hope to return to Paris in the future.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi William, Thanks for your very kind review! Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment to be cozy, charming, comfortable and in a great location. We are happy the recent renovation of the apt pleases our guests. Hope to host you again in Paris! Sincerely, Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

What a Shame!

  • 2 of 5

The apartment has potential; the owner lets it down. Firstly, the owner's name is the same as the person who left the 5-star review in December, 2016. Draw your own conclusions but I'd take 5-star reviews with skepticism.

I give 2 stars: 1 for the location, which is awesome, and the other for the bones of the apartment. It has great light, is a good size (for 2 people, not 4) and we liked the historic nature of the building and area. It is clear in the listing that it is an old building and that was part of its charm to us.

The big problem is that the apartment is filthy. The dishes were gross. We washed everything we needed and kept them separate so that we only used our clean ones. I would never put food in that oven due to the dirt. How the owner can say (in reply to a negative review) that a cheap, plastic, broken wall clock adds ambience is beyond me. There is a plastic spatula that was melted so is useless, a broken knife, GROSS bathroom garbage can, dirty walls, etc., etc.

In reply to the October, 2016 review, the owner mentions an extra blanket and duvet in the closet. He doesn't mention that in the rules left for your review, it says you will be charged extra if you use them. It dropped to 4 degrees above freezing and there are 4 or 5 holes in the wall to the outdoors under the bathroom window so the apartment got very cold, but you can't use an extra blanket without paying for it? We didn't see the holes at first, but saw them the next day so closed the bathroom door at night to keep the apartment warm but then the bathroom was almost unbearable.

The large glass vase on the floor in the living room has a very clear mark from where I ran my finger through the thick, greasy dust. That vase has not been touched in a long time. The orange sofa cover has several rips and is disgustingly filthy. I could go on and on and have taken several photos of the filth.

The owner replied to the October, 2016 review that they should have told him the place was dirty and he'd have it re-cleaned. I mentioned the filthy bathroom floor; there was no such offer. I mentioned nothing else as it was pointless. He's known since at least October, 2016 and done nothing. The charge for cleaning is criminal and is simply being pocketed. He also left only 1 large and small towel for each of us for 10 days and reluctantly gave us fresh ones after 2 requests and then suggested that I should have washed them. It is for him to supply towels, not for me to do his laundry.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Barbara, Let me thank you for the extensive discussions we had after your review. As I said, we were used to 5 stars reviews. We recenty got 3 disappointing reviews. We had to do something. We called you and the other guests. Cleaning was definitely an issue . It is now solved and the new cleaning lady will be more thorough. We will check. Our discussion helped us to realize we could easily upgrade the apt. We have done it following most of your advices : The living room was repainted. Some minor work remains to do in bathroom. We bought some new furniture : - bed tables - nice design chairs - a nice and easy to open sofa bed - a new fridge - sorted and added up silver ware - changed the white curtains to more colorful ones. - the kitchen work plans and the ancient wooden tables & desk were re-varnished. - and many more little things New photos photos show it all. Thnaks you for helping us upgrade the apt. A bed review is always a good way to progress. Sincerely Jean Noel
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Canada
5

Beautiful and charming apartment

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed at the beautiful and charming Apt. Douis in Montmartre. We were captivated by the location, the music in the square, the big trees just outside our window, the links to the history of the modernist movement, the artistic ambience, and the convenient walk (a couple of minutes) to the Abbesses metro station, and much more. The apartment is perfect for a couple, and possibly a small family. The neighborhood is quite friendly, full of cafes and very safe nightlife. Just as the apartment description says, the main touristy sites are only a 10-15mn metro ride away. If you want to experience a special Parisian neighborhood, with its own history, sites to visit, and special ambience, while exploring the rest of Paris, Apt. Douis is a real find. And for those of you wondering, the landlord was very accessible, but not intrusive. Our deposit was returned in 3 days.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ken, Thanks for your kind review. Nice to know you found the apartment to be beautiful and charming! The neighborhood is indeed quite friendly. Montmartre remains like a village in Paris. Hope to host you again in Paris!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming apartment. Terrific Area

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us stay in your apartment. We had a great time.

The Montmartre area is terrific.

The apartment is well placed, close to the metro, the Sacré Coeur and the lively Montmartre neighbourhood.

The apartment was very comfortable and clean. The decoration was charming, almost like a continuation of the artistic and the cultural richness of the area in which it is located.

All in all we had a great stay in your apartment and we hope to return soon!

Happy Holidays to you and your team!

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lou, Thanks for your kind review. Glad to know you had a great time and found the decoration to be charming. The apartment is indeed ideally located, near the Abbesses lively area and the Sacré-Coeur. Hope to host you again soon in Paris!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great apartment , great location

  • 5 of 5

We just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful time using your apartment Douis in Montmartre.

It suited our family of four perfectly. I was able to go to the boulangerie just outside the building for baguettes and croissants as well as the shops on nearby Rue Lepic for cheese and other supplies.

We loved Montmartre and the rest of Paris, which was easily accessible from the Abbesses or Pigalle metro stops. We certainly had an opportunity to work off some of the great food we were eating, by walking up to the building and then up the stairs to our apartment.

Overall we had a great experience in Paris and we were happy that we found no "surprises" when we got to the apartment. It was clean and tidy. In fact it was bigger than expected. I think your photos make it look a little smaller than it actually is, although it is quite cosy by North American standards. Thanks again. Hopefully we will be able to come back some day.

Joe

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. Nice to know you had a wonderful time in the apartment and that it perfectly suited your family of four! Montmartre is indeed lovely and full of charm. Hope to host you again in Paris!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Belmont, Massachusetts
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

This might be a nice pied-a-terre for an avid tourist to spend a weekend. The bed is excellent and the place gets nice light, but you won't want to spend much time in the apartment, which is rather bleak. It's furnished with a random collection of charmless second-hand objects like the "Happy Hour" clock visible in the HomeAway photos (and which doesn't actually tell time -- it's broken). Although the HomeAway page says that the apartment is equipped with a TV, CD player, and DVD player, it has only a complicated digital TV with an antenna, which gets bad reception. After spending an hour trying to tune it in, I gave up. I booked the apartment for three weeks, but took a loss on the rent and left after two weeks to move to a much better furnished (and less expensive) apartment in a quieter part of Paris.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: 4/25/17 Since our initial answer to Alexander (see here under), we discussed at length with 2 guests who gave a low ranking to the apt. Both guests were more demanding that average. Although we get consistently 5 star reviews, we took their suggestion as an opportunity to improve. The furniture was renewed : new sofa bed, new bed tables, new curtains, large miror in bathroom, revarnished wood tables, pretty cushions. A thorough spring clean was done as well as changing the silverware or glassware if needed. Thanks to our demanding guest we beleive we definitely upgraded the apt. 12/1/2016 Hi Alexander, Thank you for mentionning the bed is excellent and the apt has a nice light. We were very surprised to learn the apt was not at your taste. Had you informed us, we could have offered to shift the last week in another apt we manage. We are so sorry you found the decoration was too "second hand". We actually did a decoration in the style of "Amélie Poulain" movie. It was done on purpose as it reminds the typical village spirit of Montmartre. We took off the DVD player recently and forgot to update the site. Guests generaly use the DSL connection to view movies on streaming. The TV works fine. Had we been contacted, we would have set it up for you. I hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in another apt we manage which offers a more mordern design. Sincerely Jean Noel
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Kilometres
CDG
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Gare du Nord & Gare Saint Lazare
Nearest Point of Interest
Le bateau Lavoir - Picasso Studio
Nearest Point of Interest
Le moulin de la Galette
Nearest Point of Interest
Sacre coeur Gardens
Nearest Point of Interest
Abesses subway
Nearest Point of Interest
Rue lepic fresh marekt
Nearest Point of Interest
Montmartre vineyard
Nearest Point of Interest
Place du tertre
Nearest Point of Interest
Moulin rouge cabaret
Car: not necessary

Montmartre combines the atmosphere of an Old Village as well as Trendy Shops and Restaurants, Many Artists and Movie Stars live in the district, Climbing up the Hill, you will find a lot a Small Streets with Wonderful Views on Paris, Charming Stairs and Small or Gorgeous Houses, look for the Montmartre Vineyard, the Square 'Rene Clement' where nature is purposely left alone to develop, walk to 'Place du Tertre' where artists will offer to draw your portrait, going down 'rue des Abbesses' you will discover Shops, Caf+¬s, and Clothing Stores, 'Rue Lepic' there is a Nice Market, Wine Shops, the Cheese Shop was rated n-¦ 3 in France, Bakeries, Charcuteries, Subway Station 'Abbesses, ' just down the apartment will lead you to the Center of Paris quickly, Champs elysees is only a ten-minute subway ride, Eiffel Tower 15 minutes as well as Le Marais, Les Halles, and finally Saint Germain would be 20 minutes

Photos

Rates & Availability

Montmartre Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
HIGH Spring2
May 21 2017 - May 22 2017
1 night minimum stay
$12
 
 
HIGH Spring2
May 23 2017 - May 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$132
$779
$2,337
 
 
HIGH Spring3
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
$132
$779
$2,337
 
 
MID July August
Jul 15 2017 - Aug 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$130
$765
$2,294
 
 
HIGH Autumn 1
Aug 29 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$144
$850
$2,549
 
 
HIGH Autumn 2
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$144
$850
$2,549
 
 
LOW Nov
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$115
$680
$2,039
 
 
HIGH Christams
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 5 2018
4 night minimum stay
$130
$765
$2,294
 
 
Present
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 4 2018
4 night minimum stay
$90
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$120
$708
$2,124
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Linen $59.92 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.7%

- We may accept 3 days stays : simply send us a mail for 4 days and add actual dates in the comment.

- A mail with further details & instructions about your booking will be sent with confirmation of your booking.
• Electricity, heating is included (not included only in case of monthly rental).
• Full end of stay cleaning included (includes Linen&Towels)
• Internet included
• Phone is free to many destinations (often US, Canada landlines & cells please ask details)
• City tax included on behalf of Paris city.

- Tax/Handling charges will depend on payment way

- Rates may change at any time. Rates vary depending on season, nbr of guests if applicable, occupation & owner.

- Damage protection will be requested with 2nd and last payment

- Our cancelation policy might differ from that of VRBO/HomeAway, please contact us directly to know more.

- Note that this site automatic estimated quote system calculates rents in a basic way : it may result in higher quote for 6 days than for 7 days or other discrepancies. Therefore, we systematically send a detailed quote with description, process & photos via mail.

- The quote is for 2 guests : a 25€/day/extra guest fee will be required for additionnal guests. It is capped to a max of 150 €/stay. Unfortunlately, the site system does not enable capping the extra guest fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties